Matalan Reviews

4.09 Rating 1,507 Reviews
78 %
of reviewers recommend Matalan
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Courier
average delivery time
Over 7 Days
on-time delivery
Greater than 29%
accurate and undamaged orders
Greater than 83%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Over a week
Returns & Refunds
refunds process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how Matalan made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Easy online purchases and quick delivery. Good choice of kids clothes in store and reasonable price.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
Lost my order, which was gift for someone. Called the call centre which is based abroad. Useless customer service. No idea how to deal with customers and very rude. They also cut you off on purpose.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I recently purchased a matalan gift voucher for my brother in law for Christmas. He has now recently left my sister but matalan has said;I am not allowed a refund . I'm very angry with the so called Customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I have been shopping @ Hartlepool Matalan for a good 15 years, Always had very good service & people who worked there were always friendly. Just today had such a bad experience with some one called Michelle I did purchased £25 worth of shopping, just seconds later after I purchased, I realized that I can spend £30 & receive 20% discount. Michelle was very rude with me front of other customers & told me I am being awkward.. & walked away. Michelle also was screeming & said, I only can use the discount once, which I totally understand, Michelle was not prepared to listen that, I haven’t even used my discount not even once. If Michelle is having bad day, can’t take it on customers.. I didn’t even receive an apology, Such a rude behavior. I am very upset for the way, I been treated by your Matalan staff.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
The new store seems to discriminate against disabled people, they are to be appluded for the disabled parking ( right outside the doors) BUT god forbid you need a shopping trolley ( to lean on ) these are situated in the shelter across the carpark???? ,The signage in the shop is misleading also,I complained to the manager, also to customer service at head office,I was met with the same athapy
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
This should be zero stars. Online order total of £138.50 on 13/10/19 and paid a premium for next day delivery. None of the five items arrived next day but two on 16/10/19 and one 17/10/19. One is still outstanding. The customer helpline staff really could not care less (plainly rude IMHO) even though this is luggage for our holiday due imminently. Emailed Customer services asking for help......silence. Worst service I've ever had... really, no exaggeration. Very upset.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Trying to phone Ayr store but was put through to central centre they said they could give me number but hey I didn’t have a pen . You just lost a sale Matalan
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Matalan's customer service is appealing. They never reply to your emails, you have the automated acknowledgement email that your query will be answered asap but this never happens. After waiting 5 days i had to call the customer care team. This happened 3x in two weeks. Chris Waterhouse at Bradford Mayo Avenue resolved the issue straight away and had professional customer service skills. And kept apologising for the delay and the issue that arised from there side. I would give him 5 stars strictly based on his professionalism. He also admitted have bad the online team were. Please note: my review is strictly based on customer care team online. Staff definately needs either retraining or replacing.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
To all of you complaining about the call center based in Bulgaria I have to say that we all are stressed daily because of your ridiculousness. As a worker there we have to deal with your awful british accent, indian accent, nigerian accent and many other accents. Do not judge where the call center is in, have a look at your own country since 80% are emigrants and british people (not all) are disrespectful, rude, non stop complaining, permanently unhappy and are all acting like the queen itself. Probably the worst nationality to work with. Try to be understanding, we are young, working for a very low salary, trying to pay for our studying fees, rent and basically living like animals for funny money dealing with your royalty asses DAILY, getting bossed around by managers, licking butts and apologizing for how dumb some clients are!!!!!!
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Not happy at all! Warning people doing Christmas shopping!! Went to make a online purchase today. The website said the transaction didn’t go through however they proceed to take not one but two payments from me I didn’t receive a order number and when i called to tell them what happened they we’re rude, not helpful and told me to take it up with my bank. So basically i have been robbed. No money back money taken from me twice and nothing to show for it, absolutely disgusting! Needless to say i will not be using the website and will not be shopping at the store either if thats the way customers are treated. Everyone will know about this especially friends and family who usually shop there!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Paid for next day delivery to then be tolled next day dose not mean next day ??? Ordered 26th now 29 th still no text to say I can collect
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Do not pay for next day delivery I ordered a lampshade on 26th paid extra (click & collect ) or as stated next day delivery it's now 29th I rang to ask why to be told next day does not actually mean next day ?????
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Clothes quality and durability is awful. I buy my work shirts, and suits from there. The shirts keep ripping, buttons coming off and seems breaking by the loose thread. The shirts do this after a couple months. The suit thread has come apart in several areas. Durability has to be 1/10. Appearance 7/10. The fit 5/10. Price 8/10. Quality 3/10. Overall 3/10. Would not recommend, but are good for short term basis. Cheap for a reason.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Shrewsbury store humiliated in front of customers and staff by the store manager I bought bathroom goods less than four weeks ago, they went rusty so I returned to the store with them. the store manager refused to refund offered an exchange or credit note, I asked if I could speak to customer service, was told yes but you won't understand them they are in Bulgaria !! (why do you have customer service in Bulgaria if they don’t speak English) I said that was fine though and could I use a phone as I had not got mine, I was refused, I am thinking how can this happen for a second time, then she said in front of the staff and customers, I remember you, you are the one (not lady) that brought back legging, I refused the return then because you had no receipt (I had my PayPal receipt) (it was the same person) I came out of the store shaking and upset, how can a manager speak to anyone this way, especially in front of other customers who were all watching along with the staff.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I was unable to collect my click and collect order from the store. This was returned for refund on 5th of August. Still awaiting refund 13th September. Keep being told it is subject to an internal investigation.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Very unhappy with the next day delivery service. I usually use the click and collect but as I needed the items in a rush, and have lots to do, I decided to pay the extra and use the next day service. However, I find I am at the mercy of the Hermes self employed delivery drivers, and in my area that means, young mums working after school pick up or students working after lectures or finally driven individuals hungry for extra cash who deliver parcels enroute to their “real” job. So as I type this I just might stand a change of getting my next day delivery by 4pm which I think is completely unacceptable. Royal Mail’s next day is before 1pm and I think that is a standard that is normal, so people can go about their lives, not be waiting around all day. Whilst I like Matalan really I do, I absolutely detest Hermes. So clearly I won’t be using this service again. Very very disappointed indeed.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Excellent service. Delivered on time.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Shocking customer service from Matalan. Placed an order for next day delivery, called customer services as no text received, advised part of order had been received and other part would arrive in the afternoon. Phoned the store and told we will send a text without even offer of checking it out. Following day called customer services again to be advised my order was at the store and as soon as it was checked in I would receive a text and customer services would email me......still waiting on day 3! Popped into the store on evening of day 2, staff very helpful although only parcel 1 received. Managed to pick up replacement items off the shop floor apart from one and paid for them. Customer services today, day 3, apologise but will not resend replacement goods to the store, bearing in mind I've already paid for these. The item I couldn't buy in-store is now full price and I explained this, advisor discussed with a manager who eventually offered 10% as a goodwill gesture, original saving was 30% and discount codes are now available for 20% so where is the good will gesture in that!! At the end of the day, Matalan has cost me a trip to the store, 3 phone calls and personal time trying to sort this out. I will never order from Matalan online again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I bought a chair from Matalan online, when it was delivered it had no legs and was told that I had to carry the heavy chair back to the store and that they refused to organise for this to be uplifted. This is absolutely shocking customer service - I struggled taking the chair of the person who delivered it and expected to somehow get this into my car is bad.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Awful Awful place to shop. Awful customer service with a Manager with no customer skills at all who walks away when talking to her. This is Matalan Heeley Sheffield. I ordered something online & paid for next day delivery. Went to collect but item had not arrived. All the sales assistant could say was This Happens all the time!!! To cut a long story short. I got no joy they just turned their back on me. I will go to store tomorrow but don’t expect much. I advise anyone don’t shop at Matalan & I will certainly not recommend them to anyone. You would think with stores closing all the time they would want customers not turn them away.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Matalan is rated 4.09 based on 1,507 reviews