Matalan Reviews

4.09 Rating 1,514 Reviews
78 %
of reviewers recommend Matalan
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Courier
average delivery time
Over 7 Days
on-time delivery
Greater than 29%
accurate and undamaged orders
Greater than 83%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Over a week
Returns & Refunds
refunds process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how Matalan made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Online Order Placed an order online and thought it would be a better option to deliver to store for collection as I am at work all day. Placed order and received delivery date as the 6th which would make it a wait time of 7 days. Thought 7 days is rather long but went along with it as I could collect on the 7th Saturday not in work. So instructions said I would receive an email and sms to collect my package on the 6th sounds good. 6th arrives and passes and no email no sms so I ring up today 7th only to be told one of my items has arrived in store but you can not collect as the order is not complete the other item is delayed. I ask when it is going to arrive and am told should be around middle of next week. This is a first time I have used Matalan online and will be my last if I wanted to wait 2 weeks that would be fine but really these days online orders arrive next day in most cases or at least 3 days later. I can order from Germany and receive in 2 days,China free postage and get my parcel in 2 weeks. Matalan based up the road in Knowsley can not get my items to me and there warehouse is 30 minutes drive up the M62. Poor service.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Ordered four frames on line. Said delivery within five working days, took seven, plus one frame damaged. Requested replacement rather than refund, but got refund anyway. They said they could not resend due to 'system restrictions'. In other words they didn't want to pay delivery costs, but I could reorder myself provided I was willing to pay the £3.95 postage. Well, they can have the other three unbroken frames back. Matalan is struggling if they can't get the basics of customer care right they'll go under - won't be a loss.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I was today, once again served by the lovely and friendly, Denise Stone from the Dalston branch of Matalan. As I am a weekly shopper in this store, I try my hardest to be served by Denise as she is always so professional and can always put a smile on my face!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Kristian from the Cardiff high st store was very helpful when we tried to purchase bridesmaids dress he went above customer service to get what we wanted unfortunately we left without buying because they didn’t have the size but advised us to look online.he was pleasant and friendly to all
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I have done my purchase there two weeks ago for the first time. I am happy and pleased with their quality products and wonderful customer services. Keep up the good work. God bless you abundantly! I am very satisfied. I have done my second order 30th. 11.19 and you shipped it next day looking forward to receive my parcel.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
My parcel has apparently gone missing!????????
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Appalling customer service - I ordered items which my daughter had asked for and when I picked the parcel up half were missing but I had no communication to say this was the case. Only upon contacting Matalan did they tell me they could not fulfil the order as they did not have enough stock!! An email communication to tell me this before I picked the parcel up would have been helpful! I am waiting on average 3 days before getting an email response even though this is an ongoing issue and this is still not resolved even though we are 2 weeks on! I will NEVER be ordering from this company again
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Easy online purchases and quick delivery. Good choice of kids clothes in store and reasonable price.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Lost my order, which was gift for someone. Called the call centre which is based abroad. Useless customer service. No idea how to deal with customers and very rude. They also cut you off on purpose.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I recently purchased a matalan gift voucher for my brother in law for Christmas. He has now recently left my sister but matalan has said;I am not allowed a refund . I'm very angry with the so called Customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I have been shopping @ Hartlepool Matalan for a good 15 years, Always had very good service & people who worked there were always friendly. Just today had such a bad experience with some one called Michelle I did purchased £25 worth of shopping, just seconds later after I purchased, I realized that I can spend £30 & receive 20% discount. Michelle was very rude with me front of other customers & told me I am being awkward.. & walked away. Michelle also was screeming & said, I only can use the discount once, which I totally understand, Michelle was not prepared to listen that, I haven’t even used my discount not even once. If Michelle is having bad day, can’t take it on customers.. I didn’t even receive an apology, Such a rude behavior. I am very upset for the way, I been treated by your Matalan staff.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The new store seems to discriminate against disabled people, they are to be appluded for the disabled parking ( right outside the doors) BUT god forbid you need a shopping trolley ( to lean on ) these are situated in the shelter across the carpark???? ,The signage in the shop is misleading also,I complained to the manager, also to customer service at head office,I was met with the same athapy
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
This should be zero stars. Online order total of £138.50 on 13/10/19 and paid a premium for next day delivery. None of the five items arrived next day but two on 16/10/19 and one 17/10/19. One is still outstanding. The customer helpline staff really could not care less (plainly rude IMHO) even though this is luggage for our holiday due imminently. Emailed Customer services asking for help......silence. Worst service I've ever had... really, no exaggeration. Very upset.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Trying to phone Ayr store but was put through to central centre they said they could give me number but hey I didn’t have a pen . You just lost a sale Matalan
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Matalan's customer service is appealing. They never reply to your emails, you have the automated acknowledgement email that your query will be answered asap but this never happens. After waiting 5 days i had to call the customer care team. This happened 3x in two weeks. Chris Waterhouse at Bradford Mayo Avenue resolved the issue straight away and had professional customer service skills. And kept apologising for the delay and the issue that arised from there side. I would give him 5 stars strictly based on his professionalism. He also admitted have bad the online team were. Please note: my review is strictly based on customer care team online. Staff definately needs either retraining or replacing.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
To all of you complaining about the call center based in Bulgaria I have to say that we all are stressed daily because of your ridiculousness. As a worker there we have to deal with your awful british accent, indian accent, nigerian accent and many other accents. Do not judge where the call center is in, have a look at your own country since 80% are emigrants and british people (not all) are disrespectful, rude, non stop complaining, permanently unhappy and are all acting like the queen itself. Probably the worst nationality to work with. Try to be understanding, we are young, working for a very low salary, trying to pay for our studying fees, rent and basically living like animals for funny money dealing with your royalty asses DAILY, getting bossed around by managers, licking butts and apologizing for how dumb some clients are!!!!!!
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Not happy at all! Warning people doing Christmas shopping!! Went to make a online purchase today. The website said the transaction didn’t go through however they proceed to take not one but two payments from me I didn’t receive a order number and when i called to tell them what happened they we’re rude, not helpful and told me to take it up with my bank. So basically i have been robbed. No money back money taken from me twice and nothing to show for it, absolutely disgusting! Needless to say i will not be using the website and will not be shopping at the store either if thats the way customers are treated. Everyone will know about this especially friends and family who usually shop there!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Paid for next day delivery to then be tolled next day dose not mean next day ??? Ordered 26th now 29 th still no text to say I can collect
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Do not pay for next day delivery I ordered a lampshade on 26th paid extra (click & collect ) or as stated next day delivery it's now 29th I rang to ask why to be told next day does not actually mean next day ?????
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Clothes quality and durability is awful. I buy my work shirts, and suits from there. The shirts keep ripping, buttons coming off and seems breaking by the loose thread. The shirts do this after a couple months. The suit thread has come apart in several areas. Durability has to be 1/10. Appearance 7/10. The fit 5/10. Price 8/10. Quality 3/10. Overall 3/10. Would not recommend, but are good for short term basis. Cheap for a reason.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Matalan is rated 4.09 based on 1,514 reviews