Maplin Reviews

3.63 Rating 71 Reviews
65% of reviewers recommend Maplin
Visit Website

Phone:
0844 557 6000

Email:
info@maplin.co.uk

Location:
9 Temple Street

Category:
Business & Office

Are you a business owner?
Click Here

Write Your review

Tell us how Maplin made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"On my visit to Maplin at Maidstone today (15/03/2018) I was totally disgusted with their member of staff who could not be at all bothered to even listen to me, let alone answer my questions. I was intending buying a WD My Cloud drive plus an SD Card. The assistant just continued ignoring me and walking away from me. Obviously I was in the way so I just left the store. . It's not surprising this business is going down the plug-hole. Shame that no-one takes the business seriously and makes it's branches act responsibly towards it's customers."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"DONT BUY FROM MAPLIN IF YOU WISH TO KEEP YOUR ARMS AND LEGS HANDS AND FACE IN ONE PIECE Absolutely appalling company... so I buy a phantom 4 pro drone new and take home. Turn on at home and controller starts to seriously over heat. So hot that basically can not hold the controller. And is buzzing like a battery ready to vent/explode. These are lipo batteries and any issue with these can be very serious. So I call the store in sittingbourne the next morning to tell them and they never called back so next day I call back. To be told try to fly it and see if helps. So following these instructions I did and screen started to render and go green on controller. Next day I take it back to store to be told they do not exchange or refund and have to send it off to head office. Even though my product was faulty from the word go. Un happy but no choice I send back via store to head office. 11 days later my drone is returned to sittingbourne store telling me there is no fault even though dji told me should get no hotter then 40c. This controller gets between 44-50 c with a lipo battery installed. If this battery was to vent out and swell would blow a hole in me or my family's body's. Maybe even death but maplin don't care as long as they are ok.... they refuse to exchange for a working product or refund. So now I'm forced to take legal action rather then have a product that works correct I paid £1700 for. Think about my experience and do you really want to buy from a company that basically sells you a 1700 pound paper weight and don't care if serious injury comes to you as long as they sell you something."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Awful customer service. After being burgled went into wolverhampton store. Decided on ring2. Got home realised no chime rang store to be told thats another 39.99.(MARK).Said i wod return to be told repackaging cost! Then told actually cannot return at all! Asked to speak to manager 'mark' said he was nothing you can do! Then spoke to customer service 'denise' who said put everything in email and she would sort chime out as goodwill gesture 20/1/18.i have wmailed twice no reoly 24/01 Rang store to find a 'rob' is actually the manager.explained to him what had happened. His answer....' no comnent' I asked abkut returns policy....'no comment' I asked if this call is recorded as could not beleive what i was hearing...er no! Back the internet for me. I doubt maplins will be around fir much longer! Do you??"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I wish i had looked on this site before wasting my money at Maplin! i went into the store looking for a camera i can connect to the internet so i can check on my dogs when i'm not in the house. I decided to buy the "Ring Stickup Cam" as this was recommended by the member of staff that wouldn't leave me alone to browse and read up on the items in store for myself! i got the camera home and was very happy with how easy it was to set up and the manufactures gives you a free months trial of cloud storage (THIS IS NOT OPTIONAL). So i use the camera for a month and i was slightly disappointed with the item as it was not consistent and many times i was unable to log on and check my dogs! but that's technology for you and i was willing to live with it as i didn't want the hassle of returning the item.......that's until the months trial of the cloud storage was over and i couldn't log onto the camera any more! I tried a few times to reinstall the camera from the start and i couldn't get it working, So i decide to throw in the towel and return to the Maplin store that i purchased from (High Holborn, London). So i approach the counter and explain to the member of staff what the issue was and he replied in telling me these cameras never fail and i must be mistaken! this made me feel very foolish as there were costumers waiting to be served, he then went on to tell me i am NOT entitled to a refund as its company policy and the camera will have to be sent off and looked at by an expert.....call back in two weeks! when i called costumer services i spoke to a very nice lady until she typed in the reference number of the complaint and she then turned into a rude abrupt lady and went on to tell me there is nothing wrong with the camera and it will be returned......funny that! To be honest i was expecting this outcome when i was told about the company policy of no refunds, so the camera will be returned and i will be stuck with a product that may or may not work.....Thanks Maplin for a truly poor experience and service!!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Disgusting customer service. Purchased a £270 wireless CCTV system from them, tested one of the cameras for 3 days and it was not satisfactory for our needs. Tried to exchange in store and they refused because the box had been opened. Claimed their 30 day satisfaction was only applicable when the box hasn't been opened. Regardless that their product was not satisfactory, how on earth are you supposed to know if a product is satisfactory if you can't open the box to test!! Took this to their Facebook page to escalate further and their response was no better, and finished off with a swift "OK bye" when I told them I would go to trading standards."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Disgusting service from the Chelmsford branch of Maplin. We purchased a number of items from the store and the staff forgot to remove the security tag, that resulted in us being stopped by security staff in various other shops around the town (incredibly embarrassing). Not realising which item we had purchased was causing the issue it was finally identified as being the electrical item purchased in Maplin. Having opened the box to find where the tag was we noticed that the item appeared to have a part missing. So we went back to the store to ask about the missing item and also raise the issue of the security tag, but the missing part was obviously the main concern. On arrival a member of staff named Ross (no more than 17) approached us and we explained the problems. He wasn't interested and called over an older member of staff. This member of staff flatly told us that "there are no security tags on any of their items" and that "It must be items we purchased elsewhere that caused the alarms in other shops". We told him it was definitely the item purchase from Maplin and he gleefully tried to prove a point by grabbing the box from our hands, opening it up in front of us and took great pride in telling us "SEE!!! There is no tag in the box"......only for him to look suitably embarrassed only seconds latter when he spotted the tag in the corner of the box. His answer to that was "Well we didn't put it there so why are you blaming us!". We were not blaming Maplin but simply wanted to raise the point that anyone else purchasing the same item (a "Ring.com" doorbell) may encounter the same problem. The conversation then moved onto the missing part (the battery for the doorbell). The older member of staff agreed that there was clearly a missing part and stormed off to get another box off the shelf only to return and state "Your missing part is already inserted into the bell frame, so it's not missing after all is it!" Given his appalling attitude we asked to speak to a manager. Ross (the Saturday boy) piped up out of nowhere and said "Why do you want to see the manager, what do you think he will do about it"... in an incredibly surly manner one would expect from a hormonal teenager but not one employed in a high street shop. He then added, "What more do you want!", we said "An apology would be nice" The manager duly spoke to us and was thankfully a little more professional but that's not really saying much, but did finally offer his apologies and promised to speak to Ross about his attitude. Judging by his response to us and roll of eyes he knows only too well about Ross and his attitude towards customers. If anyone else finds themselves in the unfortunate position of shopping in the Chelmsford branch of Maplin's be sure they remove the security tags and avoid Kevin and/or Perry behind the main counter."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Ordered and paid for an item, failed to arrive despite promising a call back, never happened, staff at Walsal branch most unhelpful and didn’t really care, will shop elsewhere 8n future give a miss"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"They are very bad. I bought a usb cable which damaged my phone. They took the phone for inspection and till now they never sent it. Every time i call they say it was sent. They are useless"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Total disinterest in what I wanted to buy, not the slightest bit helpful."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Really bad customer service, returns policy, and rude unhelpful advisors. Being told items would be sent for a specific date to an address confirmed by an advisor the company send to not even my local store, on a much later date and will not accept returns. Please do yourself a favour, even if it costs more - buy elsewhere. You get more support and assistance buying on eBay. From one (previously happy) shopper at maplin I will now never use them again. A sham."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"I NOW DO NOT TRUST MAPLIN'S OWN REVIEW SITE, as they appear to reject any reviews that criticise them. I bought a drone costing approx £1,000 and decided within a few days that I should return it, box seal unbroken and immediately did so, Their policy appears to confirm that refund would be within 14 days. Despite contacting Mapline (see copy of a correspondence below) no refund of money yet and I am now in the 4th week!! I tried to leave a poor review on their site and they rejected it as it was a complaint about their customer service.(I had already contacted their customer service but no apparent action). From: Maplin Social Customer Service Sent: 17 April 2017 12:23 To: ts.simpson@hotmail.co.uk Subject: RE: BV_Customer_Service_Review_Action Good Afternoon Thomas Thank you for contacting Maplin I would like to apologise on behalf of the store and Maplin for the delay in your return. I can confirm your product is currently on the way back to ourselves to be verified as resaleable. Your return reference is RTXF42094 Once this has been received a refund will be processed. Should you have any further questions in the mean time, please don't hesitate to contact us. Kind Regards Brian Maplin Customer Service t: 0333 400 9500 From: reports@bazaarvoice.com Sent: 2017-04-17 10:46:19 To: social.cs@maplin.co.uk Subject: BV_Customer_Service_Review_Action Customer Services Reviews Moderation Status: Rejected Review type: Only reviews ModeratorCodes: CS, VAC Review Details: (Open in Bazaarvoice) 04/15/2017 [Review ID: 1031690874] Overall Rating: 1 stars Review Title: Disappointing returns process Decided to return article with seal unbroken. Took to Belfast store in packing box that it came in. Asked assistant to look at article box to agree that seal was unbroken but he refused and taped up the packing box. Policy states that returns will be dealt with within 14 days. On 12th day I contacted their head office and they were not aware of return and had to check and ring me back. On coming back to me it appears that item was still in Belfast but would be dealt with promptly and someone would ring back to update me. Now 15 days after it was returned and no word back never mind the refunding of approximately £1,000. Just glad that I have credit card protection as it appears it may be needed. Totally shocked at this extremely poor service and causing stress with the outlying money. Reviewed on DJI Mavic Pro 4K Quadcopter Drone Additional Review Information: Reviewer ID: 72pwqrirbfsj84wstsqka24qu Nickname: Thomas Email Address: ts.simpson@hotmail.co.uk Verified Purchaser: Yes Location: Belfast, United Kingdom"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"I am very angry. I went into Maplin for a hard drive. I asked a member of staff for solid state hard drive. After a few months I am having problems accessing the files. The hard drive is not solid state. Is there any point in asking for help from staff if they are going to give me the wrong product. I have saved work which I cannot access now. Maplin need to employ knowledgable staff instead of using student as cheap labour. Shame on the management for using cheap staff. I will not be going in Maplin again."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"I'd rather boil my eyeballs than give Maplins any more custom. They are a disgrace. Here is a copy of a letter I sent to their CEO: Dear Mr Meakin, some days ago I sent a letter of complaint to Maplins Customer Services. I didn't really expect anyone to do anything useful, but I did expect the simple courtesy of a reply. Nothing doing. I am disgruntled. Here is a copy of the letter: Alan Jones Jan 4 (2 days ago) customer.service@maplin.co.uk Dear Sir/Madam, I live in Exeter and am very unhappy with customer service at your Exeter branch. A few months ago I went in to ask about a hearing amplifier, this sort of thing: http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/beurer-ha-50-hearing-amplifier-a08wb Your Exeter staff advised me that the nearest branch with any in stock was Taunton. They did not offer to order one for me. Last week I went to the same branch and asked about a disk caddy like this one: http://www.ebay.com/p/9-5mm-universal-sata-2nd-hdd-ssd-hard-drive-caddy-for-cd-dvd-rom-optical-bay/1164372875 The response was no, you don't do them at all. Frankly they had no idea what I was talking about and looked at me like I was a Martian or something. This is hardly an exotic component. Today was the last straw. I went in and asked for an eSata cable. They confirmed you have them on your website but said sorry, "they are all at head office". I left empty handed but then thought, why on earth didn't they offer to get head office to send one over? This very service is offered as a free service on a large board outside the branch! This is execrable customer service. I have had no reply whatever from either Customer Services or the CEO! Disgusting."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"I ordered a graphics card online, when it didn't arrive I contacted them to ask why. They said it was no longer available and the £230.00 would be put back in my bank, still waiting! Why I had to contact them to find this out is really bad PR. Also they barred my complaint from their site!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"Visited Hereford store today for RCA cable shop assistant showed me the type I wanted cheapest price £12.99. I advised him that your web page had them for £1.87 which he found on the website as well. I asked him to order one for collection at store and he told me I could do it directly but 'it was no skin off his nose' and his attitude was rude. I eventually ordered it from eBay as I do now want anything from Maplin."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"May 2016, I got a new professional 48w lcd display soldering iron station from Maplin_Webdeals via Amazon online as it was offering a £4.99 discount from its normal price from the stores. Yesterday, 23rd July 2016, the unit stopped working. The solder iron doesnt heat up even after 30 minutes left switched on! Photo attached shows monitor lcd screen that doesn't change. I was told by my local Maplin shop I can bring it down with my invoices for a replacement. Went down to store today, spent over an hour there as the shop assistant tried to get it authorised by HO who couldn't find my purchase details. Apparently HO insist I should have received a Maplin invoice by email. Maplin refuse to accept my Amazon invoice, eventhough it says seller Maplin_Webdeals! Initially I wanted a replacment but after this awful experience, I don't want this item anymore nor do I want to use Maplin any further. Will be askng for a refund and get another unit from another retailer who knows how to service and value their customers."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"Anthony at the Stratford, ,branch served me. He was so very helpful and patient and explained to a deaf old age pensioner without being patronising. I really rate him. I have always found that Maplin is a bit more expensive than say online purchases, but Anthony was so helpful and charming, I felt that I got a bargain. I do hope he will be rewarded in some way"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
".....SPEAKING TO CUSTOMER CARE AND THEY CUT THE PHONE ON ME.... I bought a small Hercules DJ controller from maplin, spoke to a couple of Djs, and was told to get a better one, i had used the controller a few times for personal use, and i took it back to maplin, that i need to return it (since I would be upgrading and was still under the 30 day money back guarantee, I was given a full refund, and added the money to what i had on me and bought a bigger one( Pioneer) that was recommended by a member of staff in Maplin the same day. I spoke to DJs that i know, and they told me it was an entry level controller, i used it twice to see if it was worth an upgrade, still under the 30 day money back guarantee, i took it back to maplin, asked if they had what i needed and they didn't so i asked for a refund. The store the manager told me I could not get a full refund, reason being that, it was 'used twice' and offered me 75% of the retail price or go and sell it myself. Hence I went to the other Maplin branch at Junction 1. On getting there, the manager(at Junction 1) was waiting for me at the door, to tell me that he got a call from the other manager (at Reagent St.) that they should not collect the controller from me unless, I accepted his condition(that is,collect the 75%of the retail price or take the controller back and sell it somewhere else). I also asked the Manger(at Junction1) for the reason given to him, he said he was not told a reason. I was then charged 25% of the retail price and this affects my satisfactory right.It is not stated in Your Terms and Conditions, neither was it stated in your return and refund policy as at 14/05/2016 (2:00 pm), that I will be charged 25% of the retail price because the item was used. I called customer service and was told they could not do anything that the manager had made his decision, and it cannot be changed. i also sent an email of which they replied with ''We aim to respond to all emails within 24 hours. However in the vast majority of cases customers will receive a reply well within this time frame.'' Still waiting on their reply after 24 hours. The next day i call customer care to speak to someone in higher authority, they said asked for my details... and told me to wait, and they did not forward my call to any one but rather cut the phone on me, called again, they asked for my name, and cut the phone on me. The only charge found was in section 6.3 of returns under your terms and conditions, which does not apply to my case. Please I need the reason for this 25% charge to be expressly explained."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"I was in Maplin looking for a computer, it turned out it was out of stock. A member of staff said he would order me one to my house that will arrive in less than four days. i was a happy customer."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"great customer service"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Maplin is rated 3.63 based on 71 reviews