Kwik-Fit Reviews

2.47 Rating 59 Reviews
34 %
of reviewers recommend Kwik-Fit
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone

Write Your review

Tell us how Kwik-Fit made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
I’ve been to Kwik Fit twice in for an MOT, once last year and again last weekend. I found the staff to be friendly and informative on my last visit so I chose to go agin this year for an MOT The major reason I am leaving a little 1 star is because of the terribly misinformed information I was given about to the change in law regarding MOT failures!! With no dangerous faults on my vehicle AND 1 week remaining on my current MOT I was told that it would be ILLEGAL to drive my car on the roads as of that day INCLUDING COMMUTING TO WORK. I had 1 week remaking on my MOT and was told that branch couldn’t fix it for 2/3 weeks. I rely on my car to get me to work, I can’t afford time off. Found out today that’s not exactly correct. READ THE CHANGE IN LAW YOURSELF! I took it on good faith I was being told the correct information and it has cost me a weekend of stress, rushing around and nearly £1200 for a new car i didn’t need for repair I could have fixed for £300/£400 in the coming week! The whole experience and information I was told has left me feeling like an idiot and I’m enraged. Based on that I will don’t think I’ll be going back
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
the AA assisted me to kwifit Alton with a flat tyre. It was late in the afternoon, I am in my 70s and anxious as to availability of a suitable tyre. Kwikfit staff went out of their way to be helpful and explain what needed to be done. In the event I needed to replace both the damaged tyre and the corresponding one on the other side of the vehicle. The reason for this was explained thoroughly and I am impressed by their efficiency and thoughtfulness. Thank you Kwikfit for getting me back on the road so quickly.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Had my Mot done with KwikFit Pontypridd. Extremely good service with nice and friendly staff. Easy booking online!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Had my MOT at Erith Kwikfit. Car was failed on several major faults all linked to suspension arm and drop links. However, had replaced the drop links previous year so was concerned. Took the car to another garage the next day and it passed without any problems at all. Went back to Kwikfit to question their MOT and received a hostile response. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. They are a massive rip off and if I had left my car there to have the ‘faults’ rectified I would have been looking at a £600-£700 bill. BE WARNED.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Took my car for MOT to the Erith Branch and was told that before they could carry out the MOT I needed to pay for 6l of engine oil bcos the engine oil in the car was low otherwise my car engine will knock. . After the MOT, I was told there was a nail in my tyre and needed 2 buy new tyres, and front & rear break pads needed replacing as well as 2 brake discs quoting £500. As I didn't plan to spend that amount on a 3 year old car, I said I will bring it back at the end of October. I took it to Ancaster Nissan for full car service and was told I only need 1 tyre, and the other tyre with the nail was repaired. For the brake pads, they can still go another 15000 miles, after which they will recheck it to see if it needs replacing. The discs dont need changing at all. In total, I paid £380 for a full service, repair of a tyre and replaced a new tyre. The same would have cost £800+ with Kwit Fit even though it was the manager that attended to me at Kwit Fit.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Took my car for MOT and was told that before they could carry out the MOT I needed to pay for 6l of engine oil bcos the engine oil in the car was low otherwise my car engine will knock. . After the MOT, I was told there was a nail in my tyre and needed 2 buy new tyres, and front & rear break pads needed replacing as well as 2 brake discs quoting £500. As I didn't plan to spend that amount on a 3 year old car, I said I will bring it back at the end of October. I took it to Ancaster Nissan for full car service and was told I only need 1 tyre, and the other tyre with the nail was repaired. For the brake pads, they can still go another 15000 miles, after which they will recheck it to see if it needs replacing. The discs dont need changing at all. In total, I paid £380 for a full service, repair of a tyre and replaced a new tyre. The same would have cost £800+ with Kwit Fit even though it was the manager that attended to me at Kwit Fit.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
suffered a tyre blow out on the way to an important meeting and I called Kwik Fit Weymouth to see if they could help. The manager Steve could not have been any more helpful along with his assistant Craig. They helped me with a new tyre within no time at all and at a very reasonable price. There was also a problem with my spare wheel so they went above and beyond to get the problem sorted. Well done Kwik Fit Weymouth! It's a shame other garages aren't as helpful as you.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
I phoned this morning regarding a car battery after being mislead and let down by Halfords. Tryone assistant manager answered the phone very friendly, professional and helpful. They were able to fit me in ASAP. I arrived and Tyrone greeted me with a warm and friendly manner. To which put me at ease straight away. A guy called Sam fitted and explained about my battery. First class service. Will definitely recommend. Thank you guy's
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Over priced company. After purchasing a tyre on 30/9/19 from Kwik-Fit I found out that I could have purchased the same at another garage near for over £50 cheaper. Further there were many other garages who were a lot less than Kwik-Fit. Never again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I have often heard kwikfit look at your car for mot , service or tyres and make a cheap job expensive . Well that's not our experience. Today we took our Suzuki in. We had been told by other garages that the alternator needed changing. They had a job to change the brake discs. We told them about the alternator and they found no problem. They did change the timing belt and problem was solved. This kwikit in Huddersfield gave us a fantastic job.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Rip off merchants. Took in for MOT, had fairly new tyres but checked over before hand and could not see an issue. They called saying that there was a tear that went down to the threads in one of the tyres and it will cost £80 to change. It was only after I agreed that colleagues told me this is a trick of theirs and after looking it up online saw other people making the same complaint. They then phoned me up saying the wheels are out of line and they can fix it for £130, I said no. The wheels are fine, had no issues and there was nothing picked up in the advisories last MOT and the service picked up nothing about 5 months before, yet they have made a list of 8 advisory items despite very few miles being done on the car since the last MOT. Will never use again, it seems like most the people in my office have been ripped off by Kwik Fit, please do your research before choosing your garage, speak to family and friends that can vouch for them, and try and avoid chains at all cost, as Halfords have ripped me off before too.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
My son booked a MOT and Interim service online for the 11th September 2019 and payed in full £112 My son dropped of his car a Vauxhall Corsa S Eco flex Reg. SH63 PLJ @ 08:30 11TH September at the Coatbridge depot.. He was contacted at 10:05 by the depot supervisor/manager Craig and was told his car needed a coil spring and a spec switch to pass its MOT. My son gave the go-ahead for the repairs but told the car would not be ready until after 16:30. My son phoned me and asked if I could collect his car as he was backshift and started work at 14:00. I agreed. At 17:01 my son text me and said that he was contacted and that the car was ready. I got a taxi to the depot and waited until 17:55 and then was told the car was not MOT’d or had the service done yet and could I come back in the morning. I asked why and was told by Craig that it needed a coil spring and a spec switch fitted and he didn’t have the time to complete the job even though the car was there from 08:30? He asked me to pay the bill at this time. I asked if I had to pay for the MOT and service also as I did not know my son had already payed it. Craig said as a goodwill gesture he was going to give my son 2 years free wheel alignment because his car wasn’t ready. I payed £250 which I thought was for MOT, Service and the two repairs specified, it wasn’t till I got home I realized that he had charged me £139.95 for what he said was a good will gesture. My son took the car back the next day but Craig did not speak with him. I phone the depot also just to be hung up upon. The wheel alignment was not asked for and my son did not want it so I don’t understand why this guy charged me £139.95?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Cheap but........ Have now got oil leak drips on driveway!!! Overfilled On checking dipstick, level is 6mm above high mark!!! Very poor service. Engine plastic cover has been removed, but not replaced after service, now cost £60 to replace it. When asked about it, just got excuses that it was not fitted!!! Trust is a big thing, I would never use them again!!! Cheap yes but I would rather pay double and use a main dealer.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Don’t book with them as is no point! they do not respect it!! Booked the car for 10 am for a break check, and break pads replacement at Cumbernauld Kwik Fit. Dropped the car at 9:50 ( i was the first customer at the center) and told the guy going to wait at nearby coffee place. At 11:10 since nobody called, walked back to discover they not even moved my car. Instead they were dealing with other customers. Wasted 1h from my weekend! Disgraceful! toke car and left and will never bring business to them!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Don’t book with them as is no point! they do not respect it!! Booked the car for 10 am for a break check, and break pads replacement at Cumbernauld Kwik Fit. Dropped the car at 9:50 ( i was the first customer at the center) and told the guy going to wait at nearby coffee place. At 11:10 since nobody called, walked back to discover they not even moved my car. Instead they were dealing with other customers. Wasted 1h from my weekend! Disgraceful! toke car and left and will never bring business to them!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Poor level of service for a checked in service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Kwik fit Anniesland branch, Avoid if you are female as you will be patronised and your intelligence will be insulted by the manager who quite frankly is not fit for purpose.He needs to complete a customer care course asap.Lack of care for customers cars.We will never use them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Arranged for my car to have an Aircon refill. They said there was a problem and they could not do it. I paid by PayPal so asked if they could do an oil and filter change for me. They offers to carry out a full service for £200. I was taking the car to France so agreed. The usual "upsale" happened and two tyres were fitted and the total came to circa £500. I drove the car from the garage and the oil light came on. I returned to the garage and they told me they never fill the oil up to the top as it's a diesel.? The man checked the oil level and it was well below the dipstick mark. He filled it up and said that it was now fine and wished me a safe drive to France. I made it as far as the M25 where the engine was making loud banging noises and the oil light came on. Limped to the Kwik Fit at Waltham. They were great. Did an oil change and told me not to drive it anymore as the engine was pretty much wrecked. They spoke to the Kwik Fit garage in Glossop where the service was done and asked the man if the oil light came on. The Glossop man said "yes, but I topped up the oil and it was ok". It was not Ok. £3000 pounds worth of damage was done to the engine because of lack of oil pressure. Kwik Fit say it's my fault for not having regular oil changes. I have the full service history even though they put the Glossop garage stamp on top of the last service stamp.???. Case is now with the Financial Ombudsman. In my opinion. A BUNCH OF COMPLETE COWBOYS. After weeks of not answering my complaints we are going to court. Go anywhere but Kwik Fit. Supply of Goods or Services Act. Reasonable care or Skill. A joke.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Quick fit did my tyre pressure in twickenham, the employee took my car and drove it in and I waited in reception when the car had been done my car was parked facing outwards so I come behind the car and didn’t notice what they had done ,i thought nothing of it untill i got home and noticed my car had been scraped on the left side of my bumper (in the colour if the Kwik fit work shop) the next day i went back to show them the damaged which one of the employees had done,walking in the workshop i noticed that the left side of their workshop had wet paint,my car was also damaged on the left side...all managers including their operation manager had denied it.!!l!!!!!@twickenham kwik fit
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Took my car in to Kwik Fit Wigston for a service and while there asked if they could investigate the left indicator which was ‘ticking’ rapidly to let me know there was a problem – left rear indicator was not lighting up. Told them I had tested the bulb and it was fine, but it seemed to be a connection or electrical problem that was stopping it from lighting up. They said they would investigate. They didn’t. When I collected the car later I was assured everything was fine and the service schedule had ‘exterior lights and lamps’ marked as green. I was led to believe the problem with the indicator had been a very quick and minor fix that had been sorted out as part of the service. Drove home and the left indicator was still ‘ticking’ faster and the rear one was still not lighting up. So the technician either didn’t check the operation of the indicators properly, didn’t check at all, or, to put it bluntly, lied. I wish I had turned around and taken the car straight back but I wasn’t feeling very well and didn’t like the thought of trying to confront several male staff members on my own. I made a formal complaint and received a rather patronising email from the area manager saying “if there was an issue at the time of service we would have happily rectified this at the time for you” – so the indicator magically started working during the service, did it, despite not working for two days before and still not working immediately after?! Not a chance. How was this issue missed – or ignored – when I had specifically asked for it to be looked into? Kwik Fit did at least send me a cheque for the costs of petrol for a family member’s car and bus travel which I had to use while waiting for my car to be fixed at an independent garage, but this was sent “without any acceptance of liability.” Not once has anyone offered an apology, provided an explanation, or answered my questions, despite my sending numerous further emails. Since Kwik Fit now appears to be ignoring me, I will be sharing this experience on all the review sites I can find. I no longer have faith in Kwik Fit and will never use them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Kwik-Fit is rated 2.47 based on 59 reviews