Insure Your Motor Reviews

4.31 Rating 2,259 Reviews
83 %
of reviewers recommend Insure Your Motor
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.54 out of 5
Read Insure Your Motor Reviews
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I received a phone call yesterday asking for me to send some documents back over that you hadn't sent me, I was told I would receive another email with the missing information on, I still haven't received this.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hello Liam. It's Samantha here from Insure Your Motor. Thank you for your feedback. I have looked into your comments and have been advised that one of our team has now been in contact with you to assist.
Posted 5 years ago
I am disappointed, that you raised me up price because i use my car for transport to work.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Tomas. Thank you for your feedback. Within our validation process we ask our customers to clarify their information to ensure we offer the best product with the best insurer and price. The premium can sometimes change between the quote and purchase stage, but this usually only happens when risk or personal details are found to be different. Insurers do rate on the use of the vehicle and unfortunately if the vehicle is used on a more regular basis such as to and from work this will be reflected in the premium. Our agents are trained to fully explain any differences to the customer before they purchase. Regards Samantha Insure Your Motor.
Posted 5 years ago
Haw you took money online per month for car.......... Please tell that much money you've got 297 E now how my money atlo-month
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
shockingly expensive company. in hindsight, i wish i had spent more time comparing different insurance companies. i am now stuck with this policy for the next 10 months. shambles from start to finish. go elsewhere!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hello Emma. Thank you for your feedback. I have asked one of our senior members of the team to look into your comments and contact you. Samantha Insure your Motor.
Posted 5 years ago
Insure your motor comes top of the cheapest quote on 2 different names I've quoted for however it's a loss leader as when you actually factor in the circumstances it becomes more expensive, also your refund policy when quoted 30/40 days is shocking for someone who pays the whole year upfront. I have been insured via insure your motor on two occasions but I don't think I will even try a third quote.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
What was quoted to me on the comparison website is different, I have to pay more. Then I have to prove that the quote have included everything except "breakdown cover", but I still buy the contract as the person am talking to is good. Then after a few days I have to talk to their customer service people, I have talked to loads of customer service person in other companies by phone, seems this one is always annoyed when I talked (3-4 times) to them. That is the big reason why I gave this a poor rating. Hopefully it will improve and will take this review as a constructive criticism.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
I transferred the full amount of over £1,0000 on February 19 and still haven't had any documents posted to my home address. If I have a crash tmrw, you'll no doubt wriggle out of your responsibility to cover me because I hadn't supplied you a copy of my driving licence and proof of No Claims. How can I when you've not sent me any documents? The crafty little trick by your underwriter of increasing the price by over a third at the last second for some spurious reason connected with a speeding offence from three years ago - which you already knew about - has also been noted. Aidan Magee
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
They expecting from new drivers that never been insured to know everything, if I send few documents wrong guess what? They whould never drop you a stupid email, hey mate you are about to lose your insurance in a few days if you don't send as all the paperwork because every thing is about money in this business ????Wtf i have to found out this when I call them for a normal question, that's ridiculous, waiting for dead line and then, sorry you lost your insurance, i have a contract i signed and bye bye, first and last year with this guys, terrible, they disappointed me
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Your excess is too high
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Refunds takes 40 days 2 months to get money back, LUV takes 3 days, hate it when company holds your money that long.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Poor customer service. Charges during cooling off period. Not answering calls. Line cutting off at certain points such as before close of business.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
So far really disappointed with their service been on hold for 20 min just clarify a simple letter unless is a new business call no one seems to be interested in helping. looking else where
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Quotation is not accurate, I applied from online and the initial quotation was £2,000. However when the agent called me they said the amount became £2,600. In Addition, from online there is a field in which you can choose for the voluntary excess so I only put £300, but when I got the certification the total excess became £3,000 which is more expensive than my car (my car cost £1,600 only). I called your hotline and they said the £3,000 total excess is required. In this case you should have not put a voluntary excess field in your online and just put the required £3,000 excess so that everybody will know it before they pay the insurance. One of my friend has a car insurance from Admiral and his total excess is only £300 and that's what he choose from online of Admiral. He is also a new driver like me.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hello Mervin - Jonathan from Insure Your Motor here. Thanks for your feedback, it's really important to us. I've asked our team to review your call recording and they confirm that the £3,000 excess was disclosed during your conversation with our agent. Motor insurance can be quite complex as there are often compulsory as well as voluntary excesses. You opted for a voluntary excess but the insurer you selected also requires a large compulsory excess. If you contact our customer services team, they will be able to confirm all of the details to you and clarify any additional questions you may have.
Posted 5 years ago
Not supply good information - difference product information from online and when you call,next years I not take again this insurance.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
I sent documents back as requested via a smartphone. I phoned to see if IYM received them - they hadn't, so I sent an email as to why this happened, and didn't get a reply. I have now sent them via Royal Mail
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hi l was told that l can add my wife as a second driver but when l called you someone wanted to charge me £50 extra. So l was not happy with that.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Frank, it's Jonathan from Insure Your Motor. Thanks for the feedback which is really useful and we're sorry if the charge for adding extra drivers to your policy was not made clear to you. I will ask someone to review your file and get back to you on this very soon.
Posted 5 years ago
Customer service is terrible lost over £600 just in deposits,everything is done via email so having to print and send didn't make it easy normally it's via post.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hello Ayse, it's Jonathan from Insure Your Motor. I have asked for your comments to be investigated and we will be contacting you directly very soon. If there has been any over-payment then you will of course be refunded immediately. The majority of our customers prefer to communicate with us by email as it is the simplest, quickest and cheapest method however, if you prefer to use the post then this is fine also. Thanks for taking the time to post your review.
Posted 5 years ago
The price quoted on the price comparison site was not the price I was given by insure your motor. in fact the deposit was an extra £100 and the monthly payments were and extra £40/month. going to get my experience up and switch as soon as possible. to top it all off the guy I spoke to was condescending and extremely rude and felt like he knew I couldn't get insured anywhere else and revelled in that fact. the only reason I haven't chosen very poor is that you actually insured me apart from that NEVER AGAIN!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Daniel, it's Jonathan from Insure Your Motor. I am sorry to hear that you're not satisfied with your experience but clearly happy that we were able to provide you with cover where others could not help you. We take your comments very seriously and I am arranging for our Complaints Team to review your call - they will be in touch with you directly as soon as they have concluded their investigations. Thank you for taking time to post a review.
Posted 5 years ago
Tried to increase premium by £60 after I repeated the information given online. This increase was removed when I said I would go back to the comparison site. It took 8 days for written confirmation to be received and then it did not confirm the evidence required from me (i.e. driving licence and utility bill). Paperwork relating to installments was included even though I had already paid the annual premium in full Come on Insure Your Motor start acting like an insurance broker by being more helpful to the customer!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
The premium was significantly higher than evaluated through the online survey form. A lot of time consuming (2-3 days) delays, after first few days after I paid my premium I didn't know if I am insured or not. The insuring procedure is really odd and I could not know how it will go before paying the premium. I dealt with few insurance companies and never had such awkward experience and uncertain of current state of the deal.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Insure Your Motor is rated 4.31 based on 2,259 reviews