Hitchcock & King Ltd Reviews

3.98 Rating 62 Reviews
76 %
of reviewers recommend Hitchcock & King Ltd
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat
Read Hitchcock & King Ltd Reviews

About Hitchcock & King Ltd:

Hitchcock & King have over 40 years experience of serving London as timber and builders merchants.

Visit Website

Phone:

020 8012 8032

Email:

sales@hitchcockandking.co.uk

Location:

74 — 86 Carnwath Road, Fulham

Write Your review

Tell us how Hitchcock & King Ltd made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I ordered C16 sawn treated 22x150mm boards from the Streatham branch to use for outdoor furniture. The boards looked weathered but I'd never purchased this type before so I thought I could clean them up. When I planed the surfaces, within 2 days, black, white and green mould was growing out of the board which means that mould spores are within the timber. When I contacted the branch, I was refused a refund or exchange because I hadn't treated the (brand new already treated C16) planks... The team wasn't rude but I think not fair as I was sold a bad quality product. I maybe should have expected this because when I visited the branch I wasn't given a chance to inspect the wood before the team had cut it and put it in my car... It was very a rushed and unpleasant experience. I've very disappointed and will not be using the company again and recommend other DIYers to shop for wood and products elsewhere. I have attached images of a planed and unplaned plank for reference.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Hi - Thanks for taking the time to leave this review. Clearly, we haven't lived up to our usual high standards on this occasion. Would it be possible for you to email us on sales@hitchcockandking.co.uk and we'd be happy to look at what happened here. Thank you.
Posted 6 months ago
I ordered beams and blocks flooring 7 weeks ago ( lead time 2 weeks), I have been told several times "you will get it tomorrow or this afternoon" by Ashford branch. Delay my project already for 4 weeks. I still did not receive it until today. I have to pay delay fee.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi Stan - We appreciate you taking the time to leave this review. It's sad to hear that your customer service experience didn't live up to our high standards on this occasion. This is something we will be looking into internally. Would it be possible for you to email sales@hitchcockandking.co.uk so we can understand what happened here? Thank you
Posted 8 months ago
Difficult times with COVID but disappointing that your Twickenham brand decides to pick up the phone and then hang up immediately. Poor service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Marc, We appreciate the time you've taken to leave your feedback. You are quite right, Covid-19 has presented some huge demands on us as a business and we are trying our hardest to work through this. We’re doing our very best to answer all of your phone calls, as well as preparing all of your orders for delivery or collection, but we’re seeing extremely high demand. Please do keep trying and we will help you as soon as possible. Thanks,
Posted 1 year ago
Dreadful service in Ashford , 50% of staff standing around in branch doing nothing and no one answers the phone, can’t understand how they operate like this
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Evan, Thanks for taking the time to leave this review. I'm sorry that you left feeling with this impression of H&K, clearly, we didn't live up to our normal standards. As I'm sure you'll understand, we are experiencing unprecedented levels of demand at this stage and are working our hardest to try and keep up our levels of customer service. I hope we can rectify this on the next occasion. Thanks,
Posted 1 year ago
This is the second time l have been into the Fulham branch in the last year. Both times there were loads of blokes standing behind the counter trying their best to ignore me. When one of them eventually came over his attitude was dreadful and he really couldn't care less about helping out. I went round the corner to Jewsons and had a completely different experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dropped into the Epsom branch for some timber yesterday at 4pm and was told by the manager that it was a bit late in the day to cut anything! Appalling customer service from manager and staff, foul language in constant use and general loutish behaviour. Forklift driver was also operating the lift and using his mobile phone. It will be a long, long time before I use your Epsom branch again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Went in to get help on a quote at Ashford Surrey. I was shocked at the way I was spoken to at customer services. Apalling customer service. I won't be going there again. Terrible company.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
This morning I was verbally abused by one of the delivery driver of the company while he was parked wrongly. I was actually happy to wait but just got shouted at for using the road and got told that having his hazards on gives him all right and that he could even sit in his van and make me wait if he wanted to. I had to call the manager as it was a very rude and unnecessary behaviour. I am pregnant and had a toddler in the car. The manager however was very apologetic and very nice.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Just experience the most foul mouthed and horrific employee from your company while driving on the A23 in croydon. Absolutely disgusted by their behaviour, esp with me having two young children in the car.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We're sorry to hear this, if you could email sales@hitchcockandking.co.uk with details of roughly what time this occurred we will look into this for you.
Posted 3 years ago
I called up the Streatham branch, to order some hardwood and they refused to cut the decking for me. As a timber service, I think this is appalling. Kind regards Lorraine Barclay
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We're sorry to hear this, I've messaged privately to ask for the (approximate) time of this call so that we can look into this further.
Posted 3 years ago
Hitchcock & King Ltd is rated 3.98 based on 62 reviews