Halfords Autocentres Reviews

1.46 Rating 161 Reviews
9% of reviewers recommend Halfords Autocentres

Phone:
0800 037 0800

Location:
Halfords Autocentres Ltd.
7/9 Richmond Road,
Olton Wharf Olton,

Categories:
Motoring
Tyres
MOT & Servicing
Motoring
Tyres
MOT & Servicing

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

How would you rate Halfords Autocentres ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Michael Wicks
Unverified Reviewer
"I’ve only given Halfords autocentre a 1 star because there’s no option of a 0. Took my car in for a disk and pad change on all 4 wheels, when I got the car back the brakes made a noise I’d not heard before, so I took the car back on 2 seperate occasions and was told all was sorted. Still the noise was happening, so I took it to a different Halfords autocentre 2 times in which the second time they told me I needed a new caliper... so I paid an extra £163 on top of the £547 I had already paid for the brakes only for the same noise to still be persisting! I then took the car back again and was assured it would be sorted this time, got a phone call explaining that everything was “sorted” and that the brakes were now “spot on” and had been “test driven” only to pick the car up from the same spot I had left it... same mileage on the car (I took a photo before hand) and absolutely nothing touched as far as I could see! I have since taken the car to a different garage and had the issue rectified swiftly. So all in all I had a dodgy brake job and instead of using the “brakes for life policy” to replace the bad job they had done they decided to charge me for a caliper that never needed changing, completely lied to me about doing any work at all on the car the last time I took it in and we’re just plain incompetent from start to finish. Overall I feel ripped off."
Helpful Report
Posted 14 hours ago
"Booked my car into Inverness Autocentre with a noise from the front passenger side of the car. After looking at the car they said there were three things needing repaired including the rear part of the exhaust. I had the "repairs" done and after collecting the car and driving home the noise was still there and I also had a rattling exhaust. I phoned them straight away and was told they couldn't look at the car until Wednesday. After rechecking my car they said it was a suspension problem (which I initially told them) and the reason they hadn't noticed this to begin with is because they didn't check it. It took a couple of days for the part to come but I was told I cold drive the car in the meantime and it would be "perfectly fine". Three short journeys later, while my wife was driving the suspension collapsed leaving the car undriveable. The car was taken back to Halfords on the back of a tow truck and when I spoke to the staff they were at best uninterested. They eventually fixed the problem, but all in it cost just over £750 and I now feel totally conned by these cowboys. After I complained to Halfords I did get £240 back and a £100 gift card but I will never be using these cowboys again and I would advise anyone else to stay well clear."
Helpful Report
Posted 17 hours ago
"DO NOT GO TO HALFORD FOR ANY FREE CHECK UP'S ON YOUR CAR. They lie to get you to pay a large amount of MONEY when nothing is wrong with your car. On the 21st April 2017 Halford provided me with a report that stated : My Wishbone Arms where leaking Oil - But it cannot. My 3 month old battery was almost dead - They put in the wrong codes when they tested the battery. ( I had warranty on the battery and when I went to get it changes Euro parts tested the battery infront on me and there was nothing wrong with it. Total waste of my time . My car oil was low - Because they loosened my Oil Filter and forgot to tighten it back. A couple days after I had the test I saw oil under my car. My discs and Brake pads where low - But they wasn't. My wheel nuts needed changing as they were hard to take off - Ofcourse they were hard to take off because they tighten my wheel nuts with a air gun. Total SCAMMERS. I complained to Halfords and all they could say is that they are sorry. Sorry is not good enough when this is a Nationwide Company who is putting customers safety at risks by tampering with the cars and stating lies on the report. Luckily my Dad is a retired Mechanic and when he saw the Wishbone Oil Leakage claim on the report, he asked me which FOOL told you this? If it wasn't for my Dad I would have paid over £700 not including Labor for my car to be fixed. I have submitted another complaint however Halfords have not replied. It has been 3 weeks. I think they are not replying to me because I mentioned in my complaint that I have a Dash Cam that shows a video of the mechanic under the front of my car for sometime ( Probably loosening my oil filter) Sadly I dont have a Dash Cam under my car, maybe next time. I cannot trust any company anymore because of this. Personally I think that because I am a woman and they see this, people seem to take advantage of us because they think we now nothing. THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE AND WE KNOW MORE THANK YOU THINK."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Trevor Phillips
Unverified Reviewer
"Booked car into Bath branch yesterday as windscreen washers not working. They identified fault, ordered new motor and fitted it very efficiently at reasonable cost. Sean kept us well informed of progress. Would definitely use again"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Derek Edwards
Unverified Reviewer
"Excellent service at Staines Autocentre. Took my car in at short notice for M.OT and carried out necessary repair to get the car back to me expeditiously. Great customer service as always"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"Booked my car in for service only for them to tell me that my cooling system was not working, fair enough. I paid £220 for them to fix it plus the cost of the service only to brake down a week later with my daughter on the m25 at midnight! phoned them in the morning, no apology they told me 'well something else must now with my car'. no compassion or responsibility for the damage done to my car."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Have a full service last sat. Didnt able to change my air filter saying they have no stock can bring it back wed onward.bring it today saturday still dont have it what awaste of time. Instead to apologise for the delay they are rude and blame my car because it is 66 plate and parts are hard to get. And even you booked your car you still need to leave your car not with other garage you can wait have a coffee and more professional than halfords staff."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I feel so stupid after reading these reviews! I had my front brake pads and discs replaced today at Halfords Sydenham. My car is now making a scraping noise and an embarrassing high pitched squeaking sound which seems to be getting worse! (wasn’t there before I changed my pads) There’s also a burning smell coming from my tyres ...to make it worse there’s nothing I can do until the store it reopens on Monday"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Broke my clutch, lied about it, and then refused to pay for the damage. Avoid at all costs!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Halfords Surbiton have gone down since the previous manager left. Booked car in for brake and safety check and to rotate the tyres that I had bought their. Was told that they were busy and would need to leave the car for the whole day! was then told they could do a quick check over but without rotating the wheels as they are too busy, waste of time will do it myself and go elsewhere for more serious work. Shame as the previous manager was good and valued customer service."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Took an hour to change pair front tyres !!!! They were fitting tyres as agent for online tyre seller Service Manager moaning they didnt make any money , quite true for time taken . Good tyre fitter could would of fitted 3 times that in the time."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I booked in my car for a full service, during the course of which they called me to say that they had identified a number of faults requiring urgent attention - brakes (front and back), suspension, tyres, and quoting me £800+ to fix them. I declined to have them do so, and two days later submitted my car (elsewhere) for its MOT. Not only did it pass, but there were not even any advisories. I double checked with the tester who confirmed that my vehicle was in perfect condition. That is nothing short of fraud."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"had mot today in Aberdeen garage, car is past test but do not know way all bonnet,mirror and window was in engine oil end when I left garage on the panel show low oil level, open bonnet all engine dirty with oil do not understand how they check my car. note was make full service but service was done 3 months ago. never again visit this Garage"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Joke place left car for a week before going on holiday to get shock absorbers fixed only started works last day leaving me without a car for a full day. Joke of a management won't be coming back."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Had a full service at Hounslow Sunday asked why my tyre pressure are showing difference measure of air the engineer said ur computer wrongly display. So rude and walked off customer service 0 out of 10."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"absolutely shocking service and shouldn't be able to class themselves as a workshop /garage. these are sub standard personnel who may sometimes be cheaper but not worth any compromise for safety to your vehicle"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Invoice no 412/22113 Job Ref: 23694 Lexus IS 200 FN05YDW 26/04/18My car air-conditioner was giving warm air rather than cold. It was recharged last year. I am a regular Kwickfit customer. However, I have started using Halfords off and on so thought let me try them this time , in particularly when they say ,on their website that there is a free checkup of the air conditioning system before recharging and filling gas in the system . I though this is a plus point over Kwickfit. I rang my nearest Halfords who were fully booked for next few days. I rang the London Road Kingston branch. I was told that they will find out the reason for it not cooling and I should book in as soon as I can as they are not very busy and will be able to do it straight away. When I arrived the garage around 1235pm the reception person I spoke with was on his own , there was no mechanic or any car nearby, the place was actually extremely quite . I again enquired that your website says you check first and then recommend, also that the system needs recharged every two years , whereas something was done last year though not sure what it was but the air conditioner worked last year . He said leave it with us and it will be sorted . I signed the paperwork and left. After one and half hour when I came back the person told me that it is ready. When I asked the fault he said that the gas was a little bit low and that has been filled. I paid, sat in the car; the air was still warm, so I thought that I might take 10 min to cool down and drove away to the car wash. After, half an hour there was still no difference in the temperature. I straight away came back within one hour and the receptionist told me that they are now very busy and I should bring it back in 3 days. Over the weekend it is not possible. This was Thursday the 26th of April. He checked and confirmed that there is no cold air coming out. I rang back next day and asked for an appointment on Monday and I was told that they do not have any appointment and I have to leave the car for 5-6 hours and will be told when it is ready. The receptionist also denied that I asked for a check-up for the reason of air con not working and I simply asked for the regas and recharge of the system. Therefore they did that. He also said that I have signed a disclaimer which is with them, that means that after I drive the car away I cannot get back to ask for the same repair even if it is within one hour. I then asked that why is it not properly mentioned on the receipt, what work have they done on the receipt? As i also bought the system cleaner and there is no mention of it . He told me that there is one off payment of £79 and they are not supposed to separately write down that the system cleaner was purchased.The final word from him was that on this appointment they will only check if they have done the gas filling appropriately or not if not they will do it again free of charge but if there is any other fault then they will not refund any money back. He totally denied that I asked for the system check which they were offering over the web. I found myself in the middle of nowhere as now I understand why this garage was looking bewitched at midday as compared to other garages. I have no proof of what I said and what I wanted, I just felt that the money has been snatched/ stolen from me. The customer’s service should look into this matter as there is no point in going to the same garage as i have lost my trust over them and does not want to get me car damaged in any further way. I will just look forward to get a refund of my money taken away from me. However it is definite that i will never go to Halfords again and i want to share my experience with you before they do you any harm!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Paul Martingell
Verified Reviewer
"Booked my car for an MOT. Told it needed a new headlamp assembly due to" melted rear retainer, obviously incorrect". Quoted price £300 to pass retest. Took it home and looked for problem, could not see anything melted or wrong on either headlamp assembly. Next day took it to another registered MOT centre for 2nd opinion. Mechanic checked the ROSA/MOT fail report online and looked at assembly, took him 5 minutes to click the bulb into place as it had come loose. Said car will now pass and should not have been failed. Called manager at Halfords asked again if he thought car needed new assembly to pass he said yes. Told him about 2nd report...went quiet on phone. Booked into Halfords for retest. Car passed in ten minutes. I've made my mind up want went on maybe other drivers need to make their mind's up."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"On MOT I was told my brake pads were RED. All booked in twice. First time they had only 1 member of staff was in. So 2 appointments later and wasted 4 hrs they decided they did not need changing after all. Left me wondering why the change? I have been using Halfords for years for both of my cars- Not anymore!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Re Halfords Autocentre Surbiton branch Some of the worst customer service I have ever experienced! Staff at the Autocentre generally rude and dismissive - I always try to be polite and make conversation, but am always received with dismissive staff members. I've used this Autocentre 3 times, two service and MOT's plus a brake check. All three times I am promised a call back in early afternoon but never do. The latest visit, I called 4 times over an hour with no response. On the fifth, phone is answered. However when I express my concern that they 'find nothing wrong' but I know there is, the guys gets upset that I am essentially accusing him of lying and he hangs up. I will never use Halfords Autocentre again - crappy service, average products, crappy pricing."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Halfords Autocentres is rated 1.46 based on 161 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This