Halfords Autocentres Reviews

1.46 Rating 144 Reviews
9% of reviewers recommend Halfords Autocentres

Phone:
0800 037 0800

Location:
Halfords Autocentres Ltd.
7/9 Richmond Road,
Olton Wharf Olton,

Categories:
Motoring
Tyres
MOT & Servicing
Motoring
Tyres
MOT & Servicing

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

How would you rate Halfords Autocentres?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

144 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Paul Martingell
Booked my car for an MOT. Told it needed a new headlamp assembly due to" melted rear retainer, obviously incorrect". Quoted price £300 to pass retest. Took it home and looked for problem, could not see anything melted or wrong on either headlamp assembly. Next day took it to another registered MOT centre for 2nd opinion. Mechanic checked the ROSA/MOT fail report online and looked at assembly, took him 5 minutes to click the bulb into place as it had come loose. Said car will now pass and should not have been failed. Called manager at Halfords asked again if he thought car needed new assembly to pass he said yes. Told him about 2nd report...went quiet on phone. Booked into Halfords for retest. Car passed in ten minutes. I've made my mind up want went on maybe other drivers need to make their mind's up.

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Halfords Autocentres in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
Paul Martingell
Verified Reviewer
"Booked my car for an MOT. Told it needed a new headlamp assembly due to" melted rear retainer, obviously incorrect". Quoted price £300 to pass retest. Took it home and looked for problem, could not see anything melted or wrong on either headlamp assembly. Next day took it to another registered MOT centre for 2nd opinion. Mechanic checked the ROSA/MOT fail report online and looked at assembly, took him 5 minutes to click the bulb into place as it had come loose. Said car will now pass and should not have been failed. Called manager at Halfords asked again if he thought car needed new assembly to pass he said yes. Told him about 2nd report...went quiet on phone. Booked into Halfords for retest. Car passed in ten minutes. I've made my mind up want went on maybe other drivers need to make their mind's up."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"On MOT I was told my brake pads were RED. All booked in twice. First time they had only 1 member of staff was in. So 2 appointments later and wasted 4 hrs they decided they did not need changing after all. Left me wondering why the change? I have been using Halfords for years for both of my cars- Not anymore!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
"Re Halfords Autocentre Surbiton branch Some of the worst customer service I have ever experienced! Staff at the Autocentre generally rude and dismissive - I always try to be polite and make conversation, but am always received with dismissive staff members. I've used this Autocentre 3 times, two service and MOT's plus a brake check. All three times I am promised a call back in early afternoon but never do. The latest visit, I called 4 times over an hour with no response. On the fifth, phone is answered. However when I express my concern that they 'find nothing wrong' but I know there is, the guys gets upset that I am essentially accusing him of lying and he hangs up. I will never use Halfords Autocentre again - crappy service, average products, crappy pricing."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
"I booked my Ford Fiesta in for a service. I was later called on my mobile by a member of staff who spoke so fast and so indistinctly that I had to tell him I couldn't understand what he was saying. He seemed surprised but called back on my landline and at first spoke more distinctly. He reeled off a long list of things that needed to be done to my car and offered no explanation about any of them. By the end of the list he was garbling his words again. I asked whether the things needed to be done and he said it was up to me and that I could take my car to another garage if I liked. I agreed to have work costing £369 done. After collecting my car I discovered that it had actually passed its MOT before any of the extra work was done and that ALL the extra work was on an 'amber' advisory (just needed monitoring). I was never told that my car had passed its MOT and feel that I have been tricked into having work done that could have been phased. Halfords has not replied to my complaint to customer services or responded to the bad feedback I left when requested. I will be avoiding them in future."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
"A warning to anyone thing of using halfords in shirley solihull. They failed my cars mot telling me my pads were below the minimum 1.5mm , according to them all my pads and a gaiter joint needed replacing and so they failed my MOT telling me I needed over £350 pounds of work done. I took it to Kwickfit in shirley ( who are wonderful and I highly recommend) they told me that in fact none of the work needed doing and they showed me one pad actually had 3.47mm left on it! So having had none of the unecessary work done I took it back for a retest and it passed. (Funny that as it should never have failed in the first place) When I complained to the manager he didnt charge me for the retest. But I leave it to you whether you think that makes them trustworthy enough to entrust them with your next MOT."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Went to Halfords today because a light came on my car. Something to do with the bending light. Golf gtd mk7. Spoke to a very knowledgable person. Steve astbury. Knew his golds luckily. Told me exactly the problem provided the part and fitted it right there. Amazing service. Would highly recommend. Halfords in bilston."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Booked my Transit 300 van for a MOT using Halfords website. Was told it couldn't be done as the ramp at Hounslow does not fit such a vehicle. So why bloody let me book it, pay for it and still get a confirmation email to let me know all is good when it wasn't. Manager on duty was absolutely uninterested to find out what happened. Very poor customer service so will not be using them in future for any of my cars. Will also advise my friends and family the same. Word of caution to all Transit Van owners, short or long wheel based....don't book it at the Hounslow branch even by telephone as you will be turned away to figure out where to take your vehicle. I called up the Feltham Branch and was told they could do it and was puzzled why they did not do my van as it was classified as a standard class 4 vehicle. If Hounslow does not have the facilities then I suggest Halfords needs to look at updating their system so that other drivers do not experience the same situation."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"had an mot which it passed then told the front brakes have a problem ,they did a free brake check and told me offside pads fully worn and disc bad the nearside pads no where as caliper must be stuck,quoted me £490,went away and had them checked at another garage who replace the discs and pads for £110 as there was no problem with caliper and the pad wear was equal on both sides"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Book company van in for a full service at Ashford- Check over found that the air and fuel filter had not been changed. At the end they did not charge for the service. Please keep away!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"I am writing up regarding my concerns about an MOT testing station. The testing station in question is the Halfords Autocentre in havant. We have serious concerns on how he conducted the test. Several items were overlooked. One is quite dangerous and yet the Examiner did not noticed. 1) Lower mounting bolts on McPherson Strut. The bolts were very loose, Infact one was that loose that you could see the gap between the bolt and strut. We only noticed this ourselves when we went to take the wheel off to replace the upper mount. 2) We was advised on a tyre tread depth. The Examiner failed to notice that this tyre size was different to the other wheel on the same axle. 3) Refused to advise on wipers. We was aware that the wipers would need replacing because they barely cleared the screen and we noticed they were perished but the Examiner allowed the wipers to pass without any advisories. I personally do not feel that their nominated person is competent enough and requires more training because as he failed to notice things then I shall not be going back there because he could be allowing dangerous cars on the road when they need serious attention for dangerous faults to be rectified."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Noreen Grant
Verified Reviewer
"I blame myself. Should have read the reviews before hand. Booked my car in for MOT for Saturday 17th March online. I had checked most things before including the tyres. They told me that windscreen wipers needed changing and also a bulb at a cost of £45. which I thought was a bit excessive but I needed it done. Next day I noticed that there was a light missing on the dashboard that normally comes on when switching my lights on. While changing the bulb it they must have disconnected it. I know it's not a big problem but I like to be aware of when my lights are on or not. Telephoned the AutoCentre at Perry Barr they told me that the earliest they could do it was Wednesday 21st March and I would have to drop the car off. I advised that it would be inconvenient as I needed to be a work. They then suggested Saturday 24th March at 8.30am. I would have to drop my car off again and wait for them to ring me. Not quite sure If I want them to touch my car again, might come back with another fault."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Halfords must have changed their customer approach recently from being friendly and honest to become just another con outfit like kwickfit and the likes. My car had a full service and mot by them recently, having to pay upfront I might add because I booked on line, the bill at the end came to four times the the original set price because they found several things wrong. Ok I reluctantly excepted what they said and assumed that all would be sorted. Two weeks later a major oil leak appeared around the oil pressure sensor valve which they had replaced, I was told that it was the the same valve that was leaking and therefore was faulty and had to be replaced the cost being down to me. Also they thought the oil pressure might be to high causing the problem therefore an engine subnobsis would be required followed by all the pipeping cleaned out at a cost of £120., bearing in mind the car had only just been serviced. At that point I walked, obviously annoyed,, went to an idependent garage who sorted the problem for £50. All I can say is, if they have become commission and target driven, I just hope people see through it, because I felt like I was being conned."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I booked Halford's Fuel Service Plus - Fully Synthetic for my car at £92. When I took my car, the guy was holding a checklist for the service which was only for Fuel service ( which is for £35) and the guy surprisingly said he had never heard of Fuel Service Plus. Advised me he would ring in 3 hours and he never did. I had to call him and collected my car after 5 hours and he gave me a list of advisories and I was stunned to see his quote of £1600 for one injector replacement, 2 tyres and a battery. I bought the injector online from ebay and paid 120 pounds to be fixed from a different garage. Halfords will empty your pocket if you do take their services."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I have never seen so many negative reviews. Many of them concerning serious road safety issues. Given that badly serviced cars are a menace to us all, why are they allowed to trade?"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"booked in for 2 tyres at 3-30pm but it took 1hr/20 mins later very poor service no chance I'll go back and will tell all about their service no wonder there is 84% bad reviews"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I took my car for an mot and failed due to head lights and parking lights and also the wind mirror light before I took my car everything was fine and they change my registration plates Because they don’t think is legal at the cost of £ 55 pounds wen you can get them for £20 They charge my for the mirror light £75 and not genuine Mercedes Benz you can purchase The light in Ebay for £23 genuine one they change the parking light because it was led I don’t think that’s right they tried to make believe the brakes needed replaced wen is not true I asked the local garage and they told me that the brakes were ok anyway they came out to Take A’s much money aut of me something that supone to cost me including ínterin service £130 to,£275 and also they don’t even change the oil I checked it and it is klick and thin I advise to everyone to stay away from Halfords auto centres they we’ll cheat you and tried To take everything they can , I well stay away from tose people and I well tell all my friends about it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I took our old but low mileage Toyota into the Strood centre for a service and MOT. I was told it had failed due to a 'major leak od exhaust gases' and that the exhaust was very badly corroded and needed replacing totally. I was also 'advised' to replace both headlights, both front tyres and all the brake pads and discs at a cost of over £2000. I knew that all the 'advisory' items were good so I checked the exhaust and could find nothing wrong. To get a second opinion I took it into my local Kwik Fit. They confirmed there was nothing wrong with the exhaust or any of the other items. Halfords are just blatently trying to rip people off! I complained to Halford Autocentre Head Office and am still waiting for a response, which frankly I doubt I'll ever receive. Digraceful behaivior for a large high street brand."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Nichola Smith
Verified Reviewer
"On the 23rd December I visited your blackburn store to collect 2 bikes for my kids unfortunately I had got the time wrong and they where just closing... lucky for me to staff members when to great length to stay behind find my bikes and help me load them into my car! Amazing service amazing guys and will definitely come back and recommend credit to your store! Thank you you may xmas that little bit easier for me and went the extra mile x"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"My son took his 3 year old car for its first MOT at Halfords Auto centre in Borehamwood . He was told it needed new brakes pads and discs at a cost of £650. He decided to take it back to the main Hyundai dealer to double check. They told him there was nothing wrong with either brakes or discs and the tyres Halfords said were near the legal limit had plenty of tread. Head Office were very rude and said on their system it showed these things were advisory so why was he given a fail certificate. Don't trust them. They just want to rip you off."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I left my car into Halfords Autocentre for a service at a cost of £175 they were to phone me when it was ready for collection. no phone call. I phoned them but could not get thro I needed the car by 3pm to pick my grand daughter up from school I also found a Halfords screw driver in my engine compartment. they denied that it was a Halfords mechanics this is a liar this could have been a costly repair for me had I not found the screw driver in all a disgusting service read other reviews"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Halfords Autocentres is rated 1.46 based on 144 reviews