Halfords Autocentres Reviews

1.41 Rating 182 Reviews
8% of reviewers recommend Halfords Autocentres

Phone:
0800 037 0800

Location:
Halfords Autocentres Ltd.
7/9 Richmond Road,
Olton Wharf Olton,

Categories:
Motoring
Tyres
MOT & Servicing
Motoring
Tyres
MOT & Servicing

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Own Driver
delivery methods
Customer Service
Telephone, Email
communication channels

How would you rate Halfords Autocentres ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"Halfords autocentre at Coventry failed may car's MOT because "front suspension arm pin or brush excessively worn", with an immediate repair advice and suggested an immediate replacement of both wishbone arms for 340 quids. I took the car to another garage, passed the MOT, and the explanation was that arm pin or brush worn but do not result in excessive movement. I took the car to Halford's garage, and told them the discrepancy, the assistant manager showed me the movement of the component, did not accept that they have been too stringent to fail my car. Then I went back to the garage who passed MOT, and I was informed that a bit of movement was allowed for car to cope turning etc, which is designed like that. He said that my car has no problem to drive till the next service and the next thereafter. In conclusion, Halfords failed MOT of my car which should not fail."
Helpful Report
Posted 16 hours ago
"Awful. Several times over. I went to Halfords a couple of years back to get my air con fixed. I went in 3 times, paid a lot of money 3 times and it still doesn't work and never did. I got fed up of going back. Booked it in for an MOT and it is supposed to be today. The MOT has run out - and they are telling me its not booked in for 3 weeks. The man repeated back to me that it was booked in today so I know I am not wrong. But of course I have no proof. Disgusting and I am very fed up. He wasn't even polite or apologetic - just hard and rude and couldn't care less. I am very fed up and now stuck rurally without a car."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"I have booked for major service for my BMW 5 series.i have booked for early morning 8.30 and went the garage on time.poor customer service.he told me that he can't fix it today and leave the car with him he will let me know when its ready.no apologise,very rude customers service agent.never gone use again"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"Terrible service. Car booked in for tracking online with a 8:30am time slot. Upon arrival I am told it could be 2+hours as the ramp was double booked with MOT's!!!!!! Why did I get up on my day off and be at the centre for 8:10am. Was told I could come back later in the day, no good to me as I have other things to do which is why I booked the 8:30am slot 😡. Asked for a refund which the employee behind the counter said ok, After waiting for a few minutes and not much happening I asked again for the refund he said he would sort it with head office. After waiting for more time I asked again for the refund and he said head office would sort it so I took the lead and asked "when" his reply Monday. So yet again I find myself walking out of an autocentre saying never again. No tracking done and no refund."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"My issue with Halfords started in January. I had an abs warning light and intermittent break light which was quickly diagnosed as being a faulty abs pump. Halfords also found a bad oil level sensor and the brake fluid needed replacing. They informed me these jobs would take 4 days so I agreed to have all the work which came to a total of £1129. After 4 days I called to check on my car, I was informed the part hadn’t arrived. From then on, I rang every couple of days to check on my car and was given excuses every time about why my car wasn’t finished. 3 WEEKS later, I took a taxi to collect my car because I was fed up of waiting and had spent A LOT of money on transport to and from work every day. I was informed that work had been done but they were waiting for another part, hence why all the warning lights were still on. Not only this, I now had no power steering and my windscreen wipers didn’t work! Took the car back the following week for the ‘part to be fitted’ but I picked it up later that day and they told me that they hadn’t had time to take it in. ( this actually happened twice) At this point it was getting ridiculous but I wasn’t EVER rude to anybody at Halfords, which I now regret since I feel this is the reason I was taken for such a mug. I then took the car back again and they fitted the ‘part’ and fixed the power steering, however the abs light was STILL on and the windscreen wipers still didn’t work. As my M.o.T was due while my car was there I spent another £30 putting it through and it failed on the abs which I thought was ridiculously cheeky of them! All in all this went on for 5 MONTHS (January to April) with no actual solution. (Ended up selling the car for parts so lost out on a ridiculous amount of money) there are far more issues I experienced including rude and very patronising customer service from the head office, who informed me they will not be taking my case further as they fitted a ‘free’ part for me which should have cost £200. I spent about £200 A WEEK for 5 MONTHS on borrowing and renting cars to get me to and from work whilst my car was sitting in Halfords. During this time I even travelled to a different branch and despite them being slightly more helpful, there was still no solution to my issue. I fee as though I have been completely scammed out of *probably in excess of* £3000. I wasn’t even offered a discount. I would advise against going to this company because all they seem to care about is how many people they can get in and out of the garage per day, it seemed to me they hadn’t a clue what they were talking about and took advantage of my little knowledge about cars."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"Firstly had to wait for a week as they needed to order the part. Took my car in as arranged, they had it all day and then rang me to say they ordered the wrong part. Waited another week, took it in and again they had it all day. Got it back and almost immediately the same warning light appeared on my dashboard that had led to me taking it in to them In the first place appeared. After I paid £230 for the pleasure It’s going back again tomorrow. I will never take my car to Halfords ever again."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Booked online and payment made then the day was changed, not all items on full service carried out, don't use this company."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"There online booking availability has no relation to the slots they actually have at the garage. I was told they could not do mine for another week (after I had paid)!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Bad customer service"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Unhelpful, aloof, awkward and noncommittal are words I would use to sum up the customer care at this Halfords Auto Centre in Bury St Edmunds. I booked my car in as I had a fault with the ABS system – a light had come on the dash. On arrival, the lad behind the counter presented me with paperwork indicating a cost of £49.99. “Is that how much it will cost?” I queried. That was the price of the ‘diagnostics’, he explained. Had I not queried this cost, then at no point would the employee have explained that I would be committing to a cost of £49.99 for diagnostics (with no idea of how much the repair would cost). I asked the young man, in his professional opinion, what he thought might be wrong with the car. He was, however, unable to comment, incapable of giving a professional opinion – his stock reply was, “we won’t know until we’ve done the diagnostics”. There was another mechanic present who told me that it could be any of 10 possible problems. “Are you suggesting it could cost anything between £50.00 and £500.00 pounds?” I asked. “Yes!” he agreed. Neither mechanics were able to speculate any further. The boy behind the counter – the one who was possibly on a YTS scheme – did tell me that once the problem had been diagnosed, I was under no obligation to have the repair done with Halfords! How very magnanimous. Needless to say, I didn’t have my car repaired here – I had zero confidence in their abilities. Surely anyone who is skilled at their job would be able to hazard a guess – suggest that it could be this or that? If you want a mechanic’s opinion on a car problem – avoid this Auto Centre – the staff here are only able to offer a blank expression."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"MOT. Booked for 8am. Centre did not open until 8.15am when the manager finally turned up. Then told MOT double booked so unable to do it. Heading too Kwik fit, which is what I should have done in the first place :-)"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Jay from Aylesbury Autocentre has given us the very worse service experience ever and I would strongly advise to avoid this company. Blames lack of staff for the problems... My BMW 525 went in for a full service and came back with 2x stripped wheel hub threads, minus two wheel nuts, a unnecessary changed the staberliser bar, and worse if all, the extra mobile oil premium which I paid for was not used as no oil on the dip stick at all. Not sure until the morning if the engine is screwed. My advice to consumers, avoid, avoid, avoid. My advice to the employees of the centre, change your career, the errors are so basic that one would question long term suitability to the industry."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Anonymous. I took the bmw car for service following the light on the dash for service ,booked the car left the car with them for the whole day said the car was finished can be collected. On collection the light on the dash remains there together with misfire. and on enquiry , they said I only paid for the interim service & that there is a major fault which they can look into for another cost on another day and they have changed the oil & checked the brakes. I wonder if they did Anything at all, Now there a choice but Never again ever. One star."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"We take 3 cars to be serviced. NEVER AGAIN An advisory stated tell tale light re supplementary restraint wasn’t working. Queried this, said it was an airbag.....the car doesn’t have one Also quoted a major fault re fog light switch, this lights up when fog light switched on Joke"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"FITTED MY BATTERY INCORRECTLY WHICH LEAD TO ME NOT BEING ABLE TO START MY CAR AND COSTING ME FURTHER COSTS ELSEWHERE. DONT EVEN BOTHER WITH THE REFUND PROCESS... MORE EFFORT THEN ITS WORTH! I WILL NEVER GO TO THE STORE AGAIN"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"AVOID!!! First of all, don’t be fooled by the great reviews on Halfords trust pilot review site. It only shows you 5* reviews at the top. Take a look at the reviews on this site which give a more realistic view of this dodgy garage. Took my car in for an MOT and left it with them, only to be told when I got back to collect that the system was down so they could not complete the job. Asked me to come back in a few days - not what you want to hear when you’ve booked in advance and already paid the money. Due to a busy work schedule I needed it doing that day or the following day. Told me to go home and wait for a call giving details on what they’d do. No call. Had to call twice with them not having a clue what they were going to do. Called again before closing and they explained they wanted to take my car to Weybridge (30 min away) and do the MOT there! Asked them to call me in the morning with a definite plan. Obviously no phone call all day and still not heard back from them 2 days later! Couldn’t care less about their customers. This is a dodgy 1* garage with the Halfords sign stuck above it. I think they better take that sign down. Wish I had seen all the terrible reviews before booking. Totally unacceptable service. Luckily my local garage managed to fit me in after explaining my situation even though they were fully booked. Should have gone to them - 5* service. AVOID!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Vehicle failed on MOT the other day on Smoke test excess visual smoke and four tyres with supposed cuts in them OK could happen but all in same place on 3 of the 4 tyres not likely. But booked and ordered 4 new tyres from ATS and went to have them fitted. Upon arriving the technician took the car into workshop and came back out 5 minutes later to ask why I was having all four changed as there was nothing wrong with 3 of the tyres and the 4th was close to legal limit on outer edge so I explained the failed MOT luckily there was an MOT tester there getting some tyres who over heard the conversation. He also looked at the tyres and said that they are not an MOT failure he also looked checked the excess smoke which is minimal and pointed that as the vehicle was pre DPF this also was not a fail. Took vehicle to another MOT centre for a re-test and vehicle Passed with 1 advisory on 1 tyre outer edge close to legal limit... Wont be using Halfords Feltham ever again due to MOT tester who has no clue."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Could even complete a service on a Dacia ....found fictional work in the former of oil leak around soiled clutch £730.00 to replace took car back and it was a coolent leak.. easy fix . Centres have to meet targets and your the target...staff put good comenmts on reviews.....you've been warned."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Could even complete a service on a Dacia ....found fictional work in the former of oil leak around soiled clutch £730.00 to replace took car back and it was a coolent leak.. easy fix . Centres have to meet targets and your the target...staff put good comenmts on reviews.....you've been warned."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"WARNING DO NOT GO TO HALFORDS AUTOCENTRE IN STAINES!! BEWARE OF MR.M.A.ENVER!! A DISHONEST MOT TESTER! Came out and failed my car on a minor defect (a minor defect is not severe enough to fail) and when I confronted him about the matter and showed him clearly on the gov.uk Website it should not have failed he raised his voice at me and was aggressive towards me and shouted FINE I’ll make it a major then and stormed out just to fail my car. This was on the retest after I’d had work done myself and checked over by a experienced mechanic friend of mine as well as contacting three different garages about this matter and all of them said no it shouldn’t have failed on that and that I should report it to stop this happening to vulnerable people with little knowledge of cars. I Hope this helps you!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Halfords Autocentres is rated 1.41 based on 182 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This