H Samuel Reviews

1.76 Rating 21 Reviews
19% of reviewers recommend H Samuel
Visit Website

Phone:
0845 609 2000

Email:
customer.services@hsamuel.co.uk

Location:
H.Samuel, Hunters Road, Hockley

Categories:
Jewellery & Watches
Jewellery & Watches

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

How would you rate H Samuel?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need a working email address to verify that your review is genuine.

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"I ordered the ring on 27/12/2017 to make an offer to my girlfriend for the new year. The ring was due on 30/12/2017, but on 29/12/2017 I received a letter that my order was canceled. The holiday was spoiled. Money from the account was unfrozen only in the middle of January 2018. After I wrote in support and still did not receive a reply. Order number 671926087"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
"H Samuel - Bridgwater, Somerset. Once again, excellent service from the Manager in the Store. When visiting the store last Saturday I was initially disappointed that the watch I wanted was out of stock. The Manager kindly checked online and it was also out of stock. He took my contact number and said he would try to get it in and keep it back for me. These watches were selling out quickly everywhere. A few days later he called to say he had managed to get one in for me and would keep it until I could get into the store the next day. It is very refreshing when people will go the extra mile!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"My husband bought my engagement and wedding ring from H Samuel.My engagement ring was a cluster ring with diamonds and the whole cluster came off the ring.I took it back to the shop to be repaired they sent it off and I payed £89.00 for the repair.After receiving the ring back I had it less than a week and 2 diamonds fell out.I took it back to the shop again and they sent it back for second repair.I got a phone call saying they couldn't repair the ring but they would replace it if I could find proof of purchase.Customer service found proof of purchase so I got back in touch with the Middlesbrough branch to be told they wouldn't replace it as I had it 7 years even though I'd already told them that in the first place and that the diamonds falling out had nothing to do with the repair a few days before the diamonds fell out it was just coincidence.The mangeress from Middlesbrough store is extremely abrupt and her customer service skill are shocking.I will never shop on any of H Samuel shops again and would advise others not to either."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Sue Harrison
Verified Reviewer
"Went in the Bolton branch of H. Samuel today to buy a gift for our daughter in laws 50th birthday, the lady who served us - Debbie was really pleasant and really informative she was very polite and knew what she was talking about."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Absolutely shocking customer service at Newport Isle of Wight store.... made to feel as if I was asking the earth to exchange a Christmas gift without the original receipt when the Christmas gift was untouched, in their own H Samuels branded box and on display in their store so they could see it was one of their bracelets! To add insult to injury I was actually spending almost as much again on top of the original gift price! Needless to say myself or my partner won’t ever be shopping in there again nor would I recommend it to any of my friends or family! A little bit of customer service would not go amiss here!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"if i can give 0 i will give. rate if 1 is nit even deserved! i ordered last black fruday and not been delivered.cintacted customer servuce 3 times been i waitng for 56minutes. i emailed them no answered. dont trust H SAMUEL they scunt!!!! will clntact consumer to put a complaint."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Was sold a smart watch with the manual and docking station missing. Returned watch and was dealt with in a rude un helpful manner by the manager Rebecca."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"The delivery service was deeply concerning. Though it was delivered on time I am not pleased with the quality of the packaging nor the method of delivery. A +£900 ring set should not be sent in a jiffy bag delivered by a courier who was reckless and did not properly confirm if this was their order or not. The package was received and signed by my father which is lucky because ANYONE could have claimed it was their order and signed for it. Such an expensive product should never be delivered by a not well known courier service (DX) nor should it be given to someone who may not know what the package is. I would expect the standard of delivery for some charger cables for a phone but not a £900 ring set. Though the package says 'special delivery' it also fails to acknowledge the fragility of the products inside. As such the box of the ring has a small chip suggesting this package was not processed and delivered with care. Furthermore the wedding ring inside the box had came loose and was just resting on-top of the protective pads with the centre protective pad disjointed. Surely they could have been tied down with string or something. For such an expensive product there wasn't even a thank you message from the company, something I have received for charger cables. This issue is minute and does not matter too much but what is concerning is the lack of care of a very expensive investment. I intend to propose to my girlfriend however I could not do this if the quality of the product is not satisfactory. Other items on this site are significantly more expensive than my set and if theses were to be mishandled during the processing and delivery process I would not want to just make a complaint. It is your responsibility to ensure the standards used by the delivery service is outstanding, and is your direct responsibility over the packaging and processing of my product. A certificate to prove its value was also not included"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"My partner bought me a watch in Plymouth store ,I saw a pair of earrings that were on offer so decided to buy them as a gift .As none were in stock they were ordered and arranged to be collected at store in Penzance.My receipt was stapled to my partners and I was told that I could collect on Wednesday and a text would be sent as proof of purchase .I never had a text so at 4.30pm I tried ringing the store,.There was a problem with phone ( can't be helped ) so I emailed enquiries to ask about order .The next day I tried calling but phones still not working .I then received an email with the wrong contact name saying there was no order for me .I was at work so a friend went to local branch to see what was happening .She rang me whilst in store to tell me the earrings were there but my order had been cancelled .I was confused as id paid for them .They told her I needed to bring in my receipt to have earrings ,I said I didn't have it as was suppose to be getting a text ,then I was told you won't get a text as order is cancelled .Luckily I was able to go in with my id and the earrings were there with my name ,contact details attached .I'm left rather baffled as to why my order was cancelled when I had paid and why they responded to my email with wrong customer name .Would not feel comfortable ordering anything again"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Lewisham branch of H Samuel refused to take old pound coins - despite the fact that government deadline not yet expired. Combined with appalling service has convinced me never to use this chain again."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"STAY AWAY FROM H.SAMUEL. What a total waste of time H.Samuel 'Customer Service' is. Ordered a watch online over 4 weeks ago. Still not delivered. They said they had delivered it and i had signed for it - even though i was in Spain at the time (with documented proof of this.) Contacted their so called 'Customer Service' Dept over 2 weeks ago (and numerous times since). No resolution - and no desire to find one. AVOID H. SAMUEL - - THEY ARE A TOTAL WASTE OF SPACE"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"I bought a watch for my partner for his birthday. I purchased this online. I was utterly shocked to receive an empty box stuffed with stuffing. I was outraged so I contacted customer service who said they would not help as they know it left the warehouse, here I was out £150. I tried contacting customer service again and they again said they would not help as they are sure it left the warehouse, well it didn't arrive to me. I then decided to call my bank and file a chargeback for the money as I had no item and no money. A couple of days after I filed this, all of a sudden I get a random parcel and what is it? The watch I originally ordered! It arrived in the post soon after I tried to claim back the money (to which my bank would have made them prove they had delivered not sent the item but delivered) Such a con!! Sending me an empty box until I claim money back then all of a sudden my parcel arrived! Anyway they watch was lovely and my partner loves it the service however, never again will I use them!"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Clive Johnston
Verified Reviewer
"The Best customer service I have ever encountered . Jonathan at customer services and the Foyleside Branch couldn't have been more helpful and supportive. Well done and many thanks hanks"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"My partner bought my engagement ring 6 months ago value 1000 pound today I noticed a diamond had fallen out i took it back to carlisle branch were at first they tryed to fob me of and said the shank was bent and tryed to say I had done it and wanted to send it to be checked to see if it was a fault with the ring or I had done it i was furious my partner got on to the shop and told them i wasnt leaveing shop untill it was replaced or money back he told them about consumer credit act and goods not fit for there purpose after speaking to customer service again they replaced my ring there and then but if we hadn't stood our ground they would have fobbed us off after this I will not buy from carlisle branch again although the girl that helped me was very understanding and helpful but others in the shop no so I wont be buying ever again from this shop I would advise you look at the reviews about this company. Truly shocking. Signed jewellers is the owner of the brand."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"h.samuel=ripoff losers"
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Betty
"Beautiful chamilia jewellery, good price and excellent delivery. Other jewellery beautiful too."
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"Purchased a wedding ring, wanted to exchange it as it was slightly large. No response to 2 emails, dropped calls and being stuck on hold for ages when trying to speak to the customer services."
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
John Smithurst
Verified Reviewer
"My wife has just taken a set of earrings back to the Leeds branch by an assistant called rees. The problem was that one of them kept on falling out, all she requested was they were replaced or sent away for mending. The assistant said there wasn't anything he could do and was very unhelpful, my wife said she had come along way in order to sought this out, again he said he couldn't do anything. I have always used Samuels in the past but will not be doing anymore. so disappointed."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"If considering buying an engagement/wedding/eternity ring, or any jewellery of any value, sentimental or monetary, DO NOT BUY FROM H SAMUEL'S!!!! I have been married for 5years, my wedding ring cost £500 new. Within a couple of months a stone had fallen out. They had it tested and said that it was customer caused; not faulty. Obviously this was ridiculous, my engagement ring is of the same metal and I am an accountant so I work behind a desk all day. Luckily the store manager agreed with us, and as it was at her discretion she sent it away to be fixed at the cost of H Samuel anyway. All in all I think it it took about 2months to get it sorted. A couple of years later I noticed a claw was broken in the middle of the ring. In store they said it would take 6-8 weeks once it had been assessed and would cost up to £40 to fix! Obviously I didn't want to be without my ring for another 2months so I got a quote from a local jeweller. They said it would take up to two weeks and could cost up to £30. Obviously I went with these; they had it back to me in TWO days and charged me £20. Last October a different diamond fell out. I took it to store and they basically said they wouldn't give me a quote in store, it would need to be sent off and could take 6 weeks; they would then give me a quote and it could take another 6-8 weeks to actually fix it. Again I went to the local jewellers, it took them 10days to fix it and get it back to me. I e-mailed H Samuel and told them what had happened over the few years. They replied and asked for my phone number so they could speak to me. I sent them my number; to which they replied by e-mail to say take it into a store with my original receipt and speak to the manager. What that would do I don't know as I'm fairly sure they will just want to send it off for 6-8weeks for testing. Oh and I'm guessing it would come back as being all my fault. Today, a THIRD stone has fallen out; and definitely not the one that was most recently replaced by the proper jewellers as that was an end stone and this is 4 in. So in the 5years I have been married, my £500 ring has lost 3stones and had a claw broken. It has cost me an extra £120 already, and to replace this third stone will cost at least another £100. From a company as well established as H Samuels I would expect their jewellery to be much better quality; and also their aftercare is absolutely APPALLING. Why does it take so long to do anything?!! And they overcharge so much for repairs, even changing a watch battery is a rip off compared to better locals jewellers. So please take heed of my warning and DO NOT BUY FROM H SAMUELS!!!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Ordered a SuperDry Watch from them as they were £35 cheaper than anywhere else,paid in full with paypal. Next day (today 6.5.16)was told out of stock. Looked back on website and they are still advertising the watch as limited stock. I thought this was illegal."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
H Samuel is rated 1.76 based on 21 reviews