Gumtree Reviews

2.00 Rating 46 Reviews
26% of reviewers recommend Gumtree
556 Review Views (past 24 hours)
9PM - 11PM
64 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
21 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
38 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
64 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
38 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
41 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
34 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
40 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
43 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
64 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
63 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
46 Review Views
9PM
9PM

Popular Questions:

Customer Service

How can I contact Gumtree?
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Gumtree made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
communication channels
"Help me find what I was looking for local to me no messing"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Are you Gumtree? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"GOT business package to put my advert every day . but getting nothing and paying around 700£ direct debit and year of contract. with no cancellation option, spoke to them alot of time that how can i pay you when i am not getting any business from gumtree. but no positive reply on top now start saying i must pay as i done one year contract and if i stop direct debit then they send my details to debits recovery company which may take my belonging or currupt my credit history..... please avoid ..... no any business coming from them."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Automatically rejects adMo and then no reply to email, calls. Waste of time"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I paid to have my Ad bumped up but not only did it not get bumped up but DISAPPEARED all together. I eventually got on to a Gumtree agent on "live chat" who at first denied there was a problem and then confirmed there was one. He could not rectify the problem so he forwarded the complaint to the "tech department". 48 hours and lots of emails later I got an email from some simpleton who said there was no problem and that there never was one. I tried to email back but their was NO response. MY emails to gumtree are ignored and the live chat agents disconnect as soon as they read the complaint. It must be too hard for the simpletons to rectify. To this day the ad does not come up when searching for the vehicle. Gumtree has left a foul taste in my mouth and I will now be canning them every chance I get to everyone who will listen! I would give a negative star rating if I could. This review is the start!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"its full of scam adverts. stay away."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Terrible company cancelled my ad no reason at all . A van in van section really bad gumtree now officially finished 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"My ads keep being deleted and I cannot do anything to make then work. Awful site - do not use! There are so many other better ones than this"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"on the 5th november i raised the issue of wht my account had been suspended. Here's the Hi there, This is an automated reply, to confirm we have logged your question and our team will aim to answer you within 12 hours. STILL WAITING 5 DAYS LATER!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Absolute shambolic customer service. How is the company operating. Everytime I put on an add it removes. I contact gumtree who say someone is hacking my account etc etc.. change password and go again.. this has gone on at least 8 times!! so frustrating. Freeads is so much easier and better. Please gumtree if you are reading this sort your customer service out!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"gumtree used to be a great site, could find what you wanted easily, then some young tech savy decided to make it better and now it sucks, can't get what you want to find, have to be so specific....well i want to browse all adverts don't want to be directed by you thanks ...i used to use it a lot but can't even search on it now such a shame"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"If you still have a gumtree account, deactivate it now! It's not worth the husstle, trust me. My account has been hacked and my name and password changed to 'Laura'. Whilst dealing with this I realised that a top of the range Land Rover is being sold from my account for a ridiculously low price. Immediately I panicked, I was convinced that the car is stolen and gumtree is facilitating the sale out of my account. I immediately contacted gumtree on every single possible number and email address i found, tried to deactivate my account to which I didn't have login details for without success and after half an hour decided to contact the police. The last thing I want is to be arrested for handling stolen goods! The police were buffled but very helpful. I had a peace of mind that I reported it and that I am no longer associated with a stolen car. Police have rang several times, turns out that the car is not stolen (yet) and is being sold by the legal owner on another site. Certainly not on gumtree and certainly not for that price! Police were able to alert the owner that there's a possibility that someone will try and steal the car and gave them all support they needed. I was signposted to cyber crime unit where I've made my statement and the matter is being investigated. Response from gumtree? Nil. It's been a month now and I had absolutely no response whatsoever. The advert, despite me asking them to remove it from my hacked account stayed on, until the police advised me to take it down. I've also noticed and reported that the same advert appears out of several other accounts, probably hacked too. This is illegal activity taking place righ in front of gumtree and they just don't care. Imagine if the car was stolen and the police came knocking on my door. I would have a lot of explaining to do. And whilst gumtree ha e no power over hackers, I understand, they failed to act, failed to remove that advert from my account, failed to secure it failedto investigate the issue and as such, criminals are free to roam on gumtree and I am out. Never again."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Terrible service, they don't care about users."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Paid over £100 to place ad that was deleted after 2 days, no explanation. Have sent several emails and have been given a couple of 'case numbers', but there is no comeback and no other means of contact. The whole site seems a badly managed shambles, with ads like mine seeming to disappear without trace. I feel the operation should be referred to an Ombudsman and I will try that"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"As the website allows us to communicate with the seller, and to narrow down searches, i was able to find a house to rent before i even arrived in Glasgow. This is very important as i came with a small daughter and it is important that we get the house settled before coming. Thank you."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Very easy to buy and collect and some great bargains to be had"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Site full of rubbish and expensive to advertise incompetent staff and weird system blocks anything. avoid at all cost"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"They introduced a rheating sealer but doesn't work properly."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Singapore based website, prices in US$, but the head quarter is in Hong Kong, factories in China (I discovered it when I tried to return the dress). Specialized in Prom/ night dresses. Advertise fake return policy. They claim you can return the article for any reason, even only if you don't like it, but this is not the case. Once you receive the product, it's practically impossible to send it back and get a refund. Don't buy from them. Dishonest web site!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I placed my ad, which was immediately removed (with no reason provided). When I contacted their support, Gumtree replied with an automated message giving general reasons as to why my ad might have been deleted. I read the various articles and safety advice to try and ascertain as to why the ad had been deleted but to no avail. I tried several times and many hours to reinsert the advert and also to contact someone on live chat only to have the ad constantly deleted (with the same email response as previously) and have my live chat continually disconnected. The ad appeared days later when I no longer needed it and I was then charged for the ad and refused a refund. I feel that they failed to act in a professional manner and did not have the courtesy to answer my above concerns regarding the poor service that was provided by them."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I wanted to sell IKEA furniture on their site. Gumtree doesn't allow IKEA furniture to be sold on their site for safety precautions. Seriously? I do believe IKEA is the most sold furniture in the world and Gumtree is telling me their furniture is not safe!!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Gumtree is rated 2.00 based on 46 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support