Gumtree Reviews

1.80 Rating 70 Reviews
20% of reviewers recommend Gumtree
728 Review Views (past 24 hours)
11PM - 1AM
23 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
59 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
58 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
40 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
59 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
87 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
60 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
66 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
82 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
98 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
61 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
35 Review Views
11PM
11PM

Popular Questions:

Customer Service

How can I contact Gumtree?
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Gumtree made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
"I am writing about British seller Henley-Homes. I contacted him regarding a macbook he is selling and gave my phone number. He whatsapped me and even left his voice recording and suggested to send the laptop to me with a courier and to send an invoice to my company. I gave him my company details and he disappeared. He doesn't reply to whatsapp messages and his phone is not available. I think rjis seller is a scum. Be careful with him or better investigate him before buying anything from him."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Are you Gumtree? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Get Access
"I placed some ads on Gumtree as I needed to make some money for a project. Everything was going ok the ads had views and I sold 1 item then I found some other things I could sell. So I placed them on I had a buyer for some of my items £360 worth. The next time I looked at my account everything had been removed I emailed a few times Gumtree but had no response and they have lost me the sale and the money towards my project. I still have no reply to my questions and still get email adverts from them not to miss out well I have."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"don't even deserve one star"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"As soon as I included my number on the add I received about 10-15 spam calls a day. Once I deleted the number of my add, the add has been removed. Gumtree team admitted it had been removed by mistake and reinstated it only to remove it 2 days later. I received no email with explanation why, even though the website said an email will follow to explain. I tried several times to have an online chat with them but after checking my details they were just disconcerting. Eventually spoke to a really nice girl who kindly told me my account has been blocked and they won't change the decision. She could not give me the reason why as their policy is to give little or no explanation but at least she had "balls" to tell me this. Overall, I'm very happy I only posted a free add and did not spend a penny with them. Would not recommend as they do not follow the GDPR and give you phone number and email address out to scammers and have no decency to even inform you why they are blocking you account. It's like they pick and chose who can advert. If someone told me this I wouldn't believe as they are so well known and I thought they must be a good company but they are not. Will never even try to use them again and I will make sure that this message gets to all my friends as well. Gumtree shame on you and the way you treat people!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I paid for one advert on Saturday and they have taken payment for it. However, the ad has not yet appeared live because they've 'Removed' it. They have NOT told me why its been 'Removed' - I've had had no email or any contact at all from them, despite my two messages to them. So, I posted an additional 'free' version of the advert the next day. That too has been 'Removed' before going live! Again have heard nothing from Gumtree, despite my message to them. Here we are two days later and still nothing from Gumtree. They are joke and I will not use them again."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"will not use ever again to make a sale. paid over £20 now to advertise but there really is no point they don't even attempt to sell it for you... use a different website they do not respond to emails and its just full of pikeys"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Updated site really bad, look elsewhere now"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Think before posting your number on Gumtree. Within 2 minutes of my posting my ad, I was flooded with spam calls."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Deleted my sublet ad without informing me or even telling me why."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Owned a motorbike for ten years decided to sell on gumtree was stolen within 24 hours after I put add up 👎"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Absolutely terrible would give zero stars. Can't even put an add up without getting removed straight away."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I have been using gumtree for some time now and found it very user friendly but now they have made a complete and utter mess of it.The new version of the website is all over the place and if you're looking for something that isn't on their list good luck with trying to find it I have stopped using gumtree and have found numerous sites offering a range of products that is equal and some better without all the hassel and the frustration that gumtree offer"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Ads removed immediately with no explanation no email no nothing been happening for weeks I am a good community gumtree user too"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"great website"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Did Sir William ever use this site?"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"I joint gumtree which was very easy to sign up to and very easy to use. It was Very easy to get in touch with the actual seller and to arrange to go and see the item. Quick response from the seller."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Well well well, gumtree has now been removed from my apps, another company thats now starting to. Charge 2.99 a add what a money grabbing company 3 months ago you was sending post out asking for donations to. Help support the site now to charge customers, i give alot of my stuff away for free on gumtree no way am i posting free items and being charged 2.99 per add off To preloved for me one off charge free for the year gumtree you should. Be ashamed of. Yourself once a great company now just a. Company waiting to crash and become in alot of debt *****stay away ****"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"refuses to issue refunds to victims of sexual harassment via their advertising platform. Can you think of more reprehensible practises?"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"New gumtree app is rubbish !!!!!!"
3 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Worst advertisement website ever. Terrible customer service, they just ignore emails asking for assistance and cut you off when you complain to them about it on the chat. Don’t waste your time"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Gumtree is rated 1.80 based on 70 reviews