Gousto Reviews

3.03 Rating 372 Reviews
49 %
of reviewers recommend Gousto
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 45%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 60%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Gousto made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
I have been getting Gousto for years now and have generally liked the convenience, variety and quality of meals.
Having read the reviews on here I agree that standards are slipping. Food has a very short use by date and I have had rancid chicken a couple of times. The herbs, particularly coriander and basil are often unusable if you leave them a couple of days.
I also have concerns over the amount of packaging.
Today my box didn't even arrive, not for the first time. I was concerned when I didn't receive a text giving me a delivery time. We are self isolating at the moment and were completed reliant on the box. I phoned and was offered a refund and 20% off my next box. Not really what I wanted. I was asked if I needed another box this week and was offered a Friday delivery as the first they could manage. ( it is Monday today). No good!
I have since looked up the courier info and according to that the box never arrived at the depot.

My conclusions are that Gousto are a victim of their own success and cannot keep up with orders so are unable to meet their commitments.
Posted 4 days ago
Gousto were amazing for me and my family during lockdown from march. However, months and months in (Jan 2021), we've had problem after problem! boxes been thrown at the door so food being unusable and sachets of liquids bursting. Defeating the object if us not going into the shops. our box was cancelled the day before the delivery date which was 3 days before christmas! Unfortunately, I'm cancelling my subscription today as each week i'm not satisfied with something. I'm not normally one to complain but this has been months and no matter how many times i've tried to speak to them, the issues haven't been solved or explained.
Posted 1 week ago
I've had Gousto for three weeks. The first couple of boxes were great and I've been recommending them to everyone. However, today my order just hasn't come, and according to the tracker it is not even with the courier yet. It's due today by 7pm (in time to cook the food). I have tried to get through to customer services but they don't seem to be operating. I would think if they are going to cancel they would at least get in touch. I can see from previous comments that this is a pattern. I can't help feeling they have treated me well as a new customer and now that I'm no longer new they just add me to the list of people to mess about.
Posted 1 week ago
Can’t say that I’m very impressed, our first three boxes were fine (although the use by dates were very short). Box number 4 was completely wrong nothing like the recipes that I ordered, did receive a discount though so lived with it. Box number 5 started off by me being told of numerous shortages and substitutions but actually it just hasn't arrived at all, apparently it never made it to the courier company. Customer services were polite but not particularly helpful and I am seriously considering cancelling my subscription which is a shame because the recipes were quite interesting.
Posted 1 week ago
Thought I had cancelled my subscription and had no delivery for a month, then out of the blue I got an email to say they had chosen for me. I mean this wouldn't have been the end of the world had they chosen dishes that I wanted!
When contacting customer services I was told there was nothing they could do and I hadn't paused properly, the reason that I hasnt received meals prior to this was because they were busy due to the 2nd lockdown.
I dont feel my complaint was resolved in any way, felt fobbed off.
Posted 1 week ago
Some of meat pretty poor quality. Too much use of chicken thighs. A lot of recipes very similar with small portions that are padded out with rice etc
Posted 2 weeks ago
I like the recipes but there is a pattern of missing or incorrect ingredients on a weekly basis now. Their minuscule offering of credit is woeful and getting through to their customer service appears to have been offshored to contractors without any real power to offer a satisfactory conclusion. I used to use Gousto years ago where missing ingredients was still an issue but at least they provided a decent discount on next box and a promise of careful inspection before it was sent out.

Give them a try but be prepared to walk if they don’t up their game.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Fresh product often quite poor in quality, with dead herb leaves and dehydrated limes etc. The meals generally have great flavour but the biggest downfall is the amount of plastic! Each individual portion comes in its own plastic wrap to which I agonise over every time I drop it in the bin. They could offer a reduced price box for those willing to eqip themselves with the typical ingredients, such as soy sauce, garlic and onions etc. This would greatly reduce the amount of waste. Alternatively they could seriously look in to bio degradable packaging to win over the eco conscious customers that they are otherwise missing out on.
Posted 1 month ago
I have tried to contact a manager re a serious complaint and general lack of service to no avail . The service we have received was 1st class up to 8 weeks ago since then missing items ,wrong meals have been the order of the day nearly every week ,however yesterday topped it all when our 4 meals turned up with no ice what so ever had to throw whole box away customer care no use what so ever I wanted to speak to a manager and was promised. One would ring in 24hrs rang again today to be told it could be 24 -48 hrs but to be on the safe side Gousto would ad another 24hrs
What is going on this is ridiculous
Posted 1 month ago
Food good. Unfortunately only get a full day window for delivery time which has meant couldnt plan to be in for it and the box just got dumped on the doorstep and twice has had soft foods in it squashed as it was dumped on its side.
Slightly mislead by sign up offer. I thought the offer was for 50% off first box and then 30% off next 3 but that is only if you get a weekly subscription so actually it was 30 % off following orders for the rest of the first month. I am a single mum of a toddler and getting a weekly box is too much.
Next issue, having got my requests in before the deadline for the coming week I then receive an email saying my selections have been made for me and the choices I had made were for an additional order to come the following week. I admit there is a possibility that I was not paying attention completely but would have assumed that if my choices were out that what I chose would be for the subscription I was paying for and that if I was making an additional order something would flag up to say - are you sure you want an additional order which will cost you another £35? Felt like a system designed to fool me into accidentally ordering more than I had planned. Customer service insistent that it was my error and the best he could do was give me a 30% discount but I'm still left paying for food that wasn't what I would have chosen. Has left a bad taste in my mouth so am cancelling subscription. Shame as I was enjoying the food!
Posted 2 months ago
2 stars: Poor
Updated just now
Gousto not so Good though
So where do I begin ? I started using Gusto meal delivery because my son and daughter-in-law have used it and said it's good with the odd exception. I ordered my first box with no problems and it came in the morning. I liked the menus so I ordered a second delivery for last Monday but before doing so rang them to verbally give them our safe place (as it didnt have 'other' choice within online choices. As we were away for the weekend i ordered 4 days worth for two for mon-thursday. Eventually I received notification that Monday'delivery would be between 5 and 7pm which to be honest surprised me as I didn't realise they delivered that late. So was a bit disappointed as thought 7pm was a bit late considering a lot of people have their dinner before then and considering if you get it at 7pm and then have to unpack the box and to cook a meal. However at 6.40 ish we're still waiting so I gave Gusto a call and was told that it was definitely on its way and the CSR stated they always deliver before 7 p.m. Little did I know at that time that it was yodel handling the delivery. So around 7:05 it hadn't arrived so I rang Gousto again and was told its definitely on its way but told by the CSR he would check. He repeated it was on its way but that there was a bit of a problem (not given specifics) but that it wasnt far away) Then I saw a text stating delivery is delayed to between 7 and 8:30. By 7.45pm no sign and we had decided we could not wait any longer especially as I'm diabetic and was starting to realise i needed to eat so we had some toast. We felt we had been really let down and misled because firstly we hadn't been shopping cos we've been away and secondly the only food to make a substantial with was in the freezer frozen. We called Gousto phone again but lines were closed . A little while after 8pm a guy turned up dropped the box at our front door (which opens onto a park) as we could see him from the window plus the dog was going mad) and just walked away and so we called him back bu

and we asked him why are you so late delivering our box. To which he replied "I have too many deliveries and too many homes to deliver to it is not possible to do it. He was clearly fed up. My partner said 'you can't expect everyone wanting to start cooking this time of night to which the guy replied. if you don't like i will take the box away and with that and us in utter shock he picked up the box and walked away.
I went on to the gousto app and was upset to find my subscription had been suspended. But worse still, on the Yodel tracker it stated Driver tried to deliver your parcel but it was refused at the door. Then later about 10pm it stated parcel has been returned to sender please contact them.
And then it's 6 oclock the next day it's stated due to the contents /condition of the parcel we're unable to deliver it. please contact sender.
So Tues morning I rang Gousto stating i wanted to make a complaint and if possible would like to speak to a supervisor or manager. However I was told by the CsR she would take the details of the complaint and it would be passed on to a manager who would ring me back within 48hrs. Surprisingly I was then sent an email asking for feedback on my delivery and after the true comments I put, naively made me feel hopeful that I would get a call sooner rather than later, I told them that I expected a refund which to be fair has happened but it's now Friday, I've received no call back. So from Tuesday morning to Friday its much more than 48 hours so around mid day Friday I rang Gousto again only to be told I had to wait 48 hours again before somebody could ring me and i tried to explain i lodged a complaint on tue morning so why should i have to go back to the beginning. said I'm not waiting again when nobody has rang me from the time of my original complaint on Tuesday morning. Are they even open weekends ? and i doubt they would ring on Sunday but I told CSR I was not prepared to wait 48 hours yet again.
I feel i have given Gousto enough chances to explain and apologise for what has happened.
I remember that when I first look that the delivery information it did state something like 230 stops and at one point I was 119 and when I looked later in the day showed 12 but seemed to be stuck on this for ages and then 9 and then when I looked again I was 2nd. I'm asking myself does that really mean this guy had over 200 deliveries to make! if so surely that can't be right. According to the screen box arrived at my local depot in Reading at 7.05am. At 10.33 it stated it was with a driver for delivery between 5 p.m and 7p.m
So I keep asking myself if the number of deliveries are what is stated and the time scale is what is stated 7 till 7 but then the driver has to work over that time because its too many boxes for the time allocated then who is monitoring this? Gousto or Yodel and is the duty of care to these drivers sufficient.
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear about this and want to help. If you can please send us additional details. The best way is to click ‘Get in touch’ on Gousto.co.uk/Help. We’ll do our best to try and make things right. We’re sorry this happened, and thank you again for bringing it to our attention.

Best wishes, The Gousto Team
Posted 1 month ago
Disappointing. They make sure to get it right for first 2 boxes, downhill after that. Food gone bad before expiry date, specially the meat products, veg weltered after a couple of days (even in fridge), always missing something from several recipes, waste of time. All I got from support (who are nice at least) are apologies. “this is not a persistent issue..” I can read from a script too. Anyway, rather spend 5 minutes and go to local supermarket myself, loads of free recipes online.
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are so sorry to hear that these issues have been occurring for you and we would like to help you resolve this. If you could get in touch with us through the 'Help Centre' we will then able to take a further look.

The Gousto Team - Kai
Posted 2 months ago
Disappointing. They make sure to get it right for first 2 boxes, downhill after that. Food gone bad before expiry date, specially the meat products, veg weltered after a couple of days (even in fridge), always missing something from several recipes, waste of time. All I got from support (who are nice at least) are apologies. “this is not a persistent issue..” I can read from a script too. Anyway, rather spend 5 minutes and go to local supermarket myself, loads of free recipes online.
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are so sorry to hear that these issues have been occurring for you and we would like to help you resolve this. If you could get in touch with us through the 'Help Centre' we will then able to take a further look.

The Gousto Team - Kai
Posted 2 months ago
The food is mostly nice but the use by dates are stupid and customer service is dreadful. I have always had recommended useby dates within 3-4 days of the delivery which isn't good for 4 meals. When I questioned this I was advised by customer services that the use by dates were just a "guideline" and to use the dates on the meat - nevermind that the veg was going off.
Posted 2 months ago
Me and my wife have been using Gousto for a long time. And I used to recommend them to family and friends. They used to be great. However lately they have gone very downhill. Boxes we have recently received often have items missing. Or completely the wrong ingredients required for the recipes ordered. The quality of the ingredients that do turn up has also become very bad.
Posted 3 months ago
I have been having Gousto for many many years but since the pandemic this company have obviously expanded to cater for a larger market. In the past few months I have had missing ingredients, meat that was not packed in the chiller box, grissly chicken breasts, vegetables that have been past their best and missing ingredient cards. Over the years I have never had cause to complain but in recent months the issue of missing ingredients and poor produce has become commonplace.
Posted 3 months ago
Pros: Good recipes, makes weeknight cooking easier to plan.

Cons: Generally poor ingredient quality. Woody chicken breasts, mouldy pieces of ginger, the worst quality beef mince I have ever seen. It's like meat sludge.

We won't be bothering in future.
Posted 3 months ago
Disappointed- I really wanted to like Gousto but oh dear me. I signed up because I thought it would help us to widen the variety of food we eat. My family and I haven’t liked one meal. The recipes are easy to follow but just not that good and the quality of ingredients was also not good. It wasn’t terrible just not good for the price [even with the introductory offer) so cancelled halfway through the offer period- avoid
Posted 4 months ago
I recently skipped a week before my cut off time of midnight on Tuesday. On checking my bank account I found that I had a payment pending and applied to my bank account on the Tuesday.

I have queried this with Gousto as my understanding was payment was applied for 3 days before delivery is made and by my calculation that would be on a Wednesday for a Saturday delivery.

Not so according to customer services! They state "Payment was not taken before our order cut-off point. We conduct a pre-authorisation payment check 24 hours before we're due to take a payment from you, which is essentially us notifying your bank that you have an upcoming payment. At this point, most banks will place the funds for your payment on hold, which for most banks, means the payment will show as 'pending' in your account. This is the case up until payment is actually taken".

I little confused as previous payments have left my account on a Thursday.

Despite their assurances that payment had been voided be warned it can take up to 7 days for this pending payment to disappear from your bank account and funds be released.

I emailed customer services and have asked for my account to be cancelled and closed as I was only able to pause deliveries via the app.

Their replies are very prompt and the food fairly good but the issue over pre applying for payment before I've reached my cut off point is unacceptable.

And to top it off the email I received confirming the cancellation is entitled "So long...farewell". Maybe they might want to rethink this title - Sorry to see you go might be a little more customer friendly.
Posted 4 months ago
Love the concept and on the whole the boxes have been great, had a full weeks meals delivered every week during lockdown and this has been a great help.

BUT

The quality is really quite poor at times, herbs come at the end of they’re life but my main gripe has been the meat, it’s always just a few days before use by, sometimes it smells funny and the cuts are full of gristle and just not very nice.

I can’t recommend this company I’m afraid - they charge top prices for inferior products
Posted 5 months ago
Gousto is rated 3.03 based on 372 reviews