Gousto Reviews

2.83 Rating 498 Reviews
43 %
of reviewers recommend Gousto
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 45%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 60%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Gousto made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
I checked the tracking at 5pm and the deliver driver was in Downham (fair enough), its now half 7 and having gone round bromley and my house is now back in Downham. I think the food is great, but the deliver is very very poor. I have called three times and twice an American man was very helpful but a lady put the phone straight down on me. Chicken has now been in trainset for over 12 hours.. concerning to say the least.
Posted 4 days ago
Hi Hannah, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm so sorry to hear that you have had such a poor experience with our couriers, this is definitely not the standard of service that we from our couriers. I would also like to apologise for one of the agents putting the phone down straight away, this should have not happened and I would like to get this investigated further. I can assure you that as long as the ice packs have not melted and the chicken is still cold alongside the other items in the cool box, the chicken should be completely fine to use. If you could please go to this link http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact, please mention my name and I will be able to get this looked into further for you. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 days ago
My last box arrived at 10.30pm at night on an extremely hot day. The box had clearly been sitting in a non-refrigerated courier van all day. I contacted customer services about the late box and said they’d confirm when the box would be with me via email, they never did and then the courier expected me to open my door at 10.30pm at night! Emailed gousto as the meat didn’t feel cold enough and they couldn’t care less if they have food safety issues. In my third email to them I clearly requested details of their complaints procedure and ombudsman details which they have not responded to and that was 3 days ago. I have since paused my subscription given a good company doesn’t want to deal with food safety.
Posted 4 days ago
Hi, thank you for your review. I am really sorry to hear that you were not able to use your Gousto box due to the contents being warm. I would like to look into this further for you so we can also raise this issue with our depot team and to work towards preventing this from happening again. Please could you contact us through the help section of your Gousto account/our webpage? and mention my name and that you initially got in touch via reviews. Best wishes, Fadumo- Gousto Team
Posted 4 days ago
Apalling.service. completed a first order of 4 meals that i was greatly.looking forward too. I m currently undergoing chemotherapy so i believed this would be a quick , easy method of delicious , healthy food. My order day arrived , no items delivered. At this point i had very little in for dinner as i was counting on the meals arriving. At 8pm still no sign , when tracked the order it said that it.could not deliver due to the contents ??????????? Gobsmacked to say the least. Have written an email to Gousto but as yet 24 hours later no reply. Shame as I had heard great things but.i would be very reluctant to use again
Posted 6 days ago
Hi, I am so sorry to hear of your negative experience, and would like to look into what has happened with your delivery. If there was a 'contents' issue my understanding is that the box may have suffered damage in transit, but we can confirm this. If you haven't received a response from us as yet, do please come onto our live chat so that we can instantly help resolve this issue. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience and disruption this has caused you. Robin
Posted 5 days ago
recipes are great, delivery effective and packaging impressive but OMG customer service abhorrent. Rude and inefficient online chat host and no easy way to contact customer service. The website is all over the place if you want anything outside ordering and there is no easy way to contact customer service.
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Rita, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I'm really sorry to hear that you've had issues and would really like to be able to investigate this further for you. Could you please go to this link http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact. You can then click on ‘Contact us by email’ and select ‘Trustpilot/Google Review’ from the dropdown. I'll help with this and you’ll come through to me. Best wishes - Robin
Posted 5 days ago
Not even received the food and there's already 2 issues. Best before dates expire before we will have a change eat. At 3pm The parcel hasn't even left Yodel depot that's over 4 hours away. They said they'd contact Yodel who will be in touch in 2 hours, by which time I will have to leave home and buy food for the evening.
Posted 1 week ago
Hi there, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear the shelf life of your recipes is not suitable, we always try to provide the longest shelf life possible and our recommended use by date are on our website before choosing your meals. We will of course ensure your feedback is passed across to our food developers and recipe teams, along with suppliers to see if there is anyway we can increase our dates. If you are still experiencing delivery issues or have not heard back from Yodel/our team. Please could you contact us through the help section of your Gousto account/our webpage? and mention my name and that you initially got in touch via reviews. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 1 week ago
Missing ingredients and mouldy items. When complained was told would be refunded for the missing items only. So, two meals ruined due to missing items and mouldy “fresh” goods but only refunded for those items. So ordering Gousto for the convenience means you either have to go to the supermarket to purchase missing items or throw the meals away but you only get refund for missing items. So ordering from Gousto for the convenience of getting home after a hard day at work to cook a fresh meal is out the window as you might have or have not the ingredients and you might, might not have to take a trip to the supermarket to get the missing items. Really this is not what we pay for and not what we expect. Subscription cancelled and will take my custom elsewhere tgat appreciates customers 🤷‍♂️
Posted 1 week ago
Hi there, I am truly sorry to hear you’re not happy with the credit/refund offered, please http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact so we can look for a better way to make this up to you. We take issues with ingredients very seriously and we will follow up on this accordingly. Please get in touch, kind regards Ivy
Posted 1 week ago
I received my.first order on Saturday for 3 meals, 2 of which had missing ingredients plus they forgot to include the recipe cards. Also really disappointed with the serving size for 1 meal. Then on Wednesday I got a notification that they had chosen my meals for delivery on Saturday without prior warning that I needed to choose or they would be automatically chosen for me. They advised that the order couldn't be altered or cancelled, even though the ingredients chosen are all fresh, so the idea that they are prepping my delivery for Saturday is ludicrous. I find this practice underhand to say the least. The meals chosen were completely random and not in line with what I'd normally eat at all. If they insist on delivery honestly it'll go straight in the bin as I have no incline to eat the recipes chosen at all. I'm disgusted with their service
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi Mark, I am truly sorry to hear you have had some issues with your box. Could you please contact us via http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact so we can look into this for you and make it right. It takes 3 days to prepare our boxes, to source the ingredients, to pack it and to dispatch it hence we have the cut off point which is 3 days prior delivery day but please get in touch and we will find a solution for you. thank you Ivy
Posted 1 week ago
So very disappointed with Gousto, I cancelled this weeks delivery within good time and yet it arrived on my doorstep today with money taken out of my account. I have read numerous reviews all with the same story. I have cancelled my subscription and will be returning to 'HELLO FRESH' they would not treat a customer like this and their food is delicious !!!!
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi Helen, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear the cancellation of a delivery was not processed correctly, please could you let us know if this was done via the app or website format? I would like to look into this further for you so we can check your account is on the right status and to work towards preventing this from happening again. Please could you contact us through the help section of your Gousto account/our webpage? and mention my name and that you initially got in touch via reviews. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 1 week ago
I am so disappointed in the service from gousto. I was really looking forward to trialling out a recipe box. It seemed great on first impressions, however each meal I made, I noticed missing ingredients, so had to do my own thing with the recipes anyway. I cancelled the future boxes I had scheduled and paused my subscription as it just wasn’t right for me right now. I then today received an email saying the money for my next box had come out of my bank and another from gousto saying my next box had been confirmed! A box I cancelled!!!! I immediately got in touch with the customer service team, and got a reply from a Jordan. Although very polite, he has been very unwilling to resolve this issue and instead of listening to what I say, is telling me ‘there’s no record of cancellation’ which is extremely frustrating from the customers point of view when I full well know I cancelled this service. He is not allowing me a refund for the box I cancelled and is insisting there’s no way of resolving this issue as I’ve ‘missed the cut off time’. But I in fact cancelled the boxes before the cut off time. Whether there has been an error on the app I do not know. But I am very certain I cancelled the box, I even had a home page that said something along the lines of ‘no scheduled deliveries’. Now magically the box is back on my home page as if there was no cancellation. I do not want this box and I took the steps to stop it arriving and I certainly don’t think I should be paying for it! I’m extremely disappointed with the service and the lack of willingness to solve the problem from the customer services department. I understand you’ll have certain rules to go by, however, I shouldn’t have to pay for an error that is not mine. I expected it to be an inconvenience at the most to solve this issue, but this is ridiculous.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi there, thank you for your review. I am truly sorry to hear of your experience with us and this is certainly not the service we want to provide. Gousto is a flexible subscription, and we always want to ensure you have full control of your account, any account left active but no orders chosen or skipped a chef selection box will be processed. An account which is paused means only the account holder can create one off orders when required. I am sorry the actions you have taken to get your account in the right status has not worked and we can look into this further for you. Please could you contact us through the help section of your Gousto account/our webpage? and mention my name and that you initially got in touch via reviews. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 1 week ago
I used gousto for 6 weeks, and three boxes out of the six I ordered had missing ingredients. They kept offering £2 vouchers off my next order. Insulting. Yes, the recipes are great and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience of cooking great food at home, but if your value prop is providing ingredients and you can't do that effectively, then you are a pretty useless service. I am not paying so much money per week for fancy recipe cards. Considering that so many more people have had the same terrible experience, it's best to steer clear of gousto until they get their act together.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi There, Thanks so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am extremely sorry for the missing items from your recent boxes. We are currently working very hard with the factory team to prevent these mistakes from happening unfortunately some still slip through the cracks despite our best efforts. We tend to offer a credit or partial refund to the value of the ingredients affected in hopes that the item can be replaced and your recipe still enjoyed. I will pass your feedback on to the rest of the team to help further the prevention of any future mistakes. If you'd like to discuss this further please get in touch via the help section of your Gousto account. Best wishes, Jodie - The Gousto Team
Posted 1 week ago
I have received a number of boxes from Gousto, the food is not as nice as Hello Fresh but it's okay. About 2 weeks ago I cancelled my subscription as I go on holiday in a few days and I knew I would have to cancel a week in advance. Today the money for next weeks box was taken from my account, I called them to advised I had cancelled my subscription and I will be in Wales when it's delivered so I would like a refund, the agent kept speaking over me, she refused to refund me and said she was unable to cancel the box, she offered to refund me 20% which is useless to me if I'm not going to receive the box. I have contacted PayPal for a refund.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hi Jade, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I’m really sorry to hear that you have been sent a box that you will not be able to use at all. We can’t apologise enough for the inconvenience, it’s certainly not the standard of service we wish to provide as we are not keen on food wastage and would not want to put you in such a predicament. I would be more than happy to take a second look into this for you. Could you please get in touch via this link, and add your email address, postcode and my name, we will then be able to access your account, to address this issue. https://www.gousto.co.uk/help-centre Best wishes, Fadumo - The Gousto Team
Posted 2 weeks ago
Ordered from Gousto a while back, just one box and was lovely. Wasn’t a subscription, just a one time box to try it. A few days ago my partner got an email saying our order will be delivered on this day, so and so. But we had never even ordered a box. We contacted Gousto and they refused to give me a refund for a box I never even ordered. So at the moment I have a box of food I don’t even like and money taken from my account when I never authorised it. Do not order from here or you could potentially be a part of their thieving schemes as well. Before you think that it was a re-accruing subscription and this is all just a confusion. It isn’t, we have only ever ordered a one of box maybe a month or so ago.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am really glad to hear that you have enjoyed your first box with us. I can assure you that there is no thieving scheme. To give you some more clarity of how this has happened, when you first sign up with us and select your first order, you go through the process of choosing a specific delivery day and how often you would like to receive a box whether that is weekly, fortnightly or on a monthly basis. We would then send a welcome email after your account has been created with all of the necessary information about the subscription and the choices that you would have made. To order as and when, you would need to head to 'My Gousto' and then to the 'Subscriptions' tab and stop the subscription, this will allow you to order as and when. I would like to discuss this further with you and see if there is anything else that I can do to help or answer any further questions. If you could please go to this link http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact. You can then click on ‘Contact us by email’ and select ‘Trustpilot/Google Review’ from the dropdown. Please mention my name and you will come through to me. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team
Posted 1 week ago
Only had it a few weeks. Food is missing from a lot of recipes. The vegetables have had some mould (not always just a couple times). It’s a bit difficult finding recipes as when I click mince all I’m given is vegetarian stuff. Bit weird.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Hi, Thank you for reaching out to us. I am truly sorry to hear that you were not happy with your recent delivery and would really like to discuss this with you further as it's certainly not the service we wanted, or expect, you to receive. If you'd like to discuss this further please get in touch via the help section of your account. Best Wishes, - Fadumo
Posted 3 weeks ago
Most of the negative reviews here are about delivery. Mine is actually just about the product. I can only imagine that this is aimed at people who have never shopped and never cooked, and seem to think there is something amazing about cooking average food using a recipe. We trialled Gousto having been very impressed with the quality and taste of the recipes from Simply Cook. Their simple additions to recipes elevate a home-cooked meal to restaurant quality with no extra time or experience needed. We thought that this would be the same, or maybe even better. The recipes are average at best, written in a disjointed and haphazard way that leaves things ready too early and left cold at the side (deliberately). There is a huge amount of packaging and plastic waste, and the short expiry dates mean you better get eating as soon as your package arrives. Also, I’m not sure how they decide what counts as “store cupboard” items - for instance, they give you a tiny pouch of dried chicken stock, but you have to provide your own flour... fine by me but seems disorganised and inconsistent. The most disappointing thing is how truly average the meals are. There is not one ingredient that seems premium or flavoursome to add a “wow” to your dish - it’s just plain old standard supermarket fare (for instance, generic “Italian hard cheese”) with some very expensive recipe cards thrown in.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am really sorry to hear that you feel as though our service is aimed at consumers who have never cooked, this is definitely not the case. With our boxes we always aim to provide great tasting, healthy and well balanced meals that anyone with all cooking skill levels can enjoy. Our chef’s do everything that they can to ensure that all of our recipes taste great however, this is also down to personal preference and I am really sorry that you were not able to enjoy the recipes. Our chef’s also try to make the cooking instructions as clear and as easy to follow, but I will make sure to pass your feedback onto them so that they can look into this further. We've been working with suppliers and sustainable packaging specialists to remove over 100 tonnes of plastic from our boxes in the last year. Our next challenge is to make all Gousto-branded packaging reusable, recyclable or compostable by the end of 2022. If you would like to read more about this, then please head to https://www.gousto.co.uk/blog/sustainability. If there is anything further that you would like to discuss with us, pass any other feedback along the way or if there is anything else we can help with, please do not hesitate to contact us through http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact and we will be more than happy to help with any queries. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team
Posted 1 week ago
Appalling, If I could give 0 stars I would. The customer service is awful. I received my first box, meal was missing. No problem I thought, these things happen. Requested a refund through the app for the missing items. Easy! Haha, no. Didn't get a refund notification, invoice for the next box was at full price. We'll fine, it wasn't a lot of money anyway, I'll just move on. Next box comes, item arrive smashed (glass so inedible). This is frustrating. Fine, ask for a refund on that and ask if I can have my subscription cancelled through customer services email. This is were it all goes down hill. Get ignored, then only get half an answer. I am repeatedly called by the wrong name. I keep asking for my subscription to be cancelled. Then they said the email thread was closed and dill have to contact them again. So I did that, get ignored. Then called by the wrong name again. I start asking for my complaint to be escalated now because no one is cancelling my subscription. I get another box. I've asked for a refund. Ignored. Asked for the complaints to be escalated 4/5ish times. Ignored. Told I can't have a refund because I only requested a few days prior, so I sent proof of my original email requesting that its cancelled and again request my complaint be escalated (also called by the wrong name) that was a few days ago now. Still waiting a response, if I get one at all. I have been able to pause it but nit cancel but I think right now that's the best result I'll get. Please avoid this place, there are other boxes that have wonderful customer services. Good recipes that don't come smashed, and they'll call you by your name.
Posted 1 month ago
Hi There, We're so sorry to hear of the experience you have received from us, this is very disappointing, and i would love to get this resolved as soon as possible for you. If it would be a better option to speak over the phone we can get this organised for you to prevent miss communication on emails. If you wish for a call back please request this by clicking 'Get in touch’ on Gousto.co.uk/Help and select ‘Trustpilot/Review’ from the drop-down menu, confirming full name, email address and post code, any original ticket references and best number & time. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 1 month ago
Yodel!! Absolutely appalling delivery service
Posted 1 month ago
Hi There, Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about the recent issue with your delivery. I am so sorry to hear that you're unhappy with the courier service we use. Yodel take care of our deliveries Monday - Saturday but we use DPD on Sundays. Many of our customers find that making a change to their delivery day helps improve the reliability of their deliveries, if it is at all possible for you I'd recommend trying a different delivery day. Your box should always reach you between 8am -7pm anything outside of this, we would appreciate it if you could let us know so we can investigate further for you and so we can help prevent this from happening again in future. If you'd like to discuss this further please get in touch via the help section of your account. Again I do apologise for any inconvenience caused. Best wishes, Jodie - The Gousto Team.
Posted 1 month ago
Honestly, just awful. Ordered my first box and when it arrived it was missing 5 items, items I’d paid for and were needed for 2 of the recipes. Think I’ll stick to hellofresh. Avoid at all cost, not a good way to attract new customers, is it?
Posted 1 month ago
Hi there, thank you for your review. It's disappointing to hear ingredients were missing from your box and certainly not the standard we expect to deliver and sorry for the poor experience with your first box. We would love to look into this further for you, and hopefully restore your faith in Gousto, if you could please get in touch by clicking 'Get in touch’ on Gousto.co.uk/Help and select ‘Trustpilot/Review’ from the drop-down menu, confirming full name, email address and post code. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 1 month ago
Great food but very poor delivery options. Used for three years no problems and lately deliveries always after 7pm it's to late. Driver's saying delivered and goods not been there. Change courier
Posted 1 month ago
Hi there, thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you have experienced later deliveries than usual our standard delivery window is between 8am-7pm so our couriers should be staying in line with this. We use Yodel Monday - Saturday and DPD on a Sunday. Monday is our busiest day, however it may be an option to look at choosing a different delivery day to see if performance is any better. Please do get in touch with us if the late deliveries still persist, you can do this by sending a message with your post code, email address and full name linked to your Gousto account, by clicking ‘Get in touch’ on Gousto.co.uk/Help and select ‘Trustpilot/Review’ from the drop-down menu. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 1 month ago
Would love to try the Gousto food but none of these companies cater for single people, great pity
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Grace, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Even as a single person you are able to enjoy our service if you do order for the portion size for two people. you are able to save one of the portions either for later that same day or save it for the following day. I will also get this feedback passed on to our team. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team
Posted 1 month ago
Some orders don't arrive some they deliver differently to what I selected.
Posted 1 month ago
Hi there, Thanks for reaching out and sharing your experience. I'm sorry to hear that you've had issues with your deliveries and orders - this isn't what we expect and you should always receive what you've ordered! I'd really love to get all this sorted for you so could you please could you send me a message with your postcode, email address and full name linked to your Gousto account, by clicking ‘Get in touch’ on Gousto.co.uk/Help and select ‘Trustpilot/Review’ from the drop-down menu, I'll be able to help resolve this for you. Thank you, Zara - The Gousto Team
Posted 1 month ago
Gousto is rated 2.83 based on 498 reviews