Gousto Reviews

2.85 Rating 492 Reviews
43 %
of reviewers recommend Gousto
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 45%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 60%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Gousto made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
The food is amazing - faultless. Sadly the customer service and rudeness of the staff lets the Company down. An error was made with my order resulting in double delivery at a cost of £60.00. When I contacted Customer services I was told it was my error they would not reimburse or cancel order and any food I couldn’t use due to short dates to cook up, give to neighbours or donate to a food bank. Not helpful when you’re frustrated over an administrative error. Particularly as I believe it was not an error on my part but the customer services advisor would not listen.
Posted 4 days ago
These boxes have totally surprised me. Much better than I expected. It’s great to have no waste and all so easy to do so far. It’s changed the way we eat for the better. Lots of good tasty meals to choose from. So glad we decided to do this. Would highly recommend
Posted 4 days ago
I received my.first order on Saturday for 3 meals, 2 of which had missing ingredients plus they forgot to include the recipe cards. Also really disappointed with the serving size for 1 meal. Then on Wednesday I got a notification that they had chosen my meals for delivery on Saturday without prior warning that I needed to choose or they would be automatically chosen for me. They advised that the order couldn't be altered or cancelled, even though the ingredients chosen are all fresh, so the idea that they are prepping my delivery for Saturday is ludicrous. I find this practice underhand to say the least. The meals chosen were completely random and not in line with what I'd normally eat at all. If they insist on delivery honestly it'll go straight in the bin as I have no incline to eat the recipes chosen at all. I'm disgusted with their service
Posted 4 days ago
So very disappointed with Gousto, I cancelled this weeks delivery within good time and yet it arrived on my doorstep today with money taken out of my account. I have read numerous reviews all with the same story. I have cancelled my subscription and will be returning to 'HELLO FRESH' they would not treat a customer like this and their food is delicious !!!!
Posted 6 days ago
I am so disappointed in the service from gousto. I was really looking forward to trialling out a recipe box. It seemed great on first impressions, however each meal I made, I noticed missing ingredients, so had to do my own thing with the recipes anyway. I cancelled the future boxes I had scheduled and paused my subscription as it just wasn’t right for me right now. I then today received an email saying the money for my next box had come out of my bank and another from gousto saying my next box had been confirmed! A box I cancelled!!!! I immediately got in touch with the customer service team, and got a reply from a Jordan. Although very polite, he has been very unwilling to resolve this issue and instead of listening to what I say, is telling me ‘there’s no record of cancellation’ which is extremely frustrating from the customers point of view when I full well know I cancelled this service. He is not allowing me a refund for the box I cancelled and is insisting there’s no way of resolving this issue as I’ve ‘missed the cut off time’. But I in fact cancelled the boxes before the cut off time. Whether there has been an error on the app I do not know. But I am very certain I cancelled the box, I even had a home page that said something along the lines of ‘no scheduled deliveries’. Now magically the box is back on my home page as if there was no cancellation. I do not want this box and I took the steps to stop it arriving and I certainly don’t think I should be paying for it! I’m extremely disappointed with the service and the lack of willingness to solve the problem from the customer services department. I understand you’ll have certain rules to go by, however, I shouldn’t have to pay for an error that is not mine. I expected it to be an inconvenience at the most to solve this issue, but this is ridiculous.
Posted 1 week ago
Terrible customer service, and missing menus. Used the online chat to ask why they don’t provide a 5 meal week option, the response was “what don’t you understand about us only doing 4 meals per week” my question “why only 4” their response” because that’s all we do and aren’t about to change any time in the near future”. So I have cancelled. The delivery that did arrive had no menu cards and the clotted cream pot had spilled over the other ingredients. That aside the ingredients weren’t terrible but poor customer attitude and missing items doesn’t cut it in this pandemic time.
Posted 1 week ago
I used gousto for 6 weeks, and three boxes out of the six I ordered had missing ingredients. They kept offering £2 vouchers off my next order. Insulting. Yes, the recipes are great and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience of cooking great food at home, but if your value prop is providing ingredients and you can't do that effectively, then you are a pretty useless service. I am not paying so much money per week for fancy recipe cards. Considering that so many more people have had the same terrible experience, it's best to steer clear of gousto until they get their act together.
Posted 1 week ago
I have received a number of boxes from Gousto, the food is not as nice as Hello Fresh but it's okay. About 2 weeks ago I cancelled my subscription as I go on holiday in a few days and I knew I would have to cancel a week in advance. Today the money for next weeks box was taken from my account, I called them to advised I had cancelled my subscription and I will be in Wales when it's delivered so I would like a refund, the agent kept speaking over me, she refused to refund me and said she was unable to cancel the box, she offered to refund me 20% which is useless to me if I'm not going to receive the box. I have contacted PayPal for a refund.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi Jade, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I’m really sorry to hear that you have been sent a box that you will not be able to use at all. We can’t apologise enough for the inconvenience, it’s certainly not the standard of service we wish to provide as we are not keen on food wastage and would not want to put you in such a predicament. I would be more than happy to take a second look into this for you. Could you please get in touch via this link, and add your email address, postcode and my name, we will then be able to access your account, to address this issue. https://www.gousto.co.uk/help-centre Best wishes, Fadumo - The Gousto Team
Posted 1 week ago
Ordered from Gousto a while back, just one box and was lovely. Wasn’t a subscription, just a one time box to try it. A few days ago my partner got an email saying our order will be delivered on this day, so and so. But we had never even ordered a box. We contacted Gousto and they refused to give me a refund for a box I never even ordered. So at the moment I have a box of food I don’t even like and money taken from my account when I never authorised it. Do not order from here or you could potentially be a part of their thieving schemes as well. Before you think that it was a re-accruing subscription and this is all just a confusion. It isn’t, we have only ever ordered a one of box maybe a month or so ago.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Regrettably we have just cancelled our Gousto account. Not because of delivery issues, not because of the recipes (which are great) and not because of the cost. It’s to do with ingredients consistently missing. Having to go to the shop to buy a missing ingredient completely defeats the point of having Gousto. I’m honestly gutted as it’s a great product. Please sort it out guys!!
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi, Thank you for reaching out to us. I am truly sorry to hear that you have had constant issues with missing ingredients in your box and would really like to discuss this with you further as it's certainly not the service we wanted, or expect, you to receive. If you'd like to discuss this further please get in touch via the help section of your account. Best Wishes, Fadumo - Gousto Team
Posted 2 weeks ago
Only had it a few weeks. Food is missing from a lot of recipes. The vegetables have had some mould (not always just a couple times). It’s a bit difficult finding recipes as when I click mince all I’m given is vegetarian stuff. Bit weird.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi, Thank you for reaching out to us. I am truly sorry to hear that you were not happy with your recent delivery and would really like to discuss this with you further as it's certainly not the service we wanted, or expect, you to receive. If you'd like to discuss this further please get in touch via the help section of your account. Best Wishes, - Fadumo
Posted 2 weeks ago
I am week 2 of my orders with Gousto. The first week the ciabatta rolls had mould on 3 days before the use by date on the meal they related to. The second week a sealed bag arrives as part of a meal and as my wife and I are preparing it, we open the bag to find absolutely nothing inside. Fortunately, we had some stock in the cupboard, but had we not, we could not have made the sauce for the meal we had already started cooking. To have only placed two orders and already had issues with two meals, this does not bode well. And frankly the default response on the app of crediting us £1 for each oversight is not cutting the mustard. I will give them a third week, but if there are anymore issues with those meals, I will cancel my subscription. The food is perfectly good quality (when all the ingredients are present and/or in date!) but not worth the hassle or cost so far.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I’m really sorry your first experience with us was so disappointing. We’re working with our factory team at the moment to investigate the system error, so we can make sure this doesn’t happen again. We can’t apologise enough for the inconvenience, it’s certainly not the standard of service we wish to provide, or the first impression we want to make. Thank you for giving us another chance, we hope you enjoy your next box packed with delicious new recipes. Could you please get in touch via this link, and add your email address, postcode and my name, we will then be able to access your account, to address this issue. https://www.gousto.co.uk/help-centre Best wishes, Winnie - The Gousto Team
Posted 2 weeks ago
Most of the negative reviews here are about delivery. Mine is actually just about the product. I can only imagine that this is aimed at people who have never shopped and never cooked, and seem to think there is something amazing about cooking average food using a recipe. We trialled Gousto having been very impressed with the quality and taste of the recipes from Simply Cook. Their simple additions to recipes elevate a home-cooked meal to restaurant quality with no extra time or experience needed. We thought that this would be the same, or maybe even better. The recipes are average at best, written in a disjointed and haphazard way that leaves things ready too early and left cold at the side (deliberately). There is a huge amount of packaging and plastic waste, and the short expiry dates mean you better get eating as soon as your package arrives. Also, I’m not sure how they decide what counts as “store cupboard” items - for instance, they give you a tiny pouch of dried chicken stock, but you have to provide your own flour... fine by me but seems disorganised and inconsistent. The most disappointing thing is how truly average the meals are. There is not one ingredient that seems premium or flavoursome to add a “wow” to your dish - it’s just plain old standard supermarket fare (for instance, generic “Italian hard cheese”) with some very expensive recipe cards thrown in.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Appalling, If I could give 0 stars I would. The customer service is awful. I received my first box, meal was missing. No problem I thought, these things happen. Requested a refund through the app for the missing items. Easy! Haha, no. Didn't get a refund notification, invoice for the next box was at full price. We'll fine, it wasn't a lot of money anyway, I'll just move on. Next box comes, item arrive smashed (glass so inedible). This is frustrating. Fine, ask for a refund on that and ask if I can have my subscription cancelled through customer services email. This is were it all goes down hill. Get ignored, then only get half an answer. I am repeatedly called by the wrong name. I keep asking for my subscription to be cancelled. Then they said the email thread was closed and dill have to contact them again. So I did that, get ignored. Then called by the wrong name again. I start asking for my complaint to be escalated now because no one is cancelling my subscription. I get another box. I've asked for a refund. Ignored. Asked for the complaints to be escalated 4/5ish times. Ignored. Told I can't have a refund because I only requested a few days prior, so I sent proof of my original email requesting that its cancelled and again request my complaint be escalated (also called by the wrong name) that was a few days ago now. Still waiting a response, if I get one at all. I have been able to pause it but nit cancel but I think right now that's the best result I'll get. Please avoid this place, there are other boxes that have wonderful customer services. Good recipes that don't come smashed, and they'll call you by your name.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hi There, We're so sorry to hear of the experience you have received from us, this is very disappointing, and i would love to get this resolved as soon as possible for you. If it would be a better option to speak over the phone we can get this organised for you to prevent miss communication on emails. If you wish for a call back please request this by clicking 'Get in touch’ on Gousto.co.uk/Help and select ‘Trustpilot/Review’ from the drop-down menu, confirming full name, email address and post code, any original ticket references and best number & time. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 weeks ago
Yodel!! Absolutely appalling delivery service
Posted 4 weeks ago
Hi There, Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about the recent issue with your delivery. I am so sorry to hear that you're unhappy with the courier service we use. Yodel take care of our deliveries Monday - Saturday but we use DPD on Sundays. Many of our customers find that making a change to their delivery day helps improve the reliability of their deliveries, if it is at all possible for you I'd recommend trying a different delivery day. Your box should always reach you between 8am -7pm anything outside of this, we would appreciate it if you could let us know so we can investigate further for you and so we can help prevent this from happening again in future. If you'd like to discuss this further please get in touch via the help section of your account. Again I do apologise for any inconvenience caused. Best wishes, Jodie - The Gousto Team.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Honestly, just awful. Ordered my first box and when it arrived it was missing 5 items, items I’d paid for and were needed for 2 of the recipes. Think I’ll stick to hellofresh. Avoid at all cost, not a good way to attract new customers, is it?
Posted 1 month ago
Hi there, thank you for your review. It's disappointing to hear ingredients were missing from your box and certainly not the standard we expect to deliver and sorry for the poor experience with your first box. We would love to look into this further for you, and hopefully restore your faith in Gousto, if you could please get in touch by clicking 'Get in touch’ on Gousto.co.uk/Help and select ‘Trustpilot/Review’ from the drop-down menu, confirming full name, email address and post code. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 4 weeks ago
Great food but very poor delivery options. Used for three years no problems and lately deliveries always after 7pm it's to late. Driver's saying delivered and goods not been there. Change courier
Posted 1 month ago
Hi there, thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you have experienced later deliveries than usual our standard delivery window is between 8am-7pm so our couriers should be staying in line with this. We use Yodel Monday - Saturday and DPD on a Sunday. Monday is our busiest day, however it may be an option to look at choosing a different delivery day to see if performance is any better. Please do get in touch with us if the late deliveries still persist, you can do this by sending a message with your post code, email address and full name linked to your Gousto account, by clicking ‘Get in touch’ on Gousto.co.uk/Help and select ‘Trustpilot/Review’ from the drop-down menu. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 4 weeks ago
I’ve had Gousto and Hello fresh and compared both. Gousto wins hands down. They have a great choice of recipes. Their recipe cards are easy to store in the folder provided for free. If something is damaged or missing they will refund ( credit in the next box) and aside for once in 2 years, if I ever had a problem ( delivery, box late ect...) they get back to you within the hour / day. They are very good at using materials that can be recycled or upcycled ( their pretty cooling box have become storage boxes 📦 for my magazines and my son also made a board game with one of them ) As someone who doesn’t drive , Gousto is really helpful and handy to have around. Like anything in life, nothing is perfect and everything takes efforts but great rewards come with it. Thanks to the whole Gousto team x Marie
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Marie, thank you so much for taking the time to send your review to us, it's really great to hear what you like about Gousto and how we have made a positive impact, along with reusing our materials which is fantastic, and really lovely to hear your son got creative with our boxes! Thank you once again for your kind words. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 4 weeks ago
It’s a good service and serves a purpose. Good food choice. Poor customer service and delivery though. Having had over 20 boxes and recommended numerous friends, would think treated better. Had a box recently stolen following their change to Yodel who are awful. Got my money back in the end but no update followed. They now also use city sprint who give you no indication of when they will deliver. Meaning you have to wait around all day. They previously used DPD who are far superior. Pity they now use delivery partners who are cheaper.
Posted 1 month ago
Hi There, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are truly sorry to hear that you did not receive your Gousto box, and for the inconvenience, this has caused you. We work with couriers who we trust to get your box to you correctly. We are very sorry that, in this case, things didn’t work out for you with our courier company but we really hope you will give us an opportunity to make it right. I'm sorry that no one got back to you with the outcome of the investigation. I would like to take a further look into this for you, so could you please go to this link http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact. You can then click on ‘Contact us by email’ and select ‘Trustpilot/Google Review’ from the dropdown. In the email could you please mention my name. Best wishes, Amina - The Gousto Team
Posted 1 month ago
Fantastic and customer service is second to none. I really can not believe all these negative reviews below, hell some of them don't even seem to have given it a try as one person is complaining they don't cater to 1 person?? I actually buy the meals for 2 for just me and simply freeze or refrigerate my meals for another day making 1 meal last 2 days! Customer service is always excellent and if there is anything damaged or maybe a bit of veg is wonky they are always very quick to help and give a credit for the problems.
Posted 1 month ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! I'm really glad to hear that you've enjoyed our service so far and that our customer care team has been able to resolve all issues very quickly. We look forward to continuing on this journey with you. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team
Posted 1 month ago
Gousto is rated 2.85 based on 492 reviews