Good Energy Reviews

3.55 Rating 119 Reviews
63% of reviewers recommend Good Energy

How would you rate Good Energy?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need a working email address to verify that your review is genuine.

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

John Winters
Verified Reviewer
"Used to be fine, but since they switched to a new billing system they've been utterly chaotic - they also don't seem to be the slightest bit interested in trying to put things right. Queries to customer services are met with bland platitudes, but never address the actual issue raised. Over the last 18 months I've had no meaningful bills - lots of bits of paper, but all complete rubbish. A single bill will be for 3 weeks of electricity usage (a different) 9 weeks of gas usage, and 3 months of payments. Utterly impossible to tell where I stand with them because of their inability to produce meaningful bills. Back in September they suddenly announced they were increasing my monthly payments from £100 to £139 - no explanation or figures to back it up - just a bland statement. As far as I could tell from the rubbish which I was receiving, I was well in credit at the time. Their latest trick is to send me monthly bills which show my electricity usage and my overall payment, but skip gas usage entirely. It thus appears that I'm getting ludicrously into credit They combine total incompetence with an arrogance beyond belief. Avoid."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Visit Website
"Aside from loving the fact that I am buying 'good' energy from sustainable sources, I had cause to contact customer services today to ask for some information from my bills 2 years ago. I spoke to James, who was super helpful - he found the information I wanted, even though it was on an old system, and emailed it to me immediately. He was so nice, and really efficient. Thumbs up to Good Energy, and James, for great customer service!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Stay well clear. Credit agencies sent to your door with no explanation of bill total and company hike up your monthly DD without explanation. I used to pay 65 a month, now 132. Bill received saying I owe £600+ without any evidence to back it up. Can't get through, will not answer emails. Not answer complaints or provide written proof of what I owe. They can still send out credit collection agency letters though. Found out Energy received is from grid and not just renewable so I'm using what everyone else is using. I hear their new billing system is having problems and agent told me people being made redundant. So want to leave and have complained to the ombudsman about no bill explanation. Seems like company in trouble as so many having issues."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"We are having exactly the same experience as other reviewers on this site. We kept Good Energy as our supplier when we moved in but when we changed the account into my daughter's name (nothing else changed just the person who pays the bill) I suddenly received a bill for £900 in addition to the money I had paid every month. I initially set up a payment plan each month but after three months my daughter was told she only needed to pay £18 a month for both gas and electricity. This didn't make any sense given that I had been paying £164 a month previously and was supposedly in debt by £900! At the same time as all this my debt was increased to almost £2,000! So, naturally, I stopped the direct debit and complained. They still haven't resolved the complaint and more and more discrepancies are coming to light as time goes on. There are missing meter readings taken by meter readers but not entered into the system and we are being blamed for not taking enough readings. Most recently they said that we were in credit by £1,200 but two months later they have changed their minds again and now say my daughter owes £600 - presumably in addition to whatever they have decided I owe this week. They installed a check meter at my insistence that it wasn't possible for us to be using the amount of electricity they claim we are (we aren't growing weed or running a bunch a saunas/hot tubs) but they couldn't manage to fit that when they said they were going to and now they can't get it taken out when they said they would and come up with all manner of ridiculous excuses (like the engineer was outside your house when he realised he didn't have a part so he left - or he isn't licensed to work in your area so we'll have to reschedule). All this time preventing us from switching supplier because they claim we owe them money. Do not use this company!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"we were with good energy as they were the supplier when we moved into our house, we were letting people in to read the meters and paying the bills that they were sending, then out of nowhere we get sent bills totalling £5500 pounds which we can obviously not afford, we were billed for 30,000 units for one year, we are not running an cannabis farm and they are unable to help us with why we could possibly use this amount of electric, they are blaming us saying that they were not getting our meter readings and are unwilling to let us set up a sensible payment plan and even saying they want £650 a month, are they dreaming!!!!!! currently still trying to sort something with them with them threatening to send in debt recovery, scam artists!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Stephen Raymond
Unverified Reviewer
"Not only is this a scam company but the ombudsman totally ignored what i had to say and sided with this rogue outfit. ombudsman is paid by the energy companies and is complicit, they told me to take good energy to court if i disagreed with their findings."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I left Good Energy last December mainly because every time I needed to pay them there was a problem. Their systems were clearly terrible. Having got rid of them I thought all was well and good but NO. 10 months later they have just asked me to pay them £80 in, apparently, unpaid, charges that I knew nothing about. The bills I asked them to send out in response to this were so opaque that the person I spoke to - poor woman, she was very patient and nice - had to ask a supervisor what they meant. I still have no real idea if what I have paid is what I really used. Avoid"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Absolutely appalling My tenant had Good Energy so I was with them by default until we found a new tenant. They came to MY home address - twice - to read the meter - under the stairs ... a bungalow! They then sent me an estimated bill for £202 - way too high given property was unoccupied. We gave them readings and they said they would send a revised bill. They didn't. Instead they had Credit Style - a credit agency - call me to chase payment twice, who sent me a chasing letter - I have never been referred to such an agency in my life. They finally sent out the corrected bill(£94.40) after giving them the readings again (acknowledging they had the readings on the system). After that another threatening letter from Credit Style followed - clearly the left is not talking to the right. Thoroughly stressful experience that involved many wasted hours. AVOID AVOID AVOID!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"They can't organise their subcontractor to fix or replace a faulty meter. I'm beginning to wonder if it is deliberate as my account is in credit and they are earning interest on it. They are unable to correct the latest bill until the meter is replaced. The meter technician attended once and refused to do the work as there was an easily removeable panel obstructing him he said. The following two visits have been cancelled by them, but not even using my preferred contact number to inform me. They also seem to be at the back of the queue for smart meters as when I asked to go fit one rather than replace my broken analogue meter, they said they weren't installing them yet."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Very expensive. I was paying monthly through direct debit and yet when I decided to leave because it was madly expensive they charged over £700 for my final bill saying they had under calculated the charges. Personally, I would say don't use them as they are nice, polite and very middle class when they speak to you but are a rip off."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"From my contact with this company, I personally would not want any more to do with them."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
""Good Energy are an absolute disgrace, bordering on a complete scam. Steer well clear of this 'company'. I am currently making a formal complaint against Good Energy with the energy ombudsman. Good Energy deliberately under-quote your energy usage and cost to get you to join them before hitting you with an enormous bill with no prior warning. They don't let you know that your usage doesn't match the agreed monthly cost. Their customer service is non-existent, deliberately so otherwise their customers would soon switch to a cheaper provider after getting information about the true costs. Good Energy deliberately withhold information on their accounts to avoid their customers realizing the true cost of their energy. I've never been the victim of a scam in my life but having had the misfortune of being a Good Energy customer I do now know what it would feel like. The sole difference being that Good Energy wrap their scam up in a nice little corporate package. I feel disappointed at having to give them even 1 star. ""
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
David
"Utter rubbish. Poor staff. Poor service. Don't give a toss attitude. 10 day response to an email."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
David Myers Office@centralmortgages.net
Verified Reviewer
"Crap company. They failed to take direct debits. No bills provided. Poor customer service. Utter rubbish."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Bills incredibly high. Huge amount owed after leaving despite issuing regular meter readings. I think customer service staff have been trained to talk mumbo jumbo to confuse their clients and avoid them taking further action. Cowboys. Do not go anywhere near this lot."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Excellent customer service and self service online account"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Colin Matthews
Unverified Reviewer
"atrocious customer service. Can not get through. Once got through no follow up on promised actions. Gutted they are so terrible....used them years ago and no problems then"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"Good intentions, terrible, aggressive customer service."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"What went wrong, everything. Thought changing would be for the better but alas it's been a disaster. Charges are sky high. Billing is totally incompetent and made up. Customer service is non existent. 5 calls and can't get through and when I did they ignored my reads. Absolutely rubbish company. Stay well away."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"They are trying to charge us 550 for 3 months worth of Gas and i kid you not we hardly use our gas we don't even use our heating in winter we are a middle terrace when we was with BG we was paying £10 a month for gas and i can prove it if needed. really don't switch or use them they are awful"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Good Energy is rated 3.55 based on 119 reviews