RAC Insurance Reviews

2.51 Rating 880 Reviews
37 %
of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.35 out of 5
Cancellations & Refunds
Cancellation Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I took out a car insurance policy in December with RAC, however before the policy had started I had an accident and wrote off my car. Phoned on the day of the accident to tell them I may not need the policy, and was told there would be no charge provided I cancelled it prior to the policy actually starting.
When I phoned just before the policy was due to end I spoke to someone called Wayne. He incorrectly insisted I would have to pay £55 because the following off period started as soon as I received the documents, not when the policy started. This is not true. I felt like I was being coerced into paying it, but queried why I had been told otherwise by another member of the team previously. He then claimed it would only be £25, but in his own words said “if it was up to me, I would charge you £55. The computer is being nice“
There was absolutely no customer service, and generally a terrible attitude from him. When I asked to review why I had been told otherwise and listen to the previous call recording, he then suddenly started to backtrack. He then decided I wouldn’t need to pay anything at all, and he could process the refund for my deposit right away. I asked to escalate the matter, as I felt if he was trying this with me, then he has clearly tried it with other customers who may have ended up paying a fee that they weren’t obliged to.
His actions felt dishonest and unethical. After having a serious accident and having to deal with the challenging situation of replacing the vehicle etc, speaking to someone who was as breathtakingly rude as he was, was the last thing anyone would need.
Based on my experiences I would never recommend RAC car insurance to anyone else, nor will I use it in the future.
I did make a complaint about what had happened, however I have little faith in them actually doing anything about it.
Posted 3 days ago
Terrible customer service and useless at keeping me as a customer updated on what was happening with my policy. Numerous times they sent me cancellation emails for me to call up then they say it was a mistake.
Posted 5 days ago
Just awful. Cancellation process very difficult and protracted. Did not make clear that an outstanding payment was due, and great trouble following this up and sorting it out. Do not use!
Posted 1 week ago
I’ve been an RAC insurance customer in the past. They tripled my insurance when it came to renew which I obviously cancelled. It’s that time where I need to renew my insurance again and I’ve been given a quote for £2700 whereas I’m being quoted £500-£600 on most comparison websites. Prices embarrassingly high, it’s almost like they don’t want your business.
Posted 1 week ago
Awful insurance company. Do not use. I joined RAC in June as part of the black box cover insurance as I am a young driver. I have had many issues with the black box and it has repeatedly gave “red alerts” suggesting that I am am over the speed limit. I queried this with the team and they assured me it was a technical error on their part and compensated me previously for any issues caused after weeks of dispute.

On 11:45 on New Year’s Day morning I received a text messaged from the RAC saying that my policy was now cancelled from 23:59 on the 31/12/20 due to receiving a red alert. Meaning I had been left with no car insurance and was not aware of this until after the policy had already ended. I called RAC and asked to dispute this cancellation as I believe it was unjust and I believe you should received a weeks notice to dispute a cancellation. They told me I could not reinstate the contract as it had already been cancelled. They stated that a letter was sent on 23/12 to inform me of the cancellation, however now on the 06/01 I still have not received said letter. I received no email or text prior to the cancellation to inform me and the text on the 01/01 was the first that I was made aware of the cancellation. Due to having no insurance I could not go to work the following day as I had no means of transport (I am a senior staff nurse working for the NHS looking after mainly covid patients) this left my unit short staffed in an already understaffed and highly stressful situation. I had also been using my car that morning prior to receiving the text at 11:45 which put me in a very horrible and dangerous situation leaving me very shaken and emotionally distressed due to the awful running of this company. This whole situation has impacted my work life and impacted me mentally. RAC should be ashamed of treating their customers like this and endangering motorists by cancelling policy’s without informing the drivers prior to cancellation. I will never use the RAC again. This whole situation has been awful and the issue is still not resolved after multiple phone calls with the RAC I am still waiting for customer services to call me back to discuss this in depth when I was told I would be called on 04/01. I will be escalating this to the BBC watchdog as I feel the treatment from this company is horrendous and no one should experience this.
Posted 1 week ago
I was insured with the RAC Telematics insurance for 11 months. During the duration of my policy, I was having issues with the telematics box displaying speeding in areas where I was not speeding.

Got in touch with RAC to inform them that a road I drove regularly had been updated and with that, the road speed limit changed. Even after numerous calls, it still flagged as speeding when I looked back at previous journeys I was making.

During the final month of my policy, I received an email to inform me that I had been issued a 'Black warning' and that my policy would be cancelled in seven days.

I got in touch, asked them to confirm when and where this was, to be told it was along the same road I had raised issues with. Tried disputing this, asked them to retrieve previous call logs where I had discussed this issue multiple times. They didn't budge and I was basically told there was nothing I could do, it was cancelled and that the telematics box installed in my vehicle is 99% accurate. Leaving 1% for an error where they can cancel a policy which now affects me getting insurance for the rest of my driving life.

Time has come around for my to re-insure my car a year after this and I am struggling to get insurance under £1,500. Considering before this incident I was paying £500 but chose the RAC Telematics insurance to get it lower. A decision to save a few pounds has resulted in me paying hundreds more later on...
Posted 1 week ago
Very expensive. Got a cheaper quote on website. They don't want to honour it! They pass you to a third party and bang your head!
Extremely poor customer service with bad attitude. doesn't take a breath while talking! Never allow the customer to talk or express him/herself!
Never again! NOT RECOMMENDED
Not sure what sort of training they have received?
Unfortunately there is no minus score as one star is seriously too much for them.
Posted 1 week ago
My experience with RAC was horrible. They sent me a black box then started sending threatening emails. I fixed the blackbox on time only for them to cancel my insurance when i was at work. I could not drive my car because of these ungrateful people. To make matters worse, they went ahead and deducted £213 from my account after they had cancelled my insurance. On enquiry, they behaved as if they were not aware that they had deducted money. These are cons... Insure with them at your own peril. Never never. Fraudsters.
Posted 1 week ago
Took two payments for one vehicle and cystine service were extremely unhelpful. Very disappointing.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Just got quote back for renewal very expensive " 1 year wonder " Then went on compare web site got it cheaper. But they would not honer it " very poor customer service " kept me on the phone for ages = STAY AWAY
Posted 2 weeks ago
I cancelled my car insurance policy on the day it was due to expire , after speaking to them the day before trying to get a more competitive quote off them . As they were TWICE as dear as other quotes I was getting in ringing back to cancel they had already taken the full amount of the policy out of my bank account within 24 hours and said that I was ok to cancel but it will take no longer than 7 days to be credited , after a full week I'm still waiting and in ringing them today guess what all lines are closed for Xmas . Giving them a one out of five is more than they are worth . Having read the reviews they are getting I would never have gone with them in the first place , very poor
Posted 3 weeks ago
They dont even deserve 1 star. They are just a front for other insurnace companies. You dont even deal with them, they pass the buck, fob you off, never again will i use RAC for insurance. Go elsewhere!! trust me
Posted 4 weeks ago
They dont even deserve 1 star. They are just a front for other insurnace companies. You dont even deal with them, they pass the buck, fob you off, never again will i use RAC for insurance. Go elsewhere!! trust me
Posted 4 weeks ago
RIP OFF MERCHANTS!! I’d give 0 stars for customer service if I could !
I’ve Just sold my motorbike so I called to cancel insurance which has 5 months left, they then tell me I have to pay £79 cancellation fee ! Which is more than is actually left to pay on the policy;
they said it’s down to the premium credit agreement they insist on but I’ve just seen premium credit don’t charge a cancellation fee so I’ve been lied to,
I’ve cancelled the credit agreement online and DD so RAC you can stick it take me to court and do your worst if you wish but you will no longer get my business for the 15 company vehicles i have breakdown cover and insurance on
Posted 1 month ago
An rac driver hit my parked car, they used vehicle replacement group to arrange repair. After three weeks of multiple calls that went on for hours issues still not resolved. I have an a4 as well as a new born baby and they wanted to put me in a much smaller car that would not fit push chair. I explained and they said the rac had only offered this level of replacement.
They said they would process claim but they only did something when I called them. Dan, Vicki and James said a lot of things but helped very little and done even less.

If this is what the rac deliver I would never consider their insurance services. This company are one of the worst I’ve ever dealt with, worse than a back street garage...AVOID
Posted 1 month ago
My 18 year old grandson passed his test a couple of months ago and has effectively been shafted by Rac insurance and their underwriters He inherited his grandmas car and insured it properly (with help from parents,grandparents etc.). £1800 or so, black box and all that. Couple of weeks ago (on a Saturday night at about 2am), everyone safely tucked up in bed,with the car parked outside, theres a noise outside and there is a major incident going on (police,fire brigade,ambulances all present). Basically a young bloke with a mental problem has gone ballistic and the police are trying to subdue him, chasing him up and down the normally peaceful road with him jumping over walls etc. At some point the lad jumps on top of one of the cars on the street (you guessed it, my grandsons) and trashes it. A write off! So
Following day they inform the insurance company about the incident. They expect to lose about £450 (£100 compulsory, 350 additional) but then the bastards add on another 450 because of some small print (which is now the subject of a complaint to ombudsman). Additionally they are now demanding an extra 1400 to insure him for his replacement car above the 1800 already paid. All this for something that had absolutely nothing to do with my grandson. My own insurance is with Rac, when it lapses then they will not be seeing me reinsure with them. Whoever is doing the brokering behind the scenes for Rac are doing a very bad job of customer service in my opinion.
Posted 1 month ago
I am very upset with the poor customer service of RAC.
I was due to renew my bike insurance which was to happen automatically and to call them to provide any new information. Having a new baby etc I hadn't yet got round to it yet. I was still within date. However I then received an email asking me to call them within a certain amount of time to provide a detailed account as to why I had not informed them of an accident that had happened. I called them immediately and explained that I hadn't yet had a chance and I hadn't yet decided to renew with them. I also explained that the accident was non liability and I had not claimed on my car insurance. I felt the initial email was accusatory and not understanding of people's lives. The person I spoke to was rude and argumentative and we kept going round in circles. When I asked to speak to a manager he wouldn't put my call through. He said my premium would go up as my car insurance provider told them the accident was still outstanding. Despite me saying I had a letter detailing its closure and the non liability. I couldn't get anywhere with the conversation and feeling accused of being a liar I cancelled and did not renew with RAC. Unsurprisingly they have not sent me any documents or asked for feedback.
Posted 1 month ago
Broke down at side of road. At 9.00am this morning. Am writing this review now at 16.33pm and a driver still not got back to me. I have a newborn baby in car and when you ring up you get fobbed off with the Driver is on is way to you. I would stay well away from this company and try AA or green flag but stay well away from RAC. £120 to sit at side of road in my car that's broke down for 7 hour and 33 mins and still waiting as hes still not turned up. Pathetic. Will not be renewing and would definitely not recommend these.
Posted 1 month ago
The telematics insurance is a total con if you live in a city and do lots of 'urban' driving. The scoring is random and penalises you for everything. For example it docked me points for accelerating when I was joining the flow of traffic on a busy motorway! I never speeded and never used the car after 6, but still got docked all my points - the guy on the phone could not explain this. After two red alerts I had to suck up the £125 cancel fee and leave them before they left me. Insurance is meant to bring peace of mind, but this just made me anxious!! I also have a regular flat battery due to the black box which is a common effect too apparently. Awful product, avoid at all costs.
Posted 1 month ago
RAC cancelled my car insurance on the grounds that the black box was not fitted before August 31st. But it was fitted on August 29th!! Even worse: they forgot to communicate it to me. Now they refuse to acknowledge their mistake!! I can understand their initial mistake, but not that they don't take responsability. This is insane. They can't be trusted.
Posted 1 month ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.51 based on 880 reviews