RAC Insurance Reviews

2.99 Rating 595 Reviews
50% of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
queries resolved in
Under an hour
"disgraceful service, still not sorted claim, they fob you off with enterprise renta car and try to get you to claim whiplash. There is no email to put anything in writing, you get bounced around like a rubber ball as nobody knows what they are doing. The worst company I have ever dealt with, and believe me I've dealt with some dross."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Terrible customer service: made windscreen damage claim and this counted against my NCD for some reason. Contacted them and they acknowledged the error but then it was not shown on subsequent documentation. Promised to send an e-mail print of an online chat but this never arrived."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Very good company"
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 6 months ago
"The price comparison site showed that the RAC policy would include a courtesy car. It transpires, after signing up to the deal, that this is only possible if thd garage has one available. To guarantee a courtesy car you have to pay extra plus an admin fee. Incredibly unprofessional."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"This is the worst company I have ever been with. I had a accident with my car and it was written off. I was told I have one week to get another otherwise my car insurance (including my breakdown cover) would be cancelled and I had to pay the full year premium. I did find another car but couldn't get it for another 3 weeks so they now have threatened that they will cancel my policy unless I get the car today. Also even that the car has a smaller engine and I have 9years protected no claim my insurance premium has doubled. As it was an old car which was written of I will basically pay the claim I made back in one year. Other insurance quotes were half this price but I can't leave the RAC as I would have to pay 2 premiums. Also if you try to call them expect to wait a minimal of 20 mins before they answer the phone as they don't employ enough people to deal with the amount of calls.if you consider taking a car insurance out with the RAC. DON'T DO IT!!! There are many companies out there who treat you much better for a much more competitive price!"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Terrible company, terrible service. Took out insurance late 2018, had an accident Feb 2019. Turns out their just brokers, my underwriters were Covea. No communication from RAC about anything plus after accident was still being billed and have to pay the full term of the policy. When I contacted them it turns out this is their standard practice. Waiting on a copy of the call and transcript. Wont deal with them EVER again."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"too intrusive into your driving habits and potential vehicle problems. too aggressive on delayed payments thretening to cut you off after 7 days and seeking compensation although it is marginally cheaper my advise is to stay clear of black box insurance"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 6 months ago
"The charges are a joke for cancelling cover or changing car details will not use them again."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"I re-insured with RAC despite the fact their price was £50 higher than their competitors simply to avoid the hassle. My payment declined due to an expired bank card (my fault I know) and I subsequently had to pay a £20 fee which I felt they could have removed due to the loyal customer factor... apparently not. The woman I spoke to in customer service was also ridiculously patronising. I then received an email asking for urgent contact as a letter had been returned to sender. They made no attempt to contact me other than through email and stated they would have to take action against the policy if I didn't get in contact, despite having spoke to them and confirmed all my details the week before! After 2 ridiculously drawn out attempts to get through to someone on the phones I've given up. Funny how when you register it as a complaint on the phone line no one seems to answer...."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"There aren’t enough hours in the day for me to write why you should avoid insuring your car with the RAC. From the initial phone call to report an incident that is your last contact with the RAC. I have been dealing with Enterprise car rental, Acromas underwriters now SAGA claims. It took a week to get a courtesy car and today it has been taken away despite my policy giving me a car for the duration of my claim. I have had to arrange for my damaged car to be taken to a garage and arrange my own estimate as they don’t have garages covering the north of Scotland. They have “not received” the estimate despite it being faxed, emailed and posted. I’ll stop there as I’m sitting carless in the rural Highlands with no public transport or taxi and unable to get to work. DO NOT INSURE WITH RAC..!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Insurance products awful, customer service people somewhat helpful.. Been with RAC Advance for a year now paying £154 a month for the pleasure of having their AWFUL black box fitted to my car. I have spent the past year worried sick after every single journey in case their black box had recorded false readings, causing my score to drop and them to send me ‘warning’ (which if 3 are given out the insurance is cancelled). False journey after false journey is recorded on this black box which is what I believe caused me to go over my annual estimated mileage which I was of course charged for. A huge jump of nearly £50 a month more for an extra 1000 miles to make the end of the policy (which OF COURSE includes a £30 admin fee for the paper they insist on sending in the post - there must be a couple of trees at least stuffed into that envelope) - if you report these false harsh braking / acceleration and completely false journeys you just get told the GPS loses its signal and jumps.... doesn’t explain the box recording journeys that haven’t even been made (and I don’t mean journeys that have been made before and just repeated, there are completely made up journeys that have never been made in the car).. funny that. The staff on the phones are somewhat empathetic and helpful, but as much as that is great it doesn’t make the black box work. Technical department are full of the usual excuses reference the boxes false recordings. To top it all off, my renewal hit the letterbox this morning... up by more than £100 a MONTH!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"The price they say on confused.com is not the price they quote you, when you contact them."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Currently/regretting going with the RAC telematics box says I've done trips I havent and constantly making my score go down. Phoned up too see if I could get my box looked out got told I was lying and I should tell the truth."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"I received a quote which I took up, I'd had an accident three years ago which I declared as no fault as a Deer shot out into my car, apparently the insurance company had declared it as my fault as the Deer wasn't insured , when the RAC did a check they then wanted another £150 which I refused to pay, I could not recommend the RAC because of this, it clearly was not my fault as any idiot could see yet they wanted to stitch me up because of it, so if you're thinking of insuring I'd suggest that you go elsewhere, oh and although the policy hasn't yet started they want to charge me a cancellation fee, up yours RAC"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"DO NOT USE RAC INSURANCE they do not answer the phone, do not reply to emails, and when you get thru the staff are rude and unhelpful I have complained to the company but no reply so I moved to a new insurer BE WARNED"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! I thought they would be a company you could trust. If you have to make a claim you will not get the money you should receive and it takes up to a year. The third party they use to help you settle the claim is just as bad and don't even know when a car has been picked up for scrap and do not look into your account properly."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"Terrible customer service attitude, did not want to listen to my explanation of a problem I had with previous insurers regarding proof of no claims, which I have 18 years of. It was easier to go to a different more understanding and helpful insurer. Stay away is my advice."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"Called several times during the day and evening, waited over 25 minutes on each occasion without anyone answering the phone. Not worth using this insurer!"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"DO NOT INSURE WITH THIS COMPANY!!! - One star is far too good for them. Disgusting. Shocking service. Had insurance with RAC nothing but bad service start to finish. Insurance was due for renewal 28th January 2019. Got renewal price through. Got cheaper elsewhere but even if I didn't was certainly not renewing. Phoned and cancelled renewal and told them it was due to their customer service... Now today just arrived home to a demand letter from them to contact them about renewal or it will cost £55 to cancel."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"WHERE DO WE START?? I have never come across such a cowboy outfit in all my days. My parents took out car insurance back in January.. We are now in APRIL! They have called or sent letter to cancel the policy 3 times now because of errors in administration and then have cheek to ask for cancellation payments each time! So yesterday was the final straw for my parents who are 70+ this is HUGE STRESS on them and will be going back to Tesco or Direct line for an easy life. PLEASE STAY AWAY from this absolute joke of an insurance company. If zero star was actually an option I would give that out out kindness. Stick to fixing cars at the roadside."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.99 based on 595 reviews