RAC Insurance Reviews

2.96 Rating 604 Reviews
49 %
of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
queries resolved in
Under an hour

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Just called RAC insurance to inform them that I had sold my car and they automatically cancelled the policy. I explained that I will be getting another car within the next few days and they said that I couldn't insure a car that I don't own, I explained that I had no intention of cancelling the policy, I only need to hold it until my next car comes. She was having none of it - cancelled policy - charged £55 for them cancelling the policy and I now have no insurance at all so potentially can't pick up a car and call them to put it in cover. Be warned - this is just a moneymaker I have never been treated like this by any insurance company but I will certainly be asking a lot of questions before taking out another policy
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I joined them in April, 2018. In February 2019, I bought a breakdown cover with an agent outside a supermarket as it had tyre cover which the breakdown cover on my insurance policy did not offer. I was aware that it overlapped with my existing policy for 3 months but wasn’t bothered as I liked the tyre cover option on it. In April 2019, I had an automatic renewal which included a breakdown cover even though i had purchased it separately. When I rang customer services (second week of April) to check if I could cancel it I was told that I could but no refund would be made. How they could think one car would have 2 breakdown covers is beyond me, they blamed it on the computer so I moved on. 2 weeks ago, I called them to make a claim. I was referred to my underwriters co op, which was the first time I heard of them being my underwriters. Getting a courtesy car was a nightmare, I was on the phone all day to them with no result. Following day, I was offered a car from enterprise which was nothing like my car I had to pay for an upgrade. It took them 11 days to authorise the repairs to my car and on the 13th day I was asked to return the courtesy car. When I phoned them to check what my options were as my car was still getting repaired, I was passed onto several departments ( without the courtesy to tell me I was being transferred). Lack of professionalism from the agents. At some point I was informed that enterprise rentals were the ones responsible for what courtesy car I was entitled to and the duration so I was transferred to them. I was transferred on to M&S car insurance at some point. An hour and a half later there was no positive results, so I gave up. My claim is still existing, more stressful days to come.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Took out insurance with RAC black box, was told someone would contact me to install box, no one did, tries to book appointment on line but the system didn't work, now been on hold for 20 mins
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I bought motor insurance from the RAC this year(2019) for the first time. I thought the price was very competitive, too good to be true that I even took out protected No Claims. I decided to pay by instalments, and the first two payments were fine, then I forgot the due date of the Direct Debit. I got a email to say I have'nt paid the DD and therefore defaulted which will now cost me twenty pounds on top of my monthly payments(thirty seven pounds). I thought oh dear, I'll ring them up to say sorry I'll pay it into their account. I asked that the default fee be rescinded, but the woman on the line was having none of it, no more than it says so in the terms and it must be paid by a certain date. When I checked the terms, it also states they will charge fifty five pounds cancellation fee. This is particularly unfair if you have sold your vehicle and therefore would'nt need insurance anymore. I've now concluded these people are just simply ripping off the public. They are the insurance equivalent of the airline in Ireland that advertises very low fares, but makes it up on various back door fees. I have'nt checked, but it will most likely be a roll over contract, and I certainly won't be using these pickpockets again, nor would I advice anyone to use them. They are nothing more than regular thieves hiding behind a famous name. AVOID I tried to give a one star, but the site won't work at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Never been able to access the online self service due to 'Maintenance' errors. Policy is finally about to end and they send me a letter saying I will be auto-renewed. Can't access the online self service, no reply to my emails and the phone line is down outside of general working hours. No idea why it has to be so inconvenient to contact the insurance company...
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Disgusting service insurance is lower if u add a drive if u want to remove they charge I for that and insurance goes up they having a laugh
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Will never recommend or use again..
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 5 months ago
THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE. I got the black box insurance with them, and they said I had 2 weeks to get it installed. I booked an appointment, told them I was working until 1pm and they gave me an appointment for the morning. Then gave me a Saturday appointment, didn’t show. Had another appointment today, again no show. I called them and they told me the engineer came, took pictures etc. My mum was in ALL morning (I was working) and no one came to the door, the dogs never even barked. They then claimed I was lying and cancelled my insurance, and without my car I can’t get to work and therefore can’t get paid (0 hour contract). All in all this company is a JOKE, such appalling service and we will take this as high as we can. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Good company to be with until I foi d out that I had a claim which I never did now I lose my ncb
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Don't insure through these if you are in the motor trade and opting out they do not accept motor trade ncb. I am 46 buying a 1,0 litre Fiesta quote was £357 I provided proof of NCB not acceptable then wanted £808 and they car car salesman try it on. Ruined my weekend
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Just had my renewable quote through which is now £700 a year up from £500. I phoned customer services to see if it was a mistake since i have made no claims or had any convivtions. It clearly was not. Customer service agent could not tell me why premium had increased by 40%. Have now got same insurance cover for under £350 with LV. I had been a loyal customer with RAC but will no longer use any more of your products.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
The worst insurance company I have ever used. We tried to make a claim. After the torture of explaining the claim and the details they said put me through to the ombudsman. The phone rang and rang and I waited for over 20 mins and the phone just rang through. Will never use them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Don't subscribe your insurance with RAC! This is the worst insurance company I have ever been with. Before activating the claim I went to other garage to have a quote and the car didn't have nothing wrong a part of the lights an bump front damaged. I was told the car have suspension problems and must be written-off. The car had 4 months and 3 years guaranty, it was impossible to have suspension problems. They never contacted me, despite the fact they said they tried once, but no calls received. After had my car back, it was repaired and again in the report no problems at all. This must be a scam, i heard more people complaining also, and having the same problems. If you considering taking a car insurance Do not do it with RAC.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Great, until it comes to making a claim, then they bounce you from department to department and nobody actually takes responsibility. 14 phone calls yesterday and 3 so far today just trying to sort out a glass repair for a sunroof.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Telematics Black Box insurance was cancelled - obnoxious staff who called me a liar saying I was speeding on a narrow built up street which is IMPOSSIBLE. Never have a black box - not worth the hassle although cancelled insurance doesn’t seem to affect new insurance quotes!
1 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
disgraceful service, still not sorted claim, they fob you off with enterprise renta car and try to get you to claim whiplash. There is no email to put anything in writing, you get bounced around like a rubber ball as nobody knows what they are doing. The worst company I have ever dealt with, and believe me I've dealt with some dross.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Terrible customer service: made windscreen damage claim and this counted against my NCD for some reason. Contacted them and they acknowledged the error but then it was not shown on subsequent documentation. Promised to send an e-mail print of an online chat but this never arrived.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
This is the worst company I have ever been with. I had a accident with my car and it was written off. I was told I have one week to get another otherwise my car insurance (including my breakdown cover) would be cancelled and I had to pay the full year premium. I did find another car but couldn't get it for another 3 weeks so they now have threatened that they will cancel my policy unless I get the car today. Also even that the car has a smaller engine and I have 9years protected no claim my insurance premium has doubled. As it was an old car which was written of I will basically pay the claim I made back in one year. Other insurance quotes were half this price but I can't leave the RAC as I would have to pay 2 premiums. Also if you try to call them expect to wait a minimal of 20 mins before they answer the phone as they don't employ enough people to deal with the amount of calls.if you consider taking a car insurance out with the RAC. DON'T DO IT!!! There are many companies out there who treat you much better for a much more competitive price!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Terrible company, terrible service. Took out insurance late 2018, had an accident Feb 2019. Turns out their just brokers, my underwriters were Covea. No communication from RAC about anything plus after accident was still being billed and have to pay the full term of the policy. When I contacted them it turns out this is their standard practice. Waiting on a copy of the call and transcript. Wont deal with them EVER again.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
The charges are a joke for cancelling cover or changing car details will not use them again.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.96 based on 604 reviews