RAC Insurance Reviews

2.81 Rating 670 Reviews
45 %
of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
1.31 out of 5

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
We tried to claim on damage to our car from another vehicle that opened their door into our moving car. The culprit told his insurance its not his fault even after RAC saw that the evidence was, however RAC could only write a letter as to not rush the matter. We had to deal with the underwriters as RAC could not do anything... so absolutely useless in fighting your corner for a claim, as they wont
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Been insured with them 10 months after changing my car, my black box was to get fitted on the 20th of this month. After contacting them to advice them on the 19th that the car had broke down and was in the garage for repair. They told me to advice RAC insurance which I did and to reschedual for another appointment to get black box fitted, they have now cancelled my policy and refused to fit the black box at garage. They are also they are a nightmare to get through to on the phone, been on the phone the past 3 days 1hour at a time just waiting to get through to speak to someone. They have also took my NCB off me as I haven’t completed the full year even though I am not at fault it was them that cancelled the policy. On the letter of cancellation it is not the correct spelling of my name and the wrong ref number tberefor my insurance should not be cancelled as its not the correct details. THINK TWICE BEFORE YOU DECIDE TO GO WITH THEM!!
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
They seemed to offer a really good company at first but wanting to add or remove something off your policy is next to impossible I need business insurance for work they have told me my payment has gone from £137 to £334 a month which is disgusting and then told me my 7 month no claims bonus will start again it doesn’t count. So because this is no good to me they are requesting over £100 to cancel my insurance I have never missed a payment and had perfect score on my black box and now I need help they are basically telling me they is nothing they can do unless I pay out money I don’t have I would not recommend this insurance company
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Awful customer service, originally quoted £30 a month, went upto £60 as my husband had claims against him, charged £25 amendment fee, then charged another amendment fee of £25 to remove him off the policy. Car insurance alone was still £45 a month, to cancel it's £55 + the rest of the month, and would still have to pay amendment fees. They wrote to me 3 weeks later so after cooling period had ended. They are theives, avoid at all costs. Plus the fact I was put on hold for 15 minutes. Complete joke of a company.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
This company is an absolute joke tried to get extra money out me because they said my NCB was not received I had posted and emailed it and they still said it had not been received and £55 charge would be put in place on top or cancelled Would never use them again
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Upon being charged more for my insurance the originally quoted I immediately cancelled my insurance with them and requested a refund, I was reinsured that everything was cancelled and that the refund was processed and will take between 3-10 days to come back in, not trusting online companies after 5 days I contacted them again to make sure the refund had been processed as i was previously told turns out it hadn't and that i would have to wait up to a further 8 days to get this refund afterwards i reached out to them on twitter to 100% confirm i was getting my refund i was told to DM them my details and they would get back to me and surprise surprise they never did i can't believe how useless and uncaring they are when it comes to giving people their money back. if you have recently cancelled i would advise chasing them or they will all be having a nice holiday in our expense
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Unsure if I could claim or not so I phoned up and the help and advice I was given was very good.
1 Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 1 year ago
My building insurance was set to automatically renew. I specifically asked this not to happen....The race have looked into it... And claim it's my fault... Beware of the fact and there underhand tactics .
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Automatic recharging for home building insurance....Even through you don't want it .Very sharp practices ... Steer well clear .....
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I would not recommend RAC to anyone. They are an absolute rip off. They took unauthorised money from our account for reasons which other insurance companies agree with me is ridiculous & unfair and now I have to go to the time and trouble to go to the financial ombudsman to try & resolve this. Don't make the same mistake as we did, steer clear of these
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
It's a shame you can't give no stars. I sort out the insurance for both my wife and myself. Her insurance was due to renew. The quote came through and it was pretty competitive. I told her to ring and accept the quote (about £430). After spending ages on told me she eventually got through. She was told that they no longer use the underwtmriter where her quote came from and the new quote was £730. She cancelled it. She was told that had she not called to cancel, rac would have debited my card for £730 even though they never once notified us of this almost doubling of the price. Surely this is illegal! You can't give customers a comparative quote and then almost double it and bill the customer without notifying them.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My renewal was sent via Service Centre but I had asked for it by post. I was told my premium and that nothing had changed. When I found how to look at my policy and the renewal I saw it had a £200 excess at renewal. Previously £100. I call that a change. Said I would think about it and a very rude man was not happy. Phoned today and my offer was not now available. What a Company. Very unprofessional.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Absolute s***, they only install black boxes between 8-4 mon-fri so you have to take the day off work and waste an entire day waiting for them!! They turned up at 7pm, just hate it but can’t xhange my police as they’ll charge an £150 fee
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Took RAC policy out in July for £480 via compare. Moving so contacted them they said where I am moving to they can't insure under current policy, Why?? Well need to start a new policy and instead of £480 will be over £3000 really can't be the case as high demographic area moving to. Cancelled RAC went back online got insurance for £55 more than where I live currently. I think RAC trapped me on initial insurance and then they wanted to charge me £25 to cancel - hmm no way
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
WORST INSURANCE EVER!!! Particularly the black box insurance, please no one go with this company, I have had nothing but grief and disgusting customer service from the beginning; wouldn’t tell my worst enemy about going with them! Trying to make drivers pay more and cancelling insurances based on inaccurate data!Scumbags!
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I have received a terrible service from this insurer provider which cost me in my premium increase above 50% during renewal period. Non fault scratch to my stationary car become my fault as they did not follow my claim in professional manner-in fact as they admitted they "forgot to reclaim the cost from 3rd party". Never mind that person (3rd party admitted the fault which I have confirm with copy of the messages exchanged with the driver). Shame that for "ohhh we forgot reclaim the money" is paying a customer whom they really dont care about. Be careful when choosing Rac as they allocating you with them partners in my case it was Liverpool Victoria.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I used the enquiry number for members, just one option after another to be selected taking an age to actually speak to a real person!
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
RAC don't actually do car insurance. They will take your money and then pass yo to Aviva if you have a claim. Trying to deal with Aviva is nigh on impossible. I registered a claim on the 2cnd December 2018, it is currently January the 9th and I have not had anything done. I am currently on hold (20 minutes so far) trying to get them to do something. Luckily my car still drives or I'd be in real trouble. NEVER use RAC car insurance
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Steer clear of these Guys they rip you off
1 Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 2 years ago
waste of my time, after listening to the longest ever terms and conditions for what seemed an eternity. I expect to hear a bit where the insurance company covers itself but i have never heard anything like it. it went on forever......i was warned by the nice young lady that it would take about 30 mins to get a quote!! obviously i questioned why it would take so long but agreed to give it a go. 10 mins in and we are still on my details, they wanted to know everything! when i heard the question on what date did you pass your driving test? i was 17 and gave a rough month as i have no idea ( i am 46 ) we cannot go any further unless you have the correct date she exclaimed. At that point i knew this wasn't going to work. If you have time to spare and like listening to someone speak at you then the RAC is perfect! otherwise go somewhere else and enjoy the 15 mins of it on something entertaining.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.81 based on 670 reviews