RAC Insurance Reviews

3.02 Rating 582 Reviews
50% of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
queries resolved in
Under an hour
"I spent almost thirty minutes waiting on the telephone for a live human voice so that I could cancel the overpriced automatic renewal notice that I had received. Awful service"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"I MY CAR INSURANCE ,I added my wife as second driver at that time she had professional licence .after 3 months she passed full driving licence. I contact with rac and update my wife driving status but they didn't update my policy. They forced to cancel my policy and given new 1 year policy and take £625 extra. .. After 1 weeks I got new cheaper policy from tesco. .I cancelled rac policy and save big money"
1 Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
"Customer service was very helpful in sorting everything out for me"
1 Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
"For the first time in my life (insurance since 1982) I feel I have been betrayed and uttley let down by an insurance company. Whilst they are polite over the phone, they are simply a rip-off should you need to change your car midway though your policy year. Id avoid at all costs and you'll save money to boot! Simply, I sold my old car having first transferred my plate off. This plate went on retention for new car. £25 sir but we'll waive the further charge for re-registering your next vehicle. Number plate put on next car with two months of buying it (DVLA slow), call them to advise of change - "no problem sir". Stopped by police in September as car coming up not insured - checked its original number and that was fine. Call RAC next morning to resolve only to find that the existing policy would no longer quote/insure my car. All I'd done was change the number plate. The new quote was over £100 more and bearing in mind I'd paid more in the first place for a simpler life made it now instantly over £100 more than an online policy through a popular search engine. To rub salt in the would they refunded my a paltry amount despite them effectively forcing me away. AVOID AT ALL COSTS"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"They were very misleading about being able to accept records from abroad to support no claims bonus. Basically said they would (which is main reason I chose them) but then didn't."
1 Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
"RAC are just a broker it seems. Premier Claims who are the underwriters I have found to be very unprofessional, bad communicators and very slow at dealing with my claim."
1 Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
"I took on this policy as through a well known comparison site. I chose the policy as I was quoted £450, however when the policy came through it cost a whopping £1,000 and by this point I had already cancelled my previous policy which was around £600."
1 Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
"Would never recommend the RAC my mother has been with them for years for insurance and full breakdown cover and was diagnosed last October with cancer, we had to sell her car and I wrote to them asking for a refund this is now March 2015. We have had 2 letters saying they are looking into it and a phone call from a very young lady demanding a written confirmation from my mothers GP that she was indeed terminally ill. I was furious, it is hard enough to deal with a relative being ill without the need to prove the illness, who on earth would make such a story up to gain a refund of what is due?! Disgusting"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"not had to useso cannot comment"
1 Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
"As a "new" boy I am unable to give any objective comment"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
RAC Insurance is rated 3.02 based on 582 reviews