RAC Insurance Reviews

3.31 Rating 471 Reviews
58% of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
communication channels
Under an hour
queries resolved in
"I definitely made the right choice with RAC Insurance. On finding my brilliant deal, their website then guided me through each step, offering added-extras to make life easier. A positive experience from beginning to end, my welcome pack and insurance policy were received by email within minutes, reassuring me that I was covered and ready to go."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Called the RAC emergency home insurance to address a burst pipe in the bathroom. RAC#s approved "third party company" who told me an plumber would be available the next day!, whilst my house was in the process of being flooded. Don't expect RAC to ful-fill the "Emergency" side of home insurance!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Easy straight forward doing it on line nice and easy no quibble 5star"
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 5 months ago
"Do not use this company. I am trying to cancel my car insurance renewal policy and have bee on hold for 30 minutes!!! After 20 minutes someone spoke only to tell me they were the wrong person to speak to (despite the fact I phoned the number on the renewal!). Terrible customer service! Wouldn't want to get in touch with them if I had an accident, would never get anything sorted. DO NOT USE THEM!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"I had a car accident and it was not my fault. After everything went fast in the beginning, the service continued very slow. After they told me the car is a total loss, they arranged a rented car for me. That was the last service I had. Since then there are no news at all how it is going on. Also when I asked if I can take the policy over to the next car, they only gave me a new quote, which was nearly double to pay in a month. When I asked why this happens, they could not really give a answer, only that it may be a bigger engine (which is not) or a more exclusive car (which is not) Both cars, the total loss and the next one are VOLVO, the last one was a estate and the new one not. Then I found out that RAC looks for different insurance companies. In the end I asked to cancel my policy so I can have a search for a better insurance for the next car. They told me that this can not happen and that I have to pay until the insurance runs out, that would have been in June 2019?! I asked how they can ask for the money if the car does not exist anymore and that I will take it further. Suddenly they told me that I can cancel it strait away and if I pay cancellation fee the amount will be £43.30. I agreed and cancelled the insurance spot on. I never had that bad experience with a insurance company and as I was working at a insurance company when I left school. Now I found a well known insurance company and I have to pay a lot less. Be aware what insurance you choose, because there are big differences."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"I did my car cover which pricewise was very competitive. It cost me 750£ approx. when I was living in Brentwood and had my car garaged. I moved to Wallington after 3 months and called them to change my address, where the car is kept and the annual milleage. They said that my new address wasn't covered by their underwriters as it is public road and they asked me to pay them 750£ more (1500£ in total) to continue my cover. I told them that this is just ridiculous. I was expecting a rise in my premium like a 100 or 200£ but definetely not 750£ which is 100% more. I asked them to cancel the premium if they are unable to offer a sensible price and they asked me to pay 55£ cancelation fee. In the end she got permission from her manager to cancel the premium without the cancelation fee and refund me the remainder of the days that I had already paid them. I need to mention also that they couldn't care less when I told them that I would never ever consider them again as potential insurer. They cancelled my cover in like 3 seconds? I was still on the phone when I received the cancellation email. I will never seak another cover from them. Total waste of time and money."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Took RAC policy out in July for £480 via compare. Moving so contacted them they said where I am moving to they can't insure under current policy, Why?? Well need to start a new policy and instead of £480 will be over £3000 really can't be the case as high demographic area moving to. Cancelled RAC went back online got insurance for £55 more than where I live currently. I think RAC trapped me on initial insurance and then they wanted to charge me £25 to cancel - hmm no way"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Long wait on phone to inform of husbands death and to change policy into my name. Was told that I had to cancel existing policy and take out a new one and after repeatedly being asked for my dead husband details and my current marital status was informed that a new policy would now cost over £1000 where the existing policy had been under £300. Absolutely disgusting needless to say I then had to source immediate cover from somewhere else as had been left with an uninsured car. Halifax to the rescue RAC I will never use you again"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Changed my car - rang up to change my policy, told that the underwriters would not insure my new car (it was the same model as before!!) no explanation given, had to take out a new 12 month policy AND pay a £25 admin fee for something not my fault! Now left with insurance £10 per month more expensive for the same model car and tied in to RAC for another 12 months! After repeated pleas they still refuse my refund of the admin fee, and I have taken it to their top customer care team. DIABOLICAL service!"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Terrible customer service and big delay when waiting for no claims to go through. they keep your payment but said had to renew and it was cancelled ? Shambles"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Very efficient, thorough and friendly! 100% recommend RAC insurance"
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 5 months ago
"Purchase the building only home insurance policy via price comparison website. Wasn’t made aware at any stage that there is an actual cancellation charge of £35 if cancel after 14 days. Never logged in on the online portal so never had the chance to read full Terms and Conditions other than the policy summary at the point of sale. Moved (sold) out of the house 3 months after taking out the policy and cancelled direct debit but received letters now asking me to pay the remainder of policy and also £35 cancellation charge which is more than the original policy cost. I think this is very unfair as all the responsibility has been put on the consumer to read every single small print on 10-20 page document. Cancellation charges and the whole process should be in the summary at the point if the sale so consumers in my situation are clear at the point of sale."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"I'm not one to complain and feel sorry for the staff who have to work with the poor service they have to provide. Purchased van insurance paid full amount up front. Sent off details requested was not contacted to say it was all accepted. That was to phone calls to sort out poor system. Had to email info they never received another phone call so got totally dissatisfied with the service and requested to cancel the policy completely. Refund was very disappointing from my premium payed there was a £25 fee reduced from £75 due to personal reasons. The rest I work at about 18% of the amount paid for under 3 weeks of being on policy who does the maths! Not going to bother contacting them about this issue and I suggest you don't bother ever contacting them rubbish service. The staff on the phones were always very helpful just shocking service for what I thought was a reputable company. So glad I have always had breakdown with the aa and been insured to will not make this switch or mistake again"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"If you need to make a claim, they tell you to call Enterprise rent a car. When you call Enterprise, they tell you to call LV Highway Insurance, the underwriter. My car is still damaged!"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Through comparison website my cost is 780 gbp . Renewal through RAC directly £1408 . Same company , same cover , same details . What a renewal rip off . I won’t be using RAC again on principle . Best quote was £680 through another provider ."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Absolutely disgusting service ! Left me for 6 hours in blazing sun supposed to updating me but never received one call. Recovery truck came and I had to pay to get my car home which I thought was included in the service. Driver gave me a price then a manager called him stating he needed to charge me 52 miles when the journey was 39!! Feel totally let down by the experience left on my own at side of a busy country road with no updates then a manager trying to rip me off was just what I needed!! NOT ...was also promised a manager call....STILL WAITING!"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Would not go with them this year my bank card playin up cause they couldn’t take payment on the day now i got pay £25 this as happen few time the money in my account for them to take not my fort the bank now on 9 August i got pay £25 more very Disappointing would like some 1 phone me to sort this out"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 6 months ago
"Unfair charge/Very bad customer service I am trying to cancel the car insurance policy that I bought online on 13/07 that due to start on 04/08/18 because you changed the premium. I contacted you on the 20th to cancel the policy. I have been told I need to pay £25 for an arrangement fee according to your customer advisor it is the cost to arrange for the policy to be started on 04/08. Even worse, up to now I still haven't received the refund (I paid annual premium in full on 13/07). I phoned you on the 29th to find out when the refund will be paid to my account and found out it has not been processed. I requested to speak to the manager, the advisor told me the manager was not available at the time and will call me back the next day. However, no one contacted me. So, I called you again yesterday, despite the promise made by the customer advisor, still no call."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Tried to change my vehicle details online through the RAC car insurance website. Got an automated response to say that instead I had to telephone their call centre in working hours! How old fashioned and not customer focussed :( Expect that I'll be on hold for a while given previous experience..."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"The online quotation system is useless! It failed to recognise my personal registration number of my car, it didn't recognise the original registration number either. The system asked me to call the customer service team, they were not much help as I could not give them a reference number they kept asking for. The call handler I spoke to also kept sighing as if I was disrupting her day! I was told reluctantly that they could do a quote over the phone but it would take sometime. I decided to go somewhere else!"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
RAC Insurance is rated 3.31 based on 471 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support