RAC Insurance Reviews

2.54 Rating 853 Reviews
38 %
of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.35 out of 5
Cancellations & Refunds
Cancellation Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
DON'T USE THEM. I recently transferred my policy to a new vehicle and this time I was sent the BlackBox with instruction to install it myself. It's just impossible for people who are not from any technic background. I spoke to them to ask will RAC cover any damage to the vehicle or the injury to the customer, the answer was a clear "NO". They keep saying they stopped sending the engineer to fit the BlackBox since the lockdown. In my opinion, it's just their excuse to save the cost.
Posted 1 month ago
Shocking just had my insurance cancelled bought a brand new car insured it online as you do did the online chat to make sure it was in order but questioned the fact that they had my car as an estate which it's not and never would be as it's not made in an estate version. Got my V5 yesterday confirming that it's a hatchback so called up RAC to confirm the fact " oh that's not an option on our system it can't be a hatchback " . I return with"no it can't be an estate as it's not made as an estate" to which I got" oh well we can't unsure it so I am cancelling your insurance immediately" oh and I've been charged a cancellation fee for the privilege absolutely shocking
Posted 2 months ago
If you have more than 9 years no claims be careful. RAC run a blanket policy of only calculating the quote on 9 years irrelevant of what you told them, that part in theory is fine, however they then adjust the cert to say 9 years writing off what ever you had and more importantly when you finally move insurers they will issue you a NCD of 9 years. Typically within the industry 9 years is the maximum for discount, the really issue comes if you have an accident as insurers deduct years. If you starts with fictitious lower number such as 9 and have 5 deducted, it will cost you more the following year. You shouldn't have to, but check what the policy schedules the numbers you gave them and don't assume that the NCD cert they issue you at the end of policy is correct, I went to them with 14 years NCD and am now having to argue as their "policy" is to issue a 9 year cert. Beyond that I didn't have any issues, then again I didn't have any claims. However for the reason that RAC have a "policy" to set their own NCD figure rather than schedule what the customer has advised/has, I cannot recommend them, and I certainly wont do business with them again so its 1 star from me.
Posted 2 months ago
home insurance claim, first one ever, for tv value 360 to 400 pounds.
told me excess was 200, which it isn't, its 100. After checking they agreed and someone would call within 48 hours. they called and told me my excess was 300, despite me having the documents in front of me saying in black and white that contents insurance is 100. they said they will ha e to check that. I scanned and emailed this to them. still waiting for a reply.
Posted 2 months ago
Don’t bother making a claim with this company. They don’t care how lightly damaged your vehicle is.... They write it off without seeing how bad the damage actually is... Purely out there to make money and the customer always comes last! STAY AWAY
Posted 2 months ago
I replaced my car with a new smaller vehicle but with exactly the same engine specifications. I tried to do it using the online self-service page but it froze a couple of times and then required me to telephone them. The agent I spoke to was very pleasant, efficient and helpful. However, at the end of the process of changing the vehicle I was asked to pay a £25.00 fee for making changes and £22.35 for who knows what as it was almost the same vehicle with regard to the specifications. I previously had to do the same process while insured with General Accident. I did it online with absolutely no problems and it did not incur fees or additional costs. I will NEVER use the RAC services again!
Posted 2 months ago
Absolutely DISGUSTING services! Due to COVID we had to install the black box ourselves. You have 14 DAYS to install it and i only got my box 4 days after the policy was taken out. We contacted the company as there was a box from the previous owner which needed to be removed, THE DAY my box came. 2 Days later we call back to ask what’s going on and i get an email saying my policy has been cancelled! NOT EVEN OUT OF THE 14 DAYS PERIOD. It hasn’t even been 3 DAYS since I got the box!!!
Posted 2 months ago
The device can't tell where my car is, or has been, how on earth can it claim to predict my speed, acceleration or whatever it is it claims to score me on. It shows my car is parked miles away from home for days while I happily drive around.
Posted 2 months ago
DO NOT GER RAC BLACKBOX!!!! The scoring is a load of bull. You can see on your journey trackers where you get marked down for acceleration or braking or speed. Not once have I been shown where my marking down is coming from nor have i been harshly breaking and my score went down to 0. i don’t recommend. I think it’s bugged to prevent your insurance becoming cheaper in the next years.
Posted 2 months ago
Do not go with this company if you are a young driver !! Do not go with the black box option !! They have just cancelled my insurance because I didn’t install a black box that they haven’t sent me. I have phoned them numerous times this month explaining again and again that I can’t fit a black box that I haven’t got I phone the day before it cancelled to tell them I’m still waiting but they have cancelled it anyway. Absolutely ridiculous. “There is nothing that we can do” i am appalled with this service. After making a complaint It won’t even get logged til later in the day when a manager sees fit, resulting in me having to go the whole weekend without a resolution meaning no car either. I am furious, such a poor establishment.
Posted 2 months ago
RAC Home Insurance. Roof tile cracked, rain coming into attic in storms. First building insurance claim in 30 years disallowed because apparently the storms weren't bad enough. DO NOT USE THESE PEOPLE. Go somewhere else.
Posted 2 months ago
Avoid this company at all cost. Price may seem attractive but trust me it is absolutely not worth it. Driver's score recorded by the black box is inaccurate. I've heard many people complaining about having unreasonably low score. Unlike other black box providers, RAC doesn't let you drive between 7pm - 6am. Yes, you didn't read it wrong, as early as 7pm and your night driving score would go down drastically. Urban score is also utterly sensitive. You basically cannot drive in the rural area at all as it would heavily affect your score. There is no way for someone to drive on a motorway every single time they travel. The restrictions are far worse than living in a prison I could imagine. At the start of my policy they sent out 2 emails telling me that my policy would get cancelled within the next few days but when I phoned up, the person was telling me everything was running fine. Seriously I wouldn't even give this company a 1 star. Young/new drivers please don't fall for the price. There are many providers out there providing much better policies and customer service than RAC. The hassle you have to deal with just doesn't balance out.
Posted 2 months ago
Upgraded my car exact same spec charged £25 admin fee increased payment by £4 per month didn't want to know avoid as £55 cancellation charge
Posted 3 months ago
AVOID

They charge a £55 cancellation fee which they don't call out clearly while selling the policy. Also, making any changes to the policy would incur a £25 fee, absurd !
Posted 3 months ago
Changing wife's car from one cheap Fiat to another, thought get Insurance transferred with Admin fee. No had to take out another Annual Insurance costing TWICE as much, No I said, well that's £55 cancellation fee. Robbers.
Posted 3 months ago
My wife Insured her car with RAC, good price and renewal price. But anyway need to change her car to another equally cheap Fiat. Thought could be able to change Cover with a bit of Admin Fee. No told have to Cancel current Insurance, and get another Annual Cover costing TWICE as much as current one. No I said, OK that will be £55 cancellation fee. WOW talk about Ripoff.
Posted 3 months ago
This the car insurance in the world. Very poor customer service and poor products to offer. Please all existing customers must leave RAC insurance
Posted 3 months ago
KEEP AWAY AND SAVE YOUR MONEY - USE THE AA.

Totally unprofessional company - only interested in making money and not helping customers.

Senior management also lack and professionalism :(
Posted 3 months ago
I purchased travel insurance from RAC…
I purchased travel insurance from RAC for a trip to Crete which was cancelled by the travel company. I wrote to RAC and asked if my insurance could be carried over to next year when Covid 19 would hopefully be over. The answerer was No. I was informed it was the underwriters policy which would not allow them to do this. Many other firms are allowing people to carry over travel insurance so I will make sure I use a different company in future.
Posted 3 months ago
I had a policy with them at the start of lockdown, they cancelled my policy without telling me and I received a letter 5 days after the cancellation telling me I had no insurance. When I called to find out why it was cancelled they wouldn't tell me why and then said I also had to pay a cancellation fee of £125. Disgusted isn't a word strong enough
Posted 3 months ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.54 based on 853 reviews