RAC Insurance Reviews

3.01 Rating 586 Reviews
50% of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
queries resolved in
Under an hour
"Have BD cover with these guys - was looking to switch my insurance too. They don't offer any kind of existing customer deals and the price was about 25% higher than their competitors. I used someone else instead."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I've been with RAC car insurance on a black box as an under 25 driver for 2 years now. I've never had to make a claim and always scored highly in their metrics. Why then have they doubled my insurance rate from £53 to over £116 per month. Nobody on the phones will explain this to me and it's not on. Why am I being punished as a young driver on a black box with 5 years no claim experience now? Its not on. They tried to double it last year and I solved it as they appeared reasonably priced on a price comparison site but to happen for a second year running is just ridiculous and offering no compromise. Just look elsewhere young drivers and avoid the RAC."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Not the cheapest but decided to go with them for my wife's car insurance. Trying to complete the form in the payment section but my credit card rejected because my antivirus detected information gathering. Apparently, the RAC is aware of this because they allowed you to click a button to continue - which did not work. The only way to continue was to disable the AV - unbelievable! Then when trying to provide the Direct Debit details of the account we use to pay the insurance it was rejected as the account was not in my Wife's name! Then tried to 'phone the RAC to sort the situation out - only to be told this was a new policy and nothing could be done! Ridiculous behaviour I have been paying this way for years with lots of different companies. So bye-bye RAC I will just take my business to Swinton."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Firstly, after taking out a van insurance policy with the 'RAC', I discover that the company acting for the RAC is actually IGO4.com. This is NOT the RAC, misleading me to arrange cover with a company which I believed to have good longstanding reputation. After submitted correct information and agreeing to the online quote, I later received an email stating there was a 'discrepancy' and a further charges were added. Their 'discrepancy' claim was false, although it took weeks to rectify and reimburse the charges, only after threats to report the issue to the FCA. This is an honest review and my first experience with this company. In 30 years of driving, I have always found RAC Breakdown to be excellent but drivers must be aware that RAC Insurance is NOT the RAC."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Incompetent. Internal communication within their organisation is a disaster. I insured my car for business use with RAC, I thought this would be simple. It was not simple. There was so much confusion between RAC and the insurance underwriters. I had to have my policy amended twice because it did not cover what I required. The lack of due diligence and communication between themselves and their partners is a farce. I received notices of cancellation of insurance policy on two separate occasions, both times were due to their own mistakes/confusion/negligence. I started a 12 month policy, but after countless unnecessary phone calls and emails I ended the policy after only 7 weeks. It takes the company 7 weeks to realise they do not offer business insurance for my profession, yet I still have to pay the premiums in that time. That time delay was infuriating. The call centre staff are friendly yet under-trained "yes men" working on a computer system so restrictive they cannot help a customer with any unconventional issues. I do not recommend this insurance provider."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Just got charged £130 to change vehicle. Absolutely disgusting. Avoid at all costs."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"This is the worst insurance company we have ever dealt with. We chose RAC as we thought they were a good brand but have had nothing but problems. We accepted and agreed to their quote and then they contacted us to say they were putting the payments up by nearly £40.00 per month because they had found a claim that we hadn't told them about. We explained that we had and it was all agreed but they said they would still need to put the payments up by £8.00 per month because that was the price that day! We made a complaint and were told that they would get back to us in 4 weeks, then it was 8 weeks. After 6 weeks we received a new payment schedule with the payments at nearly £40.00 more than quoted! It just goes from bad to worse, and we STILL waiting for them to sort our complaint out. Wish we had never gone with RAC, would never recommend them."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Terrible customer insurance, booked a service call for my box 3 times and no one turned up just for them to then cancel my insurance because my box was disconnected after going in for service. Very bad when dealing with claims and got transferred to about 10 different departments. Definitely would not recommend"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Policy 130954900 RAC want you to create and constantly update you records on a self service centre. That means you are paying them for doing virtually nothing. Wow £500-£1000+ every year, for what? For more Excess charges too e.g. windscreen £60 because they couldn't be bothered to use AutoGlass which is free to policy holders. Ripoff!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I did my car and my wife’s car insurance on the internet the rac was not the cheapest but because they are a big company I thought it what be better to deal with them what a mistake a big one I have just finished work so fit the past 5 to 6 years me and my wife we’re insured with my company motor traders policy and they gave me written proof in writing of our no claims discount on the internet there is no wording they don’t recognise people on motor policy so the saga begins they take my money and insurance is given to us then after 7 days ask for proof of our no claims which I forwarded to them then after a while they email and sent a text to me sYing I was covered but had to pay another £13 which I did but said after another couple of weeks my wife isn’t covered and would have to start from scratch and build her no claims up and they wanted to make another £300 off me all because she had been on a motor traders policy when I told them I was as well but you approved my insurance she went off on one and then told me my policy would have to start from scratch when ask to speak to someone higher up it was a no go they won’t ring you back or nothing they just try and bully you to get a lot more money out off you and when the policy was cancelled they gave the cheek to charge you money for there mistake if when doing the policy they say no motor traders insurance no claims would nit be acceptable you then look at a proper insurance company so beware keep away from this company"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Vh"
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 1 month ago
"Do not use the RAC Car Insurance. They are only a broker. We tried to make a claim and was told car was 15 years old and we would only get scrap value by Acromas who is the company RAC use. The repair was £550 the car value was £3000 poor customer service spend 2 hours trying to get through and constantly holding on the phone. RAC don't want to know just keep telling you to phone Acromas."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Hopeless customer service. They don't answer the phone. hung on for ages to be repeatedly told that the very next person who is free would take my call. They didn't answer. Why is it necessary to mislead people in this way and why don't they answer their calls."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Great service easy to use well priced"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"RAC called me when my mileage went up, however when my mileage reduced conciderably they still wanted to increase my monthly costs. This isn't logical as the explaination for increasing the amount is because I was more at risk of an accident because I was on the road more. So by that rationale the less miles would mean I was at less risk, nope not according to this greedy company. STAY AWAY!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Absolutely shocking service. After two missed phone calls there was no further effort to contact me and the numbers on the website wouldn't work. After each attempt it would say the number wasn't currently working. A week before my black box fitting deadline I finally got a call back telling me that my insurance would be cancelled due to my lack of correspondence, despite the fact i'd attempted to call and the emails which had apparently been sent to me were nowhere to be found either in my inbox or spam filter. I only received £86 of the initial £140 i paid regardless of the fact that I'd done everything I could to try and arrange a fitting. I will at least admit that the people on the phone were polite and helpful but when that's the only positive out of the entire experience it should be cause for alarm. Absolutely appalled at the experience and will warn people away from using them."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Due to the much publicised power outage we had train tickets we couldn't use. They were advance tickets and we were told no refunds by the train company. RAC classed the incident as disruption, and told us disruption wasn't covered. We bought travel insurance expecting, as most people would, that this was exactly the sort of thing that would be insured. I wonder what tiny proportion of claims they actually pay out on. Worthless. Don't bother wasting your money with RAC travel insurance."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Watch out for the small print and price hikes at renewal, not only that they sell on your details to 3rd parties for commission payments. Meaning they make more money out of you, raise your premiums again 10% just for profit and nothing about risk then use the Dick Turpin auto renewal daylight robbery method. The fleece you for cancellation charges if you wait until the renewal information arrives just days before policy expires. That's why it's best to get chase 1 month before renewal for a price rather than wait for them to tell you. RAC should stick to roadside recovery because when it comes car insurance they can stick it where the sun don't shine."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"AVOID AVOID AVOID I had no choice but to have a black box. The cheapest options were between O2 and RAC. O2 advertise that they have curfews so decided to go with the RAC as they advertise "No curfews and choose your own mileage limit So drive where you want, when you want" The day my box was installed I found this to be false. I drove across town (a small market town with a population of 9000). I received a notification stating that my urban score has fallen below the set threshold. Confused I checked the app and found that my driving was marked on speeding, acceleration, braking, urban driving and night time driving! Despite the website only saying that I'd be scored on speeding, acceleration and braking! My driving has been perfect but due to urban and night time driving my score has been regularly in the low 80's! I can appreciate that accidents are more likely in an urban area and during the night, however my little town is NOT urban and 5am-7pm is NOT night time! My shift pattern can be anywhere from 6am-8pm and I have an hour commute, had I known my score would drop so dramatically I would never have gone with the RAC! I phoned to complain and cancel just a couple days after taking out the policy, for just 2 days cover there was a cancellation fee of over £100, this was not an option as I had just forked out over £200 for the deposit! I put in a formal complaint at the end of May and heard NOTHING from them until the beginning of August. They admitted full responsibility and admitted that the website is completely false, I was offered some compensation and told that they would waver any cancellation fees if I still wanted to cancel my policy (3 months late!!!) I was relatively happy with the response I eventually received. Checking the website more recently I've found that they are still advertising in exactly the same way!! Meaning that more young people, like myself will be taking out this policy and then getting completely SCREWED OVER! Clearly, they don't care and haven't learnt from their mistake. I will be taking this to trading standards and the financial ombudsman and warning absolutely everyone I can about this awful company. DON'T GET A BLACK BOX FROM THE RAC"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"My granddaughter has just had her car insurance cancelled by RAC. She had 2 weeks to go until her first full year was completed with no incidents and a black box performance number consistently over 90%. They gave 7 days notice with no explanation. Now she will not get her 1st years NCB, and her premium with another company will be a LOT higher due to a policy cancellation. Apparently RAC do this all of the time with new drivers. My recommendation - do NOT use RAC for any type of insurance as they are a rip-off company. Totaly thoughtless and useless."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
RAC Insurance is rated 3.01 based on 586 reviews