Purely Pets Reviews

2.27 Rating 37 Reviews
30% of reviewers recommend Purely Pets

How would you rate Purely Pets ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"Purley pets took on a previous insurance policy, we didn't receive a renewal quote but they proceeded with taking a much higher monthly premium. When we challenged they agreed to cancel contract but refused a refund for the money taken. Stay clear...."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"Claims take forever to process. Website promises 5 days but that's just to pick up the file. All emails are ignored, post lost and phone calls are fruitless providing misleading information. Have now been told that even when claims are given the go ahead, payment can still take up to 14 days. I would not recommend and will not be renewing. I just wish I'd checked these reviews before committing to the policy. The only way to expedite anything is to call their complaints department on 02392 287 463"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"only paid third of cost only ever made 1 claim 4 years ago and price of policy gone up so considering changing now."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"If I could give no stars I would BUYER BEWARE. Do Not just this company. They will do anything to get out of paying a claim. I paid insurance for 09 years and then my dog developed diabetes. Once I had made a claim they increased monthly payments x3. At year 11 Dog injured his eye. They used the excuse that because he had diabetes it took longer to heal which required vet treatment. My vet advised that if they will use that excuse they will not honour any claim. So cancelled insurance. Advised on website that it is £30 administration charge which I paid. They then instructed a solicitor to claim the money again. Apparently a fault with their system and the letter was sent automatically to solicitors. First I knew was getting a letter from solicitor demanding money. The whole situition has been very stressful am emotionally draining."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I had to keep ringing up to find out what was happening with my claim and then ring my vets for more information. Purely Pets should have done this. It took 3 months to get my claim resolved. Without me ringing back and forth I would not have received any compensation."
Helpful Report
(Pet Insurance) - Posted 4 months ago
"I have a £2000 accident & illness limit & you only pay £480 out of a £1000 claim. The word accident in the policy means to me you cover an accident. Why do you say accidents are not covered in an accident & illness plan. Any accident a pet has will need emergency treatment. Not to cover emergency treatment because it's in the your small print is very miss leading."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Don't understand why they think it is acceptable to charge a £30 fee for simply not renewing a policy that only cost £70!"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"i had paid out over 600 pound because my dog had eye ulcers on both eyes but cos his vet record showed he had ulcer on one eye 3 yrs earlier to which I didn't claim they said cos it was over a 1 year period they refused my claim. I pey these people 180 pound each year that I feel it was for nothing. people need to steer well away from purely pets"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Paid monthly premiums for two years our dog was unwell cost us £600 in advance and they won't cover his illness the only reason we took out insurance cover in the first place so we didn't get into financial difficulty! Our children won't be having a very Happy Christmas, thanks Purely Pets!"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"painfully slow at dealing with claims and try to weasel out of providing as much cover as possible - avoid!"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Pauline Wigley
Verified Reviewer
"Zero star not possible."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"This pet insurance increases their premiums by massive amounts each year. I also called to notify them of my new address and they charged me a £10 fee for this! Ludicrous! Will be leaving them at policy renewal. Would have left sooner but it costs £30 to cancel your policy. Anything to grab money from you!"
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"They are making any possible excuses not to pay my claim; the latest is that they can't read the vet's writing. I would not recommend this pet insurance."
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"simple to take out and clear policies, will have to wait and see what its like if i have to claim."
Helpful Report
(Pet Insurance) - Posted 11 months ago
"The amount of time taken to reconcile claims is truly appalling, you continually have to chase them for payment. Each time we have put a claim form in they manage to find a reason to send it back or alternatively advise they haven't received it. Totally frustrating!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"On their web site they state 20 days to deal with a claim .I have been waiting since June 2016 (14 weeks) still no response.Not acceptable.Fine until you have to claim, then they blame volume of claims the reason for delay."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I have made two claims over the years and waited over 2 months for both to be settled. They do not respond to e-mails or calls. I am currently waiting to hear why they took £30 from my account after the policy had been cancelled. Needless to say I have now cancelled all my policy's with them, which total 4 in all and gone elsewhere. Truly appalling service . Would never recommend them ."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Angela Walker
Verified Reviewer
"Purely Pets is just one big joke. They aim to settle claims in 10 working days but in my experience it takes them an average of 2 MONTHS. I find now they are not even answering calls. I've left emails but no one responds, I've left a number for a call back but no one ever gets back to me. Paid plenty money in over the years but once my dog was ill they just didn't want to know. It is stressful enough when your beloved pet is ill and the last thing you need is dealing with incompetent fools. DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND DON'T TOUCH THIS INSURANCE COMPANY"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Purely Pets..... what can I say - I indicate 1 star but wish I could select lower. I was advised by the "purely pets claims department" that it was fine for me to pay the various bills over a period and then claim on a lump sum. This is NOT the best course of action as you will pay a significant proportion of the bills and then have a real challenge to recover any of the overall cost. If you do this you are taken on (what seems like) a never ending admin merry go round. I completed all required documents and 2 simple claims professionally presented by my vet were declined (This took almost 2 months). I do not believe that they ever intend to pay a claim and all efforts seem to be geared towards reasons why they should not pay. - I would definitely AVOID Purely Pets."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"After waiting for over a month, claim was denied. Condition of blocked bladder in cat, could be due to stress,they do not cover anything if stress related, even the word may if enough. Exclusion clause 5.1A states they will not cover for illness. So any claim can be dismissed. Do not be tempted by low premium, do not use, be warned. I am going to,be using the Ombudsman and if necessary the claims court The Cowboys must be stopped"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Purely Pets is rated 2.27 based on 37 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This