Prudential Reviews

2.70 Rating 27 Reviews
44% of reviewers recommend Prudential
662 Review Views (past 24 hours)
06AM - 8AM
22 Review Views
8AM - 10AM
40 Review Views
10AM - 12PM
56 Review Views
12PM - 2PM
39 Review Views
2PM - 4PM
75 Review Views
4PM - 6PM
139 Review Views
6PM - 8PM
38 Review Views
8PM - 10PM
99 Review Views
10PM - 12AM
55 Review Views
12AM - 2AM
23 Review Views
2AM - 4AM
36 Review Views
4AM - 6AM
40 Review Views
06AM
6AM

Popular Questions:

Customer Service

How can I contact Prudential?
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Prudential made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone
communication channels
"My husband had a severe stroke that has left him paralysed and unable to speak. After finally making the decision to give me Lasting Power of Attorney I sent the certified signed and validated copy to The Prudential. Firstly the reference number they had quoted didn't exist, they couldn't speak to me as I didn't pass the security questions...erm full name, tick, date of birth, tick, address, tick, previous address, tick, national insurance number, tick, policy number, tick, date policy started, tick 🤪 I was put on hold and transferred to someone who gave their condolences????? I explained that my husband was most certainly alive and went through more security questions only to be told that the LPA I had sent in wasn't signed! I think my solicitor would argue that it is. After 25 minutes of speaking to, in my opinion, incompetent people I asked to speak to a manager. The supervisor informed me that my solicitor's signature isn't valid as The Prudential's tech team have decided it isn't an ink signature....this will probably come as a shock to my solicitor when I tell him on Monday that the ink in his pen and the validation stamps aren't good enough for The Prudential. 35 minutes of my life wasted talking to the most inept company I have had the misfortune to deal with."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Are you Prudential? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"Hi, I have had exactly the same problem as the previous person. Prudential are doing their best to prevent me getting my pension lump sum. There seems to be a co-ordinated and planned approach to this and I think it is due to uncertainties that will result in the reduction of fund values. If you have got any money at all invested in Prudential pensions then I would strongly recommend that you start the long drawn out process of trying to get it now before you lose significant amounts. If you take the view that difficult economic times are ahead then you may wish to withdraw your funds into cash. This would be a safe thing to do but you will find that Prudential will attempt to prevent you from doing this. They will insist on all sorts of ID. They will insist on all sorts of paper work and phone calls. They may lose things. You won't be able to email them since everything must be sent by post. All these measures allow them to delay. I don't believe this is just incompetence. It feels more like an organised approach. Thank god I didn't put too much with them. If you are considering investing with them, for example if you are a teacher considering AVCs, then seriously think again. Wish I had just bought extra amounts in the teachers pension scheme"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I have dealt with a lot of financial organisations but none as incompetent as Prudential. I wanted to cash my pension in one lump sum and it took more than 3 months of phonecalls and correspondance to get MY money. They have been dealing with me and sending me letters for more than 30 years, but when I now want my money they need more ID than anyone is able to supply. I have supplied a verified copy of my passport, verified copies of utility bills and bank statements, 2 letters from my highstreet bank, 1 letter from my investment bank, and a copy of a letter from my UK national old age pension. That was not sufficient to convince Prudential. Everything was send by recorded delivery except the letter from my UK pension. The last letter was send on Prudentials own secure emal system. This was rejected because it was a scanned copy, but they would accept a fax copy (we are now in the year 2018]. This turned out not to be an option after all because Prudential could not locate their own fax number. Here is just a few examples of their incompetence. There are plenty more apart from the ones memtioned: Every time you phone them you are passed between departments who all want to “security” verify you before passing you on. I have tried to be passed on between departments only to end up being told that they have not got time to talk to you. They insist on sending a completely blank form to me because Prudential do not have a “secure email system”. Posting it took 3 whole weeks to reach me. After this it turnes out that they do in fact have a “secure” email system. They still insist that everything is send to them by normal post, and I have therefor sent out everything by registered post. Prudential have managed twice to loose attachments to my letters, and the fact that I could prove that the said attachments had arrived at they office did not make them rething their handling. They then decided that I had been treated incorrectly, and they alone decided to transfer £75 to my bank account for my trouble. I have spend more than this just in postage. On top of this I have spend hours and hours getting together all the other information that was shipped out, and I have not been able to invest this money for months. Their decition that I has been treated unfairly did not release the payment of my money. Now we are at a time where my money is due to leave Prudential, and they then decide that they have not enough proof that the account they thenselves used for my “compensation” is actually mine. This is an account number that has been verified by my bank and that Prudential has already been using within the past few weeks. Further delay for no reason. My conclusion is that Prudential will go to great lenght to delay your payment. Their repeated request for proof of ID is way byond any kind of reason, and their handling of MY money is completely unacceptable. Prudential just hang on to the money while they keep moving the goalpost and have you jump through hoops, and that only changed when I told them that I finallly has had enough and now referred the matter to the Ombudsman. Then they changed their mind and MY money is now supposed to be on its way. Shame on you Prudential. Your handling is disgraceful."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Get passed around over the phone, then have to do security checks all over again! My premium has gone but thought I would stop with them as made a claim for a smashed phone screen without having to pay excess. Tried to make a claim for another smashed phone but my excess has changed to £250 so not worth it as screen is less than that. I should have read my new policy details so partly my fault but will not go with them again. Rubbish!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Contacting prudential is a nightmare I’m sick of trying to ring and get to someone to speak to and putting the phone down after at least 30 minutes. The email address on the recent letter will not allow me to send emails"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"As a trustee, I needed to quickly liquidate a trust’s bond holdings in a number of companies. The largest holding was with Prudential and while other companies have managed to do as they were asked within the timescale demanded, Prudential have been spectacularly incompetent. Among their several failings: * they did not liquidate the bond when they were asked, despite numerous reminders * they kept causing further delays because they claimed that documentation had not been “scanned into the system”, when it had. Scanning by you or I takes a matter of minutes but at the Pru each scanning pixel is hand-crafted, which is why it takes days. * they didn’t communicate with each other or with us and we were often left holding on the phone for up to 50 minutes trying to sort out the mess that they had made * when they finally liquidated the bond, they had a brainstorm and randomly reinvested the proceeds into something else entirely rather than transmitting the cash. They failed to inform us of this surreal mistake, causing yet more delays * they have not responded to an official complaint to their complaints department about their serious failings * one of their lackadaisical employees made the comment that “everyone makes mistakes” without a hint of an apology or any sense that they knew how to sort it out * an email of complaint and threat of legal action to a line manager received an automated reply that he was on holiday and that a colleague should be contacted instead, with no contact details provided. We are still waiting for the money, weeks after it should have been paid out. It was a simple request and a simple task for them to perform. They have failed utterly to perform it and show no concern at having done so. To quote from their website “We have very high standards and do everything we can to ensure that all our customers get the best possible service, but sometimes we do make mistakes.” This should be amended to “We have magicked up a set of high standards but haven’t a clue how to achieve them and our staff can’t be bothered to follow them. Our best possible service is miles worse than that of our competitors. When we keep making mistakes, don’t expect concern, an apology or rectification in anything approaching a reasonable timescale.”"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"We are the company that our staff holds Prudential Pension plan. I would like to request them to increase the amount of monthly pension direct debit. I have to call and send the application form for 4 months and now they haven't changed it. Really poor service and have unnecessary strict procedure.I never have any problem to deal with many pension company such as Standard Life, Aviva and Virgin. Prudential is really bad service. Please think before decide to you them."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Contacted them on several occasions on secure message. And not once did they contact me. But they promised to contact within 5 working days. What a joke this company is"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"Seriously has anyone tried to claim their pension, simply cannot get through via their telephone line. I have trying for 2 weeks now and given up after 10 mins on the phone every time. In fact trying to get through now, bored so i thought i would give them some feedback."
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"Bosses earn millions in bonuses, shareholders receive high dividend increases. In comparison pensioners annuity annual payment increases are derisory. A really bad investment, as on death original lump sum stays with the company. this is legalised robbery and Prudential stopped the chancellor from allowing policy holders to sell annuities on the secondary market to claw a lump some cash back.."
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"Good friend of mine had a daughter that paid into an annuity scheme For seventeen years until the company closed down. The daughter passed away and the mother was written to and told about the scheme and that she might get money. After answering all of there questions Told nothing to come back. They say the trustees did not secure death and defered contributions. Complete waste of time scam better off going to bookies or spend hard earned wages on family or in the pub."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"Absolutely the worst experience I have had. 2 claims lodged. Unless you contact them it takes over 7 days to receive a letter to advise you have not returned a document that they did not send with their correspondence. Misquoted timescales and assurances. Whilst they have good customer service, they need to be singing from the same hymn sheet, nothing is coordinated and they have made mistake after mistake. I would definitely not recommend taking any sort of policy out with this company."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"When my husband was in his early twenties he took out a life insurance policy with Prudential which he thought was linked with his Pension. The contributions went out together each month. He was sold this by a salesperson who on a number of occasions tried to get us to cash in a range of policies. After 25 years of paying contributions monthly he has just found out that he now aged 53 has no life cover. Beware Prudential and what you think you are signing up to."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Absolute scum. Tried to draw down on my pension and got totally sidelined for 2.5 hours on the phone. They are going to tax me , even though I am allowed 25% tax free. But still can get my money as somebody has to talk to me in 6 days time 'to discuss' this request with me. It is my f*cking money, not theirs. (I am 58 and entitled to take my money out). Do not take any form of pension out with these criminals"
3 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Had problems with previous insurers getting cover very near to river rib"
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 2 years ago
"Helpful and friendly"
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 2 years ago
"Good price for the cover provided, no issues, will definitely consider when renewing."
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 2 years ago
"I have used this company before and always they was good if you have to make a claim"
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 2 years ago
"This policy is quite easy to read and understand. There are some features which do not exist with other policies at anything like the same cost e.g. underground drainage pipes and sewers serving my house. So ,I am very pleased."
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
"Very happy"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Prudential is rated 2.70 based on 27 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support