Principal Insurance Limited Reviews

3.19 Rating 84 Reviews
57% of reviewers recommend Principal Insurance Limited
Visit Website

Phone:
03300240087

Email:
CustomerService@principalinsurance.co.uk

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

How would you rate Principal Insurance Limited ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Oskars Tutins
Verified Reviewer
"The offer was better than others when I was shopping around. Unfortunately they tried to take the first payment (after the deposit was taken and insurance started) just in 5 days. There was no money on account and it led to £30 fee from Close Brothers Finance and £8 from my bank for the refused direct debit. It made this insurance less competitive. The worst thing is - just 14 days later I received the payment plan with first payment backdated."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Hi Oskars, thanks for your honest feedback. We understand your frustrations, however, when opting to pay through a loan agreement, the terms and conditions are explained to you over the phone by the Sales agent of which you have to agree with before continuing with the purchase. Please note when purchasing a van insurance policy, the first instalment is always taken nine days after (not five as you have stated), this is instructed by the loan agreement company; Close Brothers Premium Finance in line with their conditions.

We are unsure of what you mean regarding the backdated first payment, please respond to the private message we have sent and we can look into this further.
Posted 1 day ago
"The chap on the phone couldnt have been more helpful, checking and double checking the disclosure of my criminal conviction, and most firms wont even insure with a conviction even though non motoring. Will not give 5 star as you only know how good a company is when you need to claim"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Thanks so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us
Posted 2 days ago
"after driving for over 35 years this was the worse company to tray and get insurance"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Thanks for your honest feedback, we are sorry to hear of your disappointing experience and would like to gain a clearer understanding of what has happened which led you to leave such a negative review. Please kindly reply to our private message
Posted 2 days ago
"Price and customer service."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
We appreciate the time you have taken to leave a great review, thanks very much!
Posted 2 days ago
"Unbelievable service from vikky she guided me through all the various parts of the bike insurance. And helped me choose the right policy. Highly recommended company you can't go wrong. Give them a go"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Thanks for such positive feedback! Our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise. They work extremely hard to provide a high standard of customer service and your review will provide great encouragement!
Posted 2 days ago
"Absolutely misleading. They increased my charges on the basis that my no claims bonus was for a car not a van which made no difference with other insurers. Utterly appalled with their customer service too."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
Thank you for your honest feedback, we would like to apologise for the negative experience you have received and can see you have also provided the same feedback on a separate review site. We would be grateful if you could reply to our private messages so we can investigate the matter further
Posted 2 days ago
Gary Edwards
Verified Reviewer
"Ater having insurance for 2 weeks I was called and told I wasnt covered as my points that were off my licence are stuill valid to Principal insurance- no debate and charged £57 for 2 weeks insurance for a 1980s 250 mcycle.Daylight robbery keep away from these fools.Waited 11 mins to complain but hung up as rigamortice was setting in."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Gary, thanks for your honest feedback, we really appreciate it. We are disappointed to hear of your recent experience and would like to learn more about the situation. Please can you respond to our private message with confirmation of your personal details
Posted 1 week ago
Updated 19/06 - Hi Gary, we are yet to receive a reply by private message. We are really keen to investigate the matter, please reply with confirmation of your personal details so we are able to investigate further
Posted 2 days ago
"Polite telephone service. Hopefully I will never need to review the overall service after making a claim."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thanks for the great review!
Posted 1 week ago
Christopher Pynn
Verified Reviewer
"The price was fair and fairly easy to do"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thanks Christopher! Appreciate the great review, glad to hear we got you sorted
Posted 1 week ago
"Very pleased with the service and very helpful speaking to the gentleman on the phone."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your kind words, we are happy we could help
Posted 1 week ago
"sorted easily and quickly"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thanks for the review! We really appreciate it
Posted 1 week ago
"After originally posting negatively about the price being different to that quoted online I was contacted by Principal. They were very apologetic and offered to match the price given online. When I queried their breakdown cover as an addition it was much cheaper than what I'd been looking at so finally managed to get a good deal on vehicle insurance and breakdown for my motorhome. I was impressed they took the time to respond to my original feedback and came back to me to sort it out."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave an updated, positive review. We are glad the matter has now been resolved and really appreciate your business.
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Cheap quote & really helpful over the phone. Would use them again & would recommend to others too."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thanks very much for your kind words! We are glad we could help
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I got a quote for motorhome insurance from Principal via GoCompare. It seemed competitive. When I went to buy I had to ring them. Waited nearly 10 mins for someone to answer. Having confirmed all the details as per my online application the price was £60 more expensive than that quoted on the Gocompare site. Wasted over an hour! Guy on the phone couldn't even give an explanation. Wouldn't bother with them again and I suggest you don't. Looking at their ratings it's about 50 / 50 between good and poor service."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thanks for the feedback David, we apologise for the negative experience you have received and would like to learn more about the situation. As you can see from other reviews, we pride ourselves on providing great customer service at a competitive price, so we are really keen to look into this. Please kindly respond to the private message we have sent.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Updated 04/06 - Hi David, we can see from our records that you have now spoken with a manager from the Sales Team and this matter has now been resolved. We appreciate your honest feedback as this has provided an opportunity to investigate certain processes further.

We hope you are happy with the outcome
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Company van insurance sorted, this was the 2nd cheapest quotation we found on the www.net, then I phoned them to discuss the Policy finer details and it was cheaper than the net price. Very pleased & happy days😀"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thanks very much! Glad we could help
Posted 3 weeks ago
Roger Morritt
Verified Reviewer
"Two motorcycles insured at a competitive price, telephone staff very helpful"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thanks for insuring a second bike with us Roger, we really appreciate your great review!
Posted 3 weeks ago
Tadas Grigaitis
Verified Reviewer
"Good communication, reasonable offer"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thanks for the review Tadas! We really appreciate your business, please do not hesitate to call if you need help in the future
Posted 3 weeks ago
"A fantastic price for the Policy! Also, I (well, actually my PC) made an error by providing the wrong first name and the documents were issued in what my PC spellcheked :0 All handled perfectly that the docs were re-issued and re-sent with no hassle. Thanks to all at Principal!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the review Jag! Glad to hear we got things sorted, hope you have a great weekend
Posted 3 weeks ago
Anthony Davison
Unverified Reviewer
"A phone call to a professional operator cancelled my old policy, and insured my new Suzuki , best price found. Very efficient staff. Thanks"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the kind words Anthony! If you need anything else, please don't hesitate to give us call
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Easy and helped with any questions and reasonably priced insurance Lenny"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the kind words Lenny! We are happy we could help
Posted 4 weeks ago
Principal Insurance Limited is rated 3.19 based on 84 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This