John Lewis Insurance Reviews

2.12 Rating 246 Reviews
26 %
of reviewers recommend John Lewis Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Courier, Postal Service
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email
queries resolved in
Over a week

Write Your review

Tell us how John Lewis Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
had large cliam. And they were excellent. Total payout of a large flood, refit kitchen and half the house. No issues
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Incompetent, useless advisors , website and log in never works .. Mid sold me an expensive add-on and found out I wasn't even covered properly for the basics ! Look elsewhere if you want to feel protected.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
AVOID AT ALL COSTS. In the middle of a claim for a domestic oil leak which had been seeping from a pipe under the property. Grateful that the insurance covers it. I , female pensioner, have had to be re-homed whilst extensive work (e.g. digging out floors down to 1.5 m to remove contamination) is being carried out at the house which has been very stressful coming on top of a family death. However, the main issue is lack of communication from RSA. At every turn they (loss adjuster) will not respond regarding basic information ongoing information about the claim such as when interim payments will be made, whether my temporary lease needs to be extended and by how much at the time when I absolutely need the info to hold on to the rental etc. etc. Whilst I appreciate they may be very busy people, writing emails & phoning has no effect. Having seen other reviews, I believe this approach is deliberate and is certainly not ethical. It is making an already serious situation much, much worse and is impacting both my mental and physical health. Please avoid JL home insurance at all costs. Shame on both JL and RSA for their approach to customers who they presumably hope will become very ill or die so that they don't have to pay up. There are high quality surveys highlighting just how bad RSA are for home insurance and they have apparently said that they will improve. Sadly from my experience this is untrue. I have shopped at JL for many years, but, if I survive, I will now look to alternatives for anything I want to buy.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I have a very simple, straightforward claim which has been dreadfully handled by John Lewis - I made my first complaint to them nearly 2 months ago now, and umpteen e mails from me and half a dozen phone calls I am jo further forwards. John Lewis. RSA and Be Valued you should all be ashamed of your collective and wilfull incompetence. Thankfully my claim ( my first in 6 years) is only for a replacement computer ( accidentally damaged) It has made me realize that I am paying premium prices for an abject service, and certainly wouldn’t rely on any of these companies for a more serious claim.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Three years ago I was burgled, fortunately for me at the time I had John Lewis home insurance. They were excellent in handling the claim, I renewed the year after, a slight increase in the premium. Then last year a huge increase in the premium. I would have given them a very high 4-star rating, no real complaints other than they were a little slow in progressIng the claim, they appointed a specialist loss adjusters, who were awful to deal with, but my persistence won the day eventually! It will be 3 years since the claim, by the time I renew my insurance this year. I rang for a quote yesterday, they have refused to insure me, citing the reason being the burglary 3 years ago. Since the burglary I have invested in CCTV and a much higher Levels of home security, spending over £5K to secure the home. Most insurance companies hold a claim against you for 3 years. Yet, John Lewis seem to think that they special? That they are above other insurance companies; that they can write their own rules & insist on a 5 years after a claim. I have been offered very competitive rates for insurance this year, by other companies owing to the increased levels of security. So avoid this company for home or car insurance. My home is a John Lewis showroom; every major household item purchased there. I have been a very loyal customer for over 30 years. I am very disappointed by this decision, I will not be returnIng & they have probably lost me as a customer too. I encouraged other people to switch to John Lewis home insurance owing to the service I received. They were excellent in handling the claim at the time, I renewed the year after, slight increase in the premium. Then last year a huge increase in the premium. I would have given a very high 4 star rating, no real complaints other than they were a little slow in progressing the claim. It will be 3 years since the claim, by the time I renew my insurance. I rang for a quote today, they have refused to insure me! I have invested in CCTV & a much higher level of security since the burglary, spending over £5K to secure the house. Most insurance companies hold a claim against you for 3 years. Yet, John Lewis seem to think that they are above other companies, that they can write their own rules & insist on a 5 years after a claim. They have refused to insure me due to the one claim. Other companies have offered me very competitive rates for insurance this year! So avoid this company for home or car insurance. My house is a John Lewis showroom; every major household item purchased there. I am very disappointed by this decision, I will not return again!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Once upon a time a company name you could trust. Not anymore. 0ver 75% increase in 4 years without any claims.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I rang today 10th Oct o m g she was so stuck up I asked her for home insurance she just couldn’t b arsed don’t bother with this company she was nasty to me
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Very poor CustomerService not remotely interested in keeping you as a customer.Can buy the same amount of cover for half the price , I suggest you shop around
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Worst home insurance ever Will not use them again and would not recommend them Very poor customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Shocking customer experience. Made a claim for storm damage and because they take the weather from 25 miles away they have no record of our storm! Called to complain and cancel the policy. Complaints procedure explained and passed to cancellation who cannot give an end date to let me know when to buy new insurance!!! Worst company ever do not buy their rip off insurance and have to deal with their awful staff. The biggest joke ...when I called to make the claim the advisor said I can hardly hear you for the wind
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Had to claim on my insurance in July due to a heavy fall of hail stones which had pierced holes in my conservatory roof. Was a bit sceptical about the whole procedure as I have never had to claim on house insurance before however from initially ringing to put in a claim, to a couple of surveyors visiting my property to assess the damage, a settlement figure being reached and receiving the cheque for the damage as we decided to have an upgrade on the roof so it doesn't happen again, all this was achieved in matter of three weeks, we were very happy with John Lewis insurance.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I applied for John Lewis Home insurance but was rejected because, according to them, I live in a high risk flood area. I actually live in a low risk flood area, and they could easily see this for themselves if they were to bother looking at the Government's flood information website. So they lost a customer owing to their incompetence. Looking at their poor reviews here I'm not sorry I am now with another provider.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Pet insurance - first renewal increase of over 30% to £390pa. After informing dog had been spayed the policy goes up again, and because dog is now 2.25kg heavier (not fat just grown up), the premium is now just over £600. There were no claims, dog is not a pedigree or a posh cross, she is fit and well. Call handler was sympathetic and sounded embarrassed. John Lewis’s good name is going to suffer if price hikes like this are typical. I wish I could give no stars.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I initially went to John Lewis for a quality insurance which I believed I was getting. It is actually a Royal & Sun Alliance Insurance policy you are purchasing. The premium I was expecting to be a little higher due to the expectation of better quality of insurance. This year after another increase hike to £300 just for contents with +5yrs no claims, I decided to shop around and low and behold, found a better quote giving greater cover for under £100. Thanks JL for rewarding loyalty... Recommend you shop around online, takes half hour to save a couple of hundred quid and switch, there's nothing premium about your policy apart from the John Lewis logo on the letters...
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
As John Lewis customers in store and online for may years I decided a few years ago to take the pet insurance option. While at first it was all very good over the past couple of years premiums have rose by 150%. While of course you expect them to go up it would not be by that amount. I did make a small claim about 18 months ago for something that took a few lots of antibiotic to clear and was never proved what it was not come back. Renewal premium went up to £50 per month, while I understand RSA who underwrite the policy have ways to work premiums out is hard to believe it would be 150% in last two years. Treating existing customers fairly is not evident here, I could get a new policy with them for £28 per month a £22 saving a month! Though it would not cover any previous conditions including anything previously claimed for. Though never proved what it was anything similar would not be covered. As they took so long to provide the information I was left in a dilema as if I took new policy out with John Lewis or any one else with new insurance would not be covered for 14 days. While I was not expecting anything to happen (and nor did it) I did not want to take the risk. This left me little option but to renew and reduce cover (Another blow could not increase cover at any later point). Complaint raised with RSA who stick by their premuim, though agree there service was slow. A small good will gesture though again will be paid by cheque. I asked for a BACs payment but they can not do this. Now in this day and age do they want to inconvience people more??? Where I live I will have to take it to the post office as no other banks - that will rely on me not being at work and able to go when said post office is open! It is 2019 I pay my premuims by direct debit and they have all my details? I contacted John Lewis to complain - after all it is their brand name that that is used. John Lewis has a great reputation fro Customer Service, loyalty and price. While yes sometimes it can be more expensive than others the quality is good and the service second to none. John Lewis however are not concerned about this and replies have been I will need to take this up with RSA. The fact that I have and shocked to see that John Lewis do not actually care about customers and the service provided by their associates I find very disappointing
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Don’t use this company - they don’t want to put things right when they are in the wrong. Low cost insurance at start then rapidly increased at every renewal and making a claim where they have to replace an item is where they show their true colours
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I am struggling even to give them one star. I have home and content insurance with John Lewis. After the central diamond fell out of my ring and was lost, I passed it to their jewellers LMG in December 2018. I have had the ring for many years and never previously had any issues. This is where the saga begins. They completely botched the job, carrying out unauthorised alterations to the ring. It had to be returned 3 times for further corrections. The alterations included resizing the ring without permission and making it smaller, reducing the entire thickness of the ring shank, changing the round shape of the ring and making it elongated like the ring-pull in a can and altering the symmetry of the diamond shoulders. During this time the ring was sent back and they stretched the ring beyond the requested size and made much larger, then made it smaller again with a different shank. I received the ring last month, June 2019, after their 3rd attempt st fixing their mess. Although they eventually made the shank thicker (back to the size it was when they first received it), they revalued it and then claimed it was more valuable as it was heavier. It was no heavier than when it first went to them. Following my dispute they produced a load of photos which provided no real evidence and denied that their jewellers had made a mess of the repair. They also refused to offer any compensation other than suggest that if I wish to take the ring to another jewellers they will pay for it to be resized only. No offer for the messed up shape if the ring, fixing the damaged symmetry of the diamond shoulder, etc I would strongly advise anyone to think twice before using this company as they are happy to take the money but will completely deny liability if something goes wrong with their repairs. When I first took out the home and content insurance I was happy with the price but have now realised my mistake. On next renewal they also significantly increase the payments. I would suggest shopping elsewhere for insurance as this company is happy to carry out botched repairs and supply made up information to cover up their wrong doings. They have continued to deny that they botched up the repair. If you are thinking of going with John Lewis please ensure you don’t make a claim for jewellery repairs as they are devious, underhand and will create various reasons to cover up if something goes wrong
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I am struggling even to give them one star. I have home and content insurance with John Lewis and after the diamond fell out abd was lost, passed my diamond solitaire ring to their jewellers LMG in December 2018. To cut a long story short, they completely botched the job and it had to be returned 3 times for corrections. They resized the ring without permission and made it smaller, reduced the entire thickness of the ring shank, changed the shape of the ring and made it elongated like the ring-pull in a can and altered the symmetry of the diamond shoulders. During this time the ring was sent back and then stretched and made much larger, then made smaller again with a different shank. Although when they made the shank thicker, back to the size it was when they first received it, they revalued it and claimed it was more valuable as it was heavier. No heavier than when it first went to them. Upon my dispute they produced a load of photos which provided no real evidence and denied their jewellers had made a mess of the job and the original ring. I would strongly advise anyone to think twice before using this company as they are happy to take the money but will completely deny liability if something goes wrong with their repairs. When I first took out the home and content insurance I was happy with the price but have now realised my mistake. On next renewal they also significantly increase the payments. I would suggest shopping elsewhere for insurance as this company is happy to carry out botched repairs and supply fraudulent information to cover up their wrong doings
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
This review is about John Lewis Home insurance. The information provided at the point of sale is less than standard, incomplete and inadequate to fully understand the extent of your coverage. When I had an issue with a leak from a neighbour, who refused to fix it, John Lewis completely abandoned me. When I called them to understand what they could do for me, representatives on the phone couldn't answer my questions and each of them would give me a different answer. They didn't help dealing with the issue and discouraged me from claiming saying my premium would go up, etc. Never heard of an insurance company being so unhelpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I have been a customer for 5 years. When I received my renewal my car insurance had doubled. I have been driving for 30 years and have never had a claim. I called them, and was told they could see why the increase and would get the pricing department to check. When they got back to me I was told there had been a 'mistake' and my quote was £250 too high! If I hadn't queried it i assume they would have happily over charged me. By shopping around i saved nearly £400. The same has happened to two of my colleagues. I wouldn't use them again as I have lost trust. How can an insurance company make mistakes in calculating their premiums?!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
John Lewis Insurance is rated 2.12 based on 246 reviews