insurethebox Reviews

1.98 Rating 167 Reviews
21% of reviewers recommend insurethebox
692 Review Views (past 24 hours)
02AM - 4AM
20 Review Views
4AM - 6AM
41 Review Views
6AM - 8AM
61 Review Views
8AM - 10AM
45 Review Views
10AM - 12PM
80 Review Views
12PM - 2PM
61 Review Views
2PM - 4PM
36 Review Views
4PM - 6PM
42 Review Views
6PM - 8PM
137 Review Views
8PM - 10PM
46 Review Views
10PM - 12AM
104 Review Views
12AM - 2AM
19 Review Views
02AM
2AM
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how insurethebox made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone, Live Chat
communication channels
"DO NOT GO WITH THEM DO NOT BE FOOLED FOR THE CHEAP PRICE!!!!!!!! took a deposit of 500 pounds fitter arrived and left didnt fit the box..two days later i finally get an answer off them to say that the wheels are black and should be white!!!!! and the front tiny grill is also black not white!!! that is a modification...i had totally no idea at all!!!!! they did not care one bit!!!! utter rip offs total waste of time ...took half my deposit and cancelled insurance !! robbers"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Are you insurethebox? No one is perfect. Reply to this negative review and show your potential customers that you value the feedback insurethebox receives and that when things do go wrong, you do your best to put things right. Reply Free
"Ive just renewed with insure the box for the second year and had no issue with them. My first year i bought a car with tinted windows that i didnt disclose by accident and they allowed me to keep them and didnt cancel my insurance. The customer service has been very good with them making me aware of ways to lower my premium and trying to cater the insurance policy around me. I have not yet to make a claim to i cannot talk for how they are during this process but considering my insurance was 2100 last year with no claims to them get a renewal of 709 with 1 year no claims i'm delighted with. Just dont mess them about and actually abide by the insurance policy and youll be fine."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"utter utter utter robbers!!!!!!!!! DO NOT GO WITH THEM!!!!!!!!!! came to put the black box and and didnt due to the front grill being black not white!!!! lost 500 pounds hate! hate them!!!!! ripping young people off"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"They are shower of robbers 321 pound to cancel a insurance policy"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Cancelled my insurance when I was out of the country on holiday when my brother (named driver on the insurance) was keeping the car at his house. When I got back I contacted them the same day to explain the situation, they said they could not reinstate the insurance, or even re-quote and that i'd have to go elsewhere to find a new policy. I still had 3 months left on policy and we had just paid to include another named driver. Not to mention terrible customer service throughout- never a number you can call, only live chat which constantly crashes - avoid like the plague."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"After your company wrote my car off(due to a non-fault accident) and after a lengthy battle to get my pay out. Now 2 years on iv been sent a fine for driving without insurance! Driving the car that you company took away. How is this? I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO ANYONE. something dodgy is going on see you in court insure the box!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Tried to refuse a claim. Only settled it when I threatened to complain to the FOS. Then wrongly accused me of speeding, repeatedly."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"i wouldn't have any other insurance company been with this company since first passing my test 2 years ago been a young driver my price for a brand new audi was the best and no other company compared to the one with in sure the box, staff are very polite and help you as much as they can and i don't mind having a box on end of the day who wants to go over the speed limit drive safe at all times :)"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Definitively the worst customer experience I have ever come across in regards to anything. Approximately two years ago I had a vehicle accident and was unfortunately forced to make a claim against my policy to claim. I was without my vehicle for nearly five to six weeks with little update what was going on from their 'approved repairer.' Anyway, I purchased another vehicle after being without mine for so long and cancelled my policy (it was on a monthly direct debit). I was supposedly advised that there would be a remaining balance going forward when the claim had come to a conclusion (baring in mind here that I was never called to disclose what the conclusion was following me cancelling my policy). At the time of cancelling my policy, I had taken out a fairly sizeable loan to cover all costs of my new vehicle, insurance, tax and any remaining debts at the time. I had enough to cover the insurance company however the figure was never asked for and time just moved on. 2 years and 5 months later, I receive a call off the rudest advisor requesting the outstanding balance. Due to the time period, I was a bit startled at the random call from an insurance company requesting £1200 from me after they've had several opportunities to request the money over the last 2 years. I had a call at the beginning of September requesting the figure to which I made a complaint about their customer service skills, lack of communication and failure to request the money at an earlier date. I spoke a manager at the company which I requested a call back later that day for a follow up the manager stated it may take a few days, I insisted for a call later that day just for a simple update. It never came. The company close at 20:00, at 19:56 I received an e-mail stating that the my balance had now been referred to collections. I spoke to someone else on Saturday who told me the company had a time-period in which they need to resolve the complaint and that the manager finished at 16:00 so absolutely no initial effort was made that day for my complaint, after requesting that the manager calls me back on Monday and I was promised a call-back as I'm sure you can see a repeating pattern, the call never came. Tuesday, the manager calls me stating first of all that he was slightly unaware that he was meant to call me that day although, midway through the call acknowledges the e-mail (not at all sure what is going on at this point). The manager states that due to a system change the call I requested listening too isn't easy to find and it'll take some time to find which is fine, these things happen so, I request another call the following day for a simple update on the complaint, to which I receive an e-mail instead and no further correspondence. Four weeks later. I receive a letter through the post explaining that it's now being handled by the complaints department stating they've taken over my case however, they are now going to take some time to resolve the complaint. A bit irritated now, that it has taken over a month to get one call listened to. At no stage have I said I am not paying the outstanding balance, I just wanted to make sure that information I received was correct and if it wasn't then this then a different conversation. 2 days ago, I receive a letter saying that my complaint isn't upheld which is based on the information stated although, my initial complaint is more to do with the customer service provided as oppose to the information. As not only do I feel unvalued as a previous customer of theirs, I know feel like a victim due to lack of communication provided by the company. So I spoke to 2 advisers, 1 manager and had a 1 way conversation with a complaints women who just sent me letters. 08/10/2018 - I receive a call off a women asking if it is a good time to talk, I reply that I'm in work how long is it going to take? (The line was quite bad however, which she made clear with a patronised, uninterested and fed up tone of voice. Which says a lot about the workplace environment never mind the customer experience) She replies with 'I don't know how long it's gonna take, if it's not a good time call us back on this number' - I requested a call-back at 12:00, to which she replied no, if it's not a good time for you, you can just call us back when it is. To which I disconnected the phonecall as I am absolutely sick of the disgusting attitude received by employees of this company. Not only is it a shambolic complaints procedure and an unfriendly customer service team. It is by far the worst experience company I've ever had to deal with. Anyone looking to do business with them, please look elsewhere. It is definitively worth paying a little bit more for a company that will look after you as oppose to one that treats you like a criminal. They will find anyway to rob you of what they can, they're commercial bullies. They couldn't care less about the experience they provide customers with, they're more interested in having your money and that be that. I never write a negative review on a company however, this has been utterly the worst experience I have ever come across. Take my word, I wouldn't sign anyone up with such an unfriendly bunch of people. There are much better companies out there."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Not had a problem with this company but then we've not had to make a claim so of course cannot comment on the claim process or customer service. With regard to top-up miles, you need to think very carefully about choosing the mileage you think you'll cover over a year. We chose 8K for my daughter, working out she'd probably cover between 6.5-7K and allowing for extra. With one month on the policy to go she's just covered over 7K. It states quite clearly on their website what the charges will be so drastically underestimating your predicted mileage to save a few quid is going to hit your pocket severely. The main complaint from most 1-2 star reviewers is cost of top-up miles and feeling you've been conned. Well that's your problem... Absolutely no complaints from me."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Absolutely awful just want to take advantage of younger drivers and get as much money out of them as possible."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Terrible experience"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 5 months ago
"Not a good company"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 5 months ago
"Been with them for nearly 10 months now. Im not poor but the top up miles are way expensive your better off not getting a black box insurance. Rang them up to cancel my insurance and they said i owe them £400!. I was not happy at all and its because i bought 6000 miles for the full year and I went slightly over. So i kepy buying more miles which cost around £200 for 1000 miles and they will ripp you off when they get the chance to and all they care is about money and not their customers. Not happy waste of money and time."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Just awfull, their black box from RS connect drains too much power from your battery, so killed 2 car battery's on mine, i was jump starting it over and over untill finally i am told it's a common problem and now seeing other peoples reviews on the net, I am gobsmacked they are allowed to get away with fobbing me off and saying they are not in any way at fault and their product is not the problem. I am now the one with the extra bills to pay for drain tests and new battery's , cancelling my insurace and going to another reputable company. Dont rely on the reviews on compare the meercat sites as on that it says they are a 5 star company.....NOT"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Nothing to say, very good."
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 6 months ago
"Worst insurance ever"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 6 months ago
"Both of my sons have been insured with Insure the box, I would never recommend them to anyone. Although initially, you think you may be saving a little money by having a box think again, the minute you need top up any miles they give you a massive bill that negates entirely any money saved. My eldest son has cancelled his insurance early well before he had actually used up his mileage and they have forced him into paying what they guesstimate he "might " have used as extra in the forthcoming months, he is now contacting the financial ombudsmen over this underhand practice. My advice is do not touch this company with even the very longest of barge poles pay a bit extra initially and at least rest assured that you won't have an insurance company like this one rubbing their hands with glee for every mile your Son / Daughter may additionally require."
1 Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 7 months ago
"Very hard to make contact even when asking about a possible claim also you have to self monitor your mileage and keep buying more miles.Recently found was minus 212 miles and no email or contact to warn me.,The site hadn't updated and kept telling me i had 87 miles"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"Easy and simple"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 7 months ago
insurethebox is rated 1.98 based on 167 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support