insurethebox Reviews

insurethebox have a Customer Happiness Grade of E. Customers are happy with their prices and customer service but are unhappy with their refunds. Full Insights

1.99 Rating 160 Reviews
21% of reviewers recommend insurethebox
793 Review Views (past 24 hours)
03AM - 5AM
18 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
105 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
38 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
122 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
45 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
54 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
153 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
96 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
44 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
62 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
18 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
38 Review Views
03AM
3AM
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone
communication channels

How would you rate insurethebox ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"i wouldn't have any other insurance company been with this company since first passing my test 2 years ago been a young driver my price for a brand new audi was the best and no other company compared to the one with in sure the box, staff are very polite and help you as much as they can and i don't mind having a box on end of the day who wants to go over the speed limit drive safe at all times :)"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
"Definitively the worst customer experience I have ever come across in regards to anything. Approximately two years ago I had a vehicle accident and was unfortunately forced to make a claim against my policy to claim. I was without my vehicle for nearly five to six weeks with little update what was going on from their 'approved repairer.' Anyway, I purchased another vehicle after being without mine for so long and cancelled my policy (it was on a monthly direct debit). I was supposedly advised that there would be a remaining balance going forward when the claim had come to a conclusion (baring in mind here that I was never called to disclose what the conclusion was following me cancelling my policy). At the time of cancelling my policy, I had taken out a fairly sizeable loan to cover all costs of my new vehicle, insurance, tax and any remaining debts at the time. I had enough to cover the insurance company however the figure was never asked for and time just moved on. 2 years and 5 months later, I receive a call off the rudest advisor requesting the outstanding balance. Due to the time period, I was a bit startled at the random call from an insurance company requesting £1200 from me after they've had several opportunities to request the money over the last 2 years. I had a call at the beginning of September requesting the figure to which I made a complaint about their customer service skills, lack of communication and failure to request the money at an earlier date. I spoke a manager at the company which I requested a call back later that day for a follow up the manager stated it may take a few days, I insisted for a call later that day just for a simple update. It never came. The company close at 20:00, at 19:56 I received an e-mail stating that the my balance had now been referred to collections. I spoke to someone else on Saturday who told me the company had a time-period in which they need to resolve the complaint and that the manager finished at 16:00 so absolutely no initial effort was made that day for my complaint, after requesting that the manager calls me back on Monday and I was promised a call-back as I'm sure you can see a repeating pattern, the call never came. Tuesday, the manager calls me stating first of all that he was slightly unaware that he was meant to call me that day although, midway through the call acknowledges the e-mail (not at all sure what is going on at this point). The manager states that due to a system change the call I requested listening too isn't easy to find and it'll take some time to find which is fine, these things happen so, I request another call the following day for a simple update on the complaint, to which I receive an e-mail instead and no further correspondence. Four weeks later. I receive a letter through the post explaining that it's now being handled by the complaints department stating they've taken over my case however, they are now going to take some time to resolve the complaint. A bit irritated now, that it has taken over a month to get one call listened to. At no stage have I said I am not paying the outstanding balance, I just wanted to make sure that information I received was correct and if it wasn't then this then a different conversation. 2 days ago, I receive a letter saying that my complaint isn't upheld which is based on the information stated although, my initial complaint is more to do with the customer service provided as oppose to the information. As not only do I feel unvalued as a previous customer of theirs, I know feel like a victim due to lack of communication provided by the company. So I spoke to 2 advisers, 1 manager and had a 1 way conversation with a complaints women who just sent me letters. 08/10/2018 - I receive a call off a women asking if it is a good time to talk, I reply that I'm in work how long is it going to take? (The line was quite bad however, which she made clear with a patronised, uninterested and fed up tone of voice. Which says a lot about the workplace environment never mind the customer experience) She replies with 'I don't know how long it's gonna take, if it's not a good time call us back on this number' - I requested a call-back at 12:00, to which she replied no, if it's not a good time for you, you can just call us back when it is. To which I disconnected the phonecall as I am absolutely sick of the disgusting attitude received by employees of this company. Not only is it a shambolic complaints procedure and an unfriendly customer service team. It is by far the worst experience company I've ever had to deal with. Anyone looking to do business with them, please look elsewhere. It is definitively worth paying a little bit more for a company that will look after you as oppose to one that treats you like a criminal. They will find anyway to rob you of what they can, they're commercial bullies. They couldn't care less about the experience they provide customers with, they're more interested in having your money and that be that. I never write a negative review on a company however, this has been utterly the worst experience I have ever come across. Take my word, I wouldn't sign anyone up with such an unfriendly bunch of people. There are much better companies out there."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Not had a problem with this company but then we've not had to make a claim so of course cannot comment on the claim process or customer service. With regard to top-up miles, you need to think very carefully about choosing the mileage you think you'll cover over a year. We chose 8K for my daughter, working out she'd probably cover between 6.5-7K and allowing for extra. With one month on the policy to go she's just covered over 7K. It states quite clearly on their website what the charges will be so drastically underestimating your predicted mileage to save a few quid is going to hit your pocket severely. The main complaint from most 1-2 star reviewers is cost of top-up miles and feeling you've been conned. Well that's your problem... Absolutely no complaints from me."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Absolutely awful just want to take advantage of younger drivers and get as much money out of them as possible."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Terrible experience"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 months ago
"Not a good company"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 months ago
"Been with them for nearly 10 months now. Im not poor but the top up miles are way expensive your better off not getting a black box insurance. Rang them up to cancel my insurance and they said i owe them £400!. I was not happy at all and its because i bought 6000 miles for the full year and I went slightly over. So i kepy buying more miles which cost around £200 for 1000 miles and they will ripp you off when they get the chance to and all they care is about money and not their customers. Not happy waste of money and time."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Just awfull, their black box from RS connect drains too much power from your battery, so killed 2 car battery's on mine, i was jump starting it over and over untill finally i am told it's a common problem and now seeing other peoples reviews on the net, I am gobsmacked they are allowed to get away with fobbing me off and saying they are not in any way at fault and their product is not the problem. I am now the one with the extra bills to pay for drain tests and new battery's , cancelling my insurace and going to another reputable company. Dont rely on the reviews on compare the meercat sites as on that it says they are a 5 star company.....NOT"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Nothing to say, very good."
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 months ago
"Worst insurance ever"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 months ago
"Both of my sons have been insured with Insure the box, I would never recommend them to anyone. Although initially, you think you may be saving a little money by having a box think again, the minute you need top up any miles they give you a massive bill that negates entirely any money saved. My eldest son has cancelled his insurance early well before he had actually used up his mileage and they have forced him into paying what they guesstimate he "might " have used as extra in the forthcoming months, he is now contacting the financial ombudsmen over this underhand practice. My advice is do not touch this company with even the very longest of barge poles pay a bit extra initially and at least rest assured that you won't have an insurance company like this one rubbing their hands with glee for every mile your Son / Daughter may additionally require."
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 5 months ago
"Very hard to make contact even when asking about a possible claim also you have to self monitor your mileage and keep buying more miles.Recently found was minus 212 miles and no email or contact to warn me.,The site hadn't updated and kept telling me i had 87 miles"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Easy and simple"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 5 months ago
"Okay let me spill tea... I'm a student in college, and I got this insurance as a first starter insurance, I had 6000 miles on my policy, so when my miles were nearly finished I decided to just cancel my insurance instead of going through all that annoyance, I called them up and guess what they said. These people were like 'okay that comes up to £633 for charge and cancellation' I was like how? They had the guts to be like 'well you were supposed to have 3000 miles left, we're charging you for that'.. like I was shocked, the only option that actually worked for me and my bank account was that I keep insurance for a car I can't FUCKING USE.. Its stupid as hell... like the hell how can u charge me for miles I was 'SUPPOSED' to have left, anyways never use their insurance, it was my first insurance I was gullible, and happy the price was cheap... now I know why."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Always a pleasure never a chore"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"They were quite professional with what they did. Sent me No claim Bonus in 1 day. I haven't had any issues with my driving even so I had reasons to expect them. Great company to start owning car. Would recommend them. 5/5"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Disgusting service! Definitely would NOT recommend. paid deposit for a hour later they text me saying ive got 4 days to pay the remainder, no reason just out the blue. I phone to be spoken to poorly and advised to appeal to wait 4 weeks to loose the appeal and then still have to loose 100+ Vile customer service!"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"When you claim against this outfit beware. They will pay out less than what has been agreed. Solicitors now trying to retrieve the shortfall. Obviously couldn't care less that people are left well out of pocket due to the actions of one of their customers. What a dishonest heap and the laws of the land should be protecting people from this kind of garbage. Pity you could give a minus rating."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Terrible customer service. no sympathy at all"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"They canceled my policy on the day they took the 2nd installment and when i called and told them to refund me they said ok we will , and they ditched me .. they said it will take up to 10 days to go back into my account , a month later ; no refund , no contact , no nothing , they are the worst insurance company , they are straight crooks ! give me back my refund ! NNNEVVER EVER EVEN THINK ABOUT BUYING A POLICY WITH THEM !! #thisisillegal"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
insurethebox is rated 1.99 based on 160 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This