Homeinsurer.co.uk Reviews

2.41 Rating 27 Reviews
37% of reviewers recommend Homeinsurer.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Homeinsurer.co.uk made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone
communication channels
"I called the claims department at 16:00 and the first thing attendant said was if it is urgent only then tell me otherwise I can call tomorrow. Then without asking my member details or anything he said that my computer is not covered in the insurance if I was working on it. Although I have clearly got it insured upon buying the insurance. He has been outright rude and from very first second of the phone call been saying "your claim is rejected"."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Terrible insurance broker who always tries to rip off customers. I got a building only insurance (not content), in a completely casual conversation, when they found out a child moves in, I was told I had to pay extra premium because "more occupants more chances to damage the building". I tried to explain, the insurance document says tenants are by virtue of tenancy agreement. Children are never classified as tenants. But they would not listen, their interpretation of tenants are occupants. If you have a building only policy with them, you will be liable to keep them posted if you or your tenants have a new born baby, it is rediculous!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.....RIP OFF MERCHANTS I re insured an empty property knowing it was going to be sold and only needed it for 2 and half weeks, I did explain this and asked what the fees where and was told there was a 35.00 cancellation fee............. well I paid 5.52 for the length of time the property was insured and has cost me 115.00 . I will get back 48.00 I am appalled how they can charge this. The staff are rude and are uninterested went as to have it expalained how they can rip people of like this............. TERRIBLE DREADFULL SERVICE STAY AWAY AT ALL COST"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"Had a terrible experience from initially taking out insurance on a comparison website, didn't receive documents via email & kept having to ring to eventually have them posted, emailed on 13/12/17 to cancel automatic renewal and they took the renewal out & refused to refund immediately saying I was in the wrong & should have rang them ? Very rude staff, (Rob & Amelia), am now contacting bank & ombudsman."
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"BEWARE! Had a policy with this company in 2016. They automatically renewed the policy in 2017 for £213 without contacting me first. When I tried to cancel they said a cancellation fee of £120 would be incurred. The company keep your card details and use them for future renewals without consent. Had to contact my bank to stop this happening again in the future. Although I have lost the money this time. AVOID!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"brilliant company never had any issues always deal with an agent named perry on the renewals department been with this broker for over 3 years now had a small issue with documents but this was resolved vert efficiently."
4 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I have never had an issue with HomeInsurer. I use them for both of my cars as well as my home and business insurance. I have previously dealt with an advisor named Alfie who was more than helpful. I would always recommend them to anyone. Don't be put off by the negative comments, quite frankly if you don't bother to read the T&C's then how can you possibly make a complaint about them?"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Same people as Thamesbank Insurance.......! Bought through Compare the market.com. After reading the T&C's more carefully I decided to cancel as they appeared to insure less and less under "what do not pay for". Bought through Compare the market and in my cooling off period I was charged £72 on a £177 policy for 3 days cover. Attitude was not great and a take it or leave it was offered. The T&C's and and application is NOT crystal clear regarding cancellation costs but unfortunately they were there! Had another look at the offering on the compare site and if you drill down the first 5 (five) companies were covered by Paragon the same details as Thamesbank Insurance and actually covered very little. Now taken much higher quote (not sure I can mention) but through a company named after a west Yorkshire town ;-) Glad I moved and much more confident. As they say "you get what you pay for" or you would hope too. Remember READ THE POLICY & T&C's"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"""Decided to cancel. On the letter it was the incorrect amount less than I actually had to pay, which I believe is dishonest. Secondly, doesn't really affect me but if i was this customer I would be very angry. I received someone else renewal documents with my cancellation letter, which is a clear breach of Data Protection. Trust in this company has been broken."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Shocking Company!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Incorrect information was added to my policy through no fault of my own, yet being charged to correct this. Have been given lots of misleading and incorrect information in the process, including being told the incorrect price of my original premium. Poor customer service with rude staff. I have now cancelled the policy as if this is how they deal with a small admin error I would hate to attempt to make a claim through them, if the time ever come. Please avoid this company."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Found this company through confused.com got through to an agent believe his name was Terry he said I was through to the wrong department and couldn't get me off of the phone quick enough. Then was passed through to another agent named Andy who was extremely helpful and nothing was to much. I am a first timer in the world of insurance as I've just recently purchased a house so don't have much of an idea what I'm doing! If you want someone who's going to give you their time and patience explaining the ins and out to you, ask for Andy. Will hopefully be renewing next year!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Usual sub prime market. Manned by people with no GCSE's and after a few quid. Don't ever pay them the capital charges. Just ignore it. Don't deal with them. EVER"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Could not be nicer when you are buying the product. When there's an issue however, staff a rude and very condesending. Blatently lied to me. I wanted to cancel insurance after an extremely shoddy experience in trying to make a claim for accidental damage to a TV. Told me I had to pay for an independent engineers report to prove the TV was broken, if it really was smashed they 'may' consider refunding the cost of the report within my claim. They would then send out a paper application form by post to be filled in which I had return, again, via 'snail mail'. I gave up and asked them to just cancel the claim and the policy. They then told me Creation would charge me around £140 to cancel which is ridiculous, as I had set up a loan under a finance agreement with creation . I called creation they informed me they don't charge anything to cancel the finance agreement and what they were probably trying to do was stop me from cancelling the policy as they would have to repay comission the company had for setting up the policy."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"BEWARE - if its cheap its because you get very little in return. We insured with these guys last year; at Christmas I bought a new bicycle which was subsequently stolen some 4 months later. Tried to make a claim but was told that bicycles had to be registered as separate items, would cost more to insure and had to be agreed with them. There are soooo many bad stories about this company. Find a proper insurer - we're voting with our feet."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY !!! There are not enough hours in the day to explain just how incompetent the employees of this company are. Remember this advice if not it will end up costing you a lot of money and stress. They get a one star rating as that is the lowest they can possibly get."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Brilliant brokerage! My home insurance has always been an ongoing drag every year to get it sorted out! This year I phoned up got straight threw to a helpful chap by the name of 'Andy' he went through everything with me and made the process a hell of a lot easier than what it usually is! Thank godness for him! Will most definitely be using them next year!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"SHOCKING CUSTOMER SERVICE & T&C's... they automatically renewed my insurance for, surprise surprise, a much larger amount that last year... However I had insured elsewhere, unbeknown to me I had agreed to auto-renewal (my bad and hands up), £191 on my credit card which I challenged, they then issue a £57 refund... Absolute joke of a company, the people who answer are condescending and insulting. They keep 2x admin charges and all their commission, and then tell you to ring the actual insurer to challenge it. They are not willing to support their customers and just want to shaft you, in the process they are disgustingly rude to deal with!! Funnily enough the MD "is never in the office and doesn't deal with customers"... I am proceeding with a complaint via the FCA, and WILL be finding this wimpy MD! Absolutely fuming at this company, they've shafted me for £130!!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE, STRAIGHT FORWARD ADVICE, WITH COMPETITIVE QUOTES WITH THE COVER I NEED, DOCUMENTS BIT SLOW BUT RECEIVED THEM WITH SHORT DELAY WOULD RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY 100%"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I received 2 letters from HomeInsurer, the last one dated 8th December 2016, stating that HomeInsurer.co.uk regret to advise that following the issue of a winding up petition by PwC and the Lichtenstein Financial Market Authority (FMA) against Gable Insurance AG, my Smart Home insurance policy will terminate and all cover will cease from 16th December 2016. I then received a Renewal Reminder letter dated 14th December 2016, stating that my home insurance was due for renewal on 8th January 2016, at a cost of £2,665.16, which is an increase of £2,449.26 on the previous years' policy! I rang HomeInsurer to find out why I had received the Renewal Reminder and why the price had gone up by £2,449.26, and they operators reply to the renewal letter was, "I guess you must have got the renewal letter by mistake, so just disregard it", and his reply to the increase is "well the increase is because it's the type of property you've got, you've got a chalet bungalow, so that's why the premium's gone up". I then told the operator, that I would no longer be using their company, and delete all my details, to which the operator agreed, because he knew how ridiculous it was. As soon as I mentioned the increase, and before I could finish he pointed out to me the vast increase and disappeared to find out why it had gone up so much, His reply was very hesitant and totally unsatisfactory, So to confirm, last year I had a chalet bungalow and my premium was £215.90, this year, I still have a chalet bungalow and my premium has gone up to £2,665.16 because I have a chalet bungalow. I don't advise anyone to go with this company because they clearly don't know what they are doing!! I will enjoy talking to the Ombudsman about this one."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Homeinsurer.co.uk is rated 2.41 based on 27 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support