Hastings Direct Smart Miles Reviews

3.4 Rating 1,909 Reviews
59 %
of reviewers recommend Hastings Direct Smart Miles
3.4
Based on 1,909 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
On-time Delivery
Greater than 72%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Hastings Direct Smart Miles Reviews
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Can do most things on line, but still had to phone to clarify a few things
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there, Thanks for getting in touch and leaving a review. We do strive to keep our website as up to date as we can but there are some things we still need to speak to our policy holders about. Hope you got the issues sorted out in the end. - Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
Change your current finance company as 50% apr is discusting. Almost as bad as have a pay day loan. Now paying an additional 100 on my renewal price because it is taken over monthly. If I never paid or was a bad payer I would understand but I am not. Wouldn?t recommend anyone now using this although I would have last year.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi, we appreciate the feedback and it will be looked into by our team. ~Connor
Posted 3 years ago
I spoke to someone about my braking was constantly on 0 and was told I must be doing emergency stops.... I spoke to 2 other people about my policy for different reasons and they have been ok
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good customer service really friendly over the phone made my car being insured a breeze
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
My smart meter mysteriously started going near the danger zone when my insurance was up also my braking is never recorded and got a very rude experience from their staff who could care
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I am very sorry to hear you have had a poor customer experience. We will ensure this is fed back to our team for future improvement. ~Connor
Posted 3 years ago
decent but ridiculously expensive to add an address to the policy. ?1700? When my policy itself was only ?1100. A joke
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hello, I'm sorry to hear that we couldn't be more competitive on this occasion. The address is a rating factor and as a result it can affect the premium. I appreciate that it resulted in an increase on this occasion and that this is rarely a welcome change -Theo
Posted 3 years ago
Pros Prices is good Customer service is good Cons The app and black box are overly sensitive in my opinion
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hello,? It's good to see that we were able to provide competitive prices and offer satisfactory customer service. We appreciate your review concerning the telematics box and we will bare this mind going forward. Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback and for choosing us as your insurance provider -Theo
Posted 3 years ago
Good customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hello, It's good to see we were able to provide a satisfactory level of customer service for you.? Thank you for taking the tme to leave a review with us -Theo
Posted 3 years ago
It?s very good at saving money, but it?s very strict. For example, when you drive after 10pm, your score goes drastically low, however when you try to build it up, it takes a very long time!!! Apart from that it?s fine.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi,?? Thanks for your review, it's correct to say scores are weighted differently and increases do need to be slower to achieve for time of day as the insurer is trying to limit the occasions you do it. This is to shield you from the time of highest risk and improve your chances of being claim-free by the renewal?? ~Joe?
Posted 3 years ago
It was okay but feel like I?m forced to drive my car when I don?t want to. when I got the policy you are telling me Ive not done enough miles to get a score yet, and if you don?t drive I won?t get a score so my policy gets cancelled so you are telling me I am being forced to waste petrol to get a score which is what I had to do, I should be scored instantly not to have to do 100 miles first because that?s ridiculous this has to change
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi,?? Thanks for your welcome feedback, hopefully I can shed some clarification. The box does need around 60-100 miles to generate a score however cancellations would only be for scores remaining under the threshold which is 40. I'm sorry if you felt your policy might be cancelled for any other reason?? ~Joe?
Posted 3 years ago
Trying to renew my insurance and my address at the same time 2 days before it was due to expire was a nightmare with the first agent however once renewed automatically the second agent was very dilligent and helpful
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hello,? I'm sorry to hear that your initial experience was such a negative one. It's good to hear however that you received the service that you deserved in the end and thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us? -Theo
Posted 3 years ago
i would love to give 5 stars so im sorry its only 3, i have problems with your box not being accurate and i feel so restricted on when i can drive, i work all day and like travelling on the weekend, im unable to do so because im scared my insurance will be cancelled due to me loosing too many points, if i were to be a "boy racer" i wouldnt opt for this policy maybe be a bit harsher on the scoring system but allow me to drive later at night so i can visit my long distant girlfriend, i know im just one case of this but it means so much to me and i cant afford 1000s for insurance, many thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate the points that have been made and the thoughtful manner in which you have done so. We're aware that due to the time constraint, this policy may not be be best suited for all customers and I hope your score isn't heavily affected by this -Theo
Posted 3 years ago
Whilst my concern was dealt with, the response that I received I was not happy with. It?s responses like these that give companies bad feedback . I felt that my querie was just brushed off.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi,? I apologise you were not pleased to receive our response and can appreciate it is frustrating not to be given the resolution you wanted. Thank you for the feedback and if there is anything else you feel we have not dealt with please just get in touch?? ~Joe
Posted 3 years ago
I believe my driving was scored fairly however having 10:00pm as a driving time restriction can sometimes destrupt day to day activities.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi, In order to shield our drivers from the most risk especially driving after 10:00, we reduce scores however we do know you may need to on occasion and therefore don't impose an actual curfew ~Joe?
Posted 3 years ago
The app was really useful for telling me how good my driving was, but i would've liked to know how i could improve for each drive itself, for example where in particular did i show speeding in my journey
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi, Thank you for the review. We're always happy to give our drivers score advice and explain individual events. Just give us a call on?01733 308 380 and we can do that with you? ~Joe
Posted 3 years ago
Reasonable price and insurance was sorted quickly. Customer service could be better as the employee who handled my case was a little abrupt/inpatient at times
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review us and provide your feedback,. It's helpful for us to identify where we need improving ~Joe
Posted 3 years ago
I wouldn't recommend anyone to go with this company I was insured by them for 2months before my car broke down I paid annually to get if around 300 pound cheaper this was my first car I had only just past my test a month before I was 25 and it cost me around £2000 for a 1.6 petrol Renault senic family car ideal for my work as I'm a personal assistant need space for a wheel chair n pram in the boot and something 5 doors not to low to the ground this car broke down so I went out and bought a 2 litre Ford focus cmax and went to swap over and they wanted a further £1000 to cover this car so I cancelled and got back around £750 of my £2000 back. black box is rubbish if you live on a hill with the score always low on breaking and acceleration.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
The staff need to be better trained and be sensitive to the information they request which is NOT entirely necessary and could be abused.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi, Thanks for the review and your feedback. Hopefully your request went through smoothly ~Joe
Posted 3 years ago
Good insurance, chose because the price wasn't astronomical - relatively speaking. Thought the black box policy was good - monitoring braking, speed and acceleration definitely helped me become a safer more cautious driver. However, the curfew (not allowed to drive between 10pm and 5am) was ridiculous, and really hindered not only me and my job, but also other people who used my car (named drivers like my parents). Overall good, but the curfew was a real pain.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi, I'm pleased to see you were satisfied overall, but would like to address your concerns regarding a "curfew".?Time of day is one of the four elements we use towards your driving score. Although there tends to be less traffic at night it is a more dangerous time to drive. Road casualty statistics from ROSPA show that 40% of collisions occur in the hours of darkness. It is for this reason that we weigh this element more heavily than some of the others. Driving between 10pm and 5am will reduce your score, but we do not set a curfew and policy holders are free to drive during these hours. ~Connor
Posted 3 years ago
wasn't great but ok
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Thank you for taking time to leave a review, it is much appreciated. ~Connor
Posted 3 years ago
Hastings Direct Smart Miles is rated 3.4 based on 1,909 reviews