Hastings Direct Smart Miles Reviews

3.4 Rating 1,909 Reviews
59 %
of reviewers recommend Hastings Direct Smart Miles
3.4
Based on 1,909 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
On-time Delivery
Greater than 72%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Hastings Direct Smart Miles Reviews
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Happy with the Set up....But not Happy about this 2nd Year the score is carried on from Previous year.....Should be back too 100...
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Roget,Thank you for leaving this review. Your score in the 2nd year goes towards your potential renewal price or whether we would indeed insure you further. In the 1st years insurance as I'm sure you know if your score drops below 40 we go through a potential cancellation process. This isn't the case in your 2nd year.~ Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
Is first time with Hastings Direct SmartMiles , is good idiya to help bed driving.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there,Thank you for taking to the time to leave this review. If you do need to speak with our team regarding your scores at any point you can on 0800 048 2955.~ Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
not sure what to think. i dont have the car anymore wef 30.9.2018
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. ~ Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
After renewing my policy two weeks ago and asking for it to be sent by post in paper form I have recieved nothing!!! No paper form documents nothing by e mail nothing. Zilch. Am Ieven insured? Not very professional.Disappinted to say the leastp
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there,I'm sorry to see you have had issues receiving your documents after recently purchasing a policy through us. All documents are sent 2nd class and can take some time to get to you. If you are still concerned that you are not insured you can call out team on 01733 308 380 and an advisor would be more than happy to help.~ Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
I dont have any issues with hastings itself .. however someone has to explain how they work out the driver ratings , i did phone up about them and was told it was a complicated algorithm ... basically they could change your score at anytime and not give any explanation...
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there, Thank you for your feed back, I appreciate you have spoken to one of our advisers about how the box data is collated but we do have a dedicated team that can go through all the individual scores with you and how the box works them out. You can reach them on 0800 048 2955 and they are available between 9.00?and 5.30. hope this helps. Thanks - Jamie ?
Posted 3 years ago
It?s alright SmartMiles.... but I don?t see how using your car once on a night journey can drop your scoring by 7% Overall it?s given me a discount in year two, but I?d of got that with other brokers too. ??
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there, Thanks for your review. The time of day score is a percentage of your night time driving (10pm - 5am) and your day time driving (any other time). We have a group of people here called underwriters who are?essentially risk assessors who look at what risk you pose driving during the day to driving at?night hence the drop in score. Hopefully this explains it a bit better for you. Glad you got a reduction on your renewal though. Thanks?- Jamie ?
Posted 3 years ago
The app is easy to use and navigate. But sometimes I'd like more information on why I'm losing points and advice on how to increase my rating
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there, Thanks for the feedback, the app is great and easy to use however if you have any questions or query's?we have a dedicated team to help you understand how the scores are generated and how (if needed) to improve them. Their number?is 0800 048 2955. Hope this helps. Thanks - Jamie?
Posted 3 years ago
I have been a customer with Hastings direct for the 4th year in a row. Discount was nothing. Why offer one and raise the price is baffling. There have been many thingsbwhich have been pointed out which have been failed to be informed of through past years. Shall not be returning next year if things havnt improved through the year.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there, I'm sorry that you?are having?a negative experience with Hastings SmartMiles. I'm sure you will have a hassle free experience for the rest of the policy though. If you have any further issues or problems please do not hesitate in contacting us. Thanks - Jamie ?
Posted 3 years ago
Friendly staff, clear information. I was pleased that this year you told me on the 2nd April for my bill, however last year you told me on the 10th which wasn't so good. I wasn't so happy that compared to last year I had a discount of nearly 50%(score was on average 92), this year I only had a discount of ?40(9%)(scored on average 88), whilst a big initial discount after 1 years driving is great, it would help if you could tell people that the following year the discount won't be as big.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback, its great that you received a reduction on your second years insurance. Your comments will be fed back though in regards to the transparency of the third years premium. - Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
Only negative is regarding the smartmiles app/blackbox, the scoring system for braking is very difficult to maintain a high score without having to brake like a 60+ year old. This simply is not feasible on the roads as it will lead to build up of traffic. I myself brake with plenty of time but still receive lower than average scores for braking. Have spoken to others who have policy's with smart miles and have similar experiences with their black box. Otherwise i have not had any issues and my renewal of policy automatically is a good feature and has lowered each year. Have not had to use the breakdown cover yet. Have spoke to customer services on a few occasions and agents were polite and efficient.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback, braking can be?a hard element of the scoring to maintain as the box records data as if you were on a driving lesson/test. Thank you for renewing with us for another year though, its great to see your premium has reduced this year and that you are happy with the service we supply. - Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
na
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I am sorry to hear you had a poor experience. Any extra feedback would be greatly appreciated. ~Connor
Posted 3 years ago
Customer service isn?t bad. Always quick to sort issues, website is a bit hard to use to edit your policy though.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hello there, Thank you?for your feedback, I'm glad that the service?we provided you was at the standard?you expected. Your?comments regarding the website will be fed back as well. Thanks - Jamie?
Posted 3 years ago
Always consideratewhen I rang up with a question. Acceleration score went down dramatically with no reason but the price on the second year went down loads. Changing cars costs a lot extra so wouldnt suggest doing that. Overall were okay
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hello,? It's good to hear that your overall experience with us was a good one. We appreciate the feedback concerning the change of vehicle process and price and we're happy to take this on board. Thank you for choosing smartmiles as your insurer an I hope that the positive experience with us continues -Theo
Posted 3 years ago
For the most part it was accurate in terms of acceleration, legal speeds but breaking was not working at all. all year round my breaking score was 0 since day 1 till 365. No matter how you drove long or short distances breaking was not measured properly which always reduced your total score. But as long as it stays within 40/100 you are safe from any issues. For beginers its alright but for anyone with adult life is pointless due to 10pm cut of curfew. (reduces the score insignificantly btw)
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there, I can understand your frustrations regarding?the time of day score. Many of?our policy holders are young, inexperienced drivers and with over 40% of accidents?between 10pm and 5am as an insurance company we need to know they are safe and not (potentially) going to be out between these hours. This however does impact our more experienced drivers. - Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
I?m a returning customer and the info on my renewal was incorrect and outdated.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there, I'm sorry that you have had incorrect information attached to your policy details. Hope everything has been rectified now though. - Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
I think the whole point system is a bit of a joke, i?ve struggled to get above 50, however my score when i was ready for renewal was 52 and it made my renewal price literally half of what i paid in my first year, baring in mind it was my first year on my own name, so i?ve continued my second year with smartmiles due to it being my cheapest option, although the score may be unreasonable the price is definitely worth it
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there, I'm sorry that you found the "points system" a struggle but as you have found out the higher your diving behaviour score the more discount you receive at renewal. Having your policy reduce by half is a testament to your good driving so well done. - Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
I would like to see your app and car device that's sits on your battery connected to your car. Your app device needs to update quicker than before not 60 miles. It should be updated every 10 miles and have a better system that dedecteds better moment with the car plus show more information on break and eceloration as well.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hello, Thank you for the feedback you've provided concerning the telematics product. We appreciate the time you've taken and we'll pass this on to the relevant team. Perhaps this can be used to improve the current product and service that's provided -Theo
Posted 3 years ago
Very helpful, however was disappointed that to change the address on the policy last year meant an extra payment over ?120 yet other cars in the household went down in price. just because it's telematics I seem to have been penalised for moving house.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hello,? I'm sorry to hear about the increase in price following your change of address. While the postcode is a rating factor, the driver's age, vehicle and other factors are also taken into account. I appreciate it is a significant increase and I understand the frustration as a result. I hope that you've since been able to find a more suitable price or failing that the renewal will be a competitive one -Theo
Posted 3 years ago
I was rather disappointed at the score of 75 I received. With the box recording the car usage I tried very hard to stay within the law ( not that I don't usually ), not speeding etc. The young man who I spoke to regarding renewal gave the impression that some scores had been revised!!! Could this be a case in point? It would be interesting to have a breakdown of figures
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there, I can understand your disappointment with a score of 75 although the average is 65 so you are well above that which is great. Your online dashboard will give you a breakdown of the individual scores (braking, acceleration, speed and time of day). If you want a further breakdown you can always contact our Customer Service team on 01733 308380. - Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
I rang and it took me 3 conversations before getting the right department and that was I only to renew the policy
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Amanda, Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry to hear that you had?problems getting through to the right department but hope you got the renewal sorted out in the end. - Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
Hastings Direct Smart Miles is rated 3.4 based on 1,909 reviews