Hastings Direct Smart Miles Reviews

3.4 Rating 1,909 Reviews
59 %
of reviewers recommend Hastings Direct Smart Miles
3.4
Based on 1,909 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
On-time Delivery
Greater than 72%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Hastings Direct Smart Miles Reviews
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Good service but SmartMiles never seems to update
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there,Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to see you feel that your box data never updated, it might be the case that you haven't done the full mileage as it updates every 65-70 miles. If you do have any further issues and have been driving this amount, please contact our SmartMiles team on 01733 308 380 .~ Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
Different staff told me different information when it came to my claim process. Team should communicate better.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
They should explain that the smartmiles doesnt reset with the renewal of the policy. Also, they should explain better that you need to drive loads to allow for more accurate scores
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there,Thank you for this feedback. Unfortunately we have to continue the box data through renewal to keep an accurate reading of your driving. I will feed this back to the SmartMiles team though.~ Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
Why charge me nearly ?2k in first year but then ?650 for second
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there,Thank you for your review. We reward our policy holders for high driving behaviour scores, the extra years no claims you would have earned would have also contributed to the size of the discount you received on your second years insurance.~ Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
It was okay, hastings told me that they would see why my acceleration wasnt moving off 0, however they did not get back in touch with me.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm really sorry to see that you have been promised a call back but not received one. We do have a dedicated team that will be able to look into this further for you. The First Response Unit can give really handy hints and tips as well and can be contacted on 0800 048 2955.~ Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
I had a horrible experience in regards to an accident I had not long after I took out the policy. I didn't feel listened to, I was discriminated against. However, my renewal quote was good and I am happy with the service I have received since.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there,Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry to see you were involved in an accident and hope you didn't sustain any injuries because of it. We appreciate that in this tough time you should be treated with sympathy and patience. If this wasn't the case I apologise and hope that you don't have a similar experience again. Its great to see you a renewed with us though for another year, so thank you.~ Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
The service was cheap for my first year of insurance although the black box was limiting. Being out later than 10pm will greatly effect your score. If you use more miles than you put down you better be ready to pay out for them! Although this is the case the staff over the phones were always helpful if i needed anything or any advice.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. As an insurance company, we have a level of responsibility to our younger more inexperienced drivers and suggest that they dint drive between these hours. We are as transparent as possible when you take your policy out so as to make you aware that this is monitored. I do apologise though if this was overlooked at all.~ Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
Good priced Insurance for young or new drivers especially and the rate went down dramatically after the first year making it very affordable. The SmartMiles app though does not seem to record drives fairly, for example driving during unsocial hours once could bring the score right down and does not allow you to make up for it.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there,Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to see you are unhappy with the time of day score that we monitor. We are as transparent as possible about his area, and as an insurer have a level of responsibility for our younger more inexperienced drivers and suggest they don't drive during this period. As long as you counter balance your night time driving with day time driving, you can improve your score. If you need any hints or tips to improve, please call the First Response Unit on 0800 048 2955.~ Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
Cheap insurance after the first year but don?t believe the black box score! I don?t speed or brake sharply but getting very low scores. But the price is very reasonable and the customer service is very good.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
HI there,Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to see you are not satisfied with the accuracy of the box data. If you are ever unsure that the reading are correct, you can request for technical data report which will enable us to produce examples of journeys where you may have left your braking too late or gone over the speed limit. Please call the team on 01733 308 380 to request this information.~ Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
no comment
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
The service is ok, but I was on Hastings smart miles, and naturally thought that my insurance would be cheaper this year due to the decent score I received via the telematics box in my car. It?s actually gone up, despite another year of no claim bonus.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Actually inform customers of the things that make up the insurance policy apon renewal.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I think that it could be improved if you received a score after you had completed each journey. It does seem a little ridiculous that you have to wait a month to find out how well you are driving.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Black box barely recorded my driving. Said I was driving with ignition off etc. Acceleration was put down to 20 for no reason.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Xcc
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hello there,Thank you for taking the time to rate our product.~ Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
Jamie was the agent, he was super nice and chill. But I am kinda annoyed because the information on my renewal documents were incorrect which changed my renewal price, the wrong postcode was recorded on the system. Jamie changed it and it was all fine. However, the wrong documents were sent across to the credit company, meaning that I cannot sign my document. This is really annoying as it is delaying my signing of the documents.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hello there,Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I'm sorry to see you have had issues with your documents showing incorrect information. I can imagine this is very frustrating especially in the light that you are relying on them for your credit company. I hope this has all been rectified now and is as it should be.~ Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
The price was good but I was dismayed that the breakdown didn't add up by some ?27. After some argument &, frankly, a lot of bullshit coming back, you eventually admitted you had sneaked in legal benefits which was not on the schedule ! It was refunded. This is not an honest way to do business.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there,Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to see there was an issue with the added extras on the policy and that we made a mistake by including an optional extra. I'm glad you managed to get the situation rectified though in the end.~ Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
Nothing really .. except that I would hope you are there for me when i eed you ! n
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
By having a Smartbox I saved nearly ?200 on my car insurance for 2017/2018. I'm not a new driver but I hadn't had a car for 4 years so I was starting from scratch, zero no claims bonuses. Nevertheless, I don't like the way they run their scoring, particularly time of day and speeding. There's no transparency or accountability. They can (and did) make up numbers to suit themselves, presumably to keep the customer under pressure to conform to their idiosyncrasies. The time of day score is nonsense. "40% of accidents occur between 10pm and 5am". Well, that's actually over 30% of the day, so it's not really statistically significant. I think many of those stats are for drink drivers: I'm a complete abstainer from alcohol, so I'm penalised for other people's carelessness/ recklessness/ wilfulness. I don't use my car for work, only for attending mainly church related events (mid-week prayer meetings/bible studies) which finish after 10pm, but no alcohol involved or rowdy socialising that's likely to make me lose concentration. If anything, I'd be more sensible and focussed than the average driver. The other one is the speeding score. Before Christmas 2017 a new road opened nearby. Hastings, in their wisdom, decided the limit was 30 mph, when in fact it was actually 40mph (which I'd kept within). Several weeks had passed before I got round to checking my App so I queried why I'd had 20% knocked off my score. They said they'd check it. Before they got back to me I noticed I'd been deducted another 10%- same stretch of road, but, of course, I didn't know at this stage that their system was wrongly saying I'd been speeding. Eventually they 'refunded' 10% for each of the two occasions when I'd made my enquiries. I was back work by the time they told me the reasons why I'd been penalised (in error by them) but I'd asked for communication by email, as I can't take phone calls at work. They agreed to make emails the primary means of communication. I emailed again to challenge their not restoring the full 100% on my speeding score. They refused to email me, and insisted that they had to discuss it over the phone. They have failed to address this matter correctly, and it hasn't affected my premiums for this year's renewal. I have obtained a greater discount than I would have done had I not had the Smartbox, so that's a positive. They have finally increased my (supposed) 'speeding' score to 95% recently, but they didn't reset the 'speeding' and 'time of day' scores for the start of the new insurance period. If I weren't a very careful driver, and my last year's scores hadn't been so good, I would be in a position in which it would be almost impossible to maintain a good score for this and subsequent years as penalties are cumulative, not averaged. e.g. my 'time of day' score was 65% last year. If I drive (very safely) for the next year, with the same time of day profile, I'd be down to 30%! Common sense indicates that I'm being doubly penalised here. My score for subsequent years ought to be the same for the same profile of usage as for the first year. Of course they make their own rules up. They don't have to be moral, logical, fair or just. If you're hard nosed and are prepared to be patronised intensely, like I was, it will save you around ?200 a year on your insurance.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
No.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there,Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to see you think we are too expensive.~ Jamie
Posted 3 years ago
Hastings Direct Smart Miles is rated 3.4 based on 1,909 reviews