Halifax Insurance Reviews

3.74 Rating 205 Reviews
72% of reviewers recommend Halifax Insurance
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone
communication channels

How would you rate Halifax Insurance ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"Charge for every adjustment to car insurance policy even when it is their fault. Do not investigate fraudulent claims from other parties even when we had photographic evidence that there was no damage, they simply paid out and then raised our premium. Awful company, they are clearly in the business just to rip off customers. DO NOT USE THEM."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
"After reading the reviews on other sites I was wary when I had to ring to change payment date after a technical glitch online . But I have to say the customer service adviser was pleasant , helpful and even rang me back when she had sorted it.so I’m impressed at her efficiency."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Changed excess with out my knowledge from £150 to £400 only found out when I needed to claim been with them 7 years,disgusting very happy to take your money but don't pay up !!!!!!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Two points 1. I have just moved home, phoned HALIFAX car insurance to change my address I was told that it would cost £25.Earlier my wife phoned HALIFAX and was not charged.After a long time on the phone my charge was wavered, with the following reason,.It is up to the discretion of the operative. 2. Received my insurance renewal,great shock it has risen by 45%. I contacted HALIFAX to ask why, they could not explain .after escalating the call to a manager ,again they did not know ,saying it could be due to various conditions....question to the manager please explain what are the changes, the reply was the same....various possible reasons.I was also told that if I wanted I could cancel my policy.. HALIFAX don’t you want my business?."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I had to cancel my insurance policy due to selling my vehicle. I was met with a lot of jargon and talk of how much money they could get out of me. Then for 5 days I was bombarded with texts and letters regarding an extortionate cancellation fee. Will never use Halifax for anything again. Not a good experience at all. Also I didn't receive my no claims bonus as promised."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Disgraceful service. Told I have no claim as my leaking roof is a flat bed and is subject to deterioration due to weather change! Then told after a five minute call that this would be recorded as an unsuccessful claim and my premiums would go up. Now have to wait 3 days for customer care to contact me as I am not accepting this."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"The worst insurance company I’ve ever dealt with. They list evidence of a call I made to them requesting legal expense cover and now are refusing to provide this service. Please avoid this sham of a company like the plague."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Lost roof tiles due to a storm but because the wind over 20miles away wasn't classed as storm worthy they won't cover us! Absolute farce!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"The worst insurance company I've ever dealt with. Awful staff, awful service, excesses are higher than average and it's almost impossible to make a claim. I've tried to claim for damage to a shower wall after a pipe was leaking behind it - not covered. Damage to ceiling from leaking shower - covered but £350 excess. Asked them to investigate wet brickwork - they won't send anyone. I will never use them again."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"CAR SALARY SACRIFICE - be aware!!! My new car insurance company Halifax have rejected my no claims discount letter as although the letter states I was the sole driver the policy is in my old companies name! I am FUMING!!! I told Halifax to shove it! Surely to god, there are loads of people that are in the same scheme that will buy their own car eventually! Halifax threatened to cancel the policy, so I told him to ##### do it anyway! 🤬 Waleed Hussain, supervisor Halifax Insurance - your moment of fame! I’m off!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Very easy made simple to use no awkward questions very easy"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Car insurance, auto-renews. No option to cancel auto-renewal online. No address given for post. 30 minutes of really bad hold to get through to customer service - then it all goes well. Don't seem to have enough handlers, don't tell you how long the wait is, no option to avoid auto-renewal other than by phone."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I am not usually one to write reviews on companies unless they are acceptionally good or acceptionally bad.. unfortunately this is for the latter... If you expect to get a decent and fair settlement figure when going through a claims process do not go to Halifax for home insurance. Having lost my diamond from my engagement ring I am over 12 weeks into a dispute where they are only offering me just over half of what my ring is insured for. It is valued higher than what it’s insured for too, which makes the situation worse. They are still dragging out the process and saying they need more time. Not happy at all as all I want is a fair settlement figure for a very valuable and sentimental piece of jewellery. They are also holding my engagement ring band until the issue has been resolved. It is my property. Customer service and communication has been very poor. I have on several occasions asked for proof of valuation stating all information in relation to the valuation they have been supplied by Goldsmith’s Jewellers, this has never arrived. I have provided proof on two occasions from a diamond merchant that it’s impossible to come up with such a low figure - they have chosen to ignore this information provided. I could go on with this review but I think this says enough in itself. I hope people will think twice about using this insurance company."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Terrible service"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Awful customer service. For a short term / car changeover lots of hidden fees. Paid for a full year of breakdown cover which couldn't be transferred to a new car. Ended up paying 1/3 of the annual price for just 3 weeks cover. Communication was awful, tried to send emails, only seem to act like robots on the phone. Just a corporatation that cares about money and not genuine customers. God forbid making a claim with them. I will never use of recommend again. My information was also sold onto third parties. Which is not ok and a breach of data protection."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Stay away from these guys at all cost. A Claim from 2013 still not paid out and it’s now the middle of 2018. They tried every dirty trick in the book from the outset to mess us up. Left us in a wet and mouldy property with no assistance. Unqualified, overzealous and unhelpful claims managers. In 2018 we finally got a final decision so we could take the issue to the ombudsman. 5years on we are with the adjudicator who has ruled in our favour, halifax still don’t agree so now we are waiting for the ombudsmans final ruling."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Whatever you do don’t go near Halifax buildings and contents insurance. I made my first claim this morning ever. I was flooded out by my neighbour upstairs due to a blocked down pipe, the water went up into his partially blocked sink and came down into my bedroom. I had to phone the fire brigade to gain access to his flat-because he was on holiday. My bedroom, ceiling, carpets and lighting were soaked. I had no electricity all weekend. Because I had never made a claim I had a clause in my insurance which included any excess would be waivered amongst others “flood”. I was informed that I would be liable for £500 excess as I didn't have a flood it was an “escape of water”Also to top it off my premium would go up next year. I think this is one for RIp off Britain. 32 years I have been with Halifax buildings and Contents They pretend to reward you for not claiming then play with words so that you end up the loser. Tell me what is the difference between a flood and an escape of water. My bedroom was flooded out from upstairs. My ceiling might be ready to fall down and Halifax never even offered to send someone out to inspect it when I asked. I was told to source my own tradesman. A case of they take your premium over a 32year period and when push comes to shove they punish you financially Be very careful when you take out Halifax Building and contents it’s not what it seems. I am retired and can not afford extra expense"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Took out car insurance with this company ....absolutely disgusting customer service and one to definitely avoid .... had an accident where 3rd party hit me on wrong side of road. The underwriters ageas informed me the third party had admitted liability. Halifax unprofessional unable to process information and now claiming I'm due to pay excess and lose my no claims when other party have clearly admitted liability. If you want an insurance company to look after you in a car accident this IS NOT the one ....avoid this company at all costs ."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Wast of time. Told them we had a leak under floor in utility room. Big mistake. Now they won’t fix it. Cause they wanted to find it!!!!!! Don’t waste your money on this insurance policy....."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Called monday morning after having my car stolen with my house keys in, had my locks changed by 5pm same day. Cant complain."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Halifax Insurance is rated 3.74 based on 205 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This