Budget Insurance Reviews

2.62 Rating 190 Reviews
39% of reviewers recommend Budget Insurance
848 Review Views (past 24 hours)
7PM - 9PM
86 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
34 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
18 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
35 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
19 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
89 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
42 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
44 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
94 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
138 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
79 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
170 Review Views
7PM
7PM
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Budget Insurance made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Own Driver
delivery methods
Customer Service
Telephone
communication channels
"We were involved in a hit and run and informed budget even though the cost to repair was less than the excess so we had no intention to claim. This is now classed as a accident with an unknown status for upto 5 years and the maximum claims/accidents on the policy is 3 so now my spouse cannot be insured. It's like a triple whammy, the cost personally to repair my van, the additional insruance cost for the next 5 years whilst this accident is on my record and now my spouse not able to be on the policy. The insurance has now been cancelled several times, due to incorrect information on Budgets system. Have needed to ring every time at our expense to explain again what has happened to get it reinstated then they cancel again. Also they have absolutely no understanding of the Northern Ireland driving license DVA being different from the mainland."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Are you Budget Insurance? No one is perfect. Reply to this negative review and show your potential customers that you value the feedback Budget Insurance receives and that when things do go wrong you do your best to put things right. Reply Free
"I had home insurance. Went to put in a claim for a dropped ipad. They refused to pay out they made out the damage wasn’t consistent with a fall. Which is absolute rubbish. My 10yr old fell/dropped it. Accident. I paid extra for accidental damage. Not happy. I would never recommend or never use again!!!! I am fuming!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"DO NOT USE! - Went through go-compare, got quoted, paid deposit then started policy. Got a letter through saying they were increasing my premium by £500. Shocked I called to query and they told me one of my claims was down by another insurer as a fault claim, not a notification only which I had stated. This was incorrect so I then got the old insurer to update the miss - information and Budget then kindly sent me a letter saying they were only hiking up the price by £490 now. Such a con. I then cancelled, they kept my deposit and charged me £50 'Admin fee'. So they got £250 out of me for absolutely nothing in return.... great business model"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Hi,
We are sorry to hear you have had a bad experience and we would like to look into this for you. Please can you send your Full Name, Date of Birth and Postcode to socialresponders@bglgroup.co.uk.
Thanks,
Budget Social Team.
Posted 2 weeks ago
"40 mins on telephone, with one operator putting the phone down, I was just trying to change registration number, only then to be told they would not insure. Worst customer service ever experienced! Contacted Direct Line in under 10 mins got new insurance with better cover and at at a lower price. As many reviews state, these people are con artists, use at your peril!! AVOID, AVOID, AVOID."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Hi,
We are sorry to hear you have had a bad experience. Please can you send your Full Name, Date of Birth and Postcode to socialresponders@bglgroup.co.uk so we can see what we can do to help.
Kind Regards,
Budget Social Team.
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Within a week of paying in full for Car Insurance they wrote to inform me of a claim that I never made and hiked my price by £600,00 Despite sending them written confirmation that I had not made a claim from my previous insurer they still wanted to double the premium. I had to cancel and am now wondering how much hassle I will have in getting some of my money back. They caused me no end of worry."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi,
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience. Please could you respond to this message with your Full Name, Date of Birth and Post Code to socialresponders@bglgroup.co.uk and we will see if there is anything we can do to help.

Many Thanks,
Budget Social Media Team
Posted 2 months ago
"Both my husband who has a landrover defender and myself who has an Isuzu utah pickup have recently insured with Budget on commercial policies. When checking my policies I realised that neither policies cover any of the insured to drive other vehicles - I questioned this and they said it is because people were using these policies to drive fleet vehicles instead of having fleet policies. I explained that it wasn't fair to assume that was the case with all commercial vehicle users and it makes it awkward for people who may just want a car to use for a day or week. I then asked about hiring a car for a week - I was told that I would have to get a quote from Budget (my insurer) for a year policy and then cancel it - so effectively a time on risk in old terms. I advised that this will be how they get their money as people will sometimes forget to cancel and they can then charge - very sneaky!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hello.
We are sorry to hear you have had a bad experience with ourselves, we would like to investigate this for you.
Please can you provide us with your Full Name, Date of Birth and Postcode to socialresponders@bglgroup.co.uk so we can look into this for you.
Kind Regards,
Budget Social Team.
Posted 4 months ago
"Please do NOT USE THIS COMPANY just a bunch of cowboys, unfortunately I missed one d d and within two days, they then issue you with a default notice then send threatening emails to you threatening to do this and that to you and that they will cancel your policy and then put charges on top of charges , the are nothing but thieving toe rags, use this company at you peril and I have the emails to prove it."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi,
We are sorry to hear you have had a bad experience and we would like to investigate this for you.
Please can you send your Full name, Date of Birth and Postcode to socialresponders@bglgroup.co.uk so we can look into this.
Kind Regards,
Budget Social Team.
Posted 4 months ago
"Awful. I got a quote through go compare and then set up the policy with budget. There was a glitch in the system so my whole name did not appear. I rang up to change it the next day and they told me to change my name the policy would need to be redone and I was then quoted a price that was £300 more expensive. I had to cancel the policy and it took days to get my money refunded. A scam to get more money from you. Stay away!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi,
We are sorry to hear you have had a bad experience. Please can you send your Full Name, Date of Birth and Postcode to socialresponders@bglgroup.co.uk so we can investigate this.
Kind Regards,
Budget Social Team.
Posted 4 months ago
"Got a great price from Budget Insurance through Go Compare and took out a car insurance policy on that basis. Sadly, didn't check that the price they were charging was 66% more than the price they quoted on Go Compare. On finding the discrepancy though checking my bank balance, I cancelled the policy less than 48 hours after the original transaction and was charged £38 fee for doing so. DO NOT USE - STEER CLEAR - GET A GENUINE QUOTE FROM A REPUTABLE COMPANY !"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Hi Mike, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I am sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience . We would like to look into this further for you, please respond to this message with your full name, Date of Birth and post code to socialresponders@bglgroup.co.uk and a representative will be in touch shortly.
Kind Regards,
Budget Social Media Team
Posted 5 months ago
"simple and quick no fuss and easy"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Hi Marc,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you found the process quick and easy. We look forward to keeping up the 5 star standard and your continued custom.
Many Thanks,
Keri
Posted 6 months ago
"simple and easy to use no fuss and quick"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Hi Marc,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you found the process quick and easy. We look forward to keeping up the 5 star standard and your continued custom.
Many Thanks,
Keri
Posted 6 months ago
"Terrible service. Terrible insurer. I separated with my wife 2012. It wasn’t a great split initially. Shortly after my wife tried to cancel the policy but I was the policy holder and they refused to cancel it. They automatically renewed it each month until we found out she was still paying monthly this year and the price had gone from 200 annually to 1500 annually. We jointly complained as any claim made in that time would be void as I no longer lived there. They have stated they are not in the wrong. When asked about the huge increase in price despite never claiming we had no response. This is now with the ombudsman. DO NOT USE BUDGET. They are crooks."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Hi,

I am sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience. Your recent concerns have been escalated to he Customer Relations Department who will be in touch soon.
Many Thanks,
Keri.
Posted 6 months ago
"good price and no paper work all online no hassle tick a few bits and ur done"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"i had a fault accident 9th feburary 2018 my smart car brabus edition red convertible one of 15 built for the uk. after 2 weeks and over 20 phone call to Covea Insurance i got through to the right dept to be told oh you had 4 accidents not declared. 3 of which were non fault 1 was a fault. all accidents were declared and the policy updated in 2017. i got a hire car for only 4 weeks which could not be extended. i have sent Covea all my documents by first class post these were recieved and the lost to date i have a very low offer pricing by car the same as a standard car. beware i went for the best price something i will never do again despite being 50 years old and max no claims still paying £550 per year insurance as its a edition red brabus.."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Hi Mark,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I am sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience . We would like to look into this further for you, please respond to this message with your full name, Date of Birth and post code to socialresponders@bglgroup.co.uk and a representative will be in touch shortly.
Kind Regards,
Budget Social Media Team
Posted 7 months ago
"unfortunately we have just had very poor experience regarding our suite that was badly stained during our sons recent 21st b/day after party, when a group of them came back to the house. We were away for the evening after agreeing house rules! however after reporting the incident to BISL on behalf of PO insurance they appointed their loss adjuster on this occasion Cunningham Lindsay. They in turn sent round their local area loss assessor people who in this case were a professional cleaning company to assess whether stains could be removed thus bringing our 2 year old suite back to pristine condition. After close inspection and a series of questions they did their thing and promptly wrote off the suite as there was no guarantee that cleaning would provide a mutually agreeable outcome. After providing the loss adjuster Cunningham lindsay with the cost of suite replacement (ex John Lewis who in turn advised the material had since been discontinued!). The loss adjusters then said they would only replace the 2 main sofas that were damaged and not the footstool or protective arm covers also integral parts of the suite. We were of course most disappointed with their tack but decided to avoid dragging things out and for sake of stress avoidance we would accept their interpretation of policy cover small print? When is a suite not a suite? less our 150 pounds excess. This was on the 12th Feb. After 2 weeks with no payment received i called CL to check on why things had apparently stalled. They advised they were trying to reconfirm the Loss assessors report as to whether the incident could have been 2 separate spills albiet on that same fatefull evening! Nett result was that we were then asked to forward further photos to show relative position of sofas stress and then we were told as the sofas were positioned immediately adjacent that claim was being reassessed as 2 separate claims!! Outcome being that a further excess could be removed from our overall compensation leaving us almost 1000 pounds out of pocket on the cost of our replacement suite! Clearly very disappointed with the outcome and the 'service' and treatment by PO Insurance/BISL's appointed Loss Adjuster Cunningham Lindsay after their stalling and excuses during the numerous progress calls we had to make, before eventually begrudgingly releasing the reduced claim payment after almost a further month on from stating the claim was settled. Can they get away with such shenanigans and do I have a case for the Insurance............... ombudsman?"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hello Stewart,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Your recent concerns have been escalated to our Customer Relations Department who will be in touch soon to discuss the issues raised.
Many Thanks,
Budget Insurance Social Media Team
Posted 8 months ago
"Initially the quote was competitive from a comparison site. went a head with the insurance. We tried several times to send my NCD through there link in the mean time getting constant emails about should i fail to provide the required NCD proof by a certain date my premium would go up. 3 attempts later ! still no joy or confirmation from there NCD Department. Bearing in mind in the end after receiving a letter from them saying my insurance quote has gone up from £240 to 446.00 it was then i rang them and even thou my circumstances hadn't changed and my NCD had been sent i was then put through to have my quote looked at again. ANNOYED .COM BY THEN To be honest i was online at that time having the same quote and it still was £275 then i was told it had increased to £446 it was then when i asked the call centre handler why they where quoting online the £275. Then there attitude started i should of provided this and that even thou i had fricking well uploaded them several times and received a split second later confirmation i had sent the NCD. i was basically locked in with them so decided i was within my rights on the cooling off period and decided to cancelled the insurance with them and arranged another insurer for my van. I would not recommend BUDGET to anyone there service is absolutely disgusting. Old Moto "GET CHEAP PAY TWICE !! NEVER AGAIN"
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Hi Shaun,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I am sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience . We would like to look into this further for you, please respond to this message with your full name, Date of Birth and post code to socialresponders@bglgroup.co.uk and a representative will be in touch shortly.
Kind Regards,
Budget Social Media Team
Posted 9 months ago
"they increased my insurance by £20 a month and when i cancelled it they charged over £95 cancellation fee daylight robbery"
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi Peter,
We are sorry to hear you have had a bad experience and we would like to look into this for you.
Please can you send your Full Name, Date of Birth and Postcode to socialresponders@bglgroup.co.uk so we can investigate this.
Many Thanks,
Budget Social Team.
Posted 10 months ago
"WARNING! DO NOT GET CONNED THIS YEAR AGAIN STOP THE CON ARTISTS WARNING!! WARNING!! DO NOT GET CONNED THIS YEAR AGAIN Do not use this company and many others involved in this CON You will get a cheap quote online for the first year, after your first year, they will send you an email 20 days before your car insurance runs out for an automatic renewal great but not great when my original quote for the first year was £380.00 and my automatic renewal £2350.00 luckily I got to read the email before being conned and have gone online and got a quote similar to last year £395.00 from another insurance company funny its Marks & Spencer don't they sell clothes? DO NOT GET CONNED GOVERNMENT SHOULD DO MORE TO STOP THIS, NO WONDER SOME PEOPLE RISK NOT BOTHERING WITH INSURANCE THE ONES WHO SHOULD BE PENALISED ARE THE CON ARTIST INSURANCE COMPANIES."
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi Jay,
We are sorry to hear you have had a bad experience and we would like to investigate this for you.
Please can you send your Full Name, Date of Birth and Postcode to socialresponders@bglgroup.co.uk so we can look into this.
Kind Regards,
Sophie.
Posted 10 months ago
"First payment date changed without my permission."
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi Ian, We are sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience.
We would like to look into this for you,please email your Full Name, Date of Birth and Postcode to Socialresponders@bglgroup.co.uk and a member of our Social Media team will be in touch.
Many Thanks,
Toni.
Posted 10 months ago
"Been with BISL for 10 years for home and contents insurance. Looked around and found I was being charged more than double the average quotations from other companies. Phoned up to enquire and found an apathetic operator who had no interest in my business. Organised my insurance with the top customer rated home insurer (John Lewis) for just over half the price for a much better policy. Phoned to cancel and yet again found another apathetic Operatir who couldn't care less about my loyalty or business. The survey in no way reflected my dispute questions so pointless. Glad to be away and will ensure all friends, colleagues and family do the same."
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi,
We are sorry to hear you have had a bad experience and we would like to investigate this for you. Please can you send your Full Name, Date of Birth and Postcode to socialresponders@bglgroup.co.uk so we can look into this.
Kind Regards,
Budget Social Team.
Posted 10 months ago
Budget Insurance is rated 2.62 based on 190 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support