Bell Reviews

3.54 Rating 105 Reviews
66% of reviewers recommend Bell

How would you rate Bell?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

105 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
KGM
I purchased Bell car insurance in Apr 2017. Buying experience was good. I was told to connect the telematics device to my car so that they monitor my driving and if it is good then I would potentially get some money back/cash back/discount from what I paid them. Fast forward 3 odd months and after receiving many gold standard driving accolades from Bell, I received a letter in Aug 2017 saying two things: (1) Based on my driving, they estimate that I will be doing double the miles than I had estimated at the start of purchasing insurance so I have to pay XXX amount to them which they will deduct from my account directly by certain date. 2) Since my driving was good I was eligible to get moneyback/cashback/discount of YY amount of money. That YY will be adjusted against the XXX I owe them. I asked them what if I don't do the miles they have estimated and remain at around the amount I had estimated. I was promised that I will get the full money or part money back. Fast forward to end of year, I had done less than the miles that I had estimated so I am eligible for getting the entire XXX that Bell had taken from me. For everyone I spoke with , it seems logical but not to Bell. Bell are saying they will give me only (XXX-YY) as I never paid them YY. I said yes, I did not pay YY because that was something I earned and you had adjusted against XXX. But the staff don't seem to get it. Staff gave me following example: You go to supermarket, buy goods worth GBP200 and the supermarket is very happy and gives you discount of GBP30. If you return all the goods then you get GBP170 back or GBP200. But I tried to explain to him that your example is not comparing apples to apples. I told him that lets say(again in a hurry as the staff was super busy), supermarket announce to me for being a good & loyal customer we will give you GBP30 for being a good customer. I go to supermarket buy goods worth GBP200, supermarket says since we are giving you GBP30 as a good will gesture, you pay only GBP170. Now for some reason if I return everything I purchased i.e. GBP 200 worth of goods then supermarket must pay me GBP200 or GBP30? Staff tell me that it will be GBP170 and not GBP30 as I never paid GBP30. I am telling them that GBP30 was something I earned as a good and loyal customer but no. Not sure if the staff dont understand or they are acting dumb!

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Bell in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
"I purchased Bell car insurance in Apr 2017. Buying experience was good. I was told to connect the telematics device to my car so that they monitor my driving and if it is good then I would potentially get some money back/cash back/discount from what I paid them. Fast forward 3 odd months and after receiving many gold standard driving accolades from Bell, I received a letter in Aug 2017 saying two things: (1) Based on my driving, they estimate that I will be doing double the miles than I had estimated at the start of purchasing insurance so I have to pay XXX amount to them which they will deduct from my account directly by certain date. 2) Since my driving was good I was eligible to get moneyback/cashback/discount of YY amount of money. That YY will be adjusted against the XXX I owe them. I asked them what if I don't do the miles they have estimated and remain at around the amount I had estimated. I was promised that I will get the full money or part money back. Fast forward to end of year, I had done less than the miles that I had estimated so I am eligible for getting the entire XXX that Bell had taken from me. For everyone I spoke with , it seems logical but not to Bell. Bell are saying they will give me only (XXX-YY) as I never paid them YY. I said yes, I did not pay YY because that was something I earned and you had adjusted against XXX. But the staff don't seem to get it. Staff gave me following example: You go to supermarket, buy goods worth GBP200 and the supermarket is very happy and gives you discount of GBP30. If you return all the goods then you get GBP170 back or GBP200. But I tried to explain to him that your example is not comparing apples to apples. I told him that lets say(again in a hurry as the staff was super busy), supermarket announce to me for being a good & loyal customer we will give you GBP30 for being a good customer. I go to supermarket buy goods worth GBP200, supermarket says since we are giving you GBP30 as a good will gesture, you pay only GBP170. Now for some reason if I return everything I purchased i.e. GBP 200 worth of goods then supermarket must pay me GBP200 or GBP30? Staff tell me that it will be GBP170 and not GBP30 as I never paid GBP30. I am telling them that GBP30 was something I earned as a good and loyal customer but no. Not sure if the staff dont understand or they are acting dumb!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Avoid getting a black box, they gave me bronzes each time. With no feedback on how I could improve, god knows what I was doing wrong. All I received was just a generic "tip" for road users... would not reccomend, I would of assumed more feedback from them."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Most competitive price for my car insurance I had one query a few months into the policy and it was dealt with quickly and efficiently"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 2 weeks ago
"good insurance for your car"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 2 weeks ago
Kasia
"poor customer service very bad company avoid if you can afford better car insurance"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Explanation on the phone was very clear and patient for an elderly person no problem fitting the box or returning the articule. Mr C.T.A. Davies"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 1 month ago
"Not good customer service at all !!!"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 1 month ago
"Very good"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 months ago
"I will make a very long story as short as I can, My daughter was insured with bell and was parked up stationary when another bell insurance customer reversed into her There was a minor dint in the bonnet, it wasn't worth claiming untill the lady tried switching the blame To my daughter, so we decided to claim and was assured by the bell advisor that it would not affect us in any way, 2 years later my daughter is still paying an extra premium as she s classed as having a " none fault" claim, bad service"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"All that it should be but of course they have had no problems from Me!!"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 months ago
"Have had 2 weeks of Hell from these idiots, culminating in an automated call at 2.30 IN THE MORNING. HAVE REPORTED THEM TO GOVERNING BODY AND ISSUING A CLAIM FOR HARRASSMENT. IF YOU VALUE YOUR SANITY GO ELSEWHERE!!!!!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Took my renewal for my family - 3 cars - of £1900 even after emailing them we had gone elsewhere. It’s now 3 weeks and still have not received it. Called last week and they said refund went out on the 8th (meaning they had deliberately sat on not pushing the refund button for 2 weeks). It’s the 13th now and still no refund. I’m now going to go overdrawn and can’t do things like book my holiday. Totally not recommended."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Expensive like all insurance companys !!!"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 5 months ago
"I wish to feedback that there as part of the cover I would be sent an app/device to fit in my car to monitor my driving for 3 months and could receive a discount on my payment which was high, around £1200. When calling to say I hadn't received the app/device I was told they had run out and since then have heard nothing."
1 Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 6 months ago
"So far I am happy with bell insurance. Every time I had to call the customer service team I had very helpful people. Today I would like to particularly thanks Megan Johnston for having so much patience and for being this helpful. You were excellent and very kind."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Conned me into only receiving renewal letters by email, then wouldn't cancel the policy within a month of the renewal payment. Cost went up dramatically for no reason and I now can't cancel at all or face an extortionate cancellation fee. Thieves."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"The emails that get sent after monitoring the driving were not always a good way to determine a discount as people cannot help having to drive in rush hour / evening driving."
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 7 months ago
Jonathan Byrne
Verified Reviewer
"Terrible service. I had to pay for a years premium and £400 excess after having a crash where my car was written on and my policy was cancelled. I had only had the policy for 2 months but they still made me pay for the whole year. They have literally just robbed me."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"Great service, great price and innovative technology. By using their telematics box, I have saved over £600 on what my specialist insurer wanted to charge for my landrovery discovery. I have now also taken the multi car option and moved my wife's cover to Bell as well"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 8 months ago
"I found the insurance company good to deal with and provided me with up-to-date info"
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 8 months ago
Bell is rated 3.54 based on 105 reviews