AXA Insurance Reviews

2.88 Rating 622 Reviews
48% of reviewers recommend AXA Insurance
830 Review Views (past 24 hours)
7PM - 9PM
61 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
97 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
19 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
112 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
60 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
39 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
59 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
68 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
38 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
63 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
36 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
178 Review Views
7PM
7PM
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how AXA Insurance made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
"Claimed on a fairly black and white incident involving my car and another. The third party pulls out of a junction and I hit them off centre in the rear. I'm aware that crashes to the rear are a grey area, but honestly, the mouth of the junction is so wide that any car pulling out on you, will always cause a crash in the rear, due to the angle they enter the road at. So, based upon that, this is a fairly straightforward claim in my opinion. Axa has failed to get the third parties insurance to take responsibility so far, and I'm currently out of pocket due to my ludicrously high excess that I am waiting to be reimbursed. They asked for a diagram and statement of the incident from my part to which I put a lot of effort into, but when I rang them, they said they received no correspondence. They then found it within 30 seconds of me calling them (a week after I had sent it, but was happy to do nothing until I rang them)... I asked if they had sent my statement and diagram to the third party and they said they cannot. So, I don't really see the point. From my point of view, they have done absolutely nothing. I have that opinion because I have been kept completely out of the loop, and they haven't actually told me they have done anything apart from sending a letter to the third party (after they finally found my statement, so I guess that was my doing, not theirs). I'm struggling to understand why they are finding it hard to resolve such a simple, and black and white claim. The bit that really annoys me is the amount of time it takes them to pick up the phone. And when they do, they refer you to another department and have to sit on hold again. The correspondence between Axa and third party is via paper letter medium. Hense why it takes them so long to move on anything. Furthermore, they are also refusing to pay 2 more days of the hire car I had, because they just decided to stop paying for the hire car the day my car was finished, expecting me to drop my entire life to go and fetch it. Better still, the only correspondence they had from me was the day I dropped off the hire vehicle. So in my eyes, I gave the car back the day they told me my car was ready. They did not see it that way; void of any conceivable logic... Just a joke of a service really, for what I assumed to be a premium company. I laugh at the thought of me, or any of my friends and family using Axa as an insurance provider."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Are you AXA Insurance? No one is perfect. Reply to this negative review and show your potential customers that you value the feedback AXA Insurance receives and that when things do go wrong you do your best to put things right. Reply Free
"My husband had his car hit by another driver outside our house back in Oct 2017 while he was asleep - the other driver gave us her details and my husband called axa - he got a replacement car. The insurance wrote his car off and we bought another one at the fnd of October - it is now January 2018 and wd still haven’t received the money for the car written off. Telephone lines are only open 8-5 when my husband is at work and the last time he called he waited 45 mins to be answered to be told they were too busy to talk to him they would call back and he haxmt had a call back. We just want the money we are owed ."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"The worst customer service in whole world! Was kept on hold for 40 minuets and eventually I was disconnected. I didn’t bother to call them again as had to go to work. I’ve sent an email instead. Received automatic message that they aim to respond in 24 hours. Two weeks later still no response. I need to start a formal complaint process. They did everything wrong, they put my name instead of my husband on accident claim which was made by my husband. Now it appears on cue database that two claims were made on the same day!! They started another claim on my behalf when I called them to notify that someone hit my car. I said that I am not going to claim anything as damage was not significant. They opened claim anyway and it remains unresolved on record with me being at fault! My premium is very high as a result. Avoid.......This company is total disgrace run by dodgy people."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"I called them to chase up a claim reported two weeks prior by one of my customers and was left on hold for 1hr 27minutes!!!! At that point I gave up..................................................... Absolutely lousy customer service. I'm just glad that I don't personally insure with them, and advised my client to look elsewhere when her premiums are due"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"Abysmal customer service. Ridiculous wait times on the phone (30 mins plus on more than 1 occasion). Poorly trained representatives that haven't got a clue what they are talking about. Very unhelpful and unwilling to compromise. Awful company, please avoid."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"Id leave none if i could. Somebody whos with these hit my car n was totally written off i agreed a payment amount but left with nothing as they say they pay you yet its not put in bank for weeks but say they have."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"Not being able to add a name driver of 41 years of age because of holding a full UK license less than a year, excuse being not enough driving experience, what a load of bull."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"Had an injury to my knee in Mexico. From the initial call to Axa insurance to get emergency health care to putting in a complaint about the awful non existent care I received they failed me at every opportunity. I was left in an ambulance outside the hospital for one and a half hours without pain relief while Axa decided if they would allow me medical assistance. When I was told I had to stay in hospital overnight it took Axa 9 hours to authorise the hospital to give me pain relief and a bed. Each time I contacted Axa I was told I would get a call back which never happened. I spent 11 days in pain with no help from Axa. They refused to take the doctors advice on me needing an ambulance to take me to an MRI scan so sent a minibus which they said was cheaper. I had to crawl into the minibus as i couldn’t climb up. Terrible customer service and care."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"I had a driver pull out from a give way in front of me. Don't get me wrong, AXA paid up very promptly and I thought that was the end of it. The gent I spoke said it was definitely other driver at fault since he pulled out in front of me. Sent in statement and drawings including photos of damage to both cars. Three months later they contact me to say other driver claims I changed lane ( unlikely since inside lane is a camera enforced bus lane ) and it was my fault. AXA said they would treat it as both parties at fault and refused to fight claim in case they lost. I emailed them to convey my disappointment and point out that the Highway Code states you must make sure the road is clear before pulling out, placing the fault with the other driver. Nothing. Three months later and still not even an acknowledgement. My NCD is protected so not worried about that but lousy customer service from a bunch of spineless mice."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"This insurance company is run by theives, do not use this company for insurance, I tried to cancel my insurance early even though I payed for the year 1 month early they charged me £35 these guys are thieves do not us, only god knows what would happen if you had a claim"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"What's the point in declaring that you use your car for commuting purposes if the car insurance company you pay for don't provide you with a courtesty car until 5 working days later? Horrendous. Lazy advisors that try and fob off your claim, e.g "I'll get someone to give you a call back as soon as." Which they don't. You have to constantly contact them for more information, which when you work full time is an absolute nightmare!! Everything is managed by third parties therefore Axa actually have no information or knowledge about your claim. Absolute joke of a company. Also their 'approved repairers' provide even less service than Axa themselves, I didn't even think that was possible. My advise would be to steer clear!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"great cover for excellent price"
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"Very please item I ordered came very quick and in perfect condition"
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"So far I've been waiting for 5 days since my accident for them to call me with a date and garage to take my car to for repairs. I was told I would get a call back 24-48 after my initial call to report the accident, I didn't get the call so I called them....I was told as it's Friday it would be Monday now when I get the call....so I waited....the call hasn't come again so I've called them to ask what's going on....been on hold for 40 minutes so far and I've not spoken to anyone yet! Thought insurance companies were supposed to take the stress out of making a claim...these guys are disorganised cowboys. I'll be going back to Admiral or Direct Line at the end of my policy"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"The most painful experience trying to make a claim. Our car was parked and someone drove into it. Luckily we had a witness. Explained it all to Axa. Weeks later nothing. Contacted them said it was my fault but its ok as we are full comp. I queried why they hadn't contacted the witness and tracked down the other car. They said they had no record of a witness and the other cars details. I gave them the details again. Weeks later I chased them and exactly the same thing. Witness not contacted, other driver not tracked down. I just phoned them regarding the renewal increase and it was because we had a claim that was our fault!!! I was like talking to a brick wall. Utter utter incompetence. Hours of my life on the phone for something that was pretty simple."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"I was unfortunate in the past few weeks and had my car stolen. I’ve never had anything like this done to me before and axa car insurance have been excellent with the claim! They will be getting my business again ***** 5 start rating"
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"A client of AXA hit one of our company vehicles and attempted to drive off. After several months they finally accepted liability. We wanted to pursue directly through AXA so, it wouldn't affect our claims experience with our own insurer. They kept hanging up the phone on me, even though their details were given to me by my own insurer. They wouldn't communicate with the bodyshop who did the estimate and the claims handler would not listen to me, talked over me then started shouting at me and hung up. I phoned back and asked to speak to her manager Hafiza who had the same attitude, very rude, condescending and not helpful at all. Apparently they closed the file, I kept on at them and finally got it reopened as the incident was fairly recent. Out of all the insurance companies I dealt with, this is by far the worst experience I've had. Needs major improvement."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"This is the worst corrupted insurance company that I’ve ever had any dealt with"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Terrible experience had a incident which wasnt my fault ring uo the insurance company to sort it out cause thats what i pay for but now 2-3weeks later im still chasing people around they toke my car still aint got it back they only give me 14day courtesy car so now im at complete loss getting taxi everywhere and i cant help but feel the insurance company just dont care about their customer very unhappy with axa i wouldnt recommend them to anyone."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Everything, The most unprofessional company I have ever experienced in my life. I work in services and have had an extensive experience dealing with customers myself but this company is the most horrific company I have ever come across, Never have they resolved my issues in a timely manner, Never have they communicated in an acceptable manner, Always having to contact them for updates and constantly having to explain what they need to do as a company rather than the company advising me. I'd rather work for the Devil than working for this company atleast He will be upfront about ruining my life up, I pity the person who has to purchase an type of insurance from this diabolical company or even has the pleasure of working for this scam organisation."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
AXA Insurance is rated 2.88 based on 622 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support