Garden Buildings Direct Reviews

1.15 Rating 144 Reviews
3% of reviewers recommend Garden Buildings Direct
765 Review Views (past 24 hours)
10PM - 12AM
100 Review Views
12AM - 2AM
18 Review Views
2AM - 4AM
38 Review Views
4AM - 6AM
42 Review Views
6AM - 8AM
38 Review Views
8AM - 10AM
41 Review Views
10AM - 12PM
85 Review Views
12PM - 2PM
94 Review Views
2PM - 4PM
127 Review Views
4PM - 6PM
37 Review Views
6PM - 8PM
85 Review Views
8PM - 10PM
60 Review Views
10PM
10PM

About Garden Buildings Direct: Garden Buildings Direct manufacture garden sheds, summerhouses, log cabins, playhouses and other garden related products. We import a large number of products from Eastern Europe and Asia on top of the 120 SKU’s we manufacture in house.<br /> Garden Buildings Direct also operates a home delivery service throughout England, Scotland and Wales.

Visit Website

Phone:
0800 169 6016

Email:
Sales@Kybotech.co.uk

Location:
Parry Business Park, Sutton-On-Trent, Newark, Nottinghamshire United Kingdom

Category:
Business & Office

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Garden Buildings Direct made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Own Driver, Courier
delivery methods
Over 7 Days
average delivery time
Greater than 58%
on-time delivery
Greater than 34%
accurate and undamaged orders
Customer Service
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
"Such an awful company. Never had such a poor buying experience in all my life! Would 'Anonymous' who wrote below that they had successfully won a Small Claims Court case against Kybotech be prepared to share info' as to which County Court this was in and the date and/ or case number? This may help many more of us who have contributed reviews via this invaluable website."
Posted 1 day ago
Are you Garden Buildings Direct? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"Just had a cold call even before an order was placed. Desperate signs and breach of data use"
Posted 6 days ago
"Was discussing via email a summer house at £659. Enquiring about floor options etc. Then when I had gone to order they jacked the price up to £869 for the exact same thing and wouldn't honour the price. Terrible customer service."
Posted 1 week ago
"Damp, mouldy playhouse (on stilts!) within 9 months - USELESS! Bought a Billy-Oh stilted playhouse 9 months ago when we moved house. Fine during the summer months, but when the children went into it last month (February 2019), the roof was covered in mould, it was up the middle strut on back wall and the floor was absolutely saturated. Complained to GBD and they said this is just one of those things that happens and to wipe it down with a soapy cloth! What? How will a soapy cloth deal with a saturated floor? They then said we could have upgraded the floor and roof but we chose not to. No, we didn't because it clearly states that the products are 'pressure treated' to supposedly prevent these things happening. They don't! We've tried really hard to get this resolved as I think £500 for a playhouse is not a cheap product. They now tell us that it's out fault as we should have wood treated it as soon as we got it. They said the treatment they use lasts 4-6 weeks. Nowhere on their website or in our documentation is ANY of this mentioned. They are simply liars who refuse to deal with customers once they have your money! I would suggest people go elsewhere and not think you're getting something good for your money from these people unless you're prepared to pay on top to 'upgrade' everything they offer you and use your imagination on how to 'treat' your playhouse. Next they'll be telling me it isn't designed for children!!!"
Posted 1 week ago
"Update on County Court. Items unfit for purpose. Kybotech (Garden buildings direct) Lost. full refund plus costs. Don't take their rotten service on the chin. Go to the small claims web site"
Posted 2 weeks ago
"UPDATE#2 (05/03/2019): (UPDATE ON POOR QUALITY WOOD) After 90 hours of painting the wood (1 coat), 3 of us spent the weekend (approx. 20hours total) starting to assemble the building. We experienced long delays to the build as a result of badly twisted and warped logs (Note: we already had approx 20 of the most severely twisted logs replaced). More than 50% of the longer logs will not fit together due to the twists/warps. In order to assemble the building we had make a 4ft long wooden "spanner" to twist the logs straight, before lots of hard hitting with a mallet to get them into place. Still need to felt the roof, fit the flooring, doors & windows, and all the fascia boards. UPDATE#1: THE REPLY FROM KYBOTECH BELOW IS INCORRECT. BEWARE OF BUYING FROM THIS COMPANY - READ ALL OF THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS FIRST! -- Also operating under the name of "Garden Buildings Direct". I ordered a BillyOh Kent Garden office. The sales team informed me that 2 people could build this in a weekend (this is a lie – see below). A team of 3 of us spent 3x 10hour days (total 90 person hours) paining the individual parts of the building with wood protection (before the building was assembled). During this process we discovered many of the parts were severely warped and twisted or cracked. The quality of the wood is very poor (rough-cut pallet wood is used for the window and door frames). After several emails to GardenBuildingsDirect, they agreed to send replacement parts. These replacement parts arrived, but several of these parts were also severely warped. We spend the whole of the next weekend counting the parts and found that more parts are missing. GardenBuildingsDirect are not willing to accept their poor quality control and send the replacement parts - They are insisting that photos must be provided. We have wasted 2 weeks now in lost time waiting for replacement parts to be provided and met with resistance from GardenBuildingsDirect. The building comes with over 2,500 screws and nails!! They say that the whole building can be assembled in 2 days including the 2,500 screws and nails and hanging doors and windows. I’m expecting it will take at least 7 more days with 2 people to assemble this building (on top of the 90 hours for the first coat of wood protection) and feel that I have been lied to by GBD when told that this can be done in 1 weekend. Beware of the lies about assembly time and the very poor quality of wood and parts!!"
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I've had a terrible experience with this company. Firstly, not all of the product was delivered and they have already admitted fault. Secondly, one of the door windows was broken. Thirdly, the product was delivered untreated and finally, I'm left very disappointed with the quality of building material, the wood is split in many places. Like many I wish I had researched more before purchase. I'm currently in dispute with them."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Wish I had read reviews before I purchased summer house with side store,all the bad ones are correct ! Warped ,inferior wood, very difficult to erect, save up a bit longer and buy a decent one,I’ll put this down to one of life’s expierience (£950) worth,I will not buy online again ( if I had seen it first I would have walked away) luckily I am able to fix most of the faults but can’t do a thing about the quality,this is an excuse for a summer house and maybe will last a couple of years , buyer beware !!! it will last"
Posted 3 weeks ago
"do not buy from these people our summer house has the worst wood ever its like pallet or orange box wood it is leaking so has black sheeting over the doors windows will have to build another front onto it to stop it getting water logged every time it rains or it just needs pulling down total waste of £1000."
Posted 1 month ago
"You should have an option to score this company 0 or even a minus score. These are rogue traders and should be put out of business as soon as possible. I will add my bad experience to all the other 1 star reviews but if you get a chance, do not buy anything from them as they are hell to deal with and just treat you with contempt. The shed we ordered took a week to erect for 2 trained men. The quality of the joinery is pitiful with joints not lining up and fixings missing the frame altogether. The doors came with no diagonal frame stiffeners fixed, yet in the instructions, they are shown constructed, The frame thickness is too thin along with the floor bearers. They are warped and much of the wood is of very poor quality with splits and decayed bits simply dipped in preservative (which cost extra). This shed leaks like a sieve and will have to be scrapped and I'm taking the company to the small claims court as soon as I can. The problem is that I don't just want financial compensation. I want this company to either clean up its act by a huge margin or cease trading."
Posted 1 month ago
"this company is due in the county court on Friday, I'd suggest using the small claims online service if you feel the quality is not fit for purpose. Update on the outcome next week."
Posted 1 month ago
"BEWARE OF THIS DREADFUL COMPANY. READ ALL THE GOOGLE REVIEWS FIRST!! I ordered a BillyOh Kent Garden office. The sales team informed me that 2 people could build this in a weekend (this is a lie – see below). A team of 3 of us spent 3x 10hour days (total 90 person hours) paining the individual parts of the building with wood protection (before the building was assembled). During this process we discovered many of the parts were severely warped and twisted or cracked. The quality of the wood is very poor (rough-cut pallet wood is used for the window and door frames). After several emails to GardenBuildingsDirect, they agreed to send replacement parts. These replacement parts arrived, but several of these parts were also severely warped. We spend the whole of the next weekend counting the parts and found that more parts are missing. GardenBuildingsDirect are not willing to accept their poor quality control and send the replacement parts - They are insisting that photos must be provided. We have wasted 2 weeks now in lost time waiting for replacement parts to be provided and met with resistance from GardenBuildingsDirect. The building comes with over 2,500 screws and nails!! - I’m expecting it will take at least 7 more days with 2 people to assemble this building (on top of the 90 hours for the first coat of wood protection) and feel that I have been lied to by GBD when told that this can be done in 1 weekend. Beware of the lies about assembly time and the very poor quality of wood and parts!!"
Posted 1 month ago
"Driver couldn't speak English and just kept saying parts missing. Shed parts just looked like a bonfire. Complained straightaway to be told check the parts but there isn't actually a full parts list for the whole shed Spent most of the day figuring it out. Parts missing. This is the worst shed I have ever had to put together and I have put many together in my lifetime. Don't waste your money. There is a video online to follow and all the parts are different so doesn't make sense."
Posted 1 month ago
"Before you buy something from them Please read this If you want spend your money in this shop think twice its waste money very poor product took them only 8 weeks to send me parcels About 5 phones , 25 emails and open case in Paypal I got everything well almost everything Im paid for shed 270 £ but, because them mistake I spend another 60 £ in BQ for missing parts . After 8 weeks surprise , someone threw missing part in to my garden Conclusion: 2 months time to delivery all parts Extremely overpaid ! Very bad quality Waste time And now after one year look how its nice wet inside : https://ibb.co/gcbuNS https://ibb.co/nq8xbn https://ibb.co/eu38hS https://ibb.co/gs6ThS"
Posted 1 month ago
"The worst company to deal with, brought a summer house for my 6 year olds birthday, plan was to have it built and ready for his party so all of his friends could play in it. It arrived on time, however lots of missing parts and when phoned they just said not their problem. It ruined my sons birthday as it was unsafe to play in due to the missing parts. I then have emailed them twice, but they have not had the decency to email me back. I normally ignore bad reviews as people embellish, but I would really not want to see anyone else have the same issues we have had. Good luck"
Posted 1 month ago
"This is the worst company I know After my 18year old son saved a £1000 and spent £923 on what looked like a decent shed It turns up weeks late and wrong parrs, sent it back turns up again only this time none of the pieces fit correctly Please save your money and DO NOT TRUST"
Posted 2 months ago
"Great service great sheds"
Posted 2 months ago
"Recently, we placed an order for a summerhouse, exactly 1 month before Christmas. We received it the week before Christmas and were able to get it built just in time for Christmas itself. My family enjoyed spending time in our newly built summerhouse. It was probably the highlight of our Christmas. Thank you for delivering it on time and in good condition. I recommend Garden Buildings Direct for your housing and gardening product needs. They will get the job done undoubtedly."
Posted 2 months ago
"Compared to other vendors I looked into, Garden Builders had the most balanced reputation out of everyone. They also had a ton of feedback from customers, giving me a good understanding of what to expect. The Garden Shed I ordered was for 2 major purposes. For recreational and organizational purposes. I must say that it has been serving that purpose well! It was delivered to my home in about 20 days after my order was placed. Not a bad delivery speed. It is good quality for what I paid and still holding up a few months later. It definitely has the appeal I was going for. Very satisfied with my new Garden Shed. Thank you so much for providing a quality product!"
Posted 2 months ago
"My husband and I decided on ordering a log cabin because we had an interest in adding our garden products to it. It ended up arriving 3-4 weeks after we placed our order. It arrived in good condition, properly and professionally packaged. Before long, my husband had his brother and other mates help him construct the cabin. They finished putting it together in a few days. They did have some problems with some parts of the build, but they did figure it out eventually once they understood the log cabin more. Overall, we are satisfied with our purchase and plan on doing future purchases with Garden Buildings Direct."
Posted 2 months ago
Garden Buildings Direct is rated 1.15 based on 144 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support