Friars.co.uk Reviews

4.80 Rating 7,534 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Friars.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.95 out of 5
Read Friars.co.uk Reviews

About Friars.co.uk:

It all started back in 1927 when William Long had the fabulous idea of opening a luxury chocolate shop in the picturesque town of Keswick, in the heart of the Lake District. He probably never dreamed it would still be in the same family nearly 100 years later.

In those early days the shop only opened during the summer months and it is believed William chose to winter in the Madeira sunshine. As you would expect the business has evolved in many ways since then, however certain principles remain since those early days.

Innovation – We were the first to make a prosecco truffle and then shortly after we followed with our fabulous gin truffle. More recently; although Easter eggs are synonymous with Easter, we decided to move away from the main stream and invented our famous hot cross bun truffle.

But all this only scratches the surface; we are also one of the first chocolate makers to start transitioning to 100% biodegrade packaging, among other things.

Quality – Any new chocolate must meet certain requirements to get past our strict tasting panel. If one of the panel gives a score below 9/10 then we simply won’t offer the chocolate to our customers.

Longevity – We are immensely proud of our historic routes and in this fast moving, ever changing world, we take pride in our tradition and heritage. Our rose and violet creams are the same ones that William sold on that first day of opening, back in 1927. We have survived and prospered over the last 90 years and with the launch of our Ambleside store and an online service, we fully intend to be around for the next 100 years.

After all life is too short, so why settle for ordinary chocolate?

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Friars.co.uk made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 30th December 2020
margaret Campbell
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 29th December 2020
Anonymous
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 29th December 2020
Anonymous
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 29th December 2020
Anonymous
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 16th December 2020
Dennis Blackford
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 9th December 2020
Anonymous
Friars.co.uk 5 star review on 4th November 2020
Lingjie Wu
3
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I bought these chocolate s as Christians gifts, so far everyone who received them have said how lovely they were. So im going to order some for myself! Delivery was very quick and they all come packed up very well. Thankyou Frairs.
Posted 1 week ago
I bought chocolate coated marzipan, chocolate coated Brazil nuts and fudge as a present for my parents this Christmas. They said the marzipan was delicious, nuts were lovely and fudge was ok.
Posted 1 week ago
Friars chocolates are exceptional.
Posted 1 week ago
Fast delivery of delicious sweets.
Posted 1 week ago
Great product ordered a chocolate games controller for a teenager for xmas who is obsessed with his Xbox he absolutely loved it.Also the chocolate was lovely he said .great packaging as there was no breakage promp delivery
Posted 1 week ago
I sent lots of different Friars liquor chocolates to my mum for Christmas and she absolutely loved them. The delivery was all on time and she was very happy with the chocolates.
Posted 1 week ago
The chocolates are a present for a friend so I shan't eat them. However the service was excellent!
Posted 1 week ago
Friars service and delivery time we're good but I personally did not like the taste of some of the Kokoa range chocolates, which I discovered were made with (plant based) sweeteners - and tasted a bit artificial.
Posted 1 week ago
Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 4 days ago
The dark chocolate truffles were very nice. Unfortunately the milk chocolate ones had a very ‘chlorinated’ after taste. Very disappointing for the price paid as a Christmas present.
Posted 1 week ago
Hello David, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chocolates you received from us. We hope that our customers find our products enjoyable, although unfortunately they may not be to everyone's personal taste. We will however, pass your comments on to our production team. Again, we do apologise for any disappointment caused. Kind Regards Friars Customer Service
Posted 4 days ago
In December I bought a box of milk chocolate Irish Cream Truffles for an Xmas present. They were very well received and they are absolutely delicious! I couldn't recommend too highly. 10 out of 10 to Friars!
Posted 1 week ago
Unfortunately the first order didn’t arrive, perhaps a postal issue. Emailed them and they arranged for another to be sent out. Fantastic service and will definitely order from you again.
Posted 1 week ago
We used to purchase a very similar product from Guilberts of Bristol but they no longer sell this type. Therefore, I was delighted to find your product, which we greatly enjoyed over the Christmas period. We will no doubt order again in the future. Regards Paul and Mary Winslade
Posted 1 week ago
I wish I had found this chocolatier before as the quality looked excellent and I was satisfied with the range of products on offer.
All the chocolates I purchased were gifts and the feedback I have received so far suggests that the recipients of these gifts are very happy with what they received.
I will be using this company again.
Posted 1 week ago
Bought these violet creams for someone who is something of an aficionado. Purchased retail from various suppliers in Cardiff in the past but we both think these are superior
Posted 1 week ago
Very nice chocolates apart from the strawberry and champagne which tasted synthetic.
Posted 1 week ago
I ordered a selection of chocolates as Christmas gifts for associates of our company. They were all received and really enjoyed. The selection was loved. Thanks and will definitely use Friars in the future as they offer vegan alternatives. :)
Posted 1 week ago
Deliciously tasty. Fantastic customer service(!! from Ell) and ever so quick delivery even during Christmas/ lockdown. Thanks so much for having a great selection of naughty vegan treats.
Posted 1 week ago
Good choice of goods and quick delivery
Posted 1 week ago
Ordered for a gift so didnt see / taste the items purchased myself , however recipient loved them so thanks very much
Posted 1 week ago
Excellent service and communication. And the chocolates are superb too!!
Posted 2 weeks ago
Friars.co.uk is rated 4.80 based on 7,534 reviews