Floral and Hardy Reviews

4.6 Rating 45 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend Floral and Hardy
4.6
Based on 45 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone
Read Floral and Hardy Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0845 603 2598

Email:

query@floralandhardy.co.uk

Location:

The Design Loft, 8 Hayes Wood Avenue, Hayes Village

Write Your review

Tell us how Floral and Hardy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Floral and Hardy were more expensive than some of the other quotes we got but they thought of almost every detail and guaranteed a fixed price. They managed our expectations regarding time-frames; it took 10 months from the first consultation to completion but once started, progress was fairly quick (approx 14 weeks) considering our small North London garden was completely overhauled. The team on the ground were wonderful! Dimi, Ivan and Vova worked tirelessly to remove 5 skips of clay and soil, which they had to take through the house, and bringing back through materials, equipment, pavers, porcelain and plants. If there was ever an issue, Dimi was on top of it immediately and sorted it swiftly and professionally. They tidied the site at the end of every day, even mopping the protective flooring, so our kids could continue to run around indoors. They were a pleasure to have in the house and really lovely guys - a credit to Floral & Hardy. Kat, the designer, took over the project from another designer who unfortunately had to step back and from the moment she took the reins she gently steered us through the process. She has endless patience and a great sense of humour and stayed calm even when we were at our most demanding. Mark, the project manager, was charming, and pulled everyone together, keeping everything on track. On most occasions when things went wrong, as they inevitably do on a makeover as extensive as ours, he swooped in and sorted it. The only downside was the lack of communication at times and the requests for money before the last stage of the job was complete (which didn’t become a major issue, just a bit awkward). No doubt there was a lot of chat behind the scenes but it would go quiet from time to time and we would almost have to act as liaisons between Kat, Paul and Dimi - in the end we used Kat as the main point of contact and she made sure everything was resolved. We felt this was quite a lot for the designer to take on but she did it with absolute professionalism nonetheless. We had to make sure we were really on top of the snagging list which is essential on any job, especially when a team is keen to move on to their next job, but they came back and covered everything on our list and sorted the last bits. The garden is absolutely beautiful! We had a very specific brief and the changes F&H made were, without exception, all improvements on our design. The before and after photos are really striking and the work is to a high standard. We feel we have added another room to our house and in the warmer weather we can comfortably spend the entire day outside among the flowers and butterflies. Floral & Hardy are very fortunate to have such a brilliant team - Kat, Mark and Dimi are worth their weight in gold!
Helpful Report
Posted 19 hours ago
Floral and Hardy have recently completed a total transformation of our garden and courtyard and we are so happy with the result! Beautiful designs and artist impressions were put together following a face-to-face consultation and these have been turned into reality by the amazing on site team who were a joy to work with. Not only did the team do a fantastic job, they were so friendly and patient with our young children who insisted on 'helping' wherever they could... Our new garden has transformed the property - it is an investment that our family will enjoy for many years to come with the added bonus that I think will likely add more value than it cost. Highly recommend using the team at F&H!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
My wife and I deeply regret contracting Floral & Hardy for our garden landscaping. Our small garden project remains unfinished 1 year since work commenced. Aspects of the hard landscaping have been built to a low or unserviceable quality and areas of the soft landscaping were subsequently destroyed by the works team after planting. We have also not received various of the items specified in the contract of works nor communication about when these are to be expected. Communications with the business generally during the project have been patchy with many requests going and remaining unaddressed. This has further exacerbated problems with the on-site works team often appearing to operate unsupervised and without any quality control.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Great professional service. Kat and team were efficient, friendly and professional. The price didn’t deviate, and we are very happy with the result . See before and after pictures! Would definitely recommend and use them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The team were careful to understand my requirements and particular likes / dislikes, to come up with a design that suited my requirements and the dynamics of the space available. I was given sound advice about the various materials available and the work was completed to a high standard, giving me a new “extra room” to enjoy through the seasons. Thank you!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
When we decided to have work done on our garden, we got in touch with several gardening companies and asked them to come and talk to us and see what they suggested in the light of our wishes. Floral and Hardy were by far the most thoughtful and creative of all the companies we contacted and had fantastic ideas to add to our initial thoughts. We knew that we wanted a garden with a Mediterranean feel and there were certain existing features we wanted to retain, including our little pond. The garden is a small, London garden, so design was really important to make the most of fairly limited space. The designers, Kim and Kat spent a great deal of time talking through with us exactly what we wanted and, equally, didn't want, which we really appreciated. They came up with suggestions that would never have occurred to us but also took on board our views. The guys who came to do the clearing, building, and hard landscaping were a complete delight to have around. Not only did they work incredibly hard, but they also made sure that everything was clean and tidy when they left, including washing the kitchen floor on a daily basis. All materials and equipment had to be brought through the house and this was done with great care and the minimum of upheaval for us, for which we are very grateful. To say that we are pleased with the result is an understatement. The garden looks fabulous, even though it is only February and work finished just before Christmas. The narcissi are blooming, the irises are gorgeous and everything else is starting to develop. We now have a great outdoor space for entertaining friends, sitting out in, and just looking through the window and enjoying. We would recommend Floral and Hardy without any hesitation at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Floral and Hardy undertook a complete renovation to transform our garden from a blank canvas to a modern, stylish garden that made us want to spend time in it! Helen clearly listened to our brief and the design was exactly what we wanted. The landscapers worked really hard, always punctual and professional. We are delighted with the end result and very much looking forward to hosting many a family BBQ. Thank you Floral and Hardy!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
We recently had an extension built at the back of our holiday house just so we have more space for our family of 6. The extension looked into the garden and at the time the garden looked, blah, bland and we weren't using it effectively or efficiently. We called on Floral and Hardy to assist with the garden design and build. The end result, wow! it was wayssss more than we had imagined, by far! Now we have an extension that looks into a lovely, contemporary, and serene garden. What's more, the beautiful garden seems to have even created more space to encourage individual time for personal reflections and family time for games, conversations or meals. We love it. The entire process with Floral and Hardy was seamless and easy. Working with Katerina was effortless, she was friendly and warm, plus she kept us updated during the build as we weren't in the country at the time. Thank you guys for the lovely work, you've easily made us the envy of our neighbors now. :)
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
A pleasure to deal with from start to finish - our designer Katerina listened closely to what we wanted and produced the most beautiful colour drawings (that we will treasure for years to come). Their communication was brilliant throughout and all of the guys we had on-site during the project were polite, hard working and paid real attention to detail. We are so pleased with the final result - it hasn’t been a cheap project but an investment well worth it for us. The garden is now an extension of the house and a space that we can enjoy as a family for many years to come. Highly reccomend.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Our small city garden needed a complete transformation from the featureless decked space that we'd had since our kids were toddlers, to meet the changing needs of our family now that they are teenagers and to give us some outside space to relax in now that we are spending much more time working from home. Starting the garden project was quite daunting, as we knew that a lot of careful planning and work would be needed to turn it into the sort of space that we wanted. But once Paul and his designer Katerina came to see our garden and discuss our requirements with us, they made us believe that what we wanted was achievable, and so we were happy to pay the deposit for the plans (deductible against the final cost). Their ideas really came to life once Kat showed us her detailed coloured plans and ideas for the garden on her next visit. F&H were highly focused on delivering what we wanted from the garden, and also added great ideas to ours. After seeing the plans, we knew that F&H were absolutely the right people to entrust the project to. Our budget was tight, but although not the cheapest, Paul's flexibility in finding ways to reduce costs, and his guarantee that the final price was fixed and that there would be no 'hidden extras' or surprises, convinced us to go ahead with F&H. They were also realistic in their timeframes and we understood that to get the garden we wanted the work would probably take a couple of months. Seeing what we would get at the end of the process, we were happy to wait. Once we gave the green light though, the work on the project started remarkably quickly as Paul had a timeslot available for one of his teams. Measuring up was done within a week, and the team started clearing the garden soon after. The extra light and space in the garden and also in the back of the house that was created by the clearance of overgrown trees etc. was great, and once all the overhanging branches were gone we could see that the ‘blank canvas’ that Kat said we had to work with was bigger than we'd thought. The F&H team were excellent, a complete pleasure to deal with, and worked really hard to complete the clearance and start the hard landscaping phase as quickly as possible, and then we really began to see that F&H would fulfil our hopes for the garden. We went on holiday while the work was going on, but Kat's team continued to work while we were away and Kat kept us updated by email as patios were put in, raised beds were built and rendered, a new shed arrived, new fences were put up, and everything took shape, and we were excited by what we would return to. The finishing touches were done soon after we got back, and once our new garden furniture arrived our new garden was ready for us to enjoy. I don’t think we could be any happier with what Floral & Hardy have delivered for us – the transformation is fantastic. They listened carefully to what we wanted, contributed their own great ideas, drew up a plan which showed us how lovely our garden could be, and then delivered on that plan 100%, on time and on budget. I don’t think it could have been a more stress-free process, and I don’t think we have ever spent money more wisely. They have has even offered to pop back in a few months to make sure all the plants have survived the winter, and to make sure we’re still happy with everything, which I'm certain we will be. To anyone considering having work done on their garden, and particularly if they want something transformative, I don’t think they could choose anyone better to design and deliver that than Floral & Hardy. Thanks so much to Paul, Kat, Mikel, Igor and the rest of the team!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
It's not that easy to find a company who will provide an end to end garden design, construction and landscaping service. Floral & Hardy provided a design that exactly met our brief, and worked with us to tailor it to fit our budget. Despite ongoing supply challenges outside of their control (COVID, Suez Canal, HGV drivers and petrol shortages!!), they managed to deliver an amazing transformation to our garden. We needed a lot of hard landscaping removed, new decking, paving and planting, as well as electrics and lighting, and they were able to deliver it all. In large projects such as these, it's inevitable that you will come across unexpected issues, but Paul and Helen were quick to resolve them and ensure that we were happy. Thank you for our beautiful garden, it's exactly as we hoped it would be.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Our front and back gardens and roof terrace have been wholly updated and modernised thanks to Floral & Hardy. Their service was first rate in several respects. First, while we initially approached Floral & Hardy simply to update our back garden, which is very small, Paul came up with the suggestion of improving the appearance of our front garden and roof terrace in a coordinated way with our back garden. Sam then provided designs which updated all three spaces in a way which provided continuity between them. Second, the Floral & Hardy design process is very client-focussed. After an initial visit to discuss in detail the type of planting and appearance we wanted to achieve, Sam then provided a brief for our approval. After taking on board our feedback, he then provided drawings for further discussion and feedback. And throughout the garden work, there were additional opportunities to refine the design and make additional changes. Third, the work carried out by Dimi and his co-workers was very professional and of excellent quality. Finally, Floral & Hardy did not quibble over modifications made while carrying out the work. Unlike many other builders I have used in the past, who want to charge extra for every minor change after work has started, I very much appreciated Floral & Hardy sticking with their original quote even though some materials and design features were altered after the building work and planting had begun. Not everything went smoothly of course. Work started several weeks late and took several weeks longer to complete than originally planned. However, these delays were partly due to poor weather and partly to being unable to receive timely deliveries for particular supplies, matters which were out of the hands of Floral & Hardy. The end result was well worth the wait. Its not an exaggeration to say how the look of our property has been completely transformed thanks to their outstanding design and high quality work.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Disappointed overall. First with the aftercare service - nonexistent. Promised dead plants replaced if within the year. Some were dead within a month. I won’t hold my breath for the promised annual visit to check on the job one year on. Second - some things were not done as I’d requested and on the job when this was pointed out the design person dIsmissed this as an issue. Eg having lavender as a focus point was in memory of my mum. Instead it was a few planted in with other varieties and the impact lost. Also a climbing structure for the kids was made as a platform with a roof on it and a pretty useless steep ramp instead of an slide. I can’t answer some following questions as they’ve not returned calls or service
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
5 months after I initially made contact with Floral & Hardy, I now have a roof terrace that is no longer a barren embarrassment! Complete with living walls, a water feature, a pergola and fruit trees, it's a delight - especially when lit up at night. My private magical sanctuary. Generally all interactions with the firm have been entirely positive, the only downsides were supplier shortages/delays which meant that my "ideal" selections weren't always available, and the process from start to finish seemed to take an inordinate length of time. But we got there in the end and I very much appreciated Paul's "can do" attitude and rapid response to emails, also Sam's commitment to late night WhatsApp-ing when decisions needed to be made. A big "thank you" to all involved, here's hoping I can maintain the look ... !
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We have recently completed a completely new, child friendly garden through Floral & Hardy. We only have a small garden in Kingston Upon Thames and two very active children (2&8 years old). Sam, the designer, carefully considered our requirements and came up with a clever design to make the garden fun for the kids but also a great space for adults to relax - he really made the most of the small space. We now have a sunken trampoline that can be covered up (the kids haven't stopped playing on this), detachable swings and climbing holds on the garden wall. The garden can now be superbly lit, has flowers that softens the appearance, smart seating and fencing and fresh herbs for cooking. The quality of the work overall was excellent and evitable snags have been resolved. The work took longer than expected due external supplier issues and the comms could have been better but overall we're chuffed with our new garden!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Our Floral and Hardy garden is fantastic! Sam, our F+H garden designer, did a wonderful job of helping us to pinpoint and refine what we wanted in our new garden, sharing his knowledge and expertise. The end result is more gorgeous than I think we’d dreamed of- this really is testament to Sam’s design and the quality of work delivered by the whole F+H team. I also want you to share that the pricing was incredibly competitive, and great value for the end result delivered. The only negative, and the reason we gave a rating of 4/5 was, regrettably there were a few delays to the project timeline due to materials shortages.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
The end product of the garden is wonderful. (Before and after pics below) built to the design, of which the design process with Sam was great and the design drawn was as envisaged by myself. However, the project itself and time taken to complete was a lot longer than expected and not enjoyable. The general project management was rarely there, I had to chase on multiple times where the builders where and what the next steps would be, random deliveries turning up with no one there to accept them etc etc. Overall 4 star as the 12 weeks to complete were stressful, however the end result is great and a garden I hope to enjoy for a number of years to come!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Floral and Hardy were friendly, professional and hugely knowledgeable. They designed a beautiful garden for us that was everything we wanted and more. They listened to our wants and needs and the final result has genuinely changed our lives. It will be something that we treasure for a long, long time.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We've been so impressed with Floral & Hardy from start to finish. We really valued the design phase and the direction we received from Sam was essential for us as we weren't quite sure what we wanted as our new build garden was very bland. We were so impressed with his designs and how that translated into the end product. The attention to detail at every stage of the project was top notch. There were challenges with deliveries due to national shortages and Sam and Mark stopped at nothing to ensure we got our project delivered. The builders were dedicated and had incredibly high standards. We are so pleased with the final product and have had so many compliments. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Floral & Hardy and are so excited to be able to use our garden for years to come. Thanks to everyone in the team!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
We asked Paul and Helen to help us with our over grown/messy garden. We were looking for a space that we could enjoy with our daughter and entertain friends. Their design really blew us away, we now have a lovely tropical feel to our garden complete with lighting for evenings, a fantastic garden office (which has been a god send for lockdown), a lovely water feature and beautiful lawn area for our daughter to play. Their team were excellent throughout, always left the space clean and clear. Helen suggested some fantastic planting ideas that have added colour and privacy in all the right areas. We would happily recommend them to friends and family and will be using them in the future when our next move comes up!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Floral and Hardy is rated 4.64 based on 45 reviews