Floral and Hardy Reviews

4.59 Rating 37 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend Floral and Hardy
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone
Read Floral and Hardy Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0845 603 2598

Email:

query@floralandhardy.co.uk

Location:

The Design Loft, 8 Hayes Wood Avenue, Hayes Village

Write Your review

Tell us how Floral and Hardy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Our small city garden needed a complete transformation from the featureless decked space that we'd had since our kids were toddlers, to meet the changing needs of our family now that they are teenagers and to give us some outside space to relax in now that we are spending much more time working from home. Starting the garden project was quite daunting, as we knew that a lot of careful planning and work would be needed to turn it into the sort of space that we wanted. But once Paul and his designer Katerina came to see our garden and discuss our requirements with us, they made us believe that what we wanted was achievable, and so we were happy to pay the deposit for the plans (deductible against the final cost). Their ideas really came to life once Kat showed us her detailed coloured plans and ideas for the garden on her next visit. F&H were highly focused on delivering what we wanted from the garden, and also added great ideas to ours. After seeing the plans, we knew that F&H were absolutely the right people to entrust the project to. Our budget was tight, but although not the cheapest, Paul's flexibility in finding ways to reduce costs, and his guarantee that the final price was fixed and that there would be no 'hidden extras' or surprises, convinced us to go ahead with F&H. They were also realistic in their timeframes and we understood that to get the garden we wanted the work would probably take a couple of months. Seeing what we would get at the end of the process, we were happy to wait. Once we gave the green light though, the work on the project started remarkably quickly as Paul had a timeslot available for one of his teams. Measuring up was done within a week, and the team started clearing the garden soon after. The extra light and space in the garden and also in the back of the house that was created by the clearance of overgrown trees etc. was great, and once all the overhanging branches were gone we could see that the ‘blank canvas’ that Kat said we had to work with was bigger than we'd thought. The F&H team were excellent, a complete pleasure to deal with, and worked really hard to complete the clearance and start the hard landscaping phase as quickly as possible, and then we really began to see that F&H would fulfil our hopes for the garden. We went on holiday while the work was going on, but Kat's team continued to work while we were away and Kat kept us updated by email as patios were put in, raised beds were built and rendered, a new shed arrived, new fences were put up, and everything took shape, and we were excited by what we would return to. The finishing touches were done soon after we got back, and once our new garden furniture arrived our new garden was ready for us to enjoy. I don’t think we could be any happier with what Floral & Hardy have delivered for us – the transformation is fantastic. They listened carefully to what we wanted, contributed their own great ideas, drew up a plan which showed us how lovely our garden could be, and then delivered on that plan 100%, on time and on budget. I don’t think it could have been a more stress-free process, and I don’t think we have ever spent money more wisely. They have has even offered to pop back in a few months to make sure all the plants have survived the winter, and to make sure we’re still happy with everything, which I'm certain we will be. To anyone considering having work done on their garden, and particularly if they want something transformative, I don’t think they could choose anyone better to design and deliver that than Floral & Hardy. Thanks so much to Paul, Kat, Mikel, Igor and the rest of the team!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
It's not that easy to find a company who will provide an end to end garden design, construction and landscaping service. Floral & Hardy provided a design that exactly met our brief, and worked with us to tailor it to fit our budget. Despite ongoing supply challenges outside of their control (COVID, Suez Canal, HGV drivers and petrol shortages!!), they managed to deliver an amazing transformation to our garden. We needed a lot of hard landscaping removed, new decking, paving and planting, as well as electrics and lighting, and they were able to deliver it all. In large projects such as these, it's inevitable that you will come across unexpected issues, but Paul and Helen were quick to resolve them and ensure that we were happy. Thank you for our beautiful garden, it's exactly as we hoped it would be.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Our front and back gardens and roof terrace have been wholly updated and modernised thanks to Floral & Hardy. Their service was first rate in several respects. First, while we initially approached Floral & Hardy simply to update our back garden, which is very small, Paul came up with the suggestion of improving the appearance of our front garden and roof terrace in a coordinated way with our back garden. Sam then provided designs which updated all three spaces in a way which provided continuity between them. Second, the Floral & Hardy design process is very client-focussed. After an initial visit to discuss in detail the type of planting and appearance we wanted to achieve, Sam then provided a brief for our approval. After taking on board our feedback, he then provided drawings for further discussion and feedback. And throughout the garden work, there were additional opportunities to refine the design and make additional changes. Third, the work carried out by Dimi and his co-workers was very professional and of excellent quality. Finally, Floral & Hardy did not quibble over modifications made while carrying out the work. Unlike many other builders I have used in the past, who want to charge extra for every minor change after work has started, I very much appreciated Floral & Hardy sticking with their original quote even though some materials and design features were altered after the building work and planting had begun. Not everything went smoothly of course. Work started several weeks late and took several weeks longer to complete than originally planned. However, these delays were partly due to poor weather and partly to being unable to receive timely deliveries for particular supplies, matters which were out of the hands of Floral & Hardy. The end result was well worth the wait. Its not an exaggeration to say how the look of our property has been completely transformed thanks to their outstanding design and high quality work.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Disappointed overall. First with the aftercare service - nonexistent. Promised dead plants replaced if within the year. Some were dead within a month. I won’t hold my breath for the promised annual visit to check on the job one year on. Second - some things were not done as I’d requested and on the job when this was pointed out the design person dIsmissed this as an issue. Eg having lavender as a focus point was in memory of my mum. Instead it was a few planted in with other varieties and the impact lost. Also a climbing structure for the kids was made as a platform with a roof on it and a pretty useless steep ramp instead of an slide. I can’t answer some following questions as they’ve not returned calls or service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
5 months after I initially made contact with Floral & Hardy, I now have a roof terrace that is no longer a barren embarrassment! Complete with living walls, a water feature, a pergola and fruit trees, it's a delight - especially when lit up at night. My private magical sanctuary. Generally all interactions with the firm have been entirely positive, the only downsides were supplier shortages/delays which meant that my "ideal" selections weren't always available, and the process from start to finish seemed to take an inordinate length of time. But we got there in the end and I very much appreciated Paul's "can do" attitude and rapid response to emails, also Sam's commitment to late night WhatsApp-ing when decisions needed to be made. A big "thank you" to all involved, here's hoping I can maintain the look ... !
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We have recently completed a completely new, child friendly garden through Floral & Hardy. We only have a small garden in Kingston Upon Thames and two very active children (2&8 years old). Sam, the designer, carefully considered our requirements and came up with a clever design to make the garden fun for the kids but also a great space for adults to relax - he really made the most of the small space. We now have a sunken trampoline that can be covered up (the kids haven't stopped playing on this), detachable swings and climbing holds on the garden wall. The garden can now be superbly lit, has flowers that softens the appearance, smart seating and fencing and fresh herbs for cooking. The quality of the work overall was excellent and evitable snags have been resolved. The work took longer than expected due external supplier issues and the comms could have been better but overall we're chuffed with our new garden!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Our Floral and Hardy garden is fantastic! Sam, our F+H garden designer, did a wonderful job of helping us to pinpoint and refine what we wanted in our new garden, sharing his knowledge and expertise. The end result is more gorgeous than I think we’d dreamed of- this really is testament to Sam’s design and the quality of work delivered by the whole F+H team. I also want you to share that the pricing was incredibly competitive, and great value for the end result delivered. The only negative, and the reason we gave a rating of 4/5 was, regrettably there were a few delays to the project timeline due to materials shortages.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The end product of the garden is wonderful. (Before and after pics below) built to the design, of which the design process with Sam was great and the design drawn was as envisaged by myself. However, the project itself and time taken to complete was a lot longer than expected and not enjoyable. The general project management was rarely there, I had to chase on multiple times where the builders where and what the next steps would be, random deliveries turning up with no one there to accept them etc etc. Overall 4 star as the 12 weeks to complete were stressful, however the end result is great and a garden I hope to enjoy for a number of years to come!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Floral and Hardy were friendly, professional and hugely knowledgeable. They designed a beautiful garden for us that was everything we wanted and more. They listened to our wants and needs and the final result has genuinely changed our lives. It will be something that we treasure for a long, long time.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
We've been so impressed with Floral & Hardy from start to finish. We really valued the design phase and the direction we received from Sam was essential for us as we weren't quite sure what we wanted as our new build garden was very bland. We were so impressed with his designs and how that translated into the end product. The attention to detail at every stage of the project was top notch. There were challenges with deliveries due to national shortages and Sam and Mark stopped at nothing to ensure we got our project delivered. The builders were dedicated and had incredibly high standards. We are so pleased with the final product and have had so many compliments. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Floral & Hardy and are so excited to be able to use our garden for years to come. Thanks to everyone in the team!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
We asked Paul and Helen to help us with our over grown/messy garden. We were looking for a space that we could enjoy with our daughter and entertain friends. Their design really blew us away, we now have a lovely tropical feel to our garden complete with lighting for evenings, a fantastic garden office (which has been a god send for lockdown), a lovely water feature and beautiful lawn area for our daughter to play. Their team were excellent throughout, always left the space clean and clear. Helen suggested some fantastic planting ideas that have added colour and privacy in all the right areas. We would happily recommend them to friends and family and will be using them in the future when our next move comes up!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
terrible company, built a retaining wall NOT to the spec that their own engineer designed. 10 years later wall and steps collapsing. cost of repair close to 100k. when we refused payemnt because we were concered about the quality of work we were threatened. we made payment and the company when into liquidation the next day. only to pop up under slightly different name, they appear to have done this over 8 times. DO NOT GO NEAR THEM
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
After 10 years living in our London home we decided it was time to rip out our garden and start over. We weren't using the space efficiently and the deck we installed when we moved in was falling apart. We collaborated with Helen and Paul on a garden design that would modernize the space, provide more room for entertaining and become an attractive feature of the house and relatively light maintenance. After a brief discussion we arrived at a fee for the job that was within our budget. Our roughly 4-month build was during covid restrictions, working from home and the arrival of our new puppy! We had a few bumpy moments given the circumstances but any differences were settled promptly and amicably with Paul, Helen and her team. The end result is a fabulous garden that we'll enjoy with friends and family for years to come. Thanks Helen and Paul for your hard work and expertise.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
The left side of our garden used to be dominated by a large ditch which often became waterlogged. Helen designed a lovely border shape running the full length (~75m) of the garden and Paul discussed a large hard landscaping project to sort our drainage problem, irrigate the new borders and light the whole area. The main hard landscaping took around 12 weeks to complete: A ~70m long retaining wall was built around the left side of the garden to level the edge of the border. Then Paul’s team laid drainage along the whole length of the garden with a sump and pump half way to bring the water from our drainpipes to a stream at the end of the garden. Then the area was backfilled with around 160 tonnes of soil and the shape of Helen’s border design was laid out including some concrete bases for paths, benches and the water tank. A large 30,000L water tank was installed with pump, connected to our mains water and irrigation laid along all the borders. Electrics were taken from our main board and LED lighting laid along all the borders with remote controls. Once all was complete the borders were planted with an array of different hedging, trees and plants. The result is stunning and we can’t wait to see it all grow up over the coming years. Paul’s team were always courteous and did not try to cut any corners. Overall a very good experience and very likely to use Floral and Hardy again for the other side of the garden in a few years time.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Beginning on 20 April and during several subsequent weeks of 'lockdown' I had a wonderful experience watching the Floral and Hardy team gradually transform my mature and wildlife-friendly garden into a haven for people too. There was an enormous amount of work to do - the tough, dirty jobs of digging out tree stumps from heavy clay soil; the delicate operation of removing and replacing a collapsing trellis without damaging the mature honeysuckle and clematis entwined around it; wrestling to remove much (but at my request not all) of - the overgrown and rampant ivy. Followed by the delight of Helen's imaginative and wildlife-sensitive planting design taking shape. This incorporated the use of many materials already in the garden - such as numerous rotting logs, pebbles and boulders, obelisks, and quite a few perennials, trees and shrubs - but in the most inventive and visually stunning way, and all entirely friendly to birds and other wildlife as well as looking fabulous. A great deal of new planting has also enhanced the garden, and the area around my pond - which before was dominated by ivy and Angelica - is now truly beautiful with its imaginative mix of vertical logs, ferns, wildflower turf, flowering perennials, and shrubs. The vibrant yet sympathetic planting is an absolute pleasure, yet the peaceful, natural feel of this part of the garden has also been maintained. To sum up, the garden now has beautiful structure, colour, and design that were missing before. It entices the eye and is full of interest. A wonderful outdoor space for me and my visitors to explore, enjoy, and share with wildlife. I cannot recommend Floral and Hardy too highly - they have exceeded all my hopes and expectations, adapted to my own ideas, and stayed on budget. THANK YOU.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We asked floral and hardy to come and scope out the transformation of our overgrown and unwieldy garden. Our goal was to have a garden perfect for entertaining, that was low maintenance and also included a garden cabin as an office space & extra entertainment room during summer months. Helen's hand-drawn design really got us excited about what was to come and the finished product did not disappoint! We now have a pretty tropical garden that adds colour all year round as well as a lovely cabin that we have already made excellent use of. The lighting has added an extra dimension for evenings. We love the water feature too, the sound really is lovely background noise and so glad we decided to go for it. We would happily recommend Paul & Helen to anyone looking for a professional approach to garden design. If we ever move we will be sure to give them a call again :D
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Can't recommend Floral & Hardy highly enough. To say my garden was a mess is an understatement, but from the start nothing phased Paul and the team. Sam, the designer, has amazing vision and understood exactly what we were looking for, then built on it with ideas we hadn't even considered. The team of builders who carried out the work were hard working and always left the site tidy when they left. Can't wait to get out there and enjoy my new garden...just as soon as it stops chucking it down...
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
At short notice Floral and Hardy put together a garden design for my elderly aunt who was suffering with dementia. The process of preparing the garden under her watchful eye, gave her immense pleasure, and she was really pleased with the end result. The garden had been planned for easy wheelchair access too and it was great that she could get out to enjoy it again. Paul and his team worked hard to get the project finished as quickly as possible due to my aunts deteriorating health, whilst battling the English weather! Thank you for a job well done, and for giving her the garden back.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We have recently had our garden completely made over and thanks to Paul and Helen, we are very pleased with the results. The garden previously was not at all interesting and so the brief was to change all that and make it a space for us and our 2 girls a place that we would want to spend time in. I can say that we now have just that, and enjoying anytime we can to be in the garden. The service provided by Paul and Helen was excellent. from the initial meeting, design brief and putting that into practice. The team worked through some really bad weather and as a result finished the work on time and to budget. We also found both Paul and Helen willing to make some adjustments as we went along and whilst were very professional, were also friendly and helpful at all times. As a result we would recommend them highly and very pleased with the work they did for us.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Eighteen months ago our garden was in need of a complete make-over. Having erected walls on two sides we engaged Floral-and-Hardy to design and construct the new garden. The design was excellent, everything we had hoped for, with extended patio, pergola leading to a seating area, water feature and an excellent selection of flowering trees, shrubs and other plants. The raised flower beds added an extra dimension to the garden. The construction work included a considerable amount of paving, brick walls for the raised beds and the laying of a new lawn, all of which was done to a very high standard. The sprinkler system is effective in spells of very dry weather Helen, Paul and workers on the site were always courteous, and the site was tidied nightly as the work progressed. A year later we have a colourful garden, enhanced in the evenings by a lighting system, and which attracts many varieties of birds and bees. We are pleased to recommend Floral-and -Hardy for both design and construction of a new garden. Margaret and Allan
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Floral and Hardy is rated 4.59 based on 37 reviews