First Utility Reviews

2.40 Rating 10 Reviews
30% of reviewers recommend First Utility
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone
communication channels

How would you rate First Utility ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"My Partner recently joined Bulb and used another members code from here! He has just received the £50 free credit!! No other provider was offering By using someone elses code you get £50 automatically once fully set up He is offering £75 if you sign up using his code £50 from Bulb and £25 from the £50 he gets So £75 off your first bill!! The code is below: refferal75gbp.tk"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Well where do I start first utilities what a joke Signed up for smart meters and have had months of being made a fool of don’t let this company any where your home. The first prison they sent to fit the meters did nothing came and left after waiting weeks. Weeks later they sent another one well he didn’t know the difference between a condensing boiler and combi boiler he fitted a smart electric meter then the fun started again when it came to the gas meter my meter is small meter in a standard box on an outside wall I was told he would have to fit a temporary meter because my gas pipe would need to be cut back to make it shorter so the new meter would fit, the fun starts again he fitted one meter Said it didn’t work so he removed that one and fitted another he Said that one didn’t work all there was nothing wrong with the meters he hadn’t turned the gas supply back on so he put the old meter back and just left with out saying he was leaving. The saga continues, the next chapter first utilities phone two say that another comedian would be calling in about five to six weeks to cut the pipe and fit the meter the day arrives I get a phone call from the next benny hill saying he was about ten minutes away but he wouldn’t be able to fit the meter because of the weather conditions now I’m really baffled we are having one of the nicest summers I can remember for a very long time benny hill arrived asked me where the gas supply comes into the meter this is a man sent to work on my gas and electric help. Could it be that copper pipe covered in yellow going up the outside of my house into the gas meter I wonder. Next thing he said the only way the meter could be fitted as to nock down my living room wall. And then started to say that the meter could not be fitted and that he last person that was there was a layer and he had the parts to fit the meter, Very dangers people. So, I phoned first utilities to complain here it starts again after spending twenty minutes complaining about he services and being told that he was taking notes I was put on hold for twelve minutes and then cut off waited for them to phone back that never happened so I phoned back no notes where taken from my first call at all so start over again. Was told some one would be back InTouch no one very did. So, I contacted their Resolution Centre team what a complete waste of time that was the person that was supposed to be dealing with my complaint never listened at all. Stay well away from this company."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I'm with First Utility for few years now and last year I installed smart metre. My new tariff starts next month and I have got an email saying they have worked out my monthly bill which is £61, which I don't understand because I'm always on credit. And also the main idea of installing smart metre is you don't get estimate bill and you pay what you use. If this is not happening then why roll out smart metre? Not really happy the way the companies are making profit from us even after the smart metre installed."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"hi switched recent and totally love it ,use my link and i will help you get another £ 40 on top of your £ 50 just pm after you complete switch and enjoy ,im more then happy to give you my share ,and keep £ 10 for me join.bulb.co.uk/refer/michal6442"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"THEIR GAS AND ELECTRICITY DEALS ARE SECOND TO NONE AND I HAVE JUST RECENTLY PURCHASED THEIR BROADBAND WHICH IS INCREDIBLE VALUE. THE SALES AND AFTER SALES CARE IS FIRST CLASS. I HAVE BEEN RIPPED OFF WITH OTHER SUPPLIERS OF ENERGY AND BROADBAND SO WHAT A RELIEF TO KNOW THEIR IS A REALLY DECENT COMPANY OUT THEIR WHO CARE AND CONSIDER THEIR SERVICE TO CLIENTS A PRIORITY. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. MANY THANKS TERRY MASON"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"After 2 months giving meter readings they still sent estimated bills. The property was empty. I don't know how many meter readings they needed but they still gave estimated bills. The staff are awful/obnoxious/and very rude. The estimated bill was £126.00. The actual bill was £39.00. And if you need to speak to customer service be prepared you will have at least 20 mins wait. GOOD LUCK."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"When it was my annual renewal for gas/electric I could not have the lowest cost because I refuse to have a smart meter installed in my bungalow. As they are not compulsory, I consider this a form of blackmail."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"First Utility - Most incompetent energy provider Just over 4 years ago the energy provider FU (First Utility) made a small mistake with my final bill when I left a rented property. FU apologised for the mistake and stated that they had cleared and closed my account so I thought the matter was closed. However, what followed next was 4 years of stress and frustration trying to get FU to engage with me and correct their mistake and call off the Debt Collection Storm Troopers that they unleased on me without any consultation what so ever. FU have used all the tricks at their disposal to avoid actually having to engage with me to resolve the consequences of their billing mistake. I have spent hours trying to engage with FU and most of this time is spent repeating myself again and again as I never speak with the same person more than once, even when the issue was supposedly escalated to the highest customer relations team. Unfortunately, the sheer incompetence and arrogance of FU is mind blowing. Even when they have an opportunity to get closure via a goodwill gesture they even manage to mess this up multiple times by breaking their promise and not actually sending out the goodwill gesture. As for getting them to explain their actions you might be better asking a baboon to explain quantum physics. Without any consultation FU unleashed their pet Debt Collection Storm Troopers to hound and threaten me. I know from various company review sites that there is a history of Energy providers, including FU, using Debt Collection dogs to intimidate innocent customers into submission and they use these parasites without notifying the customer. I am convinced that FU actively blocked the email address associated with my account to frustrate my attempts to resolve the issue. When I tried to circumvent this by using a different email address FU rejected my email stating that I must use the email address associated with my FU account. When I asked FU about blocking my email account surprise, surprise they denied that this was being done even though I pointed out to them that their own automated reply system did not work when an email was being blocked. Unfortunately, FU treat customers with contempt and think they are stupid. Oh, and shock horror shortly after this conversation my email account suddenly started working. Go figure. FU have offered goodwill gestures of £35 and then £50. However, both of these were never sent so I had to chase them each time and on the last occasion I rejected the £50 offer, but they then had the audacity to say you can't reject it as it had already been accepted. A so called Senior complaints manager informed me that FU considered the £50 goodwill gesture (Relates to £12.50 for every year) was the final offer and was in FU's opinion a reasonable offer for the 4 years of grief they had subjected me to. I explained that the only option I was left with was to post my experience onto various Social Media platforms, which is what I proceeded to do. Throughout this sorry saga FU have never once contacted me to try and resolve the issue. However, once I posted my experience on one of the Company Review sites it solicited an immediate response from FU. FU actually contacted me (now there is a real FIRST), but yet again I had to explain the history to a different person all over again. FU then came back and offered to increase the goodwill gesture to £75 (£18.75 for every year), which I rejected and said that I would accept £250. First Utility rejected this and said that £75 was their New final offer. Shortly after FU contacted me again (someone different of course) and they wanted to know if the £250 I asked for would resolve the issue to which I replied that it would. They dangled this carrot then immediately took it away by saying that they would not pay this, but were prepared to increase the old final offer to a New final offer of £100. After dangling the carrot and taking it away this was the final slap in the face so I rejected their latest Final offer. After 4 years, 4 Final goodwill gestures I have now received a Deadlock letter and advise to seek a resolution with the Ombudsman. However, the Ombudsman is swamped with complaints about the energy companies and is powerless to reign them in. The only option left to customers is to let their feet do the talking and share their experience via the various social media and review sites so that others can make an informed decision before going with these rogue companies. In my opinion First Utility has to be the most incompetent and obnoxious company I have ever had the misfortune to come into contact with. The broken promises, belligerence, stone walling and use of Debt Collection agencies as their personal Storm troopers to silence or bully innocent customers into submission is totally unacceptable and I hope that one day the authorities revoke their license to operate."
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"Easy online switch process.. cashback incentives aside i was constantly kept in the loop on my switch progress... a good experience."
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"Not only did first Utility find me the best energy providers to cut my costs in energy, when I had a health problem they proactively helped me to ensure I could afford my needs sympatheticaly and refunded some money in credit I had. Best Customer award for them!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
First Utility is rated 2.40 based on 10 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This