First Tutors Reviews

4.6 Rating 8,426 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend First Tutors
4.6
Based on 8,426 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read First Tutors Reviews

About First Tutors:

Tutor Reviews

We gather 1000s of tutor reviews every month. In 2018, 90% of reviews were positive.

References & ID checks

Have confidence that your tutor's identity is genuine. All of our tutors must pass identity checks, plus we take up at least 2 references. These references are passed on to you once you've selected your tutor.

7 Day Support

Not sure about something? We have a team of experienced, caring people on hand to help 7 days a week.

No Tutor, No Fee

Contact as many of our tutors as you like through our website for free. You only pay when you're ready to hire one as your tutor.
Find the Perfect Tutor

If things don't work out with your tutor, just leave them a review and you can choose another one for free. With over 20,000 listed tutors, you're bound to find one that's just right for you!

Any problems?

We're here to help you! Just Contact our customer services.

Spread the word. Tell your friends what companies they can trust. Sharing is caring.

Write Your review

Tell us how First Tutors made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
One tutor connected right away one tutor messaged twice no answer
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
Dear Sarah, Thank you for your feedback. I see that you contacted 3 tutors and all of them responded initially within 24 hours. I am not aware of any request that didn't respond but we are willing to look into this if you provide the name of the tutor. Please don't hesitate to contact our customer service team if you have further problems. Kind regards Customer Service First Tutors.
Posted 6 days ago
Contacted First tutors to search for some help for a boy aged 8 . Found Tutor reasonably easy but had t realised that you needed to pay to release details . Found the tutors were very swift in replying on the discussion boards but once you went on to try and arrange tuition through the personal contact they became very quiet and didn't respond as quick. It so far has taken 4 weeks and still no sign of any tuition.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The search and criteria aren’t accurate and you get a lot of irrelevant mismatches showing up. The finders fee should be a one off charge rather than per tutor. The information such as tutor details an references and messaging facility plus reminder emails is very useful and good. Just the cost element isn’t great.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Dear Ria, Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the search function: the searches will return the results of tutors who match the criteria (subject, level, location/online) that is input into the search box on the homepage. The free messaging platform is then available to allow you to discuss your specific requirements. First Tutors charge a finder's fee to release the contact details of an individual tutor. To see how we compare to other services please see the information at this link: https://www.firsttutors.com/uk/about-us/. I hope all is going well with your new tutor. If you need any assistance please contact Customer Support. Kind regards, First Tutors.
Posted 3 months ago
Teacher very good. Website needs improvement
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
A number of tutors responded initially asking about contents of the subject, titles etc then no one responded for several days.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Dear Julie, We are sorry to hear that you found tutors to not be responsive on the site. All tutors who do not respond to a request are automatically removed from our system to ensure only the most responsive are available. To maximise your chances of finding a suitable tutor we would recommend contacting as many as possible in your area. Kind regards, Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 months ago
The search engine could be a little bit more specific in the teaching area. Sometimes it’s difficult to find an experienced tutor in one area as the search engine shows just few options. For example, I was looking for a tutor of Design and technology but the search engine just gives me the Craft and Design which the results show a lot of Art teachers.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi! Please can you refund me the fee for this tutor. Had him for one lesson only
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Dear Zahida, I am very sorry to hear that you have been disappointed with your tutor. I can see that you have just contacted our Customer Support team about this matter and we have explained the process so you can select a replacement tutor at no further cost, which we hope will provide a positive solution for you. Please reply directly to Customer Support if you need any further assistance. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 months ago
Unfortunately John was not the right match for my daughter. She felt that whilst he had a good knowledge of German she felt he wasnt the right tutor for her.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Dear Valerie, We can see that you have been in touch with our customer service team already, who have provided details on how to leave feedback and choose a replacement tutor at no further charge. Please do let us know if you have any further queries. Kind regards, Customer Service Team
Posted 4 months ago
It's really annoying that you have to pay for one lesson. We like to try out several tutors before selecting one, and this means we pay a fee for multiple tutors only to pick one. This time, for example, I paid to trial two French tutors and have decided to go forward with one only. The second tutor is also very good, but her experience is not as a good a match, so it's not a question of dissatisfaction. I've had to pay two fees though, which is irritating and means that First Tutors is the last place I look for tutors (and we currently have around 10 tutors).
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I found it unreasonable. Am a single mum looking for extra tutoring support for my child. For each teacher you want to discuss and trial its a £25 fee. If you want to discuss with a teacher (after the fee) and not happy first tutors allow 1 free trial. I used first tutors before and it was so easy and considerate. I think parents will understand me. It's hard if you need to find £25 for each teacher you want to discuss your child needs. Dissappoited and time wasting whilst trialling teacher by teacher.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Dear Yavinash, Thank you for your feedback. First Tutors charge a finder's fee to connect you with your chosen tutor once you have used our free messaging platform to discuss your requirements with as many tutors as you like. I am sorry that you have found our finder's fee to be expensive: we have a tiered finder's fee to make the service as affordable as possible for everyone. Our fees help to cover the cost of completing identity and address checks, and obtaining two references for all our registered tutors, allowing you to choose with confidence. You can read more about how our fees compare with other services at the following link: https://www.firsttutors.com/uk/about-us/ I hope that you will have a successful tuition arrangement with your chosen tutor. If you find the tutor is not the best match for you please contact us by email so we can explain how you can select a replacement tutor with no further fee payable. If you need any assistance from Customer Support, please do contact us by email. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 4 months ago
The finders fee is too much especially when it varies per tutor. The finders fee should be standardised at a maximum of £10 considering that the hourly rates for the tutors are high already
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Dear Akosua, The finder's fee is based on the tutor's hourly rate so that it is affordable for all. The fee varies from £9.99 to £34.99 and helps cover the security checks we perform on all tutors. We find that this provides parents and students with peace of mind. If you encounter any difficulties with your tutor, please do not hesitate to contact us, we are here to help. Kind regards, Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 4 months ago
Helpful and creative tutor.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
The admin fee had to be paid before I could have even a telephone conversation with the tutor. This was not made clear on the website, nor if this admin fee is charged every time you want to speak to a tutor. So it kind of forces you to commit to the first tutor you speak to. The tutor subsequently reduced the first lesson fee, citing the admin fee. Again, something I wasnt made aware of. So i felt like i was going into the arrangement blind.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I couldn’t find a science teacher in this website only there is one which is very very expensive his name is Adrian
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Adrian, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you were unable to find a science teacher. Perhaps we can help you? I've made a search with your postcode and subject and can see a list of tutors that can possibly help and provide tuition at a lower hourly rate. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you need help. Kind regards Sally Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 6 months ago
The contact mechanism once you've selected someone could be easier and more obvious, and its a little expensive, but the tutor I got was very good.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
It is ashamed that some tutors don’t give news after requesting
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Dear Fatiha, We are very sorry to learn about this, Tutors should respond within a 24 hour period. As we have not yet heard from you we have been unable to help. However, I have contacted you this morning with instructions on how to leave feedback for your tutor and choose a replacement at no further charge. Kind Regards, Admin
Posted 7 months ago
I think the finding fee is quite expensive but happy I found a tutor.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Dear Lynne, Thank you for your feedback. The finder's fee is based on the tutor's hourly rate so that it is affordable for all. The fee varies from £9.99 to £34.99 and helps cover the security checks we perform on all tutors. We find that this provides parents and students with peace of mind. If you encounter any difficulties with your tutor, please do not hesitate to contact us, we are here to help. Kind regards, Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 7 months ago
It was easy to find the tutor but after just one lesson she told me that she was too busy to give me lessons anymore. I had to pay to get her details before I got in touch with her. It was a waste of money.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Dear Asami, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to learn of your disappointment and understand your reason for concern. Please contact our customer service team (enquiries@firsttutors.co.uk) and we can provide details on how to leave feedback and choose a replacement tutor at no further charge. Kind Regards, Admin
Posted 7 months ago
You charge far too much to release the tutor’s details- I expect this puts a lot of people off. £21 for a phone number is ridiculous.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Dear Olga, Thank you for your feedback. Our fees help cover the cost of running the website: tutor ID verification, qualification checks, reference collection etc. The finder's fee is based on the tutor's hourly fee so if you can only afford a low hourly rate the finder's fee will also be considerably lower. If the tutor isn't suitable we also offer another tutor at no further cost because we want clients to receive a positive experience with First Tutors. If you have further questions, please do not hesitate to contact our customer service team who are available 7 days a week. Kind regards Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 9 months ago
I found the website to be awkward glitchy and not very user friendly. It seems to be old and in need of a thorough make over.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We aim to provide a user-friendly service and I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We would be keen to discuss with you what areas of the website you found 'glitchy' so that we can make relevant improvements. Wishing you the best of luck with your lessons. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 9 months ago
First Tutors is rated 4.59 based on 8,426 reviews