First Tutors Reviews

4.59 Rating 7,907 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend First Tutors
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read First Tutors Reviews

About First Tutors:

Tutor Reviews

We gather 1000s of tutor reviews every month. In 2018, 90% of reviews were positive.

References & ID checks

Have confidence that your tutor's identity is genuine. All of our tutors must pass identity checks, plus we take up at least 2 references. These references are passed on to you once you've selected your tutor.

7 Day Support

Not sure about something? We have a team of experienced, caring people on hand to help 7 days a week.

No Tutor, No Fee

Contact as many of our tutors as you like through our website for free. You only pay when you're ready to hire one as your tutor.
Find the Perfect Tutor

If things don't work out with your tutor, just leave them a review and you can choose another one for free. With over 20,000 listed tutors, you're bound to find one that's just right for you!

Any problems?

We're here to help you! Just Contact our customer services.

Spread the word. Tell your friends what companies they can trust. Sharing is caring.

Write Your review

Tell us how First Tutors made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
You charge far too much to release the tutor’s details- I expect this puts a lot of people off. £21 for a phone number is ridiculous.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Dear Olga, Thank you for your feedback. Our fees help cover the cost of running the website: tutor ID verification, qualification checks, reference collection etc. The finder's fee is based on the tutor's hourly fee so if you can only afford a low hourly rate the finder's fee will also be considerably lower. If the tutor isn't suitable we also offer another tutor at no further cost because we want clients to receive a positive experience with First Tutors. If you have further questions, please do not hesitate to contact our customer service team who are available 7 days a week. Kind regards Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 1 month ago
I found the website to be awkward glitchy and not very user friendly. It seems to be old and in need of a thorough make over.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We aim to provide a user-friendly service and I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We would be keen to discuss with you what areas of the website you found 'glitchy' so that we can make relevant improvements. Wishing you the best of luck with your lessons. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 1 month ago
xx ggggggg hhhh
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Would be helpful if direct assistance via phone call was available to assist with issues rather than email only . Many Thanks.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Dear Valerie, Thank you for leaving your feedback for First Tutors. First Tutors do not provide a telephone support service however we do have a Customer Support Team working 7 days a week 8am - 7pm to assist by email and we always do our best to respond promptly. I can see that you have contacted the Customer Service Team today and we have been assisting with your enquiry. If you need any further assistance please do reply to our email. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 months ago
The site provides details of tutors and allows initial contact
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I found a great tutor who is amazing and I found one that was awful and I cannot believe I paid to get the details for. Complete waste of time and money.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Dear Joanne, Thank you for leaving feedback and we are glad to hear you have found a suitable tutor. I have checked your account and see that you didn't contact us about a problem with your previous tutor, so we could not help. We do have a procedure to follow when this happens so that you can find another tutor free of charge. I will contact you now with more information. Kind regards Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 months ago
I’m very up set I’m sending lots of tutor request But they don’t Available
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Thank you for your feedback. We do alert each tutor to every message that you send (via e-mail) and we wish they would respond out of courtesy to you, but sadly cannot force them to do so. We would always recommend that you maximise your chances of finding a suitable tutor by contacting as many as possible in your area (use as many requests as you'd like). All tutors who do not respond to a request are automatically removed from our system, so you shouldn't find it too hard to find someone suitable! In fact, we can see you have successfully matched with two tutors through the site. Kind regards, Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 5 months ago
Good selection of tutors and reviews available to help you choose a suitable person. My only criticism would be that you have to buy your tutors details in advance before you can even check their availability. I paid €15 just to get contact details without knowing if he was available when I needed the grinds. Thankfully the first tutor I tried managed to be available, however this was only because of a cancellation. Other than that there's a fee for every tutor you may need to contact.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Dear Jennifer, Thank you for your feedback. We would always recommend you discuss the tuition arrangement in as much detail as possible before paying the finder's fee. This should help to ensure that the tutor is available at the times you want tuition. If there are any problems with the arrangement please do get in touch with us. Kind regards, Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 5 months ago
Introduction fee is unfair. There should be at least a small fee for access to all tutors available and not a fee per tutor. That seems unreasonable especially when other websites are free.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Jennifer, First Tutors charge a finder's fee to release your chosen tutor's contact information, once you have used the free messaging platform to discuss your tuition requirements with a number of tutors. Unlike free services, our finder's fee offers peace of mind as it helps cover the cost of identity and reference checks on all of our registered tutors. You can see how our fees compare to other providers at the link below. https://www.firsttutors.com/uk/about-us/ I hope all is going well with your new tutor. If you need any assistance please contact our Customer Support team. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 6 months ago
A very nice person indeed. But there was a communication matter that made us leave. I am sure she is a good tutor and others have greatly benefited but it did not work for us, I am afraid.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Dear Dinesh, We are very sorry that you have been disappointed with your tutor and appreciate this is not the experience you were hoping for. I can see that you have been in contact with our Customer Support team and we have provided the contact details of a replacement tutor free of charge. I hope all goes well with your new tuition arrangement. If you need any further assistance please let us know. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 7 months ago
First tutors is a good platform to find a tutor on and I have found a really good tutor who suits my needs. However, while it makes it easy to find tutors, the £25 fee to release the tutors details seems quite expensive and it is not made clear at the beginning.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Responsive tutors. Ridicilously high fees charged by the website.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Dear Seyit, First Tutors offers a private forum for tutors and students to discuss requirements in full. Only when you are happy with your choice in tutor do we ask for a fee to release their contact details. Our fee's help cover the cost of identity and reference checks on all registered tutors. Unlike traditional agencies, First Tutors do not charge commission to the student or the tutor, making us an affordable player on the market. If for any reason you are unsatisfied with your choice of tutor, our tutor guarantee enables you to select a replacement tutor at no further cost. If you need any assistance or have any questions please contact our Customer Service team and we will be happy to help. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 8 months ago
It’s a bit steep having to pay a release fee for each individual tutor - I paid the £25 fee for two tutors over a two wk period and one of the tutors turned out to be pretty lack lustre and not worth the money. I would be caution about using first tutors again because of this.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Dear Joanna, Thank you for your feedback. Our fee's help cover the cost of identity and reference checks on all of our registered tutors so that you can choose with confidence. I am sorry to hear that things did not work with your initial choice. We do appreciate in certain circumstances, your tutor may not be a good match. Our tutor guarantee enables you to select a replacement tutor at no further charge. Unfortunatley, as you did not notify us of any issue we have been unable to help. If you contact enquiries@firsttutors.co.uk our customer support team will be able to assist. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 9 months ago
I don’t like being charged £15 just for the contact details of my tutor but the tutor herself is very good.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Dear Kaitlin, Thank you for your review. First Tutors operate as a tuition agency and the fee you pay is to receive your tutor’s direct contact details once you have discussed your requirements using our free messaging system. Our finder's fee helps cover the cost of our identity and reference checks on all registered tutors as well as business running costs. Information surrounding our fees and how we compare to other services can be found here: https://www.firsttutors.com/uk/about-us/. I am pleased to hear that that all is going well with your new tutor. If you need any assistance do email our Customer Support team and we will be pleased to assist you. Kind regards, Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 9 months ago
I engaged the Tutor on 10th October and by 30th October, no lessons had been undertaken because he needed essays from my son to rate him. I didn't find that to be a good reason for not commencing lessons by an experienced Tutor. Because we differ in approach and never had any lessons from him, I don't have a solid basis for reviewing his performance.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Dear Phillip, We are very sorry that things haven't worked out with your tutor: we appreciate this is not the experience you were hoping for. I can see that you have already contacted our Customer Support team and we have offered you the opportunity to connect with a free replacement tutor which we hope will resolve the matter positively for you. If you need any further assistance please reply directly to Customer Support. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 10 months ago
Good experience overall. Got the impression First Tutors is a search engine and was surprised to receive an admin message with "buy the tutor's details ". Not obvious when you first start using the site.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Dear Mariya, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that your overall experience was positive and will forward your feedback to our team about the 'buy the tutor's details'. If you have any further suggestions to help us improve the user experience we would appreciate your comments via email. Thank you Kind regards Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 11 months ago
I found a good number of tutors. I found the way the website works not so practical. I find it a bit hard to explain, it is about going back and forth re the different tutors that you contact, finding the messages back, the information you see first, then it has to be found somewhere else..
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Paying per tutor seems unfair, as you not sure if you’ll go with the tutor or not. There should be an option to pay to contact more than 1 tutor taking same subjects
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Ade, Thank you for your feedback. We give all students the opportunity to discuss their requirements with as many tutors as they like for free via our private forum. We only ask for the finder's fee once you have made your decision and are happy to go ahead with your chosen tutor. We offer a tutor guarantee whereby, if after making payment you are unsatisfied with your choice in tutor, we can offer a replacement tutor at no further charge. I have sent you an email this morning to ensure that everything is going well with your chemistry lessons. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 1 year ago
I didnt realise there was their own fee to pay. It should have been made very obvious
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Ash, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not realise that the fee you paid was our finder's fee. First Tutors operate as a tuition agency and the fee you pay is to receive your tutor’s direct contact details. This fee helps cover the cost of our identity and reference checks on all registered tutors as well as business running costs. Information surrounding our fees and how our business model works is displayed on our home page, the help pages and at the top of each tuition request. I hope that all is going well with your new tutor. If you need any assistance do email our Customer Support team and we will be pleased to assist you. Kind regards, Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 1 year ago
The service functions well but I did not know that the fee I was paying was for the introduction, not the first lesson.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Josh, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear there was a misunderstanding around the finder's fee. We operate as a tuition agency and the fee you pay the site is the agency fee to receive your tutor’s contact details. This fee helps cover the cost of our identity and reference checks on all registered tutors as well as business running costs. Information surrounding our fees and how our business model works is displayed on our home page, the help pages and at the top of each request. Kind regards, Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 1 year ago
First Tutors is rated 4.59 based on 7,907 reviews