First Tutors Reviews

4.6 Rating 8,426 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend First Tutors
4.6
Based on 8,426 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read First Tutors Reviews

About First Tutors:

Tutor Reviews

We gather 1000s of tutor reviews every month. In 2018, 90% of reviews were positive.

References & ID checks

Have confidence that your tutor's identity is genuine. All of our tutors must pass identity checks, plus we take up at least 2 references. These references are passed on to you once you've selected your tutor.

7 Day Support

Not sure about something? We have a team of experienced, caring people on hand to help 7 days a week.

No Tutor, No Fee

Contact as many of our tutors as you like through our website for free. You only pay when you're ready to hire one as your tutor.
Find the Perfect Tutor

If things don't work out with your tutor, just leave them a review and you can choose another one for free. With over 20,000 listed tutors, you're bound to find one that's just right for you!

Any problems?

We're here to help you! Just Contact our customer services.

Spread the word. Tell your friends what companies they can trust. Sharing is caring.

Write Your review

Tell us how First Tutors made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The tutors themselves are lovely but what we got was not what I was told I would get. I asked if they could offer tutoring for my son so he could be home educated and cover the entire GCsE syllabus. However what we got was tutors who did not teach but just were there in case he got stuck. He had to watch videos that were so boring I couldn’t even watch for more than one minute and he’s autistic with a very poor attention span. He then had to answer questions on a syllabus he hasn’t even learned yet and was basically teaching himself with videos we could get from the internet. Not sure what I was paying the tutor for as they were also in another “room” with another student for half of the time. There was a £30 find a tutor fee I was not even aware of. Each session we had a different tutor to who we were expecting , who had no knowledge of my son and what we had requested. One even did an English lesson when we were told it was science. Will not be using them again!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Dear Keely, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your tutor. I see that you haven't contacted us so we were unable to help. I will contact you now via email. Kind regards Customer Service First Tutors.
Posted 2 weeks ago
The system of releasing details of any tutor is waste of money. If I am not happy to carry on with any tutor then I have to pay again for to release the new tutor details. There should be half an hour free session , free of charge. I now have to look for another tutor as the one I've booked was a waste of money and time. I am not using First Tutor anymore.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Dear Furat, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with your tutor but we didn't hear from you so were unable to help. We do have a procedure to follow so that you can obtain a new tutor free of charge. We want you to have a positive experience with First Tutors. I will contact you now via email so that you can find another tutor free of charge. Kind regards Customer Service First Tutors.
Posted 4 months ago
Asked them to unsubscribe me from marketing emails and they cancelled my account. Seems a strange way to retain customers. I was looking for additional tutors too.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Dear Steve, I can see that there was a misunderstanding regarding what you wished to be done with your account. Our customer service team have already communicated with you that your account has been made active again. Do reach out to us again should you have any further queries. Kind regards, Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 5 months ago
I’m not Satisfy I’m paying A lot but I’m can’t refund Qualified tutor
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Samina, Thank you for your feedback. I have looked at your records and see that you have gone ahead with several tutors for different subjects. We did ask you to leave feedback for one of the tutors so that you could find another suitable tutor free of charge but see that you haven't yet done this. I also see that an active open request from another tutor is waiting for your response to finalise details about English tuition. Please contact customer support if you need further help. Kind regards Sally Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 6 months ago
Most of Tuter not available They charge one to one but after request they offer online I am not satisfied
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Samina, We are very sorry to hear about this and have contacted you by email so that this matter can be resolved for you. Kind Regards. First Tutors
Posted 6 months ago
The rating here is because of the cost of using this facility. It is not clear when you search initially the cost of using First Tutors. I will not be using it again
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
After paying the introduction fee - I have been given the contact details of a tutor, but unfortunately have not started any sessions yet due to availability of the tutor to do face:face sessions. If this is not available - the tutor should not state so. I also began engaging with another tutor, but they then disappeared and I have not been in contact with them again? I believe the introduction fee should only be paid if successful tutoring commences - having contact details, doesn't mean anything if sessions don't commence.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Dear Jacqui, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your tutor. Our Customer Service team have sent you an email this morning to explain how you connect with a replacement tutor at no further cost - although we appreciate this will not change your experience we hope that this will be an opportunity to resolve the matter positively for you. Please do reply to Customer Services with any questions and we will be pleased to help. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 7 months ago
Very easy to use, and gives useful details about potential tutors. However, I had absolutely no idea that you would have to pay for this service. It let me sign up,contact a tutor, and then clobbered me for £15 once I'd arranged a lesson. Had I known from the start that it would cost me this, then I wouldn't have used the service. I had already avoided 2 other sites that were up front about charges, so chose this one as I thought it was free. I can understand charging the tutor for using this service to advertise, but it's a bit tight charging someone £15 just for finding one tutor. Especially as the chances of me needing to use the service again, extremely low. You need to make it clear from the start that people are being charged.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Dear Jane, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that you are disappointed. We do state on the main homepage and in our FAQs that there is a fee payable to connect you with your chosen tutor, once you have used our free messaging platform to discuss your requirements with your tutor. Our fees go towards the cost of completing identification and referencing checks on all of our tutors, so you can chose with confidence. We also offer a tutor guarantee so that you can select a replacement tutor if things don't work out. You can read more about our fee and service at the link here: https://www.firsttutors.com/uk/music/about-us.php I hope that all is going well with your new tutor. If you need any assistance please contact our Customer Support team. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 8 months ago
I wanted to arrange some tuition over the summer holidays with my tutor, and everything was going fine, but then the system cut me off because I hadn't arranged the first session, and I had to start again from scratch. It is not clear at all how and when to pay the £29 release fee, and who should request it and at what point. Now I have paid the fee, it's not clear how subsequent payments should be made. I was not happy to be cut off and lose all of our correspondence
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Dear Sara, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you have not found our system easy to use. The email with your tutor's details in it explains you will need to pay the tutor directly for any tuition they provide. How our system works is detailed at the top of the tuition request, on the home page, under 'How to find a tutor' and our FAQ page. When you have paid the finder's fee the tuition request moves to the 'Active' tab so you can still review all details which were discussed there. Should you have any further queries at all please do let us know: https://www.firsttutors.com/uk/contact-us/ Kind regards, Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 10 months ago
Other than contacts money seems to be the driving force
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Lola, Thank you for your feedback. Could you please advise if you have experienced a problem with our service or with the tutor? We follow up to make sure that contact has been made and ask clients to let us know if you are not satisfied with your tutors so we can help solve the issue. We charge a finder's fee for the release of the tutor's contact details, only once both parties have agreed to go ahead with tuition. The fee helps to cover costs of staff, website, hosting of tutor platforms etc. Kind regards Customer Services First Tutors.
Posted 1 year ago
Let down by 2 tutors
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
First tutors makes you pay a finders fee before you are able to meet with a tutor. Tutors end up giving free first lesson to offset this. What are first tutors doing to earn this apart from hosting a website?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Ingrid, First Tutors charge a finder's fee to release your chosen tutor's contact information, once you have used the free messaging platform to discuss your tuition requirements with a number of tutors. Our finder's goes towards the costs involved in running a website, providing a 7 day Customer Service team, and completing identification and reference checks on all of our registered tutors. You can see how our fees compare to other providers at the link below. https://www.firsttutors.com/uk/about-us/ I hope all is going well with your new tutor. If you need any assistance please contact our Customer Support team. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 1 year ago
It webs hard for people don’t know about English. And to slow for got teacher to teach me and also teacher accept me but no times to teach. I paid for 19 pound still 2 weeks got nothing. So so I am thinking how to refund money back?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Vannisa, I am sorry to hear that your tutor is not able to help you; I appreciate this is very disappointing for you. We would like to resolve this problem as soon as possible for you, so we will send you an email now to explain how you can connect with a replacement tutor at no further cost. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 1 year ago
I was appalled to find out that I had to pay nearly £25 per tutor before I even had a chance to do a trial lesson. I would have happily paid such a fee once I’d had trial lessons with different tutors to choose from, but to charge £25 per tutor just to have a trial lesson was outrageous. How could anyone assess the true quality of tutors just by using the messaging platform provided by First Tutors? I gave 2 stars only because the company’s database does provide good profiles of prospective tutors and the search function was easy to use.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Kaya, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. First Tutors offers a private forum for tutors and students to discuss requirements in full. Only when you are happy with your choice in tutor do we ask for a fee to release their contact details. Our fee's help cover the cost of identity and reference checks on all registered tutors. Unlike traditional agencies, First Tutors do not charge commission to the student or the tutor - making us an affordable player on the market. If for any reason you are unsatisfied with your choice in tutor, our tutor guarantee enables you to select a replacement tutor at no further charge. I hope this helps clarify your concerns. Our support team are available seven days a week to discuss this with you should you wish. enquiries@firsttutors.co.uk Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 1 year ago
We sent a request to the tutor and didn’t get a respond from him for one week. After arranging a free consultation ( by the tutor, in his convenient time Sunday morning ) we arranged our plans accordingly, but the tutor didn’t log in. Really disappointed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Marina, I am very sorry to hear that your tutor did not attend your planned consultation and understand how disappointing this is for you. I can see that you have not yet contacted us about this problem so we haven't been able to help you. I will send you an email now to explain how you can connect with a free replacement tutor. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 1 year ago
I was looking for a tutor in Welsh for September and went on line (regrettably) to discover names. A couple of Agency names came up, one of which was yours. I registered and then the trouble started. I had found Richard’s name somehow and had it not been for his personal help, I would have become completely lost in your incomprehensible website. You should thank him (and not your website) that we have now been able to take this forward. I was on the point of giving up and will never do this again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Howard, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you have found our site difficult to navigate. Information surrounding how our site works is displayed on our home page, the about us page, and on the help pages to try to ensure that the process is smooth from the beginning to the end. Please be assured your comments will be passed on. Kind regards, Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 1 year ago
My opinion on first tutors is a mixed one. I was using the sub section of music. The search facilities on this section differ to Academic. Its brown decor made it feel out of date, the search function wasn't ideal and felt equally last updated around 2005... It wasn't clear how the website worked, at no point was it explained that there would be a finders fee (not that I saw, even if its not hidden it wasn't explained clear enough) until I was messaging a teacher and I put my mobile number and it said "your comment goes against our rules and will have to be reviewed" or along those lines which left me feeling that I had broken a rule I didn't know existed. Looking back at the website the first mention of the 7.99 fee is below 2 of the lengthiest paragraphs and below the search funtion. When I arrive at this website I am looking for a tutor. Respectfully I am not interested in "who you are or About Us". I am looking for a tutor. Hence the reason I went straight to the search function. It leads me to feel that the creators of First Tutors fear people leaving the website after seeing the finders fee which is why they leave it so far down the page. It feels slightly like they do not believe in the value they are offering customers, otherwise they would be more transparent. I was HAPPY to pay the finders fee as the best part of the whole experience was how good my new guitar teacher is. HOWEVER, I think there needs to be more transparency, there should be a welcome page that explains how it works. E.g. Step 1 - Choose a subject Step 2 - Choose a tutor Step 3 - Pay finders fee to release details Step 4 - Book your first session I truly believe that because of the confusing nature of your website and finding fee scenario you will be losing business not just for you but for your tutors as well. The end result is good, if you fight you way through the poorly designed and functioning website. If it had an update worthy of 2020 and a little more transparency I believe it would be fantastic. All of this coming from a millennial, the next generation of people looking through your website. Sent with all best wishes.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Karl, Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We continually attempt to make improvements and changes to our service to make it as easy as possible for students to find tutors, and for tutors to find new clients. We aim to be transparent with regards to our fees and provide a user-friendly service. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I will ensure your comments are shared with our development teams to assist in making changes in the future. In the meantime, if you have any additional feedback or questions please do not hesitate to contact us music@firsttutors.co.uk and our friendly customer support team will be able to help. I wish you the very best of luck with your guitar lessons. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
Unfortunately the tutor had problems engaging and holding my son’s attention during the first lesson and then refused to teach my son, so I can’t say that I’ve had a good experience with Inga.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Sarah, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that tuition has not gone well with your chosen tutor. We do have a procedure in place where tuition does not go as expected, but as we weren't aware there was a problem we haven't had the opportunity to explain this to you. Customer service have now emailed you regarding this complaint, and if you have any further problems do let us know. Kind regards, Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
rebecca has just emailed me and let us down fromt eh lesson booked with her she is very unprofessional and really let my daughter down i am looking for a total fund of the money i paid you for her contact details and feel she had no intention of turning up
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The worst provider I have ever dealt with. I very nearly gave up trying. It should be straightforward but I had to ask them how to make the required registration fee and the address they provided for the tutor was inadequate; I had to telephone the tutor for detailed information to get to her.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Seagain, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that your experience via our website was not satisfactory. Our system does send emails at each step and once the tutor accepts, another email is sent explaining how to release the tutor's contact details. You possibly didn't receive this email as I do see that you emailed our customer service team who responded within a few minutes. I also see that you created the request as travel arrangements to be negotiated but within the request nothing was discussed about who was going to travel so this would of course caused confusion. Clicking 'check roads' within the request does display the exact driving distance between your postcodes. I do hope that your experience with your tutor is positive but please contact us if any problem arise, we are here to help. Kind regards Customer Services First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
First Tutors is rated 4.59 based on 8,426 reviews