First Tutors Reviews

4.59 Rating 8,156 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend First Tutors
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read First Tutors Reviews

About First Tutors:

Tutor Reviews

We gather 1000s of tutor reviews every month. In 2018, 90% of reviews were positive.

References & ID checks

Have confidence that your tutor's identity is genuine. All of our tutors must pass identity checks, plus we take up at least 2 references. These references are passed on to you once you've selected your tutor.

7 Day Support

Not sure about something? We have a team of experienced, caring people on hand to help 7 days a week.

No Tutor, No Fee

Contact as many of our tutors as you like through our website for free. You only pay when you're ready to hire one as your tutor.
Find the Perfect Tutor

If things don't work out with your tutor, just leave them a review and you can choose another one for free. With over 20,000 listed tutors, you're bound to find one that's just right for you!

Any problems?

We're here to help you! Just Contact our customer services.

Spread the word. Tell your friends what companies they can trust. Sharing is caring.

Write Your review

Tell us how First Tutors made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
After initial contact with her I indicated that I would prefer that the tutor travel to us for each lesson. She understood my requirement and we set up a date for the first lesson. I sent her an email two days before the first lesson and asking if she is still happy to go ahead with the lesson, she was happy to come to our address for the first lesson. The first lesson was 7pm on Thursday night, she did not show up and send me a text message 8pm that she could not find my address and she would not be able to travel to me.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Rosita Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your tutor let you down but can see you didn't contact us to let us know you were experiencing problems. We do have a specific procedure to follow when this happens which entails leaving feedback on the tutor's profile so that you can claim another tutor at no further cost. I have now sent you an email explaining how to do so. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
After paying the £14.99 fee to be introduced to a tutor there was no replies from the tutor or the company when I complained. Might be a one off but not great customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Lucy, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not receive our reply sent on the 29th. I have forwarded it again to you. The message details how you can bring your tutor to account and select another tutor free of charge. If you have any further problems do contact us. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
I paid for tutor details and his name and references did not match up and all he did was try to make me pay for him to write the coursework rather than actually tutor me which is what I paid for!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Shannon, Thank you for your feedback. We are currently investigating this case but we did contact you several days ago offering you another tutor at no further cost. If you didn't receive our email, please let us know. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
It's an antiquated website that does little to help it's user base. Clumsy messaging service, old fashioned navigation. And builds it's business on charging buyers access to sellers contact details. Surely the sellers of the a service should be paying to advertise? There is clearly a market here, and if a good competitor appeared, they would quickly steal business from Firsttutors. (This review is not a reflection of the tutor found, but of the website and experience).
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear David, Thank you for your feedback. I shall pass it on to the management team to see how we can better structure the website and business plan. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
she has not been replying to my emails at all and I cant get in touch with her. very disappointed
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Asmaa, We are very sorry to learn of your disappointment. It is our intention to investigate this and call the tutor to account, sadly as we have not heard from you regarding your problem we were unable to help. I have sent you an email with instructions on how to choose another tutor at no further cost. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors Customer Service
Posted 4 years ago
We were very disappointed with the outcome. The tutor did not show up and stating personal reasons decided not to provide tutoring services after all. We are out of pocket by £14.99 fee. We are looking for another tutor but reluctant to use this service gain. We need First tutors to contact us so that we can discuss how we can find another tutor without incurring further costs or receive a refund.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Nithiya, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your tutor let you down but as you didn't contact us we were unable to help you. We do have a specific procedure to follow when this happens which entails leaving feedback on the tutor's profile so that you can claim another tutor at no further cost. I have now sent you an email explaining how to leave feedback. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 5 years ago
No lesson todate, Tutor initially very keen to arrange initial lesson, subsequently 10 days wasted due to tutor repeatedly changing goalpost with regard to his availability. Last email says`I can still accommodate ----- if he's able to do Mondays regularly after 6.15. very disappointed
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Aslam, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear about the problem with your tutor but you haven't contacted us to let us know there is an issue. I've now sent you an email with instructions on how to call the tutor to account by leaving feedback on his profile and how to obtain another tutor free of charge. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
Overly complex. Awkward communication methods unexplained by an ancient interface. Unclear charging basis. Very poor website reminding me of the 1990s. However, ultimately did find me an excellent tutor.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Simon, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you think the site looks old fashioned. I shall pass your comments on to the IT team. Information about our pricing can be found here: https://www.firsttutors.com/uk/how-to-find-a-tutor.php. In addition to this we also state the fee that will be due at the top of every request you make to a tutor. If you need any further help do let us know. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
First day of our appointment he did not came, I call him he apologised and said tomorrow, when I get there he was not there I text him, he said he is coming, came after 35 minutes, the week after our appointment was this week Tuesday 15:00 o'clock. He never came he never call never text, I wasted my money and time.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Mohamud , Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear about the problem with your tutor but you did not contact us to let us know so we were unable to help. I've now sent you an email with instructions on how to call the tutor to account by leaving feedback on his profile and how to obtain another tutor free of charge. Kind regards Sarah Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 5 years ago
They will send you lots of tutors but do not tell you until the end that you have to pay £20 per tutor to get there details! Joke really due to the fact that if a tutor is no good or does not show you have to keep paying £20 a turn plus tutor fees. Poor practice
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Robert, Thank you for your feedback. Information regarding our fees are displayed on the home page. I'm sorry to hear about the problem with your tutor but you did not contact us to let us know so we were unable to help. I've now sent you an email with instructions on how to call the tutor to account by leaving feedback on their profile and how to obtain another tutor free of charge. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors Customer Service
Posted 5 years ago
Not good paid £19.99 to get in contact with Luke to find that he was fully booked . I'm not happy about that has money is tight and to get in contact I would have to pay again . Sheryl Fletcher
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Sheryl, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear about the problem with your tutor but you did not contact us to let us know so we were unable to help. I've now sent you an email with instructions on how to call the tutor to account by leaving feedback on his profile and how to obtain another tutor free of charge. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 5 years ago
Tutors got back to be within hours of posting and secured the tutor I wanted.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Lisa, Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that you managed to secure a Tutor and they responded promptly. We have noticed that the score you left (1 star) does not reflect your positive comments. Would you kindly update. Many Thanks, Sarah First Tutors Customer Service
Posted 5 years ago
My tutor was not appropriate so payed fifty pound registration and lesson will not do that again.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Llona, Our customer service team were in contact with you about this and offered you another tutor at no further cost. Please let us know once you have found another tutor. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 5 years ago
Up to now five tuters refuse me. They do nt have time or require qualifications . I just wate my time with them.....
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Maram, Thank you for leaving feedback. We are sorry to hear that you have had problems with your tutor, but you haven't contacted us so we were unable to help. We do have a set procedure to follow when a tutor lets you down in some way. I have contacted you via email with instructions on how to go about claiming another Tutor free of charge. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
The Tutor promised to take on my daughter and then on the day they were first to meet informed us that she no longer wanted to tutor! I would have thought the tutors would be vetted to ensure they are 100% committed.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Mark, Thank you for your feedback. I see that our team have been in contact with you about this and have explained the procedure on how to obtain another tutor at no further cost. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have further questions. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 5 years ago
I have been a satisfied user of First Tutors for the past six years, and have recommended the site to numerous people searching for tutors in subjects other than the ones I teach. However, I have just discovered that my profile appears to have been inactivated without my knowledge, as I am now unable to log in and do not appear in the search results.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Rachel, Our team have been in contact with you about your problems logging into your account. We have sent you 3 emails with technical help about using the lost password recovery tool. Regarding your account being inactive, I can assure you we did not switch your account off, you did this from your end as I also explained in the email. Once you manage to login you can switch your account back to active. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 5 years ago
I am not very happy she couldn't make it except on week ends which was not mentioned before I pay the 20 pound to your company. So she never ended up tutoring my child.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Zeina, We are sorry to hear that you have had problems with your tutor, but you did not contact us about them. We do have a set procedure to follow when a tutor lets you down in some way. I have contacted you via email with instructions on how to go about claiming another Tutor free of charge. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
I had an unfortunate experience with First Tuors. I paid for the details of a tutor who then told me that he mainly did group lessons. He is not allowed to give this information out on the First Tutors site. He offered me a 1:1 slot which was too late in the evening. The other tutor I contacted replied initially and then closed his account with First Tutors. I then found a suitable tutor on another site, but First Tutors have not yet refunded my money despite several requests. They have offered access to another tutor's details free of charge but I am not in a position to take this up as we made other arrangements.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Margaret, I can see we have processed your refund. If you have any further problems or queries do let us know. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
It is a very difficult site to navigate. After finding a tutor it was really difficult trying to sign up to the site. It took ages and was really frustrating. I nearly gave up. The whole site could do with upgrading or at least sorting out it's glitches. All in all not a positive experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Amanda, Thank your for your Feedback. We are sorry you feel this way about your interactions with First Tutors. I have emailed you asking for full feedback on the improvements you would like to see made to the site. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
First tutor website has a tutor who's name is Miriam Cini, her New Zealand address is not exist. Pls check her ID and qualified certificate.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Selina, Thank you for your feedback. Please note that we have tutors on our website that offer online tuition so their physical address is irrelevant. The tutor did make it clear in the original request that she only provided tuition online via Skype, you accepted the request and told the tutor that you wished to go ahead. In any case as a gesture of goodwill, I have sent an email to you explaining how to obtain another tutor's contact details at no further cost. If you have further queries please do no hesitate to contact us. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 5 years ago
First Tutors is rated 4.59 based on 8,156 reviews