First Tutors Reviews

4.6 Rating 8,521 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend First Tutors
4.6
Based on 8,521 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read First Tutors Reviews

About First Tutors:

Tutor Reviews

We gather 1000s of tutor reviews every month. In 2018, 90% of reviews were positive.

References & ID checks

Have confidence that your tutor's identity is genuine. All of our tutors must pass identity checks, plus we take up at least 2 references. These references are passed on to you once you've selected your tutor.

7 Day Support

Not sure about something? We have a team of experienced, caring people on hand to help 7 days a week.

No Tutor, No Fee

Contact as many of our tutors as you like through our website for free. You only pay when you're ready to hire one as your tutor.
Find the Perfect Tutor

If things don't work out with your tutor, just leave them a review and you can choose another one for free. With over 20,000 listed tutors, you're bound to find one that's just right for you!

Any problems?

We're here to help you! Just Contact our customer services.

Spread the word. Tell your friends what companies they can trust. Sharing is caring.

Write Your review

Tell us how First Tutors made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Purchased tutor's details, who then communicated that they are moving overseas next month! Very unimpressed.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Tamsin, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear your tutor has let you down in this way, but I can see you haven't raised this issue when we have asked if everything is going ok. We do have a set procedure to follow when a tutor lets you down in some way. I have contacted you via email with instructions on how to go about claiming another Tutor free of charge. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
never responded to my request and missed the deadline for my exam... would like a refund of full pay ment
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Colm, I'm sorry to hear this. I've checked your account and see that you didn't notify us about the problem. We do have a specific procedure to follow when a tutor lets a client down in some way which entails leaving feedback on the tutor's profile to call them to account. Our customer service staff will contact you now to explain the steps for obtaining another tutor at no further cost. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 5 years ago
Overpriced just to get a contact detail of a tutor!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Nicola, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you feel our introduction fee is too expensive. The introduction fee covers not only the contact details of the tutor but also security checks and safety on the site to ensure peace of mind to students and their parents. If we can be of any further help please do contact Customer Service. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
It was far too expensive to release the details
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Bethany, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you feel our introduction fee is too expensive. Our fees help cover the cost of identity and reference checking on all of our tutors. This offers peace of mind to our customers. Some agencies charge an additional £10 for every hour a tutor teaches, but with First Tutors there are no additional agency fees or hidden costs. If you have any further questions, please click 'contact us' at the bottom of the website and we will be happy to help. Kind regards, Sarah Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
Tutor completely unreliable, does not respond to any emails, messages, phone calls.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Dorota, Thank you for your feedback. I can see our customer service team has already been in contact to advise how you can get another tutor free of charge. Do let us know if we can be of any further assistance. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
My tutor taught during his break at work
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Very disrespectful and not genuine. He did the first session and asked requested a good review and arranged more sessions then let me down without informing me. I asked him if he was serious and his reply is " it's up to you" I would not recommend him, sorry.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Zaheer, Thank you for your feedback. You haven't contacted us about the problem with your tutor so we were unable to help. We also see that you left the tutor positive feedback so I'm not sure what the problem is. I will send you an email about this to try and resolve the problem for you. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 5 years ago
The tutors seem to be under the impression of continuous lessons despite what was asked (feedback) and its rather disheartening to me
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Marta, Thank you for your feedback. Most tutors receive requests for ongoing tuition but I see that you requested a specific task to be completed with a deadline. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you had a problem with your tutor and they agreed to this but then declined. We have a specific procedure to follow when a tutor cancels a request. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 5 years ago
After initial contact with her I indicated that I would prefer that the tutor travel to us for each lesson. She understood my requirement and we set up a date for the first lesson. I sent her an email two days before the first lesson and asking if she is still happy to go ahead with the lesson, she was happy to come to our address for the first lesson. The first lesson was 7pm on Thursday night, she did not show up and send me a text message 8pm that she could not find my address and she would not be able to travel to me.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Rosita Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your tutor let you down but can see you didn't contact us to let us know you were experiencing problems. We do have a specific procedure to follow when this happens which entails leaving feedback on the tutor's profile so that you can claim another tutor at no further cost. I have now sent you an email explaining how to do so. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 5 years ago
After paying the £14.99 fee to be introduced to a tutor there was no replies from the tutor or the company when I complained. Might be a one off but not great customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Lucy, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not receive our reply sent on the 29th. I have forwarded it again to you. The message details how you can bring your tutor to account and select another tutor free of charge. If you have any further problems do contact us. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
I paid for tutor details and his name and references did not match up and all he did was try to make me pay for him to write the coursework rather than actually tutor me which is what I paid for!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Shannon, Thank you for your feedback. We are currently investigating this case but we did contact you several days ago offering you another tutor at no further cost. If you didn't receive our email, please let us know. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 5 years ago
It's an antiquated website that does little to help it's user base. Clumsy messaging service, old fashioned navigation. And builds it's business on charging buyers access to sellers contact details. Surely the sellers of the a service should be paying to advertise? There is clearly a market here, and if a good competitor appeared, they would quickly steal business from Firsttutors. (This review is not a reflection of the tutor found, but of the website and experience).
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear David, Thank you for your feedback. I shall pass it on to the management team to see how we can better structure the website and business plan. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
she has not been replying to my emails at all and I cant get in touch with her. very disappointed
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Asmaa, We are very sorry to learn of your disappointment. It is our intention to investigate this and call the tutor to account, sadly as we have not heard from you regarding your problem we were unable to help. I have sent you an email with instructions on how to choose another tutor at no further cost. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors Customer Service
Posted 5 years ago
We were very disappointed with the outcome. The tutor did not show up and stating personal reasons decided not to provide tutoring services after all. We are out of pocket by £14.99 fee. We are looking for another tutor but reluctant to use this service gain. We need First tutors to contact us so that we can discuss how we can find another tutor without incurring further costs or receive a refund.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Nithiya, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your tutor let you down but as you didn't contact us we were unable to help you. We do have a specific procedure to follow when this happens which entails leaving feedback on the tutor's profile so that you can claim another tutor at no further cost. I have now sent you an email explaining how to leave feedback. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 5 years ago
No lesson todate, Tutor initially very keen to arrange initial lesson, subsequently 10 days wasted due to tutor repeatedly changing goalpost with regard to his availability. Last email says`I can still accommodate ----- if he's able to do Mondays regularly after 6.15. very disappointed
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Aslam, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear about the problem with your tutor but you haven't contacted us to let us know there is an issue. I've now sent you an email with instructions on how to call the tutor to account by leaving feedback on his profile and how to obtain another tutor free of charge. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
Overly complex. Awkward communication methods unexplained by an ancient interface. Unclear charging basis. Very poor website reminding me of the 1990s. However, ultimately did find me an excellent tutor.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Simon, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you think the site looks old fashioned. I shall pass your comments on to the IT team. Information about our pricing can be found here: https://www.firsttutors.com/uk/how-to-find-a-tutor.php. In addition to this we also state the fee that will be due at the top of every request you make to a tutor. If you need any further help do let us know. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service First Tutors
Posted 5 years ago
First day of our appointment he did not came, I call him he apologised and said tomorrow, when I get there he was not there I text him, he said he is coming, came after 35 minutes, the week after our appointment was this week Tuesday 15:00 o'clock. He never came he never call never text, I wasted my money and time.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Mohamud , Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear about the problem with your tutor but you did not contact us to let us know so we were unable to help. I've now sent you an email with instructions on how to call the tutor to account by leaving feedback on his profile and how to obtain another tutor free of charge. Kind regards Sarah Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 5 years ago
They will send you lots of tutors but do not tell you until the end that you have to pay £20 per tutor to get there details! Joke really due to the fact that if a tutor is no good or does not show you have to keep paying £20 a turn plus tutor fees. Poor practice
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Robert, Thank you for your feedback. Information regarding our fees are displayed on the home page. I'm sorry to hear about the problem with your tutor but you did not contact us to let us know so we were unable to help. I've now sent you an email with instructions on how to call the tutor to account by leaving feedback on their profile and how to obtain another tutor free of charge. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors Customer Service
Posted 5 years ago
Not good paid £19.99 to get in contact with Luke to find that he was fully booked . I'm not happy about that has money is tight and to get in contact I would have to pay again . Sheryl Fletcher
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Sheryl, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear about the problem with your tutor but you did not contact us to let us know so we were unable to help. I've now sent you an email with instructions on how to call the tutor to account by leaving feedback on his profile and how to obtain another tutor free of charge. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 5 years ago
Tutors got back to be within hours of posting and secured the tutor I wanted.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Lisa, Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that you managed to secure a Tutor and they responded promptly. We have noticed that the score you left (1 star) does not reflect your positive comments. Would you kindly update. Many Thanks, Sarah First Tutors Customer Service
Posted 5 years ago
First Tutors is rated 4.6 based on 8,521 reviews