First Tutors Reviews

4.59 Rating 7,978 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend First Tutors
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read First Tutors Reviews

About First Tutors:

Tutor Reviews

We gather 1000s of tutor reviews every month. In 2018, 90% of reviews were positive.

References & ID checks

Have confidence that your tutor's identity is genuine. All of our tutors must pass identity checks, plus we take up at least 2 references. These references are passed on to you once you've selected your tutor.

7 Day Support

Not sure about something? We have a team of experienced, caring people on hand to help 7 days a week.

No Tutor, No Fee

Contact as many of our tutors as you like through our website for free. You only pay when you're ready to hire one as your tutor.
Find the Perfect Tutor

If things don't work out with your tutor, just leave them a review and you can choose another one for free. With over 20,000 listed tutors, you're bound to find one that's just right for you!

Any problems?

We're here to help you! Just Contact our customer services.

Spread the word. Tell your friends what companies they can trust. Sharing is caring.

Write Your review

Tell us how First Tutors made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I have tried to hire several tutors through first tutors for my son Travane. I am not sure how the vetting process works before some of these tutors appear on the website for people to hire. One of them failed to turn up for her first appointment after agreeing to see my son at an agreed time and location and made him come home and wait for hours only for the tutor not to turn up, did not call to let us know she was not coming and did not have the humility to say she is sorry. One turn up for 2 sessions and then mixed the 3rd session on the grounds that he was ill and 2 days after sent a text say he got a new position and no longer able to teach my son. I wonder if these tutors are vetted on matters relating to diversity!!! I can go on to catalogue my several negative experiences but will leave just the above. I will be asking First tutors to refund my fees or enable me use the fees to hire hopefully dedicated , reliable, committed persons who are able to communicate effectively and really do what they say they do on your website
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Travane, Thank you for your feedback. We see that you haven't contacted us about the problem with you recent tutor so we were unable to help. We do send email reminders about leaving feedback on your tutor so that we are alerted to any negative experiences. We did solution the problem with a tutor you had back in February by providing another tutor free of charge so please leave feedback on the tutor you are referring to now so that we can help you find another tutor free of charge. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
I agreed on a time slot with the tutor and paid the 25 pounds to release her details the following day. She had taken someone else on in the meantime without informing me and I lost my money as the slot she then offered was not convenient. I was not impressed at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Angela, Thank you for your feedback. I see that you didn't contact us about the problem with your tutor. We have a set procedure to follow when a tutor lets you down in some way which entails leaving feedback on their profile in order to claim another tutor at no further cost. I will send you an email about this now with a link to leave feedback. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
I Am finding I am not getting no one to respond to me also I find a lot of people are online tutors this does not help me I need help one on one in person
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Mark, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that tutors aren't getting back to you. We deactivate any tutors that fail to respond in a timely manner to tutees. I have sent those that are yet to respond message to do so as soon as possible. To maximise your chances of finding a tutor we do recommend you contact as many tutors as possible in your area. Do make sure you have used the distance slider under Advanced search so only those local to you appear. If you have any further queries or problems please do email customer service under the Contact Us. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
I didn’t realise you had to ‘buy’ the tutors details I order to fully discuss the potential for using them. Our email discussion was censored - felt like big brother!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Hermione, Thank you for your feedback. It does explain on the homepage of the website that there is an intro fee, it is also explained on the emails our system sends and within the request next to the tutor's name and hourly rate. The intro fee helps cover the cost of ID checks, reference collection, qualification verification etc. If a user tries to bypass our system by sending contact details via the request this flags an alert to our admin team which is what you would have seen in your request. Wishing you the best of luck with your next tutor, if you have any problems please do not hesitate to contact us, we are here to help. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
He came late, then he said he is a maths teacher but can teach other subjects. We wanted a chemistry . He managed to hold it together for an hour on the 20th of September. Then we asked him to come back on the 27th of September he never came to teach , so I texted him , he said he for got. I feel that it was a total loss. As I have to find a new teacher now. Please refund my fee.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Selima, We are sorry to hear about the problem with your tutor. Because you did not contact us regarding this we have been unable to help. I have sent you an email this morning with instructions on how to leave feedback so that we can resolve this matter for you. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
Did not find it very user friendly. The website told me that no tutors in my area were available and then a tutor contacted me!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
did not know you needed to pay until the end when it was too late
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Margaret, Thank you for your feedback. On First Tutor's homepage it does clearly mention there is a fee to pay. It says:Pay our one-off fee (between £4.99-24.99*, linked to tutor's rate) to connect with your private tutor and begin your lessons. No fixed term commitments. No hourly commission. Just private tuition. It also mentions payment in the email our system sent you once the tutor accepted your request. We wish you the best of luck with your new tutor. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
not a fan they charge way too much under the pretence that your actually paying for grinds
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Thank you for your feedback. It is free to contact as many tutors as you wish on our website to discuss all tuition needs. Only if/when you decide to go ahead with a tutor do we charge an intro fee which helps cover the costs of ID checks, reference collection, qualification checks, etc. Tutor profiles also have verified feedback from previous First Tutor clients. If you have any problems with your tutor please do not hesitate to contact us, we are here to help. Kind regards Sarah First Tutors Customer Support
Posted 4 years ago
the first three records came attached together. It proved impossible to separate them and although I did get to see a response from the second tutor in line once it was not available thereafter. I saw nothing from the third.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Phil, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you found our system of having the same request sent to several tutors confusing. If this ever proves a problem again do email Customer Service and we can separate them out for you. I can see that the third tutor didn't respond at all to your tuition request which obviously isn't the standard we expect. Please be assured that tutors who don't respond swiftly to tuition requests have their profiles switched off so only those that are responsive remain on the site. Should you have any further queries do email us. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
When I tick for tutor to come to my place she replied " Of course I will charge for my travel expenses and travel time " I paid for this tutor. Then she advised me to ask for refund what I didn't receive. Sad.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Helenka, We are sorry to learn of your disappointment and it is our intention to investigate this. I can see a member of our customer support team has spoken with you regarding your concerns and has given you the opportunity to choose a replacement tutor at no further cost. Please check your emails which gives the details on how to proceed. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors Customer Support
Posted 4 years ago
Hi I am really sorry to write this, but this is my experience with first tutors. I had contacted 2 tutors consecutively for the same subject but both didn't work for me. Each time I have to pay the money, although second time I had received free service as a good will. Now, I am not confident to get another tutor through first tutors since I am bit concerned that again I loose my money. Regards
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Jyolsana, Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to see that you have been very unlucky with both tutors. It would seem the first tutor was ill and was unable to continue with lessons and the second tutor after travelling to your house realised the time to travel was unrealistic. I will investigate the issue with the tutor because the distance was clearly stated on the request and see what I can do to resolve this for you. I will keep you updated. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
Maybe it's just me? But paying for a tutor is expensive enough without having to have to pay a finders fee as well :( Also, I tried contacting First Tutors and looks like there is no contact phone number available..
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Paul, Thank you for your feedback. We charge a finders fee because this helps cover the costs of ID checks, reference collection, qualification verification etc. which provides extra peace of mind to parents and students alike. If you click the "contact us" tab at the bottom of the webpage to send us a message we will get back to you within the hour usually, we provide this service 7 days a week. We see that you only contacted one tutor but it's free to contact as many tutors as you wish, you only pay once you decide which tutor you wish to go ahead with. Please contact us if you experience any problems with your tutor. We are here to help. Thank you for using First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
My credit card was refused, although I have been using it everywhere online and the only other option provided was to send a bank draft that would have cost 3 times the fee. The tutor's qualifications are not verified so it's no better than using kijiji or craigslist.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Susan, We are sorry to hear about the difficulties you had with making payment. I can see that our customer support team helped identify the problem and provide an alternative payment method. With regard to qualifications, if they have been uploaded and checked by First Tutor sstaff, they will appear as 'on file' on the tutors public profile. I can see that your tutor has provided us with their qualification copies. Unlike free services, our fee's help cover the cost of reference checks which offers peace of mind when choosing your tutor. Wishing you the best of luck with your English lessons. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors Customer Support
Posted 4 years ago
Far too expensive to sign a tutor
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Faryal, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you think our introduction fee is too expensive. The fee is variable and linked to the price your tutor charges per hour. The cost of the introduction fee helps cover the cost of security checks on tutors and safety on the site to give piece of mind to tutees and their parent(s)/guardian(s). If you have any problems with your tutor do email Customer Service so we can help you out. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
I am not impressed by the quality of tutors featured in the website. I have contacted at least 15 tutors, only 3 answered and only one of the three had the required features. I contacted tutors that advertised themselves as available to teach singing on a regular basis. I was looking for a singing tutor to teach my kid on a weekly basis. I also specifically asked good piano skills, as it is impossible to teach singing without really playing properly the piano. One answered that she was travelling around the world and could teach only if/when in London. One answered that she could sing, but could not play piano - and was actually surprised that I was looking for good piano skills. The website should ensure that 1) the tutors properly advertise their skills/availability - if someone is travelling around the worlds, why are they putting themselves in the website as tutors; 2) out of courtesy, the contacted tutors at least answer back, rather than ignoring messages. Other free websites have a much higher response rate and better quality of tutors....
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Federica, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you found tutors slow to respond. Please be assured that all tutors who do not respond promptly are deactivated on our system to avoid them messing students around in future. We send tutors an email every time you leave them a new message and do ask them to reply quickly as it is in their best interests. I have contacted the tutors that said they were not currently available to deactivate their profiles. In order to check we have tutors of the best quality we do verify all the qualifications they have on file. To see if we have them on file there should be a notice that says 'Verified' next to qualifications on their profile. We have sent you a follow up email explaining how to raise a complaint against a tutor whose details you have purchased. Do contact us at Customer Service if you have any further problems. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
The tutor is great but the £19.99 fee to release details is an absolute rip off! Wouldn't use this site again
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Jennifer, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you feel our introduction fee is too expensive. It helps cover the costs of security checks on all tutors we advertise as we feel it's important for customers to have peace of mind. Do email customer service if you have any further queries. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
I liked the formal process in place to establish contact with a tutor. However, after paying $10 as initiation fee and then meeting with the tutor, we have been very disappointed with the end result. In speaking with the tutor, we were not certain that he knew Calculus for Grade 12 and he kind of alluded to it. However, he promised to review my daughter's test result and then set up time. After reviewing the test result, he believes he cannot even make 2 hours a week. This tutor works full time and then also studies. Now, we have lost 10 precious days and are again looking for another tutor who knows the subject.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Pervez, We are sorry to learn of your disappointment and it is our intention to investigate this and call the tutor to account. Sadly, as we had not heard from you we have been unable to help. I have sent you an email with instructions on how to leave feedback for your tutor with the option of choosing a replacement tutor at no further cost. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
The distance from my tutors house to mine was different than what it said and I missed my first session because of this.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Amy, We are sorry to hear this. We don't seem to have received an email from you about this problem so I've sent you one now to check if tuition is still going ahead and what the problem was. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
Terrible site functionality. Not sure who designed it but usability and user experience was not at the forefront of their design. I used this site because I had to and did not find it a good experience at all. I was unable to reply to tutors after they messaged me. I would rather use tutors on Gumtree.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Belinda, We are sorry to hear about this. We aim to make our site as user friendly as possible and would be willing to discuss potential improvements with you. With regard to our fees, these help cover the cost of our identity and reference checks on all of our tutors. Unlike free services, First Tutors do checks on all registered tutors to ensure their suitability with working with adults and young children. Our users seem to appreciate the extra security measures put in place. Please feel free to contact us if you would like to discuss this in more detail. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
I find it incredibly frustrating that you only get the Tutors surname once you have paid your £24.99. Twice I paid, only to find that we knew both tutors and they were not suitable. One was actually a teacher at my son's school. If I had known their names, I could have saved myself £50 and looked at other tutors
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Jacqui, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about this. I can see you haven't been in contact with Customer Service to explain the problem. I have now emailed you explaining how you can go about claiming another tutor or tutors for free. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
First Tutors is rated 4.59 based on 7,978 reviews