First Tutors Reviews

4.59 Rating 7,953 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend First Tutors
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read First Tutors Reviews

About First Tutors:

Tutor Reviews

We gather 1000s of tutor reviews every month. In 2018, 90% of reviews were positive.

References & ID checks

Have confidence that your tutor's identity is genuine. All of our tutors must pass identity checks, plus we take up at least 2 references. These references are passed on to you once you've selected your tutor.

7 Day Support

Not sure about something? We have a team of experienced, caring people on hand to help 7 days a week.

No Tutor, No Fee

Contact as many of our tutors as you like through our website for free. You only pay when you're ready to hire one as your tutor.
Find the Perfect Tutor

If things don't work out with your tutor, just leave them a review and you can choose another one for free. With over 20,000 listed tutors, you're bound to find one that's just right for you!

Any problems?

We're here to help you! Just Contact our customer services.

Spread the word. Tell your friends what companies they can trust. Sharing is caring.

Write Your review

Tell us how First Tutors made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Unreliable tutors who miss appointments or cancel at the last minute.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Frankin, I'm sorry to see that your tutor let you down. My colleague did contact you about this and offered you another tutor at no further cost. If you experience further problems please do not hesitate to contact us. We are here to help. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
Very disappointed. I arranged my first on line lesson with Nebosja last Saturday at 9.30 am. We had had much cheerful email exchanges, and I bought the book he recommended. I was looking forward to working through it with him, as Nebo had said we would do. Set up Facetime for our lessons, and Paypal to settle with him. But no contact. Two emails have had no reply. I only hope he is OK. I only have email address, but perhaps you have an alternative and can check he is OK. Jacina Bird
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Jacina, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your tutor hasn't been in touch with you yet. We will follow this up immediately with them as we expect all tutors to touch base within 48 hours of you paying our introduction fee. Please do email customer service via the Contact Us page if he continues to not reply. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
It wasn't clear that payment for the initial contact was not actually paying for the first session. £20 just to make contact is unreasonable.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear David, Thank you for your feedback which I will pass to our team. The intro fee is displayed on the home page and does not mention that a free lesson is included in this fee and I don't believe there is anywhere on our website that would suggest otherwise. Of course, if you feel this is not correct please do contact us with the link and wording of where you feel this is misleading. The intro fee helps cover the costs of ID checks, reference collection, qualification verification etc. Please do contact us if you encounter a problem with your tutor. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
À total scan. Or completely exploits you, charging me £15 just to be able to communicate with the tutor. None of that money goes to the tutor , it is completely disgraceful. There are other sites where the tutor pays one fee to advertise and that is it. This site must be making so much money if every prospective student has to pay for a potential tutor ...just to see the details.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Naomi, I am sorry to read your feedback. It is FREE to contact as many tutors as you wish through the First Tutors private forum. Only when you have found your preferred tutor do we ask for a one off fee to receive their contact details. Our fee's help cover the cost of identity and reference checks on all of our tutors which offers peace of mind to our clients. You can read about First Tutors cost in comparison to a typical agency on the website here: https://www.firsttutors.com/uk/about-us.php. I am sorry that you feel disappointed but I can assure you our fees are clearly displayed on the website and also in our Terms & Conditions which you accepted upon joining. Should you have any further questions surrounding payment, please do contact us and we will be happy to help. I wish you the best of luck with your tutor. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors Customer Support
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, This review is nothing to do with the Tutor but more the system. I was looking for a painting tutor and eventually found one. The closest one was 25 miles away which wasn't ideal but I thought it would have to do. However, once I had paid the £14.99 fee to connect, the tutor advised me that she felt that I was of a standard that she couldn't help me as such. She kindly answered a lot of questions over email and was willing to give lessons but she felt I didn't need them with her. So all I am suggesting is maybe this is something that should be ascertained before you take £14.99 of people. Regards James
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear James, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear the tutor you chose was not able to help you in the way required. We do advise tutees and tutors to discuss all tuition details possible in the request prior to purchase to make sure they are the best match. I can see you haven't yet contacted Customer Service regarding your problems so I have just sent you an emailing detailing the steps that can be taken. Should you have any further queries please do let us know. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Terrible experience - I will not suggest anyone using it. It looks like a scheme trying to make you pay introductory fees. Tutor cancelled on the day of first appointment. I tried contacting First Tutor to get a refund with noone answering. Phone I found was disconnected. It looks like noone is actually works there!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Alexander, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you tried to phone us but didn't get an answer. If no one is available you should be able to leave a voicemail so I will pass this on to IT to investigate. I can see that my colleague has responded to your email advising you of our complaints procedure. If you haven't received this reply then we do apologise. We kindly ask you to leave feedback for your tutor under My Feedback then email us once that is done. Should you have any further queries please do let us know via the 'Contact Us' page. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Despise the concept of "buying" the details of a tutor, only there for profitability. A large expense was invested just to get the contact details. Prefer other websites this one left me bitter.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Colin, Thank you for your feedback. The intro fee helps cover the costs of ID checks, reference collection, qualification verification etc. website administration etc. The fee ranges from 4.99 up to 24.99 so for example if you can only afford lessons at 10 pounds per hour we only charge a one off fee of 4.99. We find that parents and students choose us for peace of mind, there are sites where you can find tutors for free but these sites are not regulated in any way. We wish you the best of luck with your new tutor. Kind regards Sara Customer Services Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Rubbish, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Tim, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you have found our service lacking and aim to thoroughly investigate this. As we haven't received any correspondence from you please could you contact customer service via 'Contact Us' on our webpage explaining what your problems have been. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
I ve been agreed with Kristina as a tutor. She was never ever available for me. She was not available in the week ends nor weekly. I've never got a chance even to meet her. Terrible. Kristina is a terrible tutor,impossible to trust. I ve messaged her on Monday and 2 weeks passed she never got back to me. I want a refund.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Andrea, We are very sorry to read your feedback and it is our intention to investigate this thoroughly and call the tutor to account. I can see that you hadn't contacted us regarding your problem so we have been unable to help. Please check your email inbox at your earliest convenience so we can resolve the matter for you. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors Customer Service
Posted 4 years ago
I just did not have the time, as I was going to get back with you to ask for refund. I was totally shocked the before me and the tutor could even discuss our needs, she was asking payment to her account. She did not have a mobile phone. So I had to insist talking on skype. I did not get the sense that she was going to support me enough as I was going into a new field. She did not make much suggestions of how we could work together. My impressin is all about money and she was also tied up with her kids. That is fair enough but the little time we have I want to get value. She is not for me basically. I want a tutor to lead and guide me.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Vimala, Thank you for your feedback. I see that you did not contact us about the problem with your tutor. We have a set procedure to follow when things don't work out as expected. I will contact you now via email to explain how you can claim another tutor free of charge. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
It was not at all clear what I was paying for. I thought the fee I paid was to cover an actual lesson, not exorbitantly high fees for simply passing on a tutor's email address. Poor communication.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Anna, Thank you for your feedback. The intro fee is explained and displayed on the homepage, it also appears in the request next to the tutor's hourly rate. The intro fee helps cover the costs of ID checks, qualification verification, reference collection etc. This gives parents and students peace of mind. The intro fee ranges from 4.99 to 24.99 and is based on the tutor's hourly rate. (example a tutor that charges 10 pounds per hour will have an intro fee of 4.99) We wish you the best of luck with your new tutor but if you have any problems please contact us, we are here to help. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
Once i paid the money to release tutor's details my communication was lost with the tutor I wrote a complaint to first tutors but it didn't help at all Very disappointing experience Beware of this website
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Adam, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear about your problems with the tutor. I see that our customer service team did contact you about this and offered you another tutor free of charge. Please advise if you didn't receive this email that was sent to you on the 25th of September 20 minutes after we received your complaint. (10:20am) Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team
Posted 4 years ago
Awful service! Awful standard of tutors! Paid to get details of a tutor, just a student with no idea how to teach the curriculum trying to make extra money on the side. Contacted first tutors for a refund as there was no other tutor suitable for teaching the subject I required available in my area. They refused a refund and only offered to release another tutors details for free even though there are no tutors available in my area in the relevant subject area. Not that i trust the calibre of tutors on the site! Very poor! Terrible customer service! Avoid! Money making company!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Sabha, We are sorry to read your feedback, we understand how important education is to our customers and aim to resolve this for you. I can see that a member of our customer service team has contacted you regarding your problems and asked that you leave feedback on the tutors profile to call them to account. I'm afraid we do require you to leave feedback in order for us to take this matter further. We have contacted you by email informing you how to do this, please do let us know if you require any help and we will be able to assist you. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
Not very user-friendly. It automatically selects a number of teacher options and you have to double un-tick each of these, to then be able to select the teacher you want to get in contact with. After a message correspondence not easy to run on the website, the only way to actually agree with a teacher on the first lesson is to pay 14.99 EUR to get access to their details. If then the tutor changes their mind you have to start the whole process again, identifying a new tutor and then pay again the above sum to get access to a new teacher's details - which is of course aside the price of each lesson. This is what happened to me. As soon as I paid 14.99 EUR the teacher told me she was no longer available. An actual scam.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Oriana, Thank you for your feedback regarding the difficulties you found on the website, this information is valuable to our team to help us improve the user experience. I have also just read the comments you have left on the tutor's profile and have sent you an email about claiming another tutor free of charge. Of course we have also emailed the tutor and demanded an explanation of what happened. I apologise for the inconveniences caused but please be reassured that we are not a scam and we are here to help with any problems encountered with your tutor. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
Making a tutor-seeker pay first to get a potential tutor is too much.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Sheen, Thank you for your feedback. Please note that it is FREE to contact as many tutors as you wish on our website to discuss all tuition needs. Only if/when you decide to go ahead with a tutor do we charge an intro fee which helps cover the costs of ID checks, reference collection, qualification checks, etc. Tutor profiles also have verified feedback from previous First Tutor clients. If you have any problems with your tutor please do not hesitate to contact us, we are here to help. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
This is the second time a tutor from your website has not turned up I would like a call back in reference to this my number is 07793906714. Disgraceful experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Shauna, Thank you for your feedback. We are terribly sorry and surprised to hear this as we pride ourselves in the quality and dependability of our tutors. I can see you haven't yet contacted Customer Service to register a complaint so I have emailed you personally with instructions on how to bring these tutors to account. We will also follow their non-attendance up with them directly. I'm really sorry but we don't currently operate a phone line however, customer service works swiftly to answer all emails as soon as possible. Should you have any further queries or issues do email us. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
Unfortunately we couldn't even meet each other! First time I contacted her she was away for holidays and said she'll come and see us on last Friday 01/09/17and would let me know about the time on Wednesday 30/08/17when she's back, then on Wednesday she contacted me and said she can't make it for Friday as she hadn't her car and changed it to Saturday morning 02/09/17 at10:30, again 8:51pm on Friday evening she sent me another text about forgetting something that she has to do on Saturday morning and wanted to come at 10:00 without apologising! Just saying " if that's okay " We didn't even meet and for the very first time meeting us she didn't show much care and respect. She did try to apology after found out we're not happy but it wasn't a good start and we'd like to call the whole thing off and find another tutor for my daughter. Kind regards Leyla Alborz
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Leyla, We are sorry to hear about the problems with your tutor but you didn't contact us so that we could help. We do have a set procedure to follow to claim another tutor at no further cost. I have now sent you an email explaining how to do this. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
The tutors' response time are very slow. One of them hasn't replied for more than 24 hours.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Lee, Thank you for your feedback. All requests will remain open for 14 days to give both you and your tutor the opportunity to discuss your tuition requirements in detail. I'm sorry if you found the response rates slow, all users are sent a notification email to let them know a message is waiting. Many of our tutors work in schools, colleges etc. and will always do there best to get back to you at the earliest opportunity. Tutors that fail to respond to requests are removed from the website. I hope this helps clarify things for you but please do not hesitate to get in contact if you have any other questions. Kind Regards , Sarah First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
Would never recommend neither the website or the writer. The "referees" rated the tutor professional, however he is everything but professional. +has a good knowledge of the the subject -he doesn't teach! Always changing session time! I had to BUY his details so then i can have ONLY ONE HOUR. The tutor then schedualed the next day (didnt show up ofcourse) then schedualed two days after and didnt show up neither. I am asking you (website) to refund the money i paid buying his details based on the false information provided about the tutor. Thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Maqboul, I'm sorry to hear about the problems with your tutor. I see that you haven't contacted us about this so we were unable to help earlier. We do have a set procedure to follow when a tutor lets you down in some way which entails leaving feedback on the tutor's profile so that we can investigate what happened and offer you another tutor free of charge. I will email you now to explain. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 4 years ago
Really disappointing! I made contact with the tutor I wanted to have lessons with, she agreed the time for each week and that she was available. I then paid the £14.99 to unlock her details and she messaged you say actually she couldn't be my tutor after all. First Tutors then refused to refund me and said that I could lock another tutors details instead, however there aren't anymore that I'm interested in. Huge waste of money! Use another site and don't waste the £14.99 like o did!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Laura, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry there seems to have been a misunderstanding. We have a set process in place to make a complaint and can see that customer service have just emailed you to explain what to do next. We aim to investigate why your tutor let you know in full. If you have any further concerns do let us know. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
First Tutors is rated 4.59 based on 7,953 reviews