First Tutors Reviews

4.59 Rating 7,970 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend First Tutors
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read First Tutors Reviews

About First Tutors:

Tutor Reviews

We gather 1000s of tutor reviews every month. In 2018, 90% of reviews were positive.

References & ID checks

Have confidence that your tutor's identity is genuine. All of our tutors must pass identity checks, plus we take up at least 2 references. These references are passed on to you once you've selected your tutor.

7 Day Support

Not sure about something? We have a team of experienced, caring people on hand to help 7 days a week.

No Tutor, No Fee

Contact as many of our tutors as you like through our website for free. You only pay when you're ready to hire one as your tutor.
Find the Perfect Tutor

If things don't work out with your tutor, just leave them a review and you can choose another one for free. With over 20,000 listed tutors, you're bound to find one that's just right for you!

Any problems?

We're here to help you! Just Contact our customer services.

Spread the word. Tell your friends what companies they can trust. Sharing is caring.

Write Your review

Tell us how First Tutors made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Password got locked out for my previous email but got NO REPLY to reset password after numerous requests! ! It is unacceptable and not the way to do business No phone number to call or email to write to? Where are you based? Please response with reasons why no reply. Poor system and extremely poor service. Unhappy customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear LingLing, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear that you have been having problems logging in to the website. I'm afraid that we not not currently offer a telephone support service but we do provide support by email 7 days a week. You can send us an email by using the contact form at the bottom of the home page (click "contact us"). As we have not received an email from you about this previously we have been unable to help you. I have sent you an email now to assist you. Kind regards, Christine Customer Support First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
First Tutors customer services never get back to you when a tutor cancels indefinitely and you still pay out the £7.99 for the tutor’s details!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Mandy, Thank you for your feedback. Our team did contact you on the 23/04/2018 at 19:15 via email addressing your problem. Please check you spam/junk folder. I will email you again with the same information now. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
sorry, it was not helpful and I don't want to continue.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Asim, I am sorry to learn about your disappointment and appreciate your reason for concern. We did contact you to see how things were going but did not receive a response so were unable to help. I have sent you an email this morning explaining how to leave feedback and choose a replacement tutor at no further cost. I hope this is satisfactory. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
My son did not want to carry on after the first lesson. I emailed to First Tutor enquire if I should pay administration fee again if I found another one. But you didn't reply me . That's why I rated it poor
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Kit, We have not received an email from you (we respond to all emails usually within an hour) so I have now sent you an email regarding your problem. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
I booked tutor for GCSE English. Her name was Kiran. Very unreliable,wants to come different times every week. Not sticking to what has been agreed. Gone on 4 weeks holiday,this was not even mentioned when I booked her which is very disappointing considering it's a GCSE student. Not keen on teaching or discussing how child is getting on instead Insisting to go through books. Well we booked you so you can support.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Iram, I have just seen the feedback you have left on the tutor's profile and I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied. I have emailed you now explaining how to take the offer of another tutor at no further cost. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact us. We are here to help and want you ensure you receive a positive experience with FIrst Tutors. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
Not clear on the fee charged. It is too much fee just to get tutors details. And I was under the impression that 1st lesson with tutor is free after having to pay such amount.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Babakang, Thank you for your feedback. The intro fee is displayed on the homepage under step 3. It does not say that the intro fee includes the cost of the lesson although we do have tutors that offer the first lesson free or at a discounted rate, this is displayed on their profiles. The intro fee is based on the tutor's hourly rate so if you can only afford 10 pounds per hour for tuition fees we only charge £4.99. The maximum fee we charge £ 24.99. The intro fee helps cover the cost of ID checks, reference collection, qualification verification, running of the website, staff etc. We wish you all the best with your new tutor but if you encounter any problems please do contact us so that we can help. Kind regards Sara Customer Service First Tutors Team.
Posted 3 years ago
I emailed and phone First Tutors to say my Tutors information was misleading and the tutor’s contact details we paid for was sadly unable to help us. Therefore my introduction fee should be refunded. No one from First Tutors ever got back to me regarding refund. Therefore I don’t want to waste another £20.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Katey, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I have reviewed this for you and can see that a member of our customer support team has already contacted you with steps on how to choose a replacement tutor at no further cost and also on how to leave feedback for your tutor in order to request a refund. We do not offer telephone support at present but always respond promptly by email. It is our intention to investigate this matter. If you could kindly check your email inbox at your earliest convenience we will be able to get this resolved for you. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Found a local tutor on your website within our budget and orchestrated a first meeting. It was only after this that I received the information that the price was not as stated on the website, it was double. When questioning this, the tutor explained that there was not enough room on the website to state the price of individual classes and group classes. If we would've known the actual price at first then we wouldn't have wasted our time. We feel dissatisfied with the service.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Kiera, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you have been disappointed with the service you have received from your tutor. I can see that you have not yet contacted Customer Services about this matter so that we can help you. I will send you an email now. Kind regards, Christine Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
I am very disappointed. The information about the price on the website was wrong! I was charged more than I was expected.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Irina, Thank you for your feedback. I see you haven't contacted us about this so we can investigate the matter and find a solution. From the request, I see that your tutor charges 30 pounds per hour which is displayed next to the intro fee of 24.99 within the request. I will send you an email now. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
I arranged lessons with a tutor who seemed reliable. He only did two lessons and then said he had started a full time job so could no longer continue. I had paid a registration fee to First tutors so it was really poor value for money. I would really not recommend First Tutors for the reason that this fee needs to be paid but there is no guarantee the Tutors will be reliable
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Elaine, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear your tutor has stopped tuition after just two lessons, this is definitely not acceptable behaviour. Sadly you hadn't contacted us explaining there was a problem so this is the first time we have heard about it. We do have a process in place when a tutor lets you down and I have emailed you details of how this works. Do let us know if we can be of any further help or you have any more queries. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
The first tutor only came and thaught may son for 4 weeks and left. The 2nd tutor informed me after his 1st lesson that he will not be available after 3 weeks. I paid total of £25 before I even met them and I hope that my money will not be wosted and I will be provided the length of the period that I required.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Safia, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you have experienced problems with your tutor but you didn't contact us about this so were unable to help. We have a set procedure to follow when a tutor lets you down in some way. I have now sent you an email with instructions on how to find another tutor at no further cost. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, I first contacted Akulah and she said she had "quite a lot of availability at the moment" After exchanging emails we arranged for her to start last Friday. She was also keen that my daughter had two hours tuition a week for it to be worth her while. I felt that was too long and we agreed on an hour and half. She is the most expensive by a long way and felt a little pressured to agree to longer than I's actually wanted. On Friday morning I received an email saying she was unable to make the appointment. It seems she now feels she doesn't have much availability after all and her timetable may change next year anyway... I have now contacted Rhodri and would like to hire him but I really don't want to have to pay you again. I feel my time has been wasted Regards Claire Bush
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Claire , We are very sorry to read your feedback and it is our intention to investigate this thoroughly and call the tutor to account. I can see that you hadn't contacted us regarding your problem so we have been unable to help. Please check your email inbox at your earliest convenience so we can resolve the matter for you. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors Customer Service
Posted 3 years ago
People come to learn Tutors. your web makes it that we have to learn your navigation first . Only people who benefits are those desperate Parents. I can guess why you are doing it . But you should improve the navigation to suit adults too, they are at least 45 % , Besides you can't quantify people who gave up. I spent at least 3 hours trying to employ Jogesh He never returned my text he is a 5* tutor As an adult I would have paid a £10 charge to phone support than wasting 3 hours and no return for that. As business person it it not what you get out of your service it not what you give it is also what you cost to the customer who waste time and do not get paid for it. Same story when I try to get next tutor. Thanks Regards ,Ken Rajah , ps. For your website You need for someone good on PHP and interactive design Microsoft give a free software for interactive web design as education charity. Ken Rajah
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Ken, I am sorry to read about your feedback. I can see that a customer support team member has already been in contact with you , informing you of how to leave feedback and choose a replacement tutor at no further cost. We aim to make our website as user friendly as possible and are happy to listen to your feedback regarding user experience so that we can improve the service we provide. Kind Regards, Sarah First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
I'm very disappointed with your website. After paying for the contact of the tutor and contacting him, he informed me, he wasn't able to tutoring my child. I paid for noting and waste my money.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Michele, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear your tutor failed to provide any tuition. I can see you haven't been in contact with customer service to make a complaint yet so I have emailed you explaining our complaint procedure. Do let us know if we can be of any further help. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
If you cannot stand by your tutors enough to be reviewed together, don't promote them. JIM LEE is not a responsible tutor. I would warn parents against letting him have influence over impressionable teens. Going elsewhere as I cannot trust an agency who would support this utter garbage. Steer clear.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Jessica, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that tuition hasn't gone well and can see you have just left feedback for the tutor on their profile. We aim to fully investigate this and have contacted you directly to explain our complaints procedure. If we can be of any further help please do not hesitate to contact us. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
I can't get hold of the tutor (Sara). We agreed last week Tuesday but then she prosponded to this week Tuesday but she never showed up. I tried to call and text her but no respond. I hope she is okay. And if she can't help my daughter like agreed, can I have my introductory money back please
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Farida, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your tutor hasn't shown up, but can see you haven't contacted customer service about it. We do have a set procedure when a tutor lets you down. I have emailed you details on what you need to do to bring this complaint against your tutor and do let us know if we can be of further help. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
given the wrong address of the tutor and said one-to-one however wasn't
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Jasmeet, We are sorry to learn of your disappointment and understand your frustration. As we have not yet heard from you regarding the problem, we have been unable to help. We do have a customer support team working 7 days a week to answer your queries. I have sent you an email with instructions on how to leave feedback and choose another tutor free of charge. Kind Regards, Sarah Customer Support
Posted 3 years ago
I used FirstTutor for the first time and I will not do it anymore. disappointed
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Gabriella, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you are not satisfied with our service. I can see that our customer service team have already offered you another tutor free of charge which you have accepted. If you have any further problems or queries please do let us know. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Extremely disappointed. I placed an advert as I was seeking a tutor who might have had availability on the days that I specified. I was then contacted by 3 tutors, 2 were out of my travelling range and one then offered me lessons via Skype. I purchased the tutor's details and hoped to start lessons with them but they then contacted me to say that they were only available during the day and had therefore clearly not read my specifications. I have had my time and money wasted and feel extremely let down.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Tracey, We are sorry to learn of your disappointment and understand your frustration. As we have not yet heard from you regarding the problem, we have been unable to help. We do have a customer support team working 7 days a week to answer your queries. I have sent you an email with instructions on how to leave feedback and choose another tutor free of charge. Kind Regards, Sarah Customer Support
Posted 3 years ago
I have tried to hire several tutors through first tutors for my son Travane. I am not sure how the vetting process works before some of these tutors appear on the website for people to hire. One of them failed to turn up for her first appointment after agreeing to see my son at an agreed time and location and made him come home and wait for hours only for the tutor not to turn up, did not call to let us know she was not coming and did not have the humility to say she is sorry. One turn up for 2 sessions and then mixed the 3rd session on the grounds that he was ill and 2 days after sent a text say he got a new position and no longer able to teach my son. I wonder if these tutors are vetted on matters relating to diversity!!! I can go on to catalogue my several negative experiences but will leave just the above. I will be asking First tutors to refund my fees or enable me use the fees to hire hopefully dedicated , reliable, committed persons who are able to communicate effectively and really do what they say they do on your website
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Travane, Thank you for your feedback. We see that you haven't contacted us about the problem with you recent tutor so we were unable to help. We do send email reminders about leaving feedback on your tutor so that we are alerted to any negative experiences. We did solution the problem with a tutor you had back in February by providing another tutor free of charge so please leave feedback on the tutor you are referring to now so that we can help you find another tutor free of charge. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
First Tutors is rated 4.59 based on 7,970 reviews