First Tutors Reviews

4.59 Rating 7,969 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend First Tutors
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read First Tutors Reviews

About First Tutors:

Tutor Reviews

We gather 1000s of tutor reviews every month. In 2018, 90% of reviews were positive.

References & ID checks

Have confidence that your tutor's identity is genuine. All of our tutors must pass identity checks, plus we take up at least 2 references. These references are passed on to you once you've selected your tutor.

7 Day Support

Not sure about something? We have a team of experienced, caring people on hand to help 7 days a week.

No Tutor, No Fee

Contact as many of our tutors as you like through our website for free. You only pay when you're ready to hire one as your tutor.
Find the Perfect Tutor

If things don't work out with your tutor, just leave them a review and you can choose another one for free. With over 20,000 listed tutors, you're bound to find one that's just right for you!

Any problems?

We're here to help you! Just Contact our customer services.

Spread the word. Tell your friends what companies they can trust. Sharing is caring.

Write Your review

Tell us how First Tutors made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Lindsay was so helpful, got my daughter on track with her A level History coursework, very pleased, thank you.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Took money for my second lesson even though I had said I would be able to make the lesson as I was stuck in a conference for work. The style of teaching wasn't for me at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Dee, We sincerely apologise that you were disappointed with your tutor. While we understand that does not change your experience, we take your concerns seriously and want to make the situation right. Please contact our customer service team at https://www.firsttutors.com/uk/contact-us.php and we'll begin working with you to find an acceptable solution as soon as possible. We look forward to speaking with you and again apologise for your experience. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Toi expensive to release the details. (Around 25 pounds)
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We sincerely apologise that you were disappointed with First Tutors' introduction fee. We take your concerns seriously and want to make the situation right. Please contact our customer service team at https://www.firsttutors.com/uk/contact-us.php and we will be happy to clarify what the introduction fee covers.
Posted 3 years ago
I was really unimpressed . The tutor I contacted was prompt with reply through the website but the minute I paid for his details it was a different matter. He said I would contact me to arrange a time to come around and meet us I didn't hear anything so I phoned and arranged a time. We waited for half an hour and he didn't turn up so phoned him to have the response 'oh I forgot about that's followed by a chuckle. I don't find my child's education a joke. He said he'd be round in five minutes later fifteen minutes later he still hadn't turned up so we left it. Shouldn't have to pay for contact details as I wouldn't use this tutor now even if he offered free service as he is unreliable and we were really unimpressed.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Angela, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your tutor has turned out to be such a disappointment. Please let me assure you that this tutor does not reflect the quality of tutors on our site. I can see you have contacted customer service who have advised how to contact another tutor free of charge. If we can be of any further help or you have any queries please do get in touch. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
It is so irritating the time restraints and the emails that keep coming in chasing me up to act. It has really put me off using the site again, the constant being harassed by emails.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Sally, Thank you for your feedback. I have passed on your comments about the email reminders as the last thing we want to do is make the process feel rushed. If a request closes and you haven't finished discussing details with your tutor then do email us and we can reopen it for you. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, I booked a tutor called Eileen Florence through yourselves. I paid £400 to Eileen upfront before the first session. When she arrived at my home she was extremely rude and aggressive towards me and my mother. After the 2 hour session of being shouted at continuously, humiliated and threatened I asked for a refund of £350 after agreeing to pay the £50 for the first session. She refused a refund of the £350 at which point I contacted First Tutors. I was then told by yourselves that all I could do was leave a bad review on Eileen Florence's page. She has black mailed my family into writing a positive review on her page in order to receive a refund. I do not agree with the way your site works as even if I had wrote a negative review on Eileen Florence's page, she can decide whether or not it is available for other users to see. This is disgraceful as how many other people does she wish to do this too. I have all proof of the emails sent by Eileen Florence if you wish to see them. It is incredible that you have a person who is capable of this tactic available on your site. For the sake of other people who may use your site in the future to book Eileen Florence I feel this should be documented so that you are aware of her capability. Thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Josie, Thank you for your feedback and providing more information. We do of course take all concerns of this nature very seriously and have emailed you regarding this situation. We never recommend paying up front for more than one lesson to avoid situations such as this arising. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
A client made slanderous comments about myself saying that I had never provided feedback. I had at least five emails and three pieces of assessed work submitted in a three month window as evidence to the contrary. First Tutors refused to remove the rating even though what was being said was factually inaccurate and portrayed me in a very poor light putting my professional reputation at risk of being besmirched by one unreasonable and odious individual. In response to the reply from First Tutors below the only way that First Tutors 'worked with me' was to say that I needed to contact the individual myself and to ignore a question I asked and several messages, First Tutors themselves refused to intervene in any way. I explained that the man was clearly unreasonable and somewhat unhinged (as evidenced by receiving a very long text message from him on a Sunday morning, another at 6:59 a.m. two days after this and another at 7:20 a.m. another day after this) and I was very reluctant to be in contact with him again. Consequently I had to spend my time receiving harassing, aggressive emails. When asked for a contact at First Tutors they refused to give me the name of a person who I could talk to. When I also showed the aggressive emails received from the individual to First Tutors and explained they would need to have a duty of care to their tutors working for them as this individual would probably repeat his past behaviour with another tutor and subject them to harassment, they refused to have him taken off their books. As far as I can work out First Tutors operate out of a portable cabin in Preston. There are no details of any of the staff who work there or a management structure. Please, please avoid if you are thinking of advertising as a tutor with them. This seems to be a common consesus of other tutors who have been associated with them if you care to scroll through the comments here on Trustpilot.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Unfortunately First Tutor didn't help me at all. I just pay to get the details of the tutor and after he didn't reply to my messages. Useless!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Florin, Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear the tutor let you down by cancelling tuition. I see you left feedback for the tutor this morning and our team have already been in contact with you explaining how to source another tutor free of charge. Please do not hesitate to contact you if you have further questions. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
The problem is you have to pay to get the tutor details and then if that tutor is not suitable it is wasted money. I think you should pay a fee when you have found a suitable tutor. I won't use this service again as I may end up pay over and over before finding the right tutor.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Nathalie, Thank you for your feedback. If you find that your new tutor is not suitable, we just ask you to contact Customer Support, leave feedback for your tutor explaining why you are not proceeding with tuition, and then you can find a further tutor at no further cost. I can see that you haven't contacted us indicating a problem with your tutor, so I will send you an email now to see how we can help you. Kind regards, Christine Customer Support First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
After two attempted meetings set with LD tutors, neither showed up. Very disappointing.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Christine, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you tutors haven't turned up. This is not the standard we would expect. I can see you have contacted customer service about the first one and we have just emailed you regarding the second one. If we can be of any further help or you have additional queries, do let us know. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
Good morning I booked Mr Paul, English literature (AS level ) tutor to teach 1-2-1 my daughter at her care home, he came in drunk condition. My daughter and her care officer made objection, then he left and asking money, I don't know he doesn't take lessons and he is asking money. He doesn't realise this is out of ethics to be a drunk at work place. If you need any witness, you can confirm with the care officer and also with the recorded camera. Now if I want another English tutor, can you please adjust administration fee £24.99 paid and disclose details of other English Tutor. I already booked 3 others tutors from your company. Best wishes Abdullah khan
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Abdullah, I'm sorry to hear about the problems with your tutor but sadly we were unable to help because you didn't notify us at the time. I have now sent you an email explaining the procedure to claim another tutor free of charge. Please look out for that email and get back to us when you wish to go ahead with another tutor. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
I didn’t have any tutor yet
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear May, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your tutor hasn't provided any tuition yet. I'm afraid we were unaware of the situation as you haven't contact customer service. We have just emailed you details on how to make a complaint against a tutor and get another tutor free of charge. Do let us know if we can be any further help. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Tutor had not prepared for a lesson. I sent him exam questions with solutions and when we started our session here looked at the questions like he had seen them for the first time. He was unable to answer 1 out of 2 questions we did. Didnt seem to have any confidence in anything he was telling me.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Darragh, We are sorry to hear you have had a bad experience with your tutor. Please do contact customer service if you ever have and issue, as we hadn't received any communication from you indicating there was an problem. Customer service have now emailed you details on how to obtain another tutor free of charge. If you have any further problems please do let us know. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
I founs it Waste of time and money. Will not use any more.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Bing, Thank you for your feedback. We haven't received any emails from you indicating a problem with your tutor or our website. We do have a set procedure to follow if there has been a problem with your tutor so that you can find another tutor at no further cost. I will send you an email now so that you can respond if you need help. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
You should be allowed to have one lesson and then pay the charge for the website after. You need to meet the tutor first.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Nicola, We operate as a tuition agency and the fee you have paid is the agency fee to receive your tutors contact details. Therefore we do ask for payment prior to the lessons. This fee helps cover the cost of our identity and reference checks on all registered tutors as well as business running costs. If after you have met your tutor, you feel they are not a good match or are unsatisfied we ask that you please contact us so that we can help you find a replacement tutor at no further cost. Kind Regards, Sara First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Wouldn’t recommend, result was me paying £95 in total for really very little. Very dissatisfied. Won’t be using again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Emma, I am very sorry to read your feedback. I have reviewed your account and can see that you have not alerted us to a problem so we have been unable to help you. It is our intention to investigate your issue. I have sent you an email asking for for further details. Looking forward to hearing from you. Sarah First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
The fee of £14.99 wasn't mentioned until after I had chosen a tutor. Got no response from 3 other tutors i contacted and haven't actually been able to get in touch with the one whose details I paid for.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Julie, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry that you missed reading about our introduction fee. We do state it clearly under 'How to find a tutor' and our FAQs section as well as in our follow-up emails. We're very sorry that you found some tutors you contacted didn't respond. We do alert them to every message that you send (via e-mail) and we wish they would respond out of courtesy to you, but sadly cannot force them to do so. All tutors who do not respond to a request are automatically removed from our system after 2 weeks. We have contacted Romain to get in touch with you as soon as possible. Should you not hear anything from him within 24 hours please do email customer service who will be able to advise the next steps in how to register a complaint. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
The fee of £14.99 wasn't mentioned until after I had chosen a tutor. Got no response from 3 other tutors i contacted and haven't actually been able to get in touch with the one whose details I paid for.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Julie, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry that you missed reading about our introduction fee. We do state it clearly under 'How to find a tutor' and our FAQs section as well as in our follow-up emails. We're very sorry that you found some tutors you contacted didn't respond. We do alert them to every message that you send (via e-mail) and we wish they would respond out of courtesy to you, but sadly cannot force them to do so. All tutors who do not respond to a request are automatically removed from our system after 2 weeks. We have contacted Romain to get in touch with you as soon as possible. Should you not hear anything from him within 24 hours please do email customer service who will be able to advise the next steps in how to register a complaint. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
That is the problem with your site.the distance and instructions locations are not correct!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Mehdi, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the location entered by your tutor was incorrect. We aim to investigate this thoroughly and have emailed you details on how our complaints procedure works. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Tutor cancelled first lesson and hasn't contacted me since. I contacted First Tutors to explain the situation and no one has replied to me.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Steve, Thank you for your feedback. I'm afraid we haven't received an email from you to advise about your problem so we were unable to help. We have a set procedure to follow when a tutor lets you down in some way. I have now sent you an email explaining how to claim another tutor free of charge. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
First Tutors is rated 4.59 based on 7,969 reviews