First Tutors Reviews

4.59 Rating 7,953 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend First Tutors
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read First Tutors Reviews

About First Tutors:

Tutor Reviews

We gather 1000s of tutor reviews every month. In 2018, 90% of reviews were positive.

References & ID checks

Have confidence that your tutor's identity is genuine. All of our tutors must pass identity checks, plus we take up at least 2 references. These references are passed on to you once you've selected your tutor.

7 Day Support

Not sure about something? We have a team of experienced, caring people on hand to help 7 days a week.

No Tutor, No Fee

Contact as many of our tutors as you like through our website for free. You only pay when you're ready to hire one as your tutor.
Find the Perfect Tutor

If things don't work out with your tutor, just leave them a review and you can choose another one for free. With over 20,000 listed tutors, you're bound to find one that's just right for you!

Any problems?

We're here to help you! Just Contact our customer services.

Spread the word. Tell your friends what companies they can trust. Sharing is caring.

Write Your review

Tell us how First Tutors made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
This is a review of First Tutors and not the actual Tutors. I have paid an induction fee twice now totalling £40 just to have the tutors contact details released to me. The first tutor only turned up twice before informing us his personal circumstances had changed. The 2nd tutor arrived and we immediately realised there would be problem as none of us could understand her. We were aware she was Spanish but if we were able to speak before over the phone this problem would have been apparent. I understand the need for a fee to First Tutors but should there be some guidelines for example what if the tutor never makes contact at all. This could become very expensive trying to find suitable tutor.I have emailed First Tutors but there is no information regarding this situation
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Claire, We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your tutors, and hope that we can rectify this situation for you promptly. I can see that you have contacted Customer Support by email today and we have advised you of how to find a replacement tutor at no further cost. If you need any further assistance please do contact us by email again so that we can help. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
We are grateful for finding an excellent tutor but think that paying £25 to be able to access her details before we've even had a lesson will mean that we do not use this agency again. As a childcare provider myself, I would never consider charging new parents to come and meet me
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Christine, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you feel this way about our introduction fee. The introduction fee covers the costs of security checks on all our tutors which we believe is essential for safety and peace of mind. We do feel our prices are competitive as unlike a traditional agency we don't charge an ongoing fee per lesson. Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
Not happy, I had to pay £15.00 just to have tutor details and when the tutor came my daughter knew more maths than her and of course I had to pay another £25.00 for her time.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Ana, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your tutor was not up to standard. Customer Service have contacted you advising how you can obtain another one free of charge. Do email us if you have any further queries. Kind regards, Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
I find it disgusting that you are making me pay to get a tutor’s details.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Keith, I'm sorry to read your feedback. Unlike free services, First Tutors take up reference and identity checks on all of our registered tutors to help clients choose with confidence. Our fees are displayed on the website but we are also happy to discuss this in more detail with you should you require any further clarification. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
I don't anderstand why we have to pay to find out the members details before arrange anything. After I payed I found out its to far for us.They should be charging when actually you did find the right teacher. Now I don't want to pay again to find anybody on that side.Sorry that's my opinion.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Enlko, Our fees help cover the cost of identity and reference checks on all of our registered tutors - this helps parents and students choose with confidence. I'm sorry to hear that the tutor is too far from you, we do have a map facility in the request so you can check distance before accepting. If you would like to contact our support team we will be able to resolve this matter for you. Looking forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Having paid for the tutor details , he notified me after I had contacted him that he was not available as he had another job. I requested help from First Tutors to recommend another tutor in the are and received what amounted to an automated reply. I consider customer service to be poor. Brid
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Brid, We are very sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the service you have received from First Tutors. We understand your concern that your tutor has let you down, and a Customer Service representative has responded to both your emails explaining the process for finding a replacement tutor at no further cost. If you need any further assistance in this matter please contact us again and we will do our best to assist you promptly and to your satisfaction. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
The fee for revealing the tutors details is extortionate and was not made clear until I went to confirm my tutor. Wouldn't use it again because of this. Website not easy to use.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Katie, I'm sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with the First Tutors service and want to help make the situation right for you. Please contact our customer support team and we will do our best to assist you with your concerns. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Unfortunately this tutor was not able to deliver as expected. I will not be continuing after the first meeting. Since this has proved unsuccessful I feel that I should be refunded the fee paid to First Tutors as I can no longer have trust that I will get the service expected. Please email your reply. Regards, Lorraine
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Lorraine, Thank you for leaving feedback. We are sorry that your tutor didn't live up to expectations. Customer service have contacted you in order to resolve the situation. Kind regards, Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
The tutors don’t replay to you. I had to contact six tutors and only two game back to me. But only one wanted to teach my daughter. It is very difficult to find a tutor. Thank you
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Juana, Thank you for your feedback. I have looked at your request and see that 2 tutors declined directly (fully booked) and the others did respond to your request. I'm glad to see that you did find a tutor in in the end and hope your experience with the tutor is a positive one. Please contact us if you have further questions. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team
Posted 3 years ago
French accent was not very good making it difficult for me to understand . Personally I would prefer a french native speaker to teach. The whole experience was not great ,will not be attending another lesson .
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Nicola, I am very sorry to hear that you have been disappointed with your tutor. I will send you an email now with instructions on how to find a replacement tutor at no further cost. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
HER social life comes first cancels . would not recommend her..
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Pankak, Thank you for your feedback. I have looked into your account and see that the tutor you connected with took place last March. We didn't receive any emails from your to indicate that there was a problem with your tutor. I will contact you personally now to explain the procedure of obtaining another tutor at no further cost. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
I’m really not at all impressed. They charged me £19.99 for basically logging onto their website. I mean I’m sure this was displayed somewhere in the small print but clearly deliberately hidden from the average viewer. Really do not know what they did for their cash as the tutor I agreed to never even turned up. Will be asking for my money-making back. DO not use
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Clare, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you missed that there is an introduction fee payable to connect with your chosen tutor. This fee is displayed on the homepage and also in the header of the request. I am very sorry to hear that your tutor let you down. Please contact our customer service team at https://www.firsttutors.com/uk/contact-us.php and we'll begin working with you to find an acceptable solution as soon as possible. We look forward to speaking with you and again apologise that your experience has not been a positive one. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Terrible experience with teacher - Miriam Cini. I Won’t be using the first tutor service again - expensive for buying 1 contact which is fine if can find a good teacher base on the feedback for my kids. But the feedback is not reflected whose she is. It is not this service issue but terrible terrible lucks with the teacher I met. Can’t even explain the terrible feelings/experiences for what I went through.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Michelle, Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear that your experience with the tutor wasn't a pleasant one. I see that our customer service team did contact you about this and have offered you another tutor at no further cost. Please do contact us again if you haven't received the email so that we can assist. Kind regards Sara Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
Unfortunately I am unable to give a good review of First Tutors as I paid the fee and the tutor then had to send someone else on the morning of the first lesson due to being ill, Which I was not happy about so cancelled.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear John, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear this and have contacted you to explain the procedure to obtain another tutor free of charge. Kind regards, Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
It is not really helpful when you have to pay for every tutor in order to contact them. They might not be good for what you need them for. Better if payment is made when you are satisfy that they can provide the service required. Some children only need support to get get excellent grade therefore they need someone who truly have a deep knowledge of the required aspect
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Moji, We sincerely apologise that you were disappointed with First Tutors. While we understand that does not change your experience, we take your concerns seriously and want to make the situation right. Please contact our customer service team at https://www.firsttutors.com/uk/contact-us.php and we'll begin working with you to find an acceptable solution as soon as possible. We look forward to speaking with you and again apologise for your experience. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Our experience was very disappointing. We retained the services of Madison, a math tutor. The process went well initially, but then she got sick, just days ahead of our son's final calculus exam. Once she felt better, two days before his exam, in spite of previously arranging to come to our home for one hour, she cancelled the session with a text, and refused to accept any further calls or messages from us. We brought this to the attention of First Tutors, and their solution was to waive their $10.00 administration fee the next time we needed to hire a tutor. Their idea of holding her accountable was to let our numerical 1/5 rating stand but our negative review would not be posted unless SHE chose to do so. First Tutors indicated that if a "pattern" of poor feedback was evident, they could remove a tutor from their site. Seems a bit odd when commentary is requested, but only posted if it's positive. If a site asks their customers to provide both ratings and commentary they have an obligation to post everything. Otherwise the data is manipulated creating a false, more positive outcome commentary for each tutor, If potential clients cannot validly and reliably determine that the tutor they are about to hire is as good as they appear to be, then it brings into question First Tutors entire tutor evaluation model.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Lou, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your experience has not been a positive one and that you were let down by your tutor. In this scenario we offer a free replacement tutor as a gesture of goodwill, and I see that this has been offered to you. With regard to your concerns surrounding leaving feedback: negative feedback scores are not removed from Tutor profiles. Tutors are able to decide whether comments left are to be published or hidden from their profile. Cumulative feedback scores (yellow stars at the top of a tutor profile) are always displayed, this is known as a Trust Score. By leaving negative feedback you will see that a Trust Score will reduce, affecting the overall ranking of the Tutor in the search listings. This also helps future parents/students when shortlisting for their own Tutor. Additionally, parents will be able to see a negative review was left on the Tutor's profile. We cannot verify feedback comments (we were not there when tuition took place after all) however, where we see a pattern of negative feedback reviews or something concerning, we have the discretion to switch Tutors offline permanently. Kind regards, Christine Customer Support First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Don’t confirm with you that you’re paying an introductory free that goes to first tutors rather than your tutor so you’re paying about £20 just to get someone’s phone number. When I emailed them about the absence of information they replied to one email and then ignored the next. Wouldn’t recommend
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Niamh, Thank you for your feedback. We're very sorry to hear that you feel you've experienced less than agreeable customer service. I can see that our customer service team have been in touch to explain what our introductory fee covers, and to indicate where it is displayed on the site. If we can be of any further help please do let us know. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
The tutor arrived an time but significantly under prepared. It become obvious soon into the lesson she wasn’t familiar with the paper ( we did management accounting and she did not know variances were on the paper ) despite me giving her my login in details to access all the exam papers necessary and sending her two complete copies of the exam. She wasn’t familiar with how to calculate variances so said she would send me notes which she did. This wasn’t great a start. She then struggled with two elements of the paper which wasted a significant amount of time, although she stated she had looked through the paper before hand she took a substantial amount of time to work out one answer and couldn’t work out a second calculation only to phone me after the exam and explain how her husband found it out. Overall, she was clearly under prepared and didn’t hugely put me at ease for the exam. She did help somewhat but for the rate she is charging I expected far more then to not even get through one whole paper. Nice lady but wouldn’t recommended her as her price is too high for what she offers in terms of management accounting.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Kirstie, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear there have been problems with your tutor, but can see you haven't alerted customer service to their being any problems. We have now emailed you instructions on how to register a complaint and leave feedback for the tutor. Do let us know if we can be of any further help. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Already described.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Bikem, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear there have been problems with your tutor, but can see you haven't alerted customer service to their being any problems. We have now emailed you instructions on how to register a complaint and leave feedback for the tutor. Do let us know if we can be of any further help. Kind regards, Grace Customer Service Team First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Password got locked out for my previous email but got NO REPLY to reset password after numerous requests! ! It is unacceptable and not the way to do business No phone number to call or email to write to? Where are you based? Please response with reasons why no reply. Poor system and extremely poor service. Unhappy customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear LingLing, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear that you have been having problems logging in to the website. I'm afraid that we not not currently offer a telephone support service but we do provide support by email 7 days a week. You can send us an email by using the contact form at the bottom of the home page (click "contact us"). As we have not received an email from you about this previously we have been unable to help you. I have sent you an email now to assist you. Kind regards, Christine Customer Support First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
First Tutors is rated 4.59 based on 7,953 reviews