First Tutors Reviews

4.59 Rating 7,965 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend First Tutors
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read First Tutors Reviews

About First Tutors:

Tutor Reviews

We gather 1000s of tutor reviews every month. In 2018, 90% of reviews were positive.

References & ID checks

Have confidence that your tutor's identity is genuine. All of our tutors must pass identity checks, plus we take up at least 2 references. These references are passed on to you once you've selected your tutor.

7 Day Support

Not sure about something? We have a team of experienced, caring people on hand to help 7 days a week.

No Tutor, No Fee

Contact as many of our tutors as you like through our website for free. You only pay when you're ready to hire one as your tutor.
Find the Perfect Tutor

If things don't work out with your tutor, just leave them a review and you can choose another one for free. With over 20,000 listed tutors, you're bound to find one that's just right for you!

Any problems?

We're here to help you! Just Contact our customer services.

Spread the word. Tell your friends what companies they can trust. Sharing is caring.

Write Your review

Tell us how First Tutors made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
My tutor cancelled on me the day before our first lesson after I paid the €15 and she will not be
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Kayley, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that your tutor let you down. We didn't receive notification from you so were unable to help. We do have a procedure to follow so that you can claim another tutor at no further cost. I will contact you via email to explain now. Kind regards Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 1 year ago
Very expensive for not much of a service!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Liam, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you have found our finder's fee to be expensive for the service First Tutors offers. Our finder's fee ranges between £4.99 and £24.99; we have a tiered fee structure to make the service as affordable as possible for everyone. Our fees help to cover the cost of completing identity and address checks, and obtaining two references for all our registered tutors, allowing you to choose with confidence. You can read more about how our fees compare with other services at the following link: https://www.firsttutors.com/uk/about-us/ We haven't heard from you to indicate any issues with your choice of tutor, but I will send you a follow up email now to check everything is going well. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 1 year ago
The website was difficult to navigate: I am 57 and find your use of language imprecise. I did not like some of your directives " No-one likes to be kept waiting so tell your tutor..." That kind of thing. I don't need to be told such things and regard it as bad manners that you do such. I found you self indulgent and I certaily won't use you again. Don't bother replying because I will delete e-mail before opening it.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Adrian, I am so sorry your experience with First Tutors was not a positive one. I have sent you an email hoping you will respond with further details about what areas of the website and/or procedure you found inappropriate so that this information can be passed to our team. We appreciate your feedback and strive to provide a user friendly platform for our users. If you had a problem with the tutor, please don't hesitate to contact us so that we can help you find a replacement tutor free of charge. Kind regards Customer Services First Tutors.
Posted 1 year ago
Did not return my money back when I asked first tutor I paid for a tutor but she did not know the topic so she said she cant tutor me so I paid for her info for no reason
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Frishta, We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your tutor and appreciate this was not the experience you were hoping for. I can see that you contacted our Customer Support Team about this matter on the 12th October to express your concerns and we replied the same day with details of how you can leave feedback for your tutor and then select a replacement tutor free of charge. We didn't hear back from you about this following our email, but I will send you a follow up email now so that we can hopefully get the matter quickly and positively resolved for you. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 1 year ago
The First Tutors system is almost impossible to use. They send emails which are 'smart' - you then have to open the link and click twice - very difficult to manage if you have contacted more than one tutor. Two of ours we had the same first name so we could not tell them apart on the system. We would advise that you contact one tutor at a time. I'm sure most of the tutors themselves are good, but the First tutors system stinks!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Rob, We are very sorry to hear that you have had difficulties in using the website and appreciate this is not the experience you were hoping for. We aim to offer a user-friendly service and your comments are important to us. We have been unable to replicate the issues you have outlined in your review, however we would like to look into this for you in further detail to help you troubleshoot the issue and improve on the service we provide. Our customer support team are available seven days a week to help you in using the website and will be happy to assist you. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
The teacher miss lead just for one lesson and the disappear. Said it is too far for her. Those point should be taken in to consideration.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that your tutor has let you down; I understand how disappointing this is for you. I appreciate that you have not had a positive experience so far and understand how frustrating this is for you. Unfortunately you did not alert us to any problems so we have been unable to help you. We have a dedicated Customer Support team working 7 days a week to help our clients. I will send you an email now with details of how we can hopefully resolve this matter positively for you. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
Tutor didn’t reply after I paid for her contact details and lived about 15 miles away from where the site said she did. This site is a con job
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Ann, Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you have had difficulty contacting your tutor; I understand how disappointing this is for you. Tutors should always keep their contact and location details up to date and I can see the tutor advised you of her approximate location in the request messages; I am very sorry to hear if you have found their actual address to be in a different area than she indicated. I appreciate that you have not had a positive experience so far and understand how frustrating this is for you. Unfortunately you did not alert us to any problems so we have been unable to help you. We have a dedicated Customer Support team working 7 days a week to help our clients. I will send you an email now with details of how we can hopefully resolve this matter positively for you. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
Do not use this service . I got scammed
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Marian, I'm very sorry and concerned to read your comment. I have looked at your account and can't see that you have notified us about a problem with your tutor so we were unable to help. I will contact you now via email to explain how to leave feedback on the tutor's profile to call them to account and claim another tutor at no further cost. We want our clients to have a positive and satisfactory experience so please let us help you. Kind regards Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 2 years ago
Although though our tutor has shown all sorts of availability we have yet to connect. We wanted to start immediately but we have been given excuses and a cancellation since taking our fee
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Kevin, Thank you for your feedback. I see that you didn't contact us to notify us that you had a problem with your tutor so we were unable to help. I have now sent you an email to explain how to leave feedback on the tutor's profile and claim another tutor free of charge. Kind regards Customer Services First Tutors.
Posted 2 years ago
Contacted a tutor called Andrew and made arrangements for tutoring, then received rude and abusive correspondence from him because I didn't respond to one if his e mails within 24 hours. Never again. Complaints procedure none existent.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Lisa, I am very sorry to hear that you have had an unpleasant experience with your tutor. I can see that we did send you a follow up email after your purchase to check everything was going as planned, but unfortunately we did not receive a response. It is our intention to investigate this matter and call the tutor to account. I can see that a member of our customer service team has sent you details of our complaints procedure in order to receive a replacement tutor at no further charge. Our customer support team are available seven days a week to help with any questions or concerns. Please contact enquiries@firsttutors.co.uk and we will always do our best to help you. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
I’ve been trying too get a tutor for two weeks there is so much red tape too get a tutor you would think it’s the Secret service you were dealing with They spend more time protecting the tutor rather than the student joke?👿
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Edward, I am sorry to read that you have experienced difficulties in using the First Tutors website. We aim to provide a great user experience for tutors and students. The private forum is available to discuss your tuition requirements with your chosen tutor. Only when all tuition details have been discussed and you are happy to go ahead we ask you to pay the fee to receive the relevant contact information. Our fees help cover the cost of identity and reference checks on all registered tutors. I'm afraid that we do not permit students or tutors to pass contact details during the request opening. This is to protect both yours and your tutors personal information. You will be able to share your details with one another once you have confirmed you would like to go ahead with tuition.  I have sent you a follow up email this afternoon to discuss this with you in further detail. Our support team are available seven days a week to help with any problems you may face. Enquiries@firsttutors.co.uk Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
This is a rip-off . I paid £24.99 to get just a contact to speak to a tutor then I wanted to speak to another tutor they ask me to pay another £24.99 . Other systems will ask you to pay one time fee but first tutor is reaping off people by asking them to pay £24.99 for each tutor you want to speak to . This is really bad. Well I will not use first tutor again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Christabel, Our messaging forum is available for you discuss your requirements in full (e.g. subjects, level, exam boards, availability, travel arrangements etc). Only when you are happy with the discussed arrangement do we ask you to pay a fee. Our fees help cover the cost of identity and reference checks on all of our registered tutors so that you can choose with confidence. If, in the unlikely event you are unsatisfied with your tutor after you have met them, we ask that you please contact us so that we can advise how to leave feedback and choose a replacement tutor at no further charge. This tutor guarantee ensures that you only ever pay for the tutors that you choose to use through our service. If you have any further questions or need support, please email enquiries@firsttutors.com and our customer service team will be able to help you. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
Negative comments should also be published to help students choose their tutor. It's unfair that you allow tutors to choose to hide the negative feedback because students need to know what the problem was especially when you charge a fee to release the details and don't refund it back despite having problems with the tutor. The next student will have the same problem even though you can see the negative rating it doesn't explain the issue.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Lubna, Thank you for your feedback. We allow tutors to hide the comments for libel law reasons but the negative rating remains for the public to see. New users can view if tutor profiles have a negative rating. If you have a problem with your tutor we ask always offer another tutor free of charge so you don't lose your money. I see that our customer service team have been in contact with you and have offered a tutor replacement. Kind regards Customer Service First Tutors.
Posted 2 years ago
Tuition didnt go ahead due to bereavment, Tutors communication was poor.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Very poor experience of First Tutors. Tutor cancelled and I would like a refund of €19.99 paid to First Tutors for her teaching record/ credentials. I am not going to recommend First Tutors to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Hazel, I am sorry to hear that your tutor cancelled the first session and can understand how disappointed you must feel. I have checked your account and see that you didn't contact us about the problem so that we could help. I have now sent you an email with instructions on how to claim another tutor free of charge. Please respond to that email if you have further questions. Kind regards Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 2 years ago
Been trying to organise a tutor since January Tutor’s do not respond and when they do it comes back not available. They need to stop advertising if they are not available
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Had no joy finding a tutor and although I messaged some who travel to home never heard back from them .disappointed
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Dianne, We are very sorry that there has been a problem with your tutor. I can see that customer service have emailed you advising how to get another tutor free of charge. If we can be of any further help at all please do get in touch: enquiries@firsttutors.co.uk Kind regards, Customer Service Team
Posted 2 years ago
Got charged £24.99 introduction fee for a tutitor who never turned up.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Fiona, I am very sorry to hear that your tutor has let you down; this isn't acceptable and I can appreciate how disappointing this is for you. You have not contacted us about this matter yet, so we have been unable to help you. I will send you an email now explaining how to chose a replacement tutor at no further cost. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
I was very disappointed with my first tutor Minoo. Very poor tuition . After first tuition thought would try again and arranged for 11 am and still hadn’t arrived by 11.45. Sent text no answer and then explained running late and would be with us shortly. Still didn’t arrive by 12.30 and I text to explain not to bother as we had to go out. Waste of money and time. Have since found another tutor with another site. I would like a refund of the initial fee please .
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Loraine, I am sorry to hear that you have been let down by your tutor. Our customer support team are available 7 days a week to help answer any of your questions and concerns. Please contact enquiries@firsttutors.co.uk in future so that we can do our best to help you. I have sent you an email with further details so that we can help get another tutor in place for you. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 2 years ago
1 week. He was sick. 2 week . He is really busy with school. He won't be able to commit to giving tuition. All this after paid 20 € to get contact from First Tutors.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Irina, We are very sorry that your tutor has let you down, this isn't the standard we expect of them. We weren't aware of a problem beforehand, but have now contacted you to explain our complaints procedure. Do please email customer service if you have any further problems Kind regards, Customer Service Team
Posted 2 years ago
First Tutors is rated 4.59 based on 7,965 reviews