Express Fit Autocentres Reviews

4.86 Rating 1,214 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend Express Fit Autocentres
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
On-time Delivery
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.93 out of 5
Read Express Fit Autocentres Reviews
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Needed a small job doing....so because it wasn't the larger job that it was checked for the part wasn't ordered ....wont be using them again if that's the case!
(ExpressFit Ludlow) - Posted 3 weeks ago
Had work done in ludlow Express fit work gets done but unfortunately last few times I've been there the cars had to go back as not been completed properly or the car has come away from there with something else broken on it maybe it's just bad luck but you don't expect your car to go to the garage to be fixed and come out more broken than when it went it it's very strange one
(ExpressFit Ludlow) - Posted 6 months ago
Thank you for your review, and taking the time to give us feedback.

We have looked into this further for you.

We can see your vehicle came in for a repair, then a week later came back for further work which wasn’t related to your first repair. However, Pete has informed me that he reduced the cost which, he stated that you were happy with it, as you agreed the work wasn’t related. The cost was reduced as we do not like customers coming back for more repairs but from time to time cars components do fail.

We will only recommend any work that we feel is required. At Express Fit we only replace broken/faulty parts and are happy to show you the parts after the work has been done. We will always report any faults found to the customer first, before carrying out any work.

We apologise that you feel this way but can assure you we only ever recommend work that is necessary. We hope you use us in the future.

If you do have any other concerns, then please give Pete a call at the branch on 01584 876 558 and he will welcome your call.
Posted 6 months ago
Good job, well donevand efficient.
(ExpressFit Ludlow) - Posted 6 months ago
Disappointed to find I could have saved myself £15 by ordering the same tyre online. The service was very good though and staff friendly and courteous. I will use again but will book online in future.
(Expressfit Bridgnorth) - Posted 7 months ago
One of the cheapest Service and MOT prices around. Although it was apparent they find work to make the low price worthwhile.
(ExpressFit Ludlow) - Posted 11 months ago
Thank you for your feedback and raising this with us. As you can see from our 900+ positive reviews and over six years of trading that this issue has never been raised with us before. You did use the words “Apparently”, without a reason, it is a little bit confusing due to you not experiencing it yourself or I’m sure you would have raised this with us.

Please see our response below to hopefully allow you to understand how we operate, and either supply us with more evidence in the comments or please do remove the review.

When a Service is required the vehicle has covered manufactures recommended mileage or hasn’t been inspected for over 12 months. Over that time components on your vehicle will wear, and may require fixing or being replaced.

When we conduct a service to a vehicle we inspect it fully to identify any faults with the vehicle, and replace service parts. We also identify any potential problems that will need doing within a short time span and also report potential components that could wear out before you next service and report them back. This is what you pay for, a Full Condition Report. There are no obligations to get any of the work done. Work recommended that won’t last until your next service are advisory’s that we have inspected . Thank you for taking the time to write us some feedback, we hope this clears up any misrepresentation of our business and we do hope to see you in the future.
Posted 11 months ago
Service advisories very poor service.
(ExpressFit Henley) - Posted 1 year ago
They fitted me in quickly. And provided me with a courtesy car. But when my car was serviced they didn't spot the faulty exhaust and my car usually is washed, unfortunately this didn't happen...
(Expressfit Bridgnorth) - Posted 1 year ago
Dirty marks from fitters left on bonnet and inside car. which I had to clean .
(Expressfit Bridgnorth) - Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why our service did not meet your expectations. Express Fit Bridgnorth currently boosts a high customer satisfaction rate and offer competitive prices to all our customers it is our passion to retain you as a satisfied customer and hope to serve you again in the future. Please accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience that has been caused to you. Again, I highly appreciate your feedback, as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. Customer Services B.Weston
Posted 2 years ago
Now have a car with 4 functioning wheels
(ExpressFit Henley) - Posted 2 years ago
It did not. I asked for the front tracking to be done and it was not.
Told to come back in three weeks.
(ExpressFit Henley) - Posted 2 years ago
Actual fitting of tyres was good following purchase via Asda Tyres but as per usual you can’t just have tyres fitted without a hard sell of another product. They tried to sell me £90’s worth of wheel alignment which I didn’t appreciate
(ExpressFit Henley) - Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why our service did not meet your expectations. Express fit Henley currently boosts a high customer satisfaction rate and offer competitive prices to all our customers. As all motorists are aware, purchasing a quality set of tyres can be of a relatively high cost so it is beneficial to take every measure possible to ensure that a set of tyres last as long as possible. This means it is important that when you purchase a new set of tyres and fit them to your vehicle, you are asked if you like a free alignment inspection to ensure that excessive tyre wear does not occur. This will ensure that your tyres will not wear out quickly and will save you having to change your tyres regularly. Our wheel Alignment prices start from £28.95 but some of the newer prestige vehicles require a 3D alignment which cost a lot more and is a lot more in-depth and more specialised job. All the local dealers use Henley to correctly align their vehicle. It is our passion to retain you as a satisfied customer and hope to serve you again in the future. Please accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience that has been caused to you. Again, I highly appreciate your feedback, as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. Customer Services R. Rowley.
Posted 2 years ago
It took over an hour to change 2 tyres and fix a puncture which they then in the end couldn't fix and had to replace all 3 tyres. Very friendly staff at the front of house though.
(ExpressFit Henley) - Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why our service did not meet your expectations. 

Express fit Autocentres currently boosts a high customer satisfaction rate and offer competitive prices to all our customers.


it is our passion to retain you as a satisfied customer and hope to serve you again in the future. 

Please accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience that has been caused to you. Again, I highly appreciate your feedback, as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.
Posted 2 years ago
Miserable mechanic, but good friendly chap on front desk.
(HiQ Henley) - Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why our service did not meet your expectations. Express fit Henley currently boosts a high customer satisfaction rate and offer competitive prices to all our customers it is our passion to retain you as a satisfied customer and hope to serve you again in the future. Please accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience that has been caused to you. Again, I highly appreciate your feedback, as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. Customer Services R. Rowley.
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why our service did not meet your expectations. Express fit Autocentres currently boosts a high customer satisfaction rate and offer competitive prices to all our customers. it is our passion to retain you as a satisfied customer and hope to serve you again in the future. Please accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience that has been caused to you. Again, I highly appreciate your feedback, as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. Customer Services R. Rowley.
Posted 2 years ago
Express Fit Autocentres is rated 4.86 based on 1,214 reviews