Experience the Himalayas Reviews

4.95 Rating 131 Reviews
100% of reviewers recommend Experience the Himalayas

About Experience the Himalayas: Experience the Himalayas specialises in group and private trekking holidays in Morocco and the Nepalese Himalayas.

Visit Website

Phone:
+44 (0) 203 291 4034

Email:
info@experiencethehimalayas.com

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Experience the Himalayas made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"From what we could see out on the trails, we were lucky enough to have one of the best guides, at the same price as those who had shopped around locally in Kathmandu. One of our group had used the company twice before - 100% quality every time"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Visit Website
"Experience the Himalayas and team in Kathmandu helped make sure our whole group had a great time. From arrival at Kathmandu airport and around the Manasulu circuit the team including Tanka and Bijay were friendly, professional and knowledgeable at all times."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Superb service, Bijay, Tanka and the team were completely professional throughout and made for a very enjoyable trip around Manalsu. Highly Recommended!"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"This was our first time trekking in Nepal so we chose to do a small trek, the Ghandruk loop (4 days), and thought it'd be best to go with a guide. Our guide, Tanka, was friendly, light on his feet and very knowledgeable! We had many interesting conversations and he was of great help and saved us lots of time in knowing all to best paths to take and the best places to stay and to eat. I'm still a beginner when it comes to hiking so this was a bit challenging -but not too much-, and definitely worth it! The Ghandruk trail was absolutely beautiful, with fantastic views and scenery all the way along."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"Had a first class time on this amazing trek. Exprienced,friendly guide & excellent porter. Great company + fantastic scenery & food made this an unforgettable experience. Highly recommend."
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"Thanks again Tanka, and our porter Sunil. You couldn't have done more for us, always going the extra mile. Smiles all round!"
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"Thorough paperwork helped us prepare. An excellent guide in Kumar, who really couldn't do anymore to keep us safe and well looked after in every aspect. The 3 acclimitisation days will have no doubt made a difference for our success. It would be worth updating the current paperwork to up the recommended daily money allowance. You might also look at whether the trip down could be done over 4 days. Well done team, highly recommended."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Experience the Himalayas was an exceptional trip, from start to finish. They are truly caring and supportive. The company went over and above expectations to tailor a trek the perfectly suited my request and needs. They then were meticulous with the advice and help given regarding kit and physical safety. The result was a three week trek, that despite being the hardest physical endurance of my life (with the cumulation of altitude, cold and physical fitness) it was also hands down also the best of my life!! I am soo grateful for you knowledge, kindness and friendship. I would recommend this company to everyone and anyone. You are dealing with some serious risks at these altitudes (I spent about ten days trekking over 5000m) and temperatures (I trekked over Christmas and New Year - the coldest but arguably also the clearest, quietest and best time to trek the Everest Region). It is worth setting-up in advance and choosing a company you can trust and rely on. Huge thanks to the whole team including the Manager Bijay, my guide Kumar and Co-owner David! I would also recommend doing Everest Base Camp and the 3 high passes in December - to anyone thinking about choosing a 16-20 day trek of a lifetime!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Our trek with Experience the Himialayas was superb and j would highly recommend the company to anyone who is interested in successfully reaching Everest Base Base whilst being educated along the way. We were looked after impeccable by the team and our Head Guide Tanka was amazing. The three acclimatisation days I believe helped us massively to all reach Base Camp successfully without any altitude issues. The accommodation is basic, but if you read any information for any trek, this is the deal and to be expected, but I would say that most of the tea houses were better then I had hoped. With experience the Himalayas I felt 100% safe, comfortable and looked after at all times. Alongside what is a once in a lifetime experience, the whole trek was amazing. 5stars. Thank you."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Experience the Himalayas was recommended to me, and after a lot of research of varying priced trips I decided to go ahead and book. My biggest priority was peace of mind and safeguarding at high altitude and with the 3 days acclimatisation I felt confident and booked. This was absolutely achieved and I have an incredible experience and I always felt safe and comfortable. Tanka was an incredible head guide, he was informative, considerate, practical and at all times you felt like you were in safe hands. The night before he gave us a full run down of what to expect the next day, for me this was really helpful for mentally with overcoming any challenges we faced. He enquired about our health at all times, and when anyone was ill he dismissed any fears about Hace or Hape. The visit to the clinic for a high altitude lecture, just confirmed everything Tanka had already taught us. He went above and beyond with the cultural, historical, geographical knowledge that he shared with us. Kharma was also an absolute credit to the team, he took great care of us at all times and would have done anything for us, we felt truly spoilt. The accommodation was basic, but we had been given a clear understanding of what to expect and so there were no horrible surprises. Packding was probably the only accommodation that was less than expected and the rest were actually better than expected (except the toilets of course). I would also mention that I feel Hotel Vaishali was not worth the money we paid, very overpriced and disappointing not to be staying at Nirvana Garden Hotel. I loved everything about the trek and my 2 weeks, it was exceptional and I have no complaints at all, wow, what an experience I will never forget. My primary critism is about the trip notes. I was already travelling when I booked this trip, and so the notes were my bible and also important in decision making for booking and budgeting. To find out that the budget of £18 per day had increased to £25 per day Is a big difference to me on a travel budget, and also being told to buy water after buying water treatment kits (and also not wanting to use plastic as discussed in the notes) was very frustrating. I think the notes would be clearer to if they were not for duel treks, keeping it simple. With the notes being old, we were uncertain on the tipping guidelines in it, so had to make an educated guess. I really hope that for this professional trek all the guides and porters are paid fairly and so our tip was a bonus not a salary plug as they all do an amazing job for us. The other annoyance I would like to bring up is the price difference. It appears from general comments that I paid more than most people and we all had exactly the same experience. I understand there is a tier system but to me it is unfair. I recommended this trek to Jo and Ben who then joined me and booked but paid less than me for being 2ppl and no concession for me for bringing them onboard. Billy as a solo even paid less than me (and had a solo room). I don't feel that this is fair when we all share exactly the same experience. Moans over and aside, I would like to thank you for a once in a lifetime experience. The trek was well organised, well managed and amazing and I felt 100% looked after and safe throughout. Thank you to the whole team, I will recommend you to others and hope to join you for another adventure (Kilimanjaro??). Hannah"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"The whole experience with Experience the Himalayas was excellent from start to finish, our guide Tanka was amazing, very knowledgeable on the area we covered, his assistant guide Kharma also excellent as were our porters."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"We have had a brilliant time doing the Everest Base Camp trip!! Our guides Tanka and Kharma were fantastic - they were very kind, knowledgeable and kept us safe at all times. The three acclimatization days were important and we are glad that we choose this company over some of the others that just offer two. all of us made it to Base Camp which was great. The teahouses were basic but comfortable, and the food was tasty. Really impressed with the trip and would recommend Experience the Himalayas to others."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"This was our second visit to Nepal within two years and like the first we have been wonderfully looked after by Bijay and his team. Our guide Raj and our porter Kamil have given us 5 star care and we can highly recommend them both. We hope to return to Nepal in the future and will use Experience the Himalayas again. Aly and Clare"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Had an brilliant trek with Experience the Himalayas and Tanka was an amazing guide with our best interests his priority . He helped us with everything and shared all his knowledge of the mountains. I highly recommend taking the trip of a lifetime with Experience the Himalayas, the 3 acclimation days really helped us through our trek and enjoy the experience."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Had an brilliant trek with Experience the Himalayas and Tanka was an amazing guide with our best interests his priority . He helped us with everything and shared all his knowledge of the mountains. I highly recommend taking the trip of a lifetime with Experience the Himalayas, the 3 acclimation days really helped us through our trek and enjoy the experience."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Our group had a great trip with Tanka he was so helpful and always looking out for each of us, making sure we were safe at all times. Tanka always had a smile for us and kept us in great spirits even on the toughest of days! An amazing trip that we will have great memories for the rest of our lives. Thank you to Experience the Himalayas and especially to Tanka"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"That was the best adventure ever! Even I got sick at the beggining of the hike both guides were very helpful so we all could continue our trip. Without their help that could've end up way different! It's difficult to put it in words but Kumar, Tanka and all of the porters are great people to travel with. Tanka have a wide knowledge about everything you see on your way and Kumar is the best cook you can probably find in Nepal. I hope I'll have another chance to travel with them! Thank you all for an amazing experience! :)"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"I loved every moments of the trip. Our guide Tanks was an amazing, fun, very knowledge person. He knows a lot about the mountains and safety. We were all in good hands and safe. I highly recommend this company to everyone who wish to experience the Himalayas. The Tea Houses were very nice and we always felt so welcomed such as family."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Really glad that we chose to go with experience the Himalayas. Everything was a very well organised from the start to the finish. They have an extra acclimatization day worked into their itinerary which many other companies don't, something which I benefitted from greatly as I got sick and was able to recover during one of the rest days. Our guide Tanka was absolutely amazing. From what we observed he seem to do a lot more for us than others guides that we saw. His knowledge was second to none and he appeared to know all the best places to stay making sure we got the best rooms where possible. Overall the trip of a lifetime. We're already looking at which trip to do next and would book through experience the Himalayas again in a heartbeat."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"I loved every moments of the trip. Our guide Tanks was an amazing, fun, very knowledge person. He knows a lot about the mountains and safety. We were all in good hands and safe. I highly recommend this company to everyone who wish to experience the Himalayas. The Tea Houses were very nice and we always felt so welcomed such as family."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Experience the Himalayas is rated 4.95 based on 131 reviews