Essential Adventure Reviews

4.78 Rating 412 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend Essential Adventure
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read Essential Adventure Reviews

About Essential Adventure:

We arrange adventure activities and activity holidays. Our range of services is vast, from a single activity event, up to a week long all inclusive activity holiday. Whether you're looking to book an activity day for your mate's birthday, a stag or hen weekend, or a week long school residential, we've got what's required to provide a seamless booking and an unforgettable experience at the end of it!

Visit Website

Phone:

01752418042

Email:

info@essential-adventure.co.uk

Location:

35 Glanvilles Mill

Write Your review

Tell us how Essential Adventure made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Essential Adventure 5 star review on 1st September 2020
Tim Lambert
Essential Adventure 5 star review on 1st September 2020
Tim Lambert
Essential Adventure 5 star review on 1st September 2020
Tim Lambert
Essential Adventure 5 star review on 1st September 2020
Tim Lambert
Essential Adventure 5 star review on 1st September 2020
Tim Lambert
Essential Adventure 5 star review on 1st September 2020
Tim Lambert
Essential Adventure 5 star review on 1st September 2020
Tim Lambert
61
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Managed to arrange a superb caving trip in Devon at very short notice. Trip was well organised (especially in light of short notice) and very good fun with all equipment provided. Would highly recommend Essential Adventure to anyone looking to book an adventure activity!
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, We're happy to help, especially at short notice when someone is in dire need of a replacement activity due to adverse weather etc. Many thanks for using us and we'll be happy to help again with any other activities/events (hopefully you'll have a bit more notice though). Many thanks, Essential Adventure
Posted 1 year ago
We had a great time, everyone we dealt with was very friendly and happy to help us out :)
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, Glad that we could help you to organise something fun for you all and thank you for the kind review. Many thanks, Essential Adventure
Posted 1 year ago
Regular contact, polite and friendly, were flexible regarding receiving payment, plenty of things to do, efficient in updating details etc. Very good from start to finish
Essential Adventure 5 star review on 3rd September 2019
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Ash, It looks like you had a great time and we're glad that we could contribute towards this by making it a smooth experience. Many thanks, Essential Adventure
Posted 1 year ago
Good service, good communication
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Dani, Thank you for leaving us a review and we're very happy to hear that you were happy with our services. Many thanks, Essential Adventure
Posted 1 year ago
The event (life drawing for a stag do) was well organised and my special request (to draw the stag as a joke) was catered for. Essential Adventure themselves however are really quite needy when it comes to feedback, and i was called on multiple occasions as a follow-up before i had decided to go ahead with the booking.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Andy, thank you for your feedback. Maintaining regular dialogue with potential customers is very important in the early stages of an enquiry to build that relationship and trust. Looking into the specific notes from your enquiry suggests that Matt only contacted you twice: once on 28th May and another on 4th June. At this point we closed your enquiry suspecting you weren't interested. We're sorry if you felt this was too much, but you didn't tell us at the time so we were unable to amend your contact frequency. I then see that you re-contacted us on 10th June to book your event. As we were not told at any point that you weren't happy with our pre-booking service, we continued with our usual procedures, which frequently feature in our positive customer reviews. We also like to have feedback from our customers following any events and the notes show that we only contacted you twice for your feedback. On the second contact attempt on 8th August you spoke to me on the phone and said that everything went very well. I hope that this clears up the reasons for our level of contact with you and hope that you will use our services again in the future. Many thanks, James
Posted 1 year ago
Very professional and helpful, was very easy to use and made it less stressful to book, the portal for payments was a great tool to help pay for the event.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Alex, We're glad that we helped to take the stress out of booking a stag do, it's good to hear that we're doing what we aim to do. Thanks for you review and glad that our services were helpful for you. Many thanks, Essential Adventure
Posted 1 year ago
Took the stress out of booking a stag do. Regular updates made and when there was a problem it was sorted
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, Thanks for you feedback. We're glad that the last-minute changes were enjoyed and that you found the whole process relatively stress-free. Many thanks, Essential Adventure
Posted 1 year ago
It was absolutely brilliant, thank you to you, your team and the murder mystery team for all they did. Everything went smoothly, all the rooms were ready, spa was ace, all our treatments and food choices were correct, honestly i can not thank you enough! Everyone had an amazing weekend including the bride and we laughed so much during the murder mystery, would defo recommend this to anyone. Thank you all so much, Em
Essential Adventure 5 star review on 19th July 2019
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Emma, It definitely looks like you had a load of fun with the Murder Mystery and so happy to hear that everything else went well too. Many thanks for you great review, Essential Adventure
Posted 1 year ago
We had a great weekend away on the canoeing and bushcraft weekend as part of a Stag Do. Both Essential Adventure and our instructor they linked us with (Andy) were excellent. They made amendments to allow for our groups needs and made every effort to keep us informed of changes due to the weather.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Chris, The Canoe and Bushcraft trips that we run with Andy are always great and we're glad to hear that your experience was no different. Thanks for your valued review and we'll be happy to help if you need our services again in the future, Essential Adventure
Posted 1 year ago
They did their best to rectify a situation. They were very friendly and chatty on the phone.
Posted 2 years ago
Hi and thanks for your feedback. We hope that you will keep us in mind for any future events. Many thanks, Essential Adventure
Posted 1 year ago
I was struggling to organise a special birthday party for my wife when I found Essential Adventure, from the first contact to the actual event their professional handling ensured the event without a hitch. The hotel was brilliant and our murder mystery dinner had us entertained the whole evening. Wouldn’t hesitate to use them again.
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Nigel, Thank you for your kind feedback. We always like to hear that customers have enjoyed the whole process and we will be happy to help you again in the future should you look at booking another event. Many thanks, Essential Adventure
Posted 1 year ago
60th birthday weekend - found us a great venue, listened to what I wanted and took all the pressure away. The venue was better than expected suited all ages, sorted out a caterer nothing was too much trouble. Will keep them in my list for all family and work get togethers
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Julie, We're so happy that we could help to organise a great birthday weekend for you. Please don't hesitate to get in touch when you're looking to book the next event! Many thanks, Essential Adventure
Posted 1 year ago
Very welcoming staff, food was delicious and we all had fun.
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Aga, It's great to have your feedback, so thank you and we hope that we can help in a similar fashion for any future work events. Many thanks, Essential Adventure
Posted 1 year ago
Great communication. Really good website interface for organising group payments etc. Just made co-ordinating activities for a group of blokes much easier.
Posted 2 years ago
We had a PARTY
Posted 2 years ago
Group of 18 for a stag do in the new forest. Essential have a good deposit system for splitting cost but that's about it. There is no tailoring or any thought given to the 'package'. They just act as a middle man and book events and accommodation (something you can do yourself). They don't bother to tie up the event timings nor put any thought into travel (something you might assume was part of the service). In our case, we asked for bushcraft to be arranged for us on the saturday. Instead of hosting it at or near the bunkhouse venue where we were staying at (the venue it turns out hosts bushcraft) they booked a location 30 mins away. This is typical of their service. No thought. They arranged paintball but told us the wrong times. I found out by speaking directly to the paintball company. I found talking directly to venue or events (and cutting out essential) more efficient. Ie i would be told by essential we couldn't change the time of event, so would ring the event supplier and find this wasn't the case. Two stars because the deposit system worked well. That said there are apps which do that now. When i gave feedback there was no apology and they seemed miffed that we had expected a tailored, considered service. Don't bother, just book a venue and event yourself.
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks for your feedback Andrew. My name is Matt and I am co-owner and director of the company. I'm sorry to hear we didn't exceed meet your expectations on this occasion. I have worked extremely hard to build the business over the past few years. Our success is partly down to our ability to provide a valuable service to our customers, underpinned by excellent customer service. I can only apologise if we failed to display these qualities in full for you. I have provided a quick reply for you below in the mean time. If there's anything I can do further please don't hesitate to give me a call and i'll be happy to discuss further. ---- Q: Essential have a good deposit system for splitting cost but that's about it. There is no tailoring or any thought given to the 'package'. They just act as a middle man and book events and accommodation (something you can do yourself). They don't bother to tie up the event timings nor put any thought into travel (something you might assume was part of the service). A: Regarding the deposit system i'm glad you found this useful, it's a cracking feature and it's great to hear positive comments. In addition, as a travel agent style company we are kind of a middle man by definition. We put a lot of time, effort and thought into our customers' events as reflected in some of our other reviews; although do I apologise if you didn't feel this was the case. As a growing company we try very hard to offer the same level of service and 'personal touch' as I did when I set the company up years ago. ---- Q: In our case, we asked for bushcraft to be arranged for us on the saturday. Instead of hosting it at or near the bunkhouse venue where we were staying at (the venue it turns out hosts bushcraft) they booked a location 30 mins away. This is typical of their service. No thought. A: I'm sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with the travel for the bushcraft. We tend to work with our preferred suppliers because we have developed relationships with them and we have confidence in the services they provide, although it's not always the nearest option. It's a difficult balance although we take the view that experience is king. ---- Q: They arranged paintball but told us the wrong times. I found out by speaking directly to the paintball company. A: We do acknowledge there was a discrepancy with your paintball timings on the itinerary and we thank you for raising this. I checked back and the supplier had initially accepted our request for the arrival time of 09:30 via email; although they later advised you it was 09:00. I can only apologise. ---- Q: I found talking directly to venue or events (and cutting out essential) more efficient. Ie i would be told by essential we couldn't change the time of event, so would ring the event supplier and find this wasn't the case. A: We actively promote direct contact between the supplier and customer in some cases because it's nice to verbally "meet" your instructor before you arrive; especially with a bushcraft trip because it's delivered on a more personal level. It does also help make things a bit more efficient we agree; and that's why we put you in direct contact with Nige in this case. ---- Q: When i gave feedback there was no apology and they seemed miffed that we had expected a tailored, considered service. Don't bother, just book a venue and event yourself. A: Please accept this as a personal apology. It disappoints me hugely when we have feedback like this, where we haven't been able to meet or exceed expectations. I note that one of your comments by phone to James was that we hadn't provided transport to the events. The original quote which we sent and you accepted did not include travel. We don't include transport by default because it's often an unnecessary extra cost. It's an extra service we provide on request and we don't like to push extra options towards customers.
Posted 2 years ago
Matt planned our day exceptionally. He listened in our brief and pulled it off exceptionally. He was able to make things happen that wouldn't usually have been possible. The organisation and communication was brilliant throughout.
Posted 2 years ago
Joined us up with a fantastic murder mystery provider and an excellent weekend.
Posted 2 years ago
We had an amazing day, the team were amazing and Danielle and James sorted out everything for us. It was so easy setting up payments and letting them know of our 100 allergies between us and everything was perfectly catered for. Would definitely use again
Posted 2 years ago
Essential Adventure were fantastic from the start. Really helpful and kept in contact at all times and answered all questions and fears. I did worry as i had never used them before but i would not hesitate to use them again. From the Hotel that we were set up in and the friendly helpful staff to the actual murder mystery event, it was all fabulous. I had the best fun on my birthday and this event made my night. The actors we fun, friendly and set the scene well. All in all a 5 star service from essential adventure and their team!! Thank you all and top marks to our rep James Kelli Aspland
Essential Adventure 5 star review on 15th November 2018
Posted 2 years ago
Essential Adventure is rated 4.78 based on 412 reviews