English Holiday Cruises Ltd. Reviews

4.92 Rating 131 Reviews
100% of reviewers recommend English Holiday Cruises Ltd.
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email
communication channels
"An excellent holiday made enjoyable by the efficiency and friendliness of the staff. An important part of any holiday is the food provided and in this case it was perfect, with good choices all superbly cooked and served hot. Our guides to the various towns gave us just the right information for us to absorb making the visits interesting. I am passing on your details to my many friends in this retirement village in Derbyshire as they quite fancy a trip next year."
(River Heritage) - Posted 11 months ago
"My husband, Philip, and I have just come back from the Severn Wonders Cruise and can honestly say that we thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The itinerary, the food and most especially the crew, were all excellent. The cabins were, as described, cosy but we've spent years camping and nothing is smaller than a two-man tent. My only disappointment was that we didn't once wave our flags and sing Land of Hope and Glory!!"
(Severn Wonders) - Posted 11 months ago
"It was a very relaxing and happy cruise. All our needs attended to with smiles. Thoroughly recommended. Thank you for a lovely holiday."
(Severn Wonders) - Posted 11 months ago
"An excellent cruise with very good organisation and very detailed instructions on how to find the boat etc. The icing on this cake was the crew of Captain Steve, Jen, Sharon, Ross and the super chef, Miles. Everything was explained, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel more like guests than paying clients. The boat was clean and the compact cabins better than we expected with the showers working better than any ocean cruise we have been on. We have a simple test after every holiday. Would we recommend it to family and friends ? In the case of the Edward Elgar cruise we experienced the answer is YES ! If I win the lottery and buy a super yacht I would headhunt the great crew who looked after us so well under the direction of a very able and considerate captain !"
(Severn Wonders) - Posted 11 months ago
"It was all the brochure said and more"
(Severn Wonders) - Posted 11 months ago
"Hi everything was as promised, superb food and crew. all went smoothly thanks to Skipper Steve"
(Severn Wonders) - Posted 11 months ago
"A pleasant and relaxing trip to a part of the world we have not visited before. Cabins are small but storage space is adequate. Just have to be organised. Beds very comfortable. En-suite compact but functional. Upstairs seating areas comfortable and bar area a pleasant retreat from main lounge. Breakfast disappointing. More variety in fruit salad ( blueberries, strawberries?) would have been nice. Also yoghurt. Selection of cereals unappealing as was croissants stuffed with pancetta. Our replacement of eggs poached in water and not sufficiently drained resulted in soggy toast which was unpleasant. Given the limitations of the galley, chef did a good job. Entertainment acceptable. Another quiz would have been good. The crew were very pleasant and Captain Steve is very good humoured and knowledgeable of the River Severn. The pre-cruise stay at The Hatherley was fine for one night."
(Heart Of England) - Posted 11 months ago
"Having been on the Rhine many times, this cruise more than came up to our expectations. This was helped by friendly fellow passengers, good weather and a first class crew with special mention of the chef for both excellent food, and care in regard to our requirements. Although we are local (Birmingham), we thoroughly enjoyed the carefully planned itinerary giving us a different perspective from the water! Once again, our thanks to all concerned. David & Jo"
(Heart Of England) - Posted 11 months ago
"The crew were lovely and always willing to help. Where the food on the menu was not what we could eat, Miles did make us something different. Having said that, the food towards the end of the week was not as nice as at the beginning. I would have liked a choice of meal, put up the night before so I could choose what I was going to eat. The boat and crew were lovely. More quizzes and games would have been nice.:o)"
(Heart Of England) - Posted 11 months ago
"We had a very pleasant time seeing new parts of the country whilst cruising along at a leisurely pace. The towns we stopped at along the way were also very interesting and we also enjoyed the steam train ride. We were impressed with the teamwork of the crew who all worked hard to ensure we had a good time. At times we wished there was a bit more to do and see, but luckily the weather was good and we were able to catch up on our reading on the sun deck. The food was good and we were impressed by the quality and presentation. Well done, to the crew and skipper!"
(Heart Of England) - Posted 11 months ago
"Excellent from booking up to the end of the cruise."
(Severn Wonders) - Posted 11 months ago
"THE SERVICE WE RECEIVED WAS FIRST CLASS FROM ARRIVAL TO DEPARTURE AND THE FRIENDLINESS BY EVERYONE INVOLVED WITH THE BOAT MADE IT A HOLIDAY WE SHALL REMEMBER FOR MONTHS TO COME. OUR CABIN WAS KEPT SPOTLESS BY THE STAFF. THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT AND STEVE THE CAPTAIN, KEPT US ENTERTAINED WITH HIS WIT AND INFORMATION EN ROUTE."
(Severn Wonders) - Posted 11 months ago
"We thoroughly enjoyed our 7 day cruise on the Edward Elgar. Absolutely nothing to take issue with, the crew were a great team and nothing was too much trouble for them. Happy staff makes for happy passengers. All trips etc were well organised and enjoyable. My wife appreciated the vegetarian meals and the trouble taken by Miles to check if she was happy with what he suggested. And not an omelette in sight!"
(Severn Wonders) - Posted 11 months ago
"The Edward Elgar and its crew are a credit to the company. A wonderfully relaxing and entertaining experience thanks to all of the crew members who worked tirelessly to cater for all of their guests requirements. Miles, the chef, is a culinary superstar and delivered superb cuisine on every occasion. Steve, the captain, and his crew, Mark, Jen and Sharon pulled out all of the stops to run a very tidy and proffesional boat. Congratulations and thanks to all. You gave us a holiday experience that will be unforgettable for all of the right reasons."
(Heart Of England) - Posted 11 months ago
"We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. One idea. It is always difficult to remember a lot of new names when meeting a new group of people. Would name tabs help. Probably Christian name only needed and if some people do not wish to use them then its up to them. We use them at U3A meetings and they are very useful, especially for new members. Hope to join you again next year, Clive and Katrina Adcock"
(Heart Of England) - Posted 1 year ago
"We waited till two to board the boat, You needed until then to prepare. Luggage unloaded and taken by Mark, What have I forgotten, will I despair? Greetings are given, our cabin shown, Sharon gave all we needed to know. Beckoned by gorgeous scones, cream and jam, Our strong wills were tested, what a show! Sailing by now, Steve the boat controlled, Tewkesbury had offered a berth that night. More food eaten with names being learnt, Passing through locks, watch out, some so tight. New morning breaks with more food to eat, As Miles is such a whizz of a cook. Summoned by Jen, so upward we go, Quoits on the top deck, our aim we took. Away from those screens that rule our lives, Jigsaws were started, the cards came out. Failure to answer the quiz questions, Show the lack of our knowledge, no doubt! Tinkling ivories plus blowing four pipes, A trombone, saxophone and the flute. Lively melodies and lilting tunes, By next year will Diana be playing the lute? By coach to a train we onward travel, Speeds may vary but planning well done. Watching swans from the top of the boat, We were very lucky, lots of sun. Our guides expounded, history came alive, Along ancient cloisters to a sacred tomb. Arches and chapels are viewed by all, Church clocks striking their bells do so boom. True calmness was shown by Captain Steve, Leading his team through any mishap. All played their part, so tasks ran smoothly, Boats overtaking must judge the gap. From chicken and pork, salmon and lamb, Beef with such sauce do gather with greens. Crumble and fool, banana roulade, Our waists have enlarged, or so it seems. Joined for a while, meet folks from afar, Laughing together, sharing such fun. Rich memories stored, hope others will come, Nothing too small, all requests well done. From Bewdley to the birds at Slimbridge, Our Edward Elgar has cruised her way. Left in wonder by a barges’ graveyard, So here thanks from us do come your way."
(Severn Wonders) - Posted 1 year ago
"6th cruise, cannot believe that it just gets better. Laughing from boarding till.......well, still are at the crew, passengers, memories and activities that the 6 days contained. Nothing is too much trouble on board as the crew involve themselves in your holiday. Yes, we are booking for next year (you have been warned !) We cruise for the chance to get away from day to day stress that modern life delivers, these people give you that opportunity, along with the excursions should you so wish. Thank you for this year and see you next year Steve & co."
(Severn Wonders) - Posted 1 year ago
"Every aspect was excellent. The food, the cabins, the helpfulness of the crew and the shore excursions. I didn't quite know what to expect of a cruise holiday in England but found my Historic Canal Cruise in April absolutely delightful. Cruisers were entertained just as they would be on a big ship with quizzes, a concert and even deck quoits. (Don't ask who threw a quoit overboard!) Of note was the fact that the holiday started at Gloucester Docks, a place I had never visited, full of super restaurants, and having an enchantment all of its own. The pace of travel was slow and peaceful. For anyone feeling stressed out, I recommend a gentle water-borne meander down these canals - you can feel yourself unwind from the word go, or should that be "cast off." Given the added bonus of free wine with meals, free excursions and a cute little bar at the front where you can have an aperitif whilst the inestimably beautiful English countryside slides peacefully by, I don't see how English Cruise Holidays can be topped. It was a case of all boxes ticked."
(Historic Canal) - Posted 1 year ago
"very relaxing holiday excellent food excellent friendly helpful staff very comfortable boat interesting itinary great fun best holiday for a long time good company"
(Heart Of England) - Posted 1 year ago
"This was 2nd cruise, both were excellent. Staff were very efficient and attentive, could not fault them."
(Heart Of England) - Posted 1 year ago
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. is rated 4.92 based on 131 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support