English Holiday Cruises Ltd. Reviews

4.93 Rating 342 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend English Holiday Cruises Ltd.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 25th June 2021
Valerie Powell
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 25th June 2021
Valerie Powell
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 6th June 2021
Anonymous
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
39
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The Heart of England cruise that we recently took was a really great experience. It far exceeded expectations in this troubled time. The Covid-19 protocol changes made were well done and handled expertly. The crew were well trained and most attentive to every need. It was a shame that the family bubbles had to be in place which restricted a more intimate experience but we manged to have interesting and lively conversations with our fellow travellers at our segregated dinner tables without face masks. Up on the deck it was not a requirement to wear face masks and we felt comfortable with the social spacing arrangements and the beautiful weather whilst watching the scenery go by. It was punctuated by a daily game of deck quoits managed by our jack of all trades crewman Louis. The food was expertly prepared by our Chef Miles and was five star quality with great presentation and made on board with locally sourced ingredients. We often saw Miles walking off along the riverbank at times foraging for some of the days ingredients. It was obvious that his previous culinary experience was at some of the finest restaurants. It was enhanced by the copious amounts of libation on offer. Dan and Jack were our other crewmen acting mainly as stewards and quiz masters for the early evening entertainment complimented on a couple of nights by excellent live entertainers. The cabins were comfortable but a little small for two people trying to wash and dress in the mornings. The ventilation and cooling in the cabins was good with sanitiser provided inside and outside the cabins as required. Most mornings were spent sailing serenely along the river Severn and afternoons usually involved a tour to a local town or attraction after mooring up for the night. These tours were very well managed with social distancing employed at all times and informative local guides. As we sailed along we were regaled by commentary from our erstwhile captain Steve who was a submariner in a previous life. His knowledge of the local landmarks accompanied by his wit and humour was a breath of fresh air and at the end of the trip we left wanting more. Overall the experience was unforgettable made all the better by Captain Steve's leadership skills and the professionalism of his enthusiastic crew. We have no hesitation in awarding the Edward Elgar and crew a five star rating and highly recommend the company and experience
Posted 10 months ago
We were surprised and delighted that all your hard work enabled the holiday to go ahead. Steve and all the crew kept us safe, gave us delightful meals and plenty of laughs! The Covid preperations were superb. Thank you for a great week
Posted 10 months ago
Thank you for your review, Bernice! It's important to keep laughing, and well-fed! We're glad you think our Covid precautions are suitable. See you again, we hope!
Posted 10 months ago
A cruise on the Edward Elgar is a wonderful way to spend five days of your life during a pandemic. Skipper Steve and his team of lovely lads made the whole thing a very special experience. Cruising on this hotel boat is the ideal way of seeing this stretch of the River Severn and the excursions were all well planned and interesting. We were treated to a variety of superbly cooked meals - including a different breakfast every day - all served in our Covid safe 'pods' in the restaurant. Masks were worn in all public areas, temperatures taken daily and only we entered our cabins. Overall the anti-virus measures taken made us feel as safe on board this boat as we do in our own home. This is not so much a review as a 'thank you' letter to all concerned in giving us such an enjoyable few days during this worrying time.
Posted 10 months ago
Rosalind. Thank you for your kind words especially: "Overall the anit-virus measures taken made us feel as safe on board this boat as we do in our own home." Pre Covid, we always used to claim the Elgar is your "Home from home", and we're glad to see you think we can still make that claim!
Posted 10 months ago
An excellent 5 days gliding from town to town, past wonderful scenery inhabited by swans, geese, ducks, herons, kingfishers and many more. Where the water is so still it gives mirror like reflections of all about. Enjoyed great food served by an attentive crew. Would thoroughly recommend it.
Posted 10 months ago
Thank you for the review. The wildlife is certainly a highlight for many of our passengers. We hope to see you again!
Posted 10 months ago
We have been on a few European Cruises and were keen to try an English one. We booked our trip in October 2019 and decided on the Severn Wonders Cruise with the Admiral option. We likes the idea of an overnight stay at a Gloucester hotel and the lunch prior to boarding the Edward Elgar. With the arrival of COVID-19 we wondered whether the cruise would take place- therefore we were delighted to receive confirmation that it would be going ahead. The new arrangements were clearly explained to us. We were happy and impressed with the various precautions they had put in place to ensure our safety and enjoyment of the cruise. The crew were extremely helpful and the chef did amazing job providing great meals throughout the week. We found the cruise very restful and at the end we felt we had been away longer than a week. We would certainly recommend this cruise. Thanks to the crew Capt. Steve, Louis, Miles, Dan and Jack.
Posted 10 months ago
David, thank you for your review, and we are glad to have been able to go ahead with the cruise! Feeling rested whilst all this is going on isn't easy, so we take that as a big compliment. Thank you!
Posted 10 months ago
A relaxing and safe cruise. The skipper and crew did all they could to make it a success and the food was uncomplicated but very tasty with splendid ingredients, a wonder concocted in the the small galley by the talented chef.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 15th September 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 15th September 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 15th September 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 15th September 2020
Posted 10 months ago
What is he wearing?! This must be the light-hearted Skipper we've been hearing about! Thank you for your review!
Posted 10 months ago
Excellent anti covid procedures. Crew always cheerful with an enthusiasm that is now rare, however two characters were outstanding, the Captain and the Chef. The chef produced some amazing meals from quite a small galley and he was working on his own. The evenings were a delight of light hearted entertainment largely generated by the Captain and an enthusiastic set of passengers.
Posted 10 months ago
Thank you for your review! Amazing meals, light-hearted passengers and crew, and a relaxing river cruise. I'm in, where do I book?!:)
Posted 10 months ago
Everything about our recent cruise was five star! The food was excellent (hold on to your Chef at all costs!!), the service impeccable; the crew could not have been more helpful and pleasant. The anti-Covid measures taken on board were really complete, and yet, somehow, not intrusive at all. We felt safe at all times. All in all, we have just had a wonderful, restful and super holiday. Diet starts today!
Posted 10 months ago
Dear Peter, Thank you for your very kind review. We have worked really hard to make sure we have a Covid secure boat without being too intrusive, and it seems that investment is working to keep passengers like you out on the water enjoying themselves. Thanks again!
Posted 10 months ago
Who needs the Rhine or Danube when we have the Severn!! We had an excellent trip- one wet afternoon and a problem with a lock south of Worcester which the crew dealt with very well were the only minor issues. The adjustments made for Covid were spot-on . My only comment is that I felt that the crew should have more pro-active in insisting that passengers complied with the mask rules. The reduced numbers and the oneway system worked well, As you would expect on a boat of this size the cabins were on the small side but perfectly adequate- the wet room was fine. The crew were always helpful and nothing was too much trouble. One of the abiding memories of the trip was the food both in terms of the variety and quality- well done chef. A great variety of non-alcoholic still drinks would have been appreciated. A great package
Posted 10 months ago
Hi David, Thank you for your comments and we're glad you enjoyed yourself! Every so often, something happens on the river that is beyond our control (like a tree falling and cutting power to the lock which is what happened on your trip) but I'm glad we made suitable alternative arrangements without having to disrupt your holiday too much! If you want excitement, just add water! Also, the crew are happy to take requests to stock additional drinks, a shop isn't usually too far away:)
Posted 10 months ago
In very trying circumstances the Skipper & crew were brilliant.
Posted 10 months ago
Thank you for your comment! There's a lot to remember to be Covid-Secure, but the crew are doing a great job, aren't they!?
Posted 10 months ago
Fist class arrangements for our Severn Wonders cruise leaving on 17th August 2020. And a first class cruise as well.
Posted 10 months ago
Peter, thank you for your kind words! We will try and stay "first-class" and we hope to see you again!
Posted 10 months ago
So comfortable, so friendly, with superb food. Lots of attention from the crew, nothing too much trouble. The Covid 19 precautions were comforting - the screens between tables were protective without preventing interaction with occupants of other tables in the lounge area. We thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment provided by the crew - the deck quoits and the quizzes - not to mention the Bingo!! The weather was challenging but the tours were possible due to the provision of coach transport. Everything perfect!!
Posted 10 months ago
Linda, we've been missing our usual live entertainers but now the government are allowing distanced performances again we will be welcoming them back. Trouble is, we can't get Skip to put down the mic!
Posted 10 months ago
Excellent service the crew were very helpful and friendly well worth taking a holiday with them. Covid secure
Posted 11 months ago
Thank you, Daphne. The crew do take pride in good service and will be glad to read your review.
Posted 10 months ago
As a single traveler, I was very well looked after and my dietary requirements were cheerfully catered for - nothing seemed to be too much. There was a good relationship between the crew members and I particularly liked Skip's sense of humour. The Covid requirements were carried out efficiently - got used to the mask-wearing but thankful to remove it.
Posted 11 months ago
Thank you for your review, Hilary. Perhaps we can organise a ceremonial "no mask" cruise when this is over. We look forward to it! Until then, thank you for being a considerate customer and doing your part to keep everyone safe.
Posted 10 months ago
A really enjoyable cruise, where we experienced a high level of service and cuisine. The crew were efficient , capable and great fun.
Posted 11 months ago
Sandra, despite current circumstances, there is still fun to be had and we're glad you enjoyed your cruise with us! Thank you for your review!
Posted 10 months ago
This was our first experience with this company and we were not disappointed! The crew were just brilliant led by a very experienced Cap and lovely young men. The COVID 19 work done was perfect, we felt safe at all times, and all guests being 60+ I feel all had no worries. We were so well looked after that we hope to come again for one of their other cruises!
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 29th August 2020
Posted 11 months ago
Thanks, Sue! We look forward to seeing you again!
Posted 10 months ago
Enjoyed every minute of the cruise. Staff were great, service and food brilliant. Covid19 distancing and sanitation arrangements on board were excellent. Precautions did not prevent us enjoying ourselves. Loved the excursions, the quizzes and bingo. We all had fun at the improvised quoits. Marvellous holiday. Thank you all.
Posted 11 months ago
Dear Ian, Thank you for your kind review and we're glad it's still plenty of fun despite some extra precautions on board!
Posted 11 months ago
Lovely trip, well up to our expectations. Disappointed the Severn Valley Railway wasn't possible. All the crew were wonderful, the food first-class. Steve was a great skipper and MC. A good group of fellow-passengers.
Posted 11 months ago
Dear Sheila, We'll be going back to the railway when we can, but hopefully, our crew and food made up for this change in itinerary:)
Posted 11 months ago
We had a very enjoyable cruise. The crew could not do enough for us and the food was excellent. We were impressed by the teams reaction to the boat getting stuck in mud on the last morning when return to port. Putting themselves out for people on a tight schedule.
Posted 11 months ago
We've asked Chef Miles to make the cakes slightly smaller next week, and we've also marked that spot on the map so we can avoid any more sticky situations!
Posted 11 months ago
All your measures that you had introduced appeared to work well however you must have noticed that the regulation probably worked against your guest as at meal times one could not do what people usually do at meal times CHAT amongst each other All the staff without exception were warm, open ,chatty and had time for every one.
Posted 11 months ago
Hi Peter and thank you for the five-star review. Social distancing measures do indeed create extra barriers to talking with people outside of your travelling group, especially in dining settings as you refer to. Hopefully, there was some opportunity to chat to others on the exterior decks outside of mealtimes. We look forward to when we can change things back to normal.
Posted 11 months ago
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. is rated 4.93 based on 342 reviews