English Holiday Cruises Ltd. Reviews

4.93 Rating 259 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend English Holiday Cruises Ltd.
A great experience and totally different to anything we have ever done before. The crew could not do enough for us and were extremely efficient.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Great crew. Every aspect of voyage well covered - spotless accommodation, well-designed and versatile menus, prompt service especially with the wine bottle, just the right amount of information and anecdote about the passing sights, 'Premier' class games management including conflict resolution. Nearly forgot!! - MV Edward Elgar was great; very well-designed facilities, stabilisiers worked perfectly in all weathers; a bit slow but we were not in any rush.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
A very relaxing short holiday with good food accompanied with nice wines. The crew were very accommodating and we will certainly consider another trip in the future. The river trip up the Avon could do with being a little longer.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Richard and entire crew made us at home and very comfortable. Not keen on the beds .. too hard! Blessed by good weather the scenery was beautiful and tours extremely informative. Enjoyed the entertainment very much. Miles, the chef, did us proud with a varied, interesting menu. Thank you all.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
An unhurried relaxing cruise with a pleasant crew and bunch of fellow guests. The food was prepared and beautifully presented by Miles and served to us by Sharon and Fran (who also looked after the cabins - which had very comfortable beds and plenty of hot water). Richard and Louis handled all the nautical stuff expertly, and Richard gave us a commentary whenever we passed something noteworthy. They even gave us a demonstration of their seamanship when they rescued a quoit (with Miles' assisting Louis on the boat hook) which inadvertently went overboard during a game of deck quoits! The land excursions were interesting and well organised, and even the weather was kind to us (although we had packed our wet-weather gear just in case). A lovely holiday!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
We thoroughly enjoyed our week aboard mv Edward Elgar; from the first moment we were welcomed at its mooring, right until we disembarked yesterday. The boat is spotless; the cabins certainly cosy but very comfortable and I slept very well ... the shower had a very good water power and the curtain masking the loo worked!!! Fran put a "pull handle" for me which worked perfectly. The meals were wonderful; I had alerted the need for vegetarian (being unable to digest "red meat" any more!) and was indulged - there is no such thing as "too much salmon" and Miles provided me with alternatives to the assorted meat dishes - perfect!! Portions were very good and the "help yourself" hot drinks were very useful and welcomed, plus the alternative to wine at meals ... the journey was excellent as well; "the man/woman at the bridge" pointing items of interest as appropriate and all moorings were excellent ... I don't walk very well but managed all the short distances and was able to decline where "necessary". The coaches which took us to more distant sites were very comfortable. We chose "Admiral" for this cruise because we celebrated our 52nd wedding anniversary on 5th August and we travelled by train for convenience. We opted for a second night at the hotel - it was spotless, pleasant and the food excellent but for us too far away - we needed a taxi to go to the centre of lkoucester - and return. However we thoroughly enjoyed our time in Gloucester, arriving just in time to attend Eucharist in the glorious cathedral!! Then we wandered to the dock. We loved the selection of stopping places and were happy to wander a little - we declined the tours of both Worcester Cathedral and Tewkesbury Abbey, being content to wander at our leisure - but we could hear the guides, both of whom sounded extremely interesting! We were very lucky with weather, only "enjoying" rain on the final days but we were comfortable and happy in our floating home! The crew were wonderful; attentive and smiling throughout; nothing was too much trouble. The dining room/lounge was very comfortable and the table space sufficient for all the glasses, condiments, places etc and plenty of room to sit. We really hope we can manage a cruise next year and meanwhile will unreservedly recommend mv Edward Elgar and the English Holiday Cruises! THANK YOU VERY MUCH INDEED!! We are so very happy to have seen the advertisement in a copy of "English Heritage" magazine
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
We have just returned from a 6 night cruise aboard the Edward Elgar, and rate it the best cruise we have ever been on. The crew, as well as the office staff were excellent, and couldn’t have done any more for us. They all did ‘what it said on the tin’, and couldn’t have done any more for us. If you have never been on a river cruise, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them, although you do need to be somewhat agile to cope with the stairs and small cabin, but you are warned about these before booking. My sincere thanks to all who made it possible.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Most helpful and polite and anticpated our requirements. Appearance at all times excellent
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Brilliant crew
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Couldn’t believe how hard the 5 crew worked to look after 21 people. Always friendly and smiling. Fab food from a small kitchen. How did Miles do that? Delightful fellow guests. Loved it.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Everything about this cruise made us happy, from the booking process to the crew and especially the captain Steve who was entertaining and educating. His crew could not be faulted in any way being efficient, professional and friendly at all times. However on this particular occasion the chef was on leave and his relief chef had to cry off at short notice, unfortunately the 3rd choice "chef" was not capable of meeting the required standard,in fact the food was very poor indeed. The owner, Richard Clemens, joined the cruise for dinner for the penultimate night, having told him of our only criticism of the trip he seemed very reluctant to accept our and others very valid complaints regarding the 'chefs' capability to deliver the brochure promise food,in fact it was dire. I regret having to post this but it is true reflection of our experience. I would seriously suggest that you check which chef is on board before booking, if his name is Ed don't book!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
We enjoyed the cruise very much the crew were exceptional and to have Richard the owner carry you bags on board proved everyone gets involved. One point about the cabin two A/C outlet point one over each bed would be great. Thank you to a great crew.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Great ship, excellent crew - nothing was too much trouble for them. Lovely relaxing time cruising down the river with all trips included in the price with transport provided if more than 500 yards! Miles the chef was great, catering for all dietary needs, including my dislike of fish so I was offered alternatives. How lovely meals came out of that small kitchen was incredible. Home made cake for afternoon tea was really tasty and light. One last word for the crew - they were all lovely, friendly and ready for a laugh. The cruise is more for, shall we say, the mature person!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
A wonderful relaxing voyage with good, attentive crew. Everything worked like clockwork. The meals were excellent. The onshore tours showed a part of the country not known to us and the Captain's commentary, with his local knowledge, added some colour. Many thanks.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Relaxation, comfortable accommodation, wonderful service, delicious meals. A holiday to remember.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Excellent in every respect
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
This was a first rate holiday in every way. Great boat, everything well thought peaceful river on our return to Gloucester in bright sunlight, with herons, hawks, sand martins and other birds watching! Thoroughly relaxing and worth every penny! Thankyou!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
A well organised short cruise with cheerful helpful staff and a captain with a sense of humour.The food was good and varied. An enjoyable short break in an interesting part of the country.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
a small boat but lots of interest going on . Problems of high water on the river got over very well and no lack of attractive views and places to visit . Good food well served . Happy crew and happier guests !
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Thank you for a very enjoyable relaxing holiday for our 60th Wedding Anniversary. It was remarkable to see how the crew members worked so very well together, as a team, to make the trip special for all of us. Thanks too for the 'Captain' who made sure we were safe at all times. Hope to see you again next year. Yvonne and Cliff Furniss
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. is rated 4.93 based on 259 reviews