English Holiday Cruises Ltd. Reviews

4.93 Rating 300 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend English Holiday Cruises Ltd.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 31st October 2020
Hugh Ian Crozier
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 31st October 2020
Hugh Ian Crozier
35
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
A cruise on the Edward Elgar is a wonderful way to spend five days of your life during a pandemic. Skipper Steve and his team of lovely lads made the whole thing a very special experience. Cruising on this hotel boat is the ideal way of seeing this stretch of the River Severn and the excursions were all well planned and interesting. We were treated to a variety of superbly cooked meals - including a different breakfast every day - all served in our Covid safe 'pods' in the restaurant. Masks were worn in all public areas, temperatures taken daily and only we entered our cabins. Overall the anti-virus measures taken made us feel as safe on board this boat as we do in our own home.
This is not so much a review as a 'thank you' letter to all concerned in giving us such an enjoyable few days during this worrying time.
Posted 2 months ago
Rosalind.
Thank you for your kind words especially:
"Overall the anit-virus measures taken made us feel as safe on board this boat as we do in our own home."
Pre Covid, we always used to claim the Elgar is your "Home from home", and we're glad to see you think we can still make that claim!
Posted 2 months ago
An excellent 5 days gliding from town to town, past wonderful scenery inhabited by swans, geese, ducks, herons, kingfishers and many more. Where the water is so still it gives mirror like reflections of all about. Enjoyed great food served by an attentive crew. Would thoroughly recommend it.
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for the review. The wildlife is certainly a highlight for many of our passengers. We hope to see you again!
Posted 2 months ago
We have been on a few European Cruises and were keen to try an English one. We booked our trip in October 2019 and decided on the Severn Wonders Cruise with the Admiral option. We likes the idea of an overnight stay at a Gloucester hotel and the lunch prior to boarding the Edward Elgar.
With the arrival of COVID-19 we wondered whether the cruise would take place- therefore we were delighted to receive confirmation that it would be going ahead. The new arrangements were clearly explained to us. We were happy and impressed with the various precautions they had put in place to ensure our safety and enjoyment of the cruise.
The crew were extremely helpful and the chef did amazing job providing great meals throughout the week.
We found the cruise very restful and at the end we felt we had been away longer than a week.
We would certainly recommend this cruise.
Thanks to the crew Capt. Steve, Louis, Miles, Dan and Jack.
Posted 2 months ago
David, thank you for your review, and we are glad to have been able to go ahead with the cruise! Feeling rested whilst all this is going on isn't easy, so we take that as a big compliment. Thank you!
Posted 2 months ago
A relaxing and safe cruise. The skipper and crew did all they could to make it a success and the food was uncomplicated but very tasty with splendid ingredients, a wonder concocted in the the small galley by the talented chef.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 15th September 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 15th September 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 15th September 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 15th September 2020
Posted 2 months ago
What is he wearing?! This must be the light-hearted Skipper we've been hearing about! Thank you for your review!
Posted 2 months ago
Excellent anti covid procedures. Crew always cheerful with an enthusiasm that is now rare, however two characters were outstanding, the Captain and the Chef. The chef produced some amazing meals from quite a small galley and he was working on his own. The evenings were a delight of light hearted entertainment largely generated by the Captain and an enthusiastic set of passengers.
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for your review! Amazing meals, light-hearted passengers and crew, and a relaxing river cruise. I'm in, where do I book?!:)
Posted 2 months ago
Who needs the Rhine or Danube when we have the Severn!! We had an excellent trip- one wet afternoon and a problem with a lock south of Worcester which the crew dealt with very well were the only minor issues. The adjustments made for Covid were spot-on . My only comment is that I felt that the crew should have more pro-active in insisting that passengers complied with the mask rules. The reduced numbers and the oneway system worked well, As you would expect on a boat of this size the cabins were on the small side but perfectly adequate- the wet room was fine.
The crew were always helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
One of the abiding memories of the trip was the food both in terms of the variety and quality- well done chef. A great variety of non-alcoholic still drinks would have been appreciated.
A great package
Posted 2 months ago
Hi David,
Thank you for your comments and we're glad you enjoyed yourself! Every so often, something happens on the river that is beyond our control (like a tree falling and cutting power to the lock which is what happened on your trip) but I'm glad we made suitable alternative arrangements without having to disrupt your holiday too much! If you want excitement, just add water! Also, the crew are happy to take requests to stock additional drinks, a shop isn't usually too far away:)
Posted 2 months ago
In very trying circumstances the Skipper & crew were brilliant.
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for your comment! There's a lot to remember to be Covid-Secure, but the crew are doing a great job, aren't they!?
Posted 2 months ago
Fist class arrangements for our Severn Wonders cruise leaving on 17th August 2020.
And a first class cruise as well.
Posted 2 months ago
Peter, thank you for your kind words! We will try and stay "first-class" and we hope to see you again!
Posted 2 months ago
So comfortable, so friendly, with superb food. Lots of attention from the crew, nothing too much trouble. The Covid 19 precautions were comforting - the screens between tables were protective without preventing interaction with occupants of other tables in the lounge area. We thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment provided by the crew - the deck quoits and the quizzes - not to mention the Bingo!! The weather was challenging but the tours were possible due to the provision of coach transport. Everything perfect!!
Posted 2 months ago
Linda, we've been missing our usual live entertainers but now the government are allowing distanced performances again we will be welcoming them back. Trouble is, we can't get Skip to put down the mic!
Posted 2 months ago
Excellent service the crew were very helpful and friendly well worth taking a holiday with them. Covid secure
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you, Daphne. The crew do take pride in good service and will be glad to read your review.
Posted 2 months ago
As a single traveler, I was very well looked after and my dietary requirements were cheerfully catered for - nothing seemed to be too much.
There was a good relationship between the crew members and I particularly liked Skip's sense of humour.
The Covid requirements were carried out efficiently - got used to the mask-wearing but thankful to remove it.
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for your review, Hilary. Perhaps we can organise a ceremonial "no mask" cruise when this is over. We look forward to it! Until then, thank you for being a considerate customer and doing your part to keep everyone safe.
Posted 2 months ago
A really enjoyable cruise, where we experienced a high level of service and cuisine. The crew were efficient , capable and great fun.
Posted 2 months ago
Sandra, despite current circumstances, there is still fun to be had and we're glad you enjoyed your cruise with us! Thank you for your review!
Posted 2 months ago
This was our first experience with this company and we were not disappointed! The crew were just brilliant led by a very experienced Cap and lovely young men. The COVID 19 work done was perfect, we felt safe at all times, and all guests being 60+ I feel all had no worries. We were so well looked after that we hope to come again for one of their other cruises!
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 29th August 2020
Posted 2 months ago
Thanks, Sue! We look forward to seeing you again!
Posted 2 months ago
Enjoyed every minute of the cruise. Staff were great, service and food brilliant. Covid19 distancing and sanitation arrangements on board were excellent. Precautions did not prevent us enjoying ourselves. Loved the excursions, the quizzes and bingo. We all had fun at the improvised quoits. Marvellous holiday. Thank you all.
Posted 3 months ago
Dear Ian,
Thank you for your kind review and we're glad it's still plenty of fun despite some extra precautions on board!
Posted 3 months ago
Lovely trip, well up to our expectations. Disappointed the Severn Valley Railway wasn't possible. All the crew were wonderful, the food first-class. Steve was a great skipper and MC. A good group of fellow-passengers.
Posted 3 months ago
Dear Sheila,
We'll be going back to the railway when we can, but hopefully, our crew and food made up for this change in itinerary:)
Posted 3 months ago
We had a very enjoyable cruise. The crew could not do enough for us and the food was excellent.
We were impressed by the teams reaction to the boat getting stuck in mud on the last morning when return to port. Putting themselves out for people on a tight schedule.
Posted 3 months ago
We've asked Chef Miles to make the cakes slightly smaller next week, and we've also marked that spot on the map so we can avoid any more sticky situations!
Posted 3 months ago
All your measures that you had introduced appeared to work well however you must have noticed that the regulation probably worked against your guest as at meal times one could not do what people usually do at meal times CHAT amongst each other
All the staff without exception were warm, open ,chatty and had time for every one.
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Peter and thank you for the five-star review. Social distancing measures do indeed create extra barriers to talking with people outside of your travelling group, especially in dining settings as you refer to. Hopefully, there was some opportunity to chat to others on the exterior decks outside of mealtimes. We look forward to when we can change things back to normal.
Posted 3 months ago
We were the trailblazers on the first cruise of the 2020 season. It was apparent that great care and consideration had been taken re-Covid safety measures **. The crew had obviously all been briefed and hey carried out these precautions without being harsh. As a result we felt safe, but also relaxed.
** Here are examples if you wish to use them:
temperatures taken when we boarded and every day at breakfast time, Perspex screens separating the dining tables, chairs on the upper deck placed in pairs, hand sanitisers everywhere, enough masks for a fresh one every day.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 18th August 2020
Posted 3 months ago
Alan, getting the balance right between keeping people safe as well as being hospitable is something we've taken a lot of time to develop as this is a significant challenge right now for all hospitality-based businesses. Thank you so much for your review as it is very encouraging to read.
Posted 3 months ago
The first trip out from Gloucester, cruising along the Severn River was a total success. We felt very safe with the measures installed to ensure that social distancing was achieved and masks were worn around the ship. Meals were eaten at tables for 2 and the staff were extremely helpful and couldn't have done more to make the journey a success. The weather was very kind to us and we were able to spend time on the upper deck in the sunshine. Top marks to everyone.
Posted 3 months ago
David, thank you for your review and we're glad the top deck had good weather! We'll try to put in another request for sunshine if you come again:)
Posted 3 months ago
The crew of the Edward Elgar are to be congratulated for their efforts to make the boat safe from the covid virus; the modifications made to the boat were excellent and the crew meticulous in their procedures. We felt safe throughout the voyage and have no hesitation in recommending the boat as a very safe place to holiday.
Posted 3 months ago
Paul, thank you so much for your kind review! The crew have trained very hard and were integral to our re-opening planning. Great to see you feel the new system is working without taking away from the experience.
Posted 3 months ago
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. is rated 4.93 based on 300 reviews